View Full Version : Metal, Punk, Noise
ken foree
14/04/2005, 6:06 PM
any fans here? i've only been exposed to sabbath and motorhead and some metallica (master of puppets sounds like it could be amazing). some slayer too, whoa good stuff. it's a strange genre with lots of subdivisions i'm finding out. just got a couple of doom-metal albums that are doing it at the moment, sunno))) and their progenitors earth. one earth track is in one key for about an hour, just guitar and drums, that's it!
carrickharp
15/04/2005, 7:05 AM
Heading to Slayer in June and I probably head to Iron Maiden in August, waiting the return of System of a Down to these shores.
Nothing like spending a few hours downstairs in Bruxells chilling out.
ken foree
15/04/2005, 12:28 PM
i was blown away by the slayer disk i heard. holee sh*t it was that good, just all over the place but never losing momentum or intensity it seemed. the norse metal thing really intrigues me, or should i say scandanavian metal. i'm almost afraid to like it coz then there'll be too much to get. viking horns and a flying V, hard to beat though..
this sunno))) band are named after their amps, i thought their record would be a bit better than the ambient metal thing they're doing.. but their stated intent is to make people ill at their gigs, i think they de-tune their guitars and the low and loud rumble is enough to make you physically sick. or **** your pants literally. hmm
speedking
15/04/2005, 7:33 PM
Huge metal fan here. Have been to a few gigs over the last few years too. Mainly into my Pantera, Morbid Angel, Opeth, Sentenced, In Flames, Megadeth and so on... Was at the 'deth gig there in February, brilliant gig. Am going to Slayer and Maiden this year too.
On a slightly different note, any of you guys like any hardcore bands?The genre is like a mix of metal and punk, with good lyrics.
As for metal, you can't beat Slayer, Metallica, Anthrax, Megadeth, Pantera, or any of the usual metal bands....the new ones are good too, Lamb of God, etc.
Gerrit
17/04/2005, 1:15 AM
Gothic and new-wave fan all the way, but a bit of metal is welcome as well here :)
I mainly like Marilyn Manson, of whom I am a longterm fan and who gave me the best concert experience in my life.
Other metal bands I appreciate include Black Sabbath with Ozzy, My Dying Bride, Within Temptation, and yeah now and then some black metal even: Cradle of Filth, Mayhem, ... Alice Cooper as well if you can call that metal (I'd say it's more glam-hardrock).
My favourite metal songs:
From the cradle to enslave - Cradle of Filth
Rock is dead - Marilyn Manson
Irresponsable hate anthem - Marilyn Manson
The reflecting God - Marilyn Manson
The Nobodies - Marilyn Manson
The fight song - Marilyn Manson
Sabbath bloody sabbath - Black Sabbath
Paranoid - Black Sabbath
Lithium - Nirvana (yeah I'd say this one is metal)
The freezing moon - Mayhem
Love me forever - Motorhead
18/04/2005, 10:02 AM
sirhamish, do you know a fella called colin purcell by any chance?
not adverse to the auld metal meself, have been to a good few gigs, hoping to see iron maiden soon enough.
check out aggaloch, they are canadian great band altogether, have a nordic metal sound to them, but yet sound mellow at times. very dark but very good.
ken foree
18/04/2005, 2:51 PM
o man too much music
ken foree
18/04/2005, 3:03 PM
check out aggaloch, they are canadian great band altogether, have a nordic metal sound to them, but yet sound mellow at times. very dark but very good.
that sounds very good, i think i'd like a bit of experimentation in there; with the exception of motorhead who seem to play the same song a thousand different ways i guess i'd gravitate more to the sprawling heaviness that sabbath got into - e.g. 7, 10 minute slabs of thunder, slow at times, yea stonermetal might be the thing to look for first for me. megadeth and metallica get a bit quick at times (but i'm very ignorant of most of their music/records) - this is sorta contradictory coz i love some of motorhead's stuff.
anyone heard high on fire?
18/04/2005, 3:58 PM
yes mate, i have.
try pale folklore ( agalloch) if you like slow strange music.
metallica/megadeth are great to listen to once you get into them. its the getting into them ( pre black era ) thats the hard part, but its great stuff.
for all of you out there, try cruachan, they are irish, hail from the limerick area. mcgowan sang on and produced one of their albums, songs to try:
ride on, spancil hill and brian boru.
they are metal mixed with folk music, great altogether, have a female singer and all.
18/04/2005, 4:57 PM
Big metallica fan here. Also sepultura who i don't think anyone has mentioned yet.
Any of you heard Prayer For Cleansing, The Black Dahlia Murder, Cataract, or Undying?
All good metal bands, but not in the traditional way.But still great bands.
ken foree
18/04/2005, 5:22 PM
Big metallica fan here. Also sepultura who i don't think anyone has mentioned yet.
don't they have a song or album called 'orgasmatron'? - -you've got hard rock sex songs on the brain today lionel ritchie!
thanks paul o' for the canadian rec., i hope i can get a song or two of theirs on their site. yea something slow and lumbering and big and evil, like godzilla being woken up by annoying humans. i think that's the problem (for me) with metallica is their popularity, i remember liking sections of the song 'one' - the landmine song based on 'johnny get your gun' movie?? some of that was proggy and very cool. also heard the song 'master of puppets' on the radio once and it was mindblowing! is that THE metallica record to get?? chrs for all these bands
18/04/2005, 5:27 PM
yes they do have orgasmatron. which is by motorhead:
i am the one orgasmatron, you ravle at my feet.
i am the emperor of lies and deceit
your image is not like any.
your serpents rape the land.
or something like that. i have both versions on cd.
18/04/2005, 5:35 PM
"...and justice for all " has one and harvester of sorrow, which are very good songs
welcome home ( sanitarium) is on master of puppets which is also a very good song and easy to get into.
ken foree
18/04/2005, 5:50 PM
hehe you might like to know i'm on 'she painted fire across the skyline pt. 3' right now from the agalloch record, very enjoyable so far, 2nd part wasn't up to the heights of this or the first part, a bit too conventional that 2nd part. but this is.. folkmetal?! lots of 6/8 or 3/4 timing, and with yer man's (great) vocals, they sound like a demented lizzy in places! i found the whole album free online!
18/04/2005, 6:51 PM
ya great album. where did you get it/? do you mean the web or ftp transfer.
that song is great alright but its more like 3 songs in one!!!
good man ken good stuff. :D
ken foree
18/04/2005, 6:56 PM
bizarre but i found it as the first result in a google search:
http://ww2.netnitco.net/~rustedshut/filez/agalloch/Pale%20Folklore/
19/04/2005, 9:25 AM
he used to play with a band called bellinus, he is a drummer, supposed to be very very good, one of the best in the country. he hails from ballin-aaa-sloooooe. he might be a bit younger than you, late 20's or so.
19/04/2005, 1:19 PM
check out 5 mins into the melancholy spirit ken_foree very very good.
Gerrit
19/04/2005, 4:33 PM
Hi Gerret - aren't Within Temptation a Dutch or Belgiun band? They had a video on Scuzz/The Amp before Christmas - the one where their eyes had a red satanic look etc etc. I think it's something called "Until the end of time" - that was one of the lines in it anyway.
Within Temptation are from Zeeland, Netherlands. The song you are referring to is "Mother earth" from the third album they made (which was named after that song by the way). Very nice video indeed, very gothic, which I like of course :) The album in general was very very good, but the sudden commercial success of their song "Ice queen" (one of the least good tracks on the CD, mind that I say "least good" and not "worst") meant the end of the band as I liked it, they seem to start going commercial :(
and Sharon den Adel, the singer, is a true gothic babe well all the right shapes ;) Which seems to be a sort of stereotype thing for all gothic-metal bands: a female soprano which is preferably busty and long-haired. Just put her in a medieval dress and you got a hit definitely...
Some of those bands are actually good though.
Gerrit
19/04/2005, 4:35 PM
yes they do have orgasmatron. which is by motorhead:
i am the one orgasmatron, you ravle at my feet.
i am the emperor of lies and deceit
your image is not like any.
your serpents rape the land.
or something like that. i have both versions on cd.
Orgasmatron is a metalsong I don't like, it's a bit chaotic in some way... "Love me forever" is a very underestimated Motorhead song, great lyrics and very nice music with calm intro and an explosion of heavy guitars in the chorus.
Lemmy is believed to be "the rock-n-roll lifestyle in person", the guy is heavily addicted to booze and speed though so let's hope he won't go down on it just like some other great artists did :(
Not much black-metal fans here it seems ? :confused:
19/04/2005, 4:43 PM
for a true metal babe check out doro.
getting a bit old now.
19/04/2005, 4:48 PM
Lemmy is believed to be "the rock-n-roll lifestyle in person", the guy is heavily addicted to booze and speed though so let's hope he won't go down on it just like some other great artists did
he is a couple years shy of 60, im sure if he was going to go that way , he would be like that fool ozzy.
btw, agalloch are black metal gerrit. check out some immortal stuff also.
Gerrit
19/04/2005, 5:01 PM
Lemmy turns 60 in December ;) Still going strong though, and he promised fans "as long as I live, there will be Motorhead. I will die on stage".
I don't know if it's true or if it is medically possible even, but according to the new booklet of the remastered Ace Of Spades album (Motorhead) Lemmy asked a doctor to purify his blood after years of whisky and speed addiction. The doctor advised him to go on taking speed because he was so adapted to it he couldn't live without it anymore. "Pure blood would kill ya !" the doc said :eek:
I doubt if it is possible that someone needs drugs to survive, sounds very awkward even for a long term addict :confused:
And no bad words on Ozzy ! I adore the guy, he's such a great entertainer :) I look forward to this summer when I'll finally be seeing Black Sabbath live in the original line-up !
ken foree
19/04/2005, 7:00 PM
check out 5 mins into the melancholy spirit ken_foree very very good.
thanks, got through the whole thing yesterday but will check that track again
ken foree
19/04/2005, 7:06 PM
motorhead's 'no remorse' is amazing, a best of with live/studio tracks. the second song is called 'motorhead' and it's a rework of a song lemmy originally wrote for hawkwind it's poundingly UNBELIEVABLE. no compromise, no bullsh*t! he introduces it as 'just in case' - chorus goes "motorhead remember me now, motorhead: alright!?" class. the cover of ace of spades might be the best band photo/cover ever!! i heard the rumor about the doc's recommendation and the speed thing too, scary.
and i had my appendix out in ballinasloe so i did so i did :)
19/04/2005, 7:40 PM
Deep Purple
I am going to commit a heresy here folks... my favourite album by the band is
Come Taste The Band.... with Coverdale, Hughes and some guy on guitar called Tommy Bolin ;)
19/04/2005, 10:10 PM
sir hamish
I have the two solo albums which were officially released by Tommy Bolin on CD. There was some other material released in a box set some years ago which I have not yet heard.
Snoop Drog
20/04/2005, 12:30 AM
Went to see Megadeth last Friday night in Sydney, Australia (btw- I live there, I didn't go there just for the gig :D )
Straight from the opening song it kicked off. Played some great oldies like "Wake Up Dead" & "Hangar 18". Encore was "Peace Sells" & "Holy Wars"- They played a cover of "Paranoid" in the middle of "Holy Wars". I got up the next morning & my girlfriend asks "what is that on your back?"- I have a black ,foot-shaped bruise right in the centre of my back. Always a sign of a good night :D
20/04/2005, 9:57 AM
don't they have a song or album called 'orgasmatron'? - -you've got hard rock sex songs on the brain today lionel ritchie!
thanks paul o' for the canadian rec., i hope i can get a song or two of theirs on their site. yea something slow and lumbering and big and evil, like godzilla being woken up by annoying humans. i think that's the problem (for me) with metallica is their popularity, i remember liking sections of the song 'one' - the landmine song based on 'johnny get your gun' movie?? some of that was proggy and very cool. also heard the song 'master of puppets' on the radio once and it was mindblowing! is that THE metallica record to get?? chrs for all these bands
Yeah Orgasmatron 's a Motorhead song which Sepultura used cover.
I'd recommend 'Arise' (1991), Chaos AD (1993) or even the much maligned 'Roots' (1996) if you're looking to pick some stuff up. Actually -better than 'Roots' is a two disc CD called 'Roots of Sepultura' which includes the Roots LP and another disc of older recordings, sessions, out-takes and some class live stuff.
After the Roots LP they changed vocalist when founder member Max Calvera left to form Soulfly (who I've always thought not bad but a bit retentive).
They recruited an American guy called Derrick Greene (Sepultura are Brazilian) and have since done three LPs 'Against', 'Nation' and 'Roorback' which i've only heard a couple of tracks from and they sounded very good indeed.
BTW and just as a curiosity -Derrick Greene isn't just american -he's also jet black -which I mention just because it's pretty unusual in my experience to find an african-american guy playing real metal. powerful set of pipes too.
20/04/2005, 10:14 AM
BTW and just as a curiosity -Derrick Greene isn't just american -he's also jet black -which I mention just because it's pretty unusual in my experience to find an african-american guy playing real metal. powerful set of pipes too.
in my best gaaaaaaaalllllwaaaaaay acccccceennnnt..
hes from new yaaaaaaaarkkkkkk
20/04/2005, 10:28 AM
Is he?
I'm pretty certain I read he was from Cleveland, Ohio. :confused:
20/04/2005, 11:50 AM
Greene started playing when he was 16 in Cleveland in a band called Outface, for about 7 years. With this band he played many places in the US and toured Europe with their album Friendly Green. After he and the guitarist moved to NY and left the band behind, they started a new band called Overfiend and in their first concert they opened for Sick of it All, this was the first and the last concert cause the guitarist and the drummer left the band. Then he and the bass player formed a band called Alpha Jerk where he played till he joined Sepultura
yes you are right... i remember reading an interview saying he lived in new york, i must have thought he meant he was from new york...
20/04/2005, 12:14 PM
lads( and lassies??)
check out GSTQ, Eat the rich, please dont touch and louie louie from motorhead as well. more great songs from god.
In a fight between Lemmy and God who would win?....
Lemmy or GOD????
Lemmy? eh wrong
It is a trick question because Lemmy is God.
ken foree
20/04/2005, 12:17 PM
Actually -better than 'Roots' is a two disc CD called 'Roots of Sepultura' which includes the Roots LP and another disc of older recordings, sessions, out-takes and some class live stuff.
thanks that might be the best way for me to go to start
ken foree
20/04/2005, 12:19 PM
Hey Ken Foree, you were't the one in the next ward doing all the roaring!!!
that was me, i couldn't walk for a week!
20/04/2005, 6:58 PM
sir hamish
No problem. That reminds me must rip some TB songs on to my hard-drive :p
ken foree
20/04/2005, 7:03 PM
i have 2 disk best of sabbath (nearly 40 songs!) and slayer's season's in the abyss for the pod here - i've a feeling i might like the prior slayer album better though, the one immediately before 'abyss'
Gerrit
20/04/2005, 8:27 PM
lads( and lassies??)
check out GSTQ, Eat the rich, please dont touch and louie louie from motorhead as well. more great songs from god.
Lemmy or GOD????
Lemmy? eh wrong
a God that, according to a fansite,
- screwed more than 3500 women in his life
- drinks a bottle of whiskey per day
- is addicted on speed
- has made a promise to the world to die on stage (beats crucifixion really !)
If this is religion, then maybe I will consider having a faith :)
@ SirHamish : Within Temptation before they went commercial are brilliant, Mother Earth is a great album.
And yeah, Nightwish, that singer has it all (especially those... ah you get it allright ;) ). For metal babes, also check Lacuna Coil (from Italy) and Epica (also from the Netherlands) :cool:
What is remarkable: metal seems to be an all-germanic style of music. You hear lots of bands making this music in English, and some in Scandinavian languages or German. But hardly any metal band chosing a Romanic language... Which is a shame because I think French is the most beautiful language there is.
Am I right or wrong here if I'd state Germanic languages sound a bit harder and colder (maybe more aggressive if you chose the right words) while languages such as Spanish or French sound too poetic and romantic for a style like metal ??
Only exceptions I know: Noir Desir sings in French (though this is more hardrock than real metal), and there's the famous Mexican black-metal band Brujeria.
Brujeria... They are very mythological, as some believe they are involved in drugs traffic from Colombia as main profession, and there's the usual sh** about being involved in Satanism and such ; and they sing in Spanish only, and it sounds hard and agressive, one of the hardest bands I know really. Check www.brujeria.com
a God that, according to a fansite,
- screwed more than 3500 women in his life
- drinks a bottle of whiskey per day
- is addicted on speed
- has made a promise to the world to die on stage (beats crucifixion really !)
If this is religion, then maybe I will consider having a faith :)
@ SirHamish : Within Temptation before they went commercial are brilliant, Mother Earth is a great album.
And yeah, Nightwish, that singer has it all (especially those... ah you get it allright ;) ). For metal babes, also check Lacuna Coil (from Italy) and Epica (also from the Netherlands) :cool:
What is remarkable: metal seems to be an all-germanic style of music. You hear lots of bands making this music in English, and some in Scandinavian languages or German. But hardly any metal band chosing a Romanic language... Which is a shame because I think French is the most beautiful language there is.
Am I right or wrong here if I'd state Germanic languages sound a bit harder and colder (maybe more aggressive if you chose the right words) while languages such as Spanish or French sound too poetic and romantic for a style like metal ??
Only exceptions I know: Noir Desir sings in French (though this is more hardrock than real metal), and there's the famous Mexican black-metal band Brujeria.
Brujeria... They are very mythological, as some believe they are involved in drugs traffic from Colombia as main profession, and there's the usual sh** about being involved in Satanism and such ; and they sing in Spanish only, and it sounds hard and agressive, one of the hardest bands I know really. Check www.brujeria.com
I listen to a few French hardcore bands, and really, imo, the vocals, despite being very aggressive, still come off in a softer way than german or english etc vocals would.
Gerrit
20/04/2005, 9:58 PM
well, they have a few filthy songs. Songs such as "Buck dich" (which is a rather direct request for anal intercourse - probably your nephew bounced on that translated lyric ?) are rather sleazy indeed. But that's a minority, they have some quite serious lyrics as well, such as "Engel" (Angel). The most Rammstein songs however are in my opinion not lyrically interesting, it's mainly about the music (and must say I like the sound of it, but they're a bit repetitive in my opinion).
They have lots of spectacular effects in their shows, such as firespitting. Maybe we should not take them too serious. They have a sort of neo-nazi image and it is a fact that part of their fanbase is quite fanatically right-winged, but the band itself has no nazi background or ideology at all and indicate themselves that it shouldn't all be taken too seriously.
And yeah, their singer has the perfect voice and face for it. and the German sounds hard and agressive indeed, compare this to a French rock record by for example Indochine or Johnny Halliday and you hear how the French just sounds less harsh. Again, if you want an exception, check Brujeria, very brutal sounding despite the use of Spanish. (not a Brujeria fan myself, but it just happens to be the one perfect exception to the rule)
21/04/2005, 11:24 AM
For metal babes, also check Lacuna Coil (from Italy) and Epica (also from the Netherlands)
gerrit, you are a repressed hornball!!! this should be renamed the "metal babes,how to get your leg over with a broken leg thread"
i have actually seen lacuna coil, in eammon dorans gerrit, she is very small altogether, but still you wouldnt kick her out of the bed for leaving crumbs.
check out slayers decade of aggression, its got the best of from the 80's to early nineties ken, its very good.
if one of ye set up a metal babes thread i will post some quality metal totty. ye never know even the mainstream-indie-loving-lads-with-hair-neither-one-way-or-the-other-wide-trousers-with-too-short-tight-skin-tshirts on this forum may appreciate.
21/04/2005, 11:41 AM
Lemmy or GOD????
Lemmy? eh wrong
Awwww... another 'Airheads' fan. I'll even overlook the plagerism! :p
21/04/2005, 11:50 AM
yes good man, i thought i had quoted that, was waiting to see how long it took someone to actually cop that!
ken foree
21/04/2005, 2:13 PM
Ouch, that must have been a nasty appendix operation Ken Foree. But, more importantly, did you get any chance of a legover with any of the nurses? SOME of the nurses in that hospital are real party animals. I was in for a broken leg in 1981 and made a date with a lovely blonde from Longford whilst still a patient When I got out, leg still in plaster, I met her in a local boozer and eventually discovered she was bisexual! To be more accurate, she was 80% lesbian, 20% hetero. And I didn't even make much progress in the 20% depatrment. I'm still getting slagged by my mates over that to this day. So. how did you do get on, give us all the dirt!!! :D
i was ten, so i had this one nurse bent over a defibrillator, g-force was on the telly, and.. :D
22/04/2005, 11:16 AM
yes good man, i thought i had quoted that, was waiting to see how long it took someone to actually cop that!
I found that on DVD a few months back for next to nothing. I was the happiest boy in the whole wild world that evening. :)
Gerrit
24/04/2005, 3:30 AM
gerrit, you are a repressed hornball!!! this should be renamed the "metal babes,how to get your leg over with a broken leg thread"
"repressed hornball" ? :confused: Apart from the fact that I know what hornball means and that I know you're just joking, I'd like to know the meaning of the word 'repressed'... Help this non-native speaker out please :)
Heard a cracking good Nine Inch Nails song today. Trent Reznor is great, I haven't heard the entire NIN collection but every new song I hear from them has pleasantly surprised me so far. Trent's very creative with synthesizers and his voice is grand. Lyrically sometimes shocking and very in-depth, but at least he turns his depressions into something creative, something of beauty.
25/04/2005, 1:26 PM
who said i was messing??? :p
repressed means basically, held back.
www.dictionary.com
Gerrit
29/04/2005, 11:31 PM
Just heard Judas Priest song "Death row", at least a sample of it. Man, that was good ! Powerful guitar riffs, Halford at his best (is he the only homosexual in the metal world ?? Kudos to him for coming out for it in a sometimes macho genre), great lyrics as well even though it is not very clear for me if it is intended as supporting death penalty ( :mad: ) or critisising it in a sarcastic way.
Would like to hear the full song, but can't find it... :(