View Full Version : 2019 predictions

08/02/2019, 1:19 PM
Wut, no thread?!

I predict everyone will get a licence because the league starts next week and it's far too late for the FAI to redo the fixtures.

The Premier looks really tight this year, particularly with UCD knocking out Waterford in the FAI Cup and then giving Dundalk a bit of a game; not exactly relegation form, albeit it's only two games of course.

Harps finished really strongly last season too, though I think they, Sligo and Derry could be down the bottom three.

My uninformed guess would be -

1 Dundalk
2 Rovers
3 Cork
4 Pats
5 Waterford
6 UCD
7 Bohs
8 Derry
9 Sligo
10 Harps

And in the First,

1 Shels
2 Longford
3 Drogheda
4 Bray
5 Cobh
6 Cabo
7 Wexford
8 Athlone (who could in theory end up on minus points if things keep going the way they have been)

Let the Rovers/Dundalk bickering begin again!

Ezeikial
08/02/2019, 2:10 PM
Let the Rovers/Dundalk bickering begin again!

No way - it's clearly Shams title to lose

08/02/2019, 2:12 PM
Well that was an entirely predictable first contributor in that regard...

joey B
08/02/2019, 2:29 PM
1 Rovers
2 Dundalk
3 St Pats
4 Cork
5 Derry
6 Bohs
7 Waterford
8 Ucd
9 Harps
10 Sligo

And in the First,

1 Bray
2 Shels
3 Longford
4 Cobh
5 Drogheda
6 Athlone
7 Cabo
8 Wexford

FAI Cup: St Pats
League cup:Cork City

sbgawa
08/02/2019, 2:30 PM
1 Rovers If i keep saying it eventually i have to be right, we are a centreforward light and need a lot of luck with injuries but i live in hope
2 Dundalk
3 Pats
4 Cork
5 Waterford
6 UCD
7 Harps
8 Bohs
9 Derry
10 Sligo

And in the First,

1 Shels
2 Longford
3 Bray
4 Drogs
5 Galway
6 Limerick
7 Cabo
8 Cobh
9 Athlone
10 Wexford

Cup Cork
LC Rovers

sidewayspasser
08/02/2019, 2:30 PM
And in the First,

1 Shels
2 Longford
3 Drogheda
4 Bray
5 Cobh
6 Cabo
7 Wexford
8 Athlone (who could in theory end up on minus points if things keep going the way they have been)

No licences for Galway and Limerick?

joey B
08/02/2019, 2:34 PM

I copied and pasted and forgot too����

sidewayspasser
08/02/2019, 2:49 PM
Premier Division:
Dundalk
CCFC
Pats
Rovers
Waterford
Bohs
Sligo
UCD
Derry
Harps

First Division:
Shels
Bray
Longford
Drogheda
Galway
Cobh
Cabo
Limerick
Athlone
Wexford

Cup: Pats
League Cup: CCFC

Ezeikial
08/02/2019, 3:15 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock
3. Cork
4. St Pats
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. UCD
8. Bohs
9. Sligo
10 Finn Harps

1. Shelbourne
2. Bray
3. Drogheda
4. Longford
5. Galway
6. Limerick
7. Cobh
8. Cabinteely
9. Wexford
10 Athlone

Top Goalscorer
Pat Hoban

Scrufil
08/02/2019, 3:19 PM
Premier Division:
Cork City
Shamrock Rovers
Dundalk (1st manager to be sacked!)
St. Patricks Athletic
Bohemian
Waterford
Finn Harps
UCD
Sligo Rovers
Derry City

First Division:
Shelbourne
Bray Wanderers
Longford Town
Drogheda United
Galway United
Athlone Town * Their plastic pitch will mess up other teams and they will earn more home points*
Cobh Ramblers
Cabinteely
Wexford
Limerick

Cup: Dundalk
League Cup: Derry City

MattB11
08/02/2019, 3:52 PM
1 Dundalk
2 Cork City
3 Shamrock Rovers
4 St Pats
5 Derry City
6 Waterford
7 Sligo Rovers
8 Bohemians
9 UCD
10 Finn Harps

1 Shelbourne
2 Bray
3 Drogheda
4 Cobh
5 Longford
6 Limerick
7 Galway
8 Athlone
9 Cabo
10 Wexford

Cup Shamrock Rovers
League Cup St Pats

08/02/2019, 4:59 PM
I told you it was an uninformed guess!

Galway between Drogs and Bray; Limerick between Cabo and Wexford

Dalymountrower
08/02/2019, 5:50 PM
1]1 Rovers
2 Dundalk
3 Cork
4 Pats
5 Waterford
6 Derry
7 Sligo
8 Bohs
9 UCD
10 Harps

And in the First,

1 Bray
2 Longford
3 Shels
4 Drogs
5 Galway
6 Limerick
7 Cabo
8 Cobh
9 Athlone
10 Wexford

Cup Bohs
LC Derry

08/02/2019, 6:03 PM
Don't see anyone taking the title off Dundalk this year, but Pat's looking very strong and going about their business a little more under the radar than others. Fancy them for the cup this year.

First Division is even harder to predict this season than others. Shels and Bray top two and it's anyones guess after that.

Premier Division:

1: Dundalk
2. St Patrick's Ath
3. Cork City
4. Shamrock Rovers
5. Sligo Rovers
6. Waterford
7. Derry City
8. Bohemians
9. Finn Harps
10. UCD

First Division:

1. Shelbourne
2. Bray Wanderers
3. Longford Town
4. Drogheda United
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. Limerick
7. Cabinteely
8. Athlone Town
9. Galway United
10. Wexford

FAI Cup: St Patrick's Athletic
League Cup: Dundalk

placid casual
08/02/2019, 6:07 PM
Have people starting drinking early today.
Rovers haven't a prayer of overhauling dundalk, and they'll have a job getting past cork. In my view anyway.

Dundalk
Cork
Rovers
Pats
Waterford
Derry
Boez
Sligo
Harps
UCD.

Shels should stroll the 1st Division.

Fair cup- Pats
League cup- Dundalk

1st manager sacked- Bradley or Sligo guy.

patrickccfc
08/02/2019, 7:14 PM
1 Dundalk
2 St Pats
3 Cork
4 Rovers
5 Waterford
6 Derry
7 Bohs
8 Ucd
9 Harps
10 Sligo

And in the First,

1 Shels
2 Bray
3 Longford
4 Galway
5 Limerick
6 Drogheda
7 Cobh
8 Athlone
9 Cabo
10 Wexford
League cup: Cork City
Top Scorer: Hoban
First Manager Sacked: Bradley

08/02/2019, 7:36 PM
1 Dundalk
2 St Pats
3 Cork
4 Rovers
5 Waterford
6 Derry
7 Bohs
8 Ucd
9 Harps
10 Sligo

And in the First,

1 Shels
2 Bray
3 Longford
4 Galway
5 Limerick
6 Drogheda
7 Cobh
8 Athlone
9 Cabo
10 Wexford
League cup: Cork City

nice positivity about us considering I only know ya wk patrick ccfc!

top 3 prem div
1. dundalk
2. st pats ath
3. shamrock rovers

top 3 first div
1. shels
2. longford town
3. bray wanderers

fai cup st pats ath
league cup derry city

first manager to be sacked liam buckley

thebronze14
08/02/2019, 7:49 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Cork
3. Pat's
4. Shams
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. Bohs
8. Harps
9. Sligo
10. UCD

1. Shels
2. Bray
3. Longford
4. Limerick
5. Drogs
6. Galway
7.Athlone
8. Cobh
9. Cabot
10. Wexford

FAI Cup. Cork
League Cup Pat's
Scottish Challenge Cup Ross County

08/02/2019, 10:54 PM

Fair cup- Pats

Now if it was fair it would be handed to the cup specialists at the beginning of every season...

placid casual
08/02/2019, 11:33 PM
Nothings fair in this life Nesta.

09/02/2019, 10:13 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Pat's
3. Rovers
4. Cork
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. Bohemians
8. Sligo
9. Harps
10. UCD

1. Shels
2. Bray
3. Longford
4. Drogheda
5. Cobh
6. Galway
7. Cabinteely
8. Limerick
9. Athlone
10. Wexford.

Heading off to watch Athlone V Harps and Town V Sligo today. Was not optimistic about Longford until I saw them in Oriel, Dundalk not playing anywhere near full tilt but I absolutely love the shape Fenn has set out and the new signings looks like young lads he can do great work with. No big egos in the squad, injuries and suspension be the worry again but I'm very hopeful well be top 4 this season.

I'd have huge question marks over whether Limerick will even see the season out. From chatting to people down there it seems an absolute mess. Athlone should be improved

EDIT: after seeing harps today I fancy them to finish bottom.

09/02/2019, 12:27 PM
Nothings fair in this life Nesta.

Speak for yourself PC!

GCdfc
09/02/2019, 2:41 PM
Premier Division
Dundalk
Shamrock Rovers
St. Patricks
Cork
Waterford
Derry
UCD
Bohs
Sligo
Harps

First Division
Shelbourne
Longford
Drogheda
Bray
Cobh
Galway
Limerick
Cabinteely
Wexford
Athlone

Cup: Dundalk
League Cup: St. Pats

Jack B
09/02/2019, 5:53 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Rovers
3. Pats
4. Cork
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. Sligo
8. UCD
9. Bohs
10. Harps

1. Bray
2. Shels
3. Longford
4. Drogs
5. Galway
6. Cobh
7. Cabo
8. Limerick
9. Athlone
10. Wexford

FAI Cup: Dundalk
League Cup: Pats

total hoofball
10/02/2019, 11:50 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. St. Patrick's Athletic
4. Cork City
5. Waterford
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. UCD
9. Sligo Rovers
10. Finn Harps

1. Longford Town
2. Bray Wanderers *
3. Shelbourne
4. Drogheda United
5. Galway United
6. Limerick *
7. Cobh Ramblers
8. Cabinteely
9. Athlone Town *
10. Wexford

* If no bounced wages, mid-season squad culls, points deductions etc. happen

Yossarian
10/02/2019, 11:55 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Rovers
3. Pats
4. Cork
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. UCD
8. Bohs
9. Sligo
10. Finn Harps

1. Shelbourne
2. Longford
3. Bray
4. Drogheda
5. Galway
6. Cobh
7. Cabinteely
8. Limerick
9. Athlone
10. Wexford

Peaky Blinder
11/02/2019, 3:00 PM
Dundalk
Pats
Cork/Rovers
Rovers/Cork
Waterford
Derry
Bohs
UCD
Sligo
Harps

Cup Bohs
LC Pats

First manager sacked : Bradley

11/02/2019, 8:43 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Rovers
3. Pats
4.UCD
5. Waterford
6. Cork
7. Derry
8. Sligo
9. Bohs
10. Finn Harps

I think UCD have a lot of quality and were probably the best side in terms of technical ability Ive seen in Oriel Park of recent. They would only be let down by the possibility of lacking experience. I dont think Bohs will be relegated but ye never know, it has to happen sometime lol. I think Cork will be the draw kings, will struggle for goals but will be organised and grafters so wont concede that many - lots of 0-0 away results. It depends on how Bradley performs as I think the Rovers squad is good enough to challange for the league, if they had appointed Harry Kenny id be a lot more worried about them. For the same reason I think its nip and tuck with Pats as they have recruited well and have a shrewd coaching staff. Derry under Devine previously played some lovely football and were free scoring until a rocky patch and they pulled the trigger on the manager, Ive never seen such a contrast with a team so quickly between Devine's and Collin's Derry sides; There wasnt a whole load of players available on a budget for Devine to pick up...Ally Gilchrist??!! I dont think Waterford have done a whole lot to kick on from an excellent last season, they need more depth to their squad imo. Harps will be strong and physical and difficut to beat in Finn Park but they could get a good result one week and ship 4 or 5 another, It will be great to have Ollie Horgan interviews back with his total optimism on everything.

1. Shelbourne
2. Longford
3. Drogheda
4. Cobh
5. Galway
6. Bray
7. Cabinteely
8. Limerick
9. Athlone
10. Wexford

$hels are backm if Dermot Keeley wasnt off sunning himself in Spain it would feel like 2005 again, they are the team to beat and could do well in the cups too. Fenn is a talented coach and is doing a great job on limited resources. Any young player woud benefit from being coached by Fenn and they looked in good shape too preseason in Oriel. Drogheda have done ok in keeping a core of their squad togetherm with a good young coaching team who will benfit for last season then they will be in the play-off mix (their official website has absolutely nothing bar season ticket details on it - just barely ticking a licencing box!?)

I doubt that Dundalk will do a domestic treble but its been a long time since it was done and we got a bit sloppy against Cobh last year in the LC to put us in with a shout for a clean sweep. Going out on penalties to Galway 2015(?) also would have had us in the 2 major cup finals so just maybe, and John Gill did say 'do the treble' when asked how to better the double winning season!!

LSC: Shels

13/02/2019, 12:38 PM
Premier Division:

1: St Patrick's Ath
2. Cork City
3. Dundalk
4. Shamrock Rovers
5. Waterford
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. Sligo Rovers
9. UCD
10. Finn Harps

First Division:

1. Shelbourne
2. Longford Town
3. Drogheda United
4. Galway United
5. Bray Wanderers
6. Limerick
7. Athlone Town
8. Cobh Ramblers
9. Wexford Town
10. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Cork City

kksaints
13/02/2019, 5:37 PM
Premier Division:

2. Shamrock Rovers
3. St Pats
4. Cork
5. Waterford
6. Derry City
7. Bohemians
8. Sligo Rovers
9. UCD
10. Finn Harps

First Division:

1. Shelbourne
2. Bray Wanderers
3. Drogheda United
4. Longford Town
5. Limerick
6. Galway United
7. Cobh Ramblers
8. Athlone Town
9. Cabinteely
10. Wexford

League Cup Dundalk

13/02/2019, 8:00 PM
Premier Division:

1: St Patrick's Ath
k

Nice one Terry ;). Even the most optimistic Pats fans aren't predicting that. Unless Dundalk implode, and they really miss Stephen Kenny, (we can only hope) it should be them again. I think we can finish top three, even second. We've signed well, on paper anyway. Rovers have a good squad,but Bradley still doesn't convince. Cork have maybe slipped back a bit, but should still be hard to beat. Outside of that it's hard to see anyone making much of an impact.

I'd love another cup win. You wait fifty years, etc, etc.

monkey9
13/02/2019, 11:46 PM
1. Dundalk.
2. Shams
3. St Pat's
4. Cork
5. Waterford
6. Derry
7. UCD
8. Bohs
9. Sligo
10. Finn Harps

1. Shels
2. Bray
3. Drogheda
4. Longford
5. Galway
6. Limerick
7. Cobh.
8. Cabinteely
9. Wexford
10. Athlone

14/02/2019, 6:37 AM
Nice one Terry ;). Even the most optimistic Pats fans aren't predicting that. Unless Dundalk implode, and they really miss Stephen Kenny, (we can only hope) it should be them again. I think we can finish top three, even second. We've signed well, on paper anyway. Rovers have a good squad,but Bradley still doesn't convince. Cork have maybe slipped back a bit, but should still be hard to beat. Outside of that it's hard to see anyone making much of an impact.

I'd love another cup win. You wait fifty years, etc, etc.

Live and hope TonyD. Always watch out for Pats going back to the days when Galway United players used to join them frequently. My brother brought me up to Dublin one weekend (going back around 25 years here now) and we spent the night out drinking with Peter Carpenter, Ricky Flaherty and others. Best of Luck anyway, would be great to break the top 2 stranglehold this season.

Lilywhite77
14/02/2019, 7:30 AM
Premier Division:

2. St Pats
3. Cork City
4. Shamrock Rovers
5. Waterford
6. Derry City
7. UCD
8. Bohemians
9. Sligo Rovers
10. Finn Harps

First Division:

1. Shelbourne
2. Longford Town
3. Drogheda United
4. Galway United
5. Bray Wanderers
6. Limerick
7. Athlone Town
8. Cobh Ramblers
9. Wexford Town
10. Cabinteely

FAI Cup: Waterford

14/02/2019, 11:37 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Rovers
3. Cork
4. Waterford
5. St Pats
6. Bohs
7. UCD
8. Derry
9. Sligo
10. Harps

1. Shels
2. Bray
3. Longford
4. Drogheda
5. Galway
6. Cabo
7. Limerick
8. Wexford
9. Cobh
10. Athlone

FAI Cup: Waterford
League cup: St Pats
Top Scorer: Drennan
First Manager Sacked: Ollie Horgan

I keep getting worse at this every year.

14/02/2019, 11:57 AM
First Manager Sacked: Ollie Horgan

I keep getting worse at this every year.

It's not going to improve with this selection either..

joey B
14/02/2019, 12:12 PM
Ollie would probably have to murder someone to get sacked!

oriel
14/02/2019, 1:34 PM
I think Dundalk will retain the title, and I will hopefully get a chance to post my predictions before tomorrow's games, but I really don't think Cork will finish as low as most are making out.

There is still a decent set up about them, and they have 7-8 who have good experience of the league in the last few season, Buckley / Morrissey still in the middle, but they are lacking quality in replacements though, and a few injuries to first team choices, and they might struggle, but they'll be happy with the second half display last Saturday in the PC.

I think for Pats, next season for them to challenge better for the league. For Rovers, you'd think they have to win a trophy this season, or the project is over.

14/02/2019, 1:42 PM
It's not going to improve with this selection either..

Ollie would probably have to murder someone to get sacked!

Stranger things have happened!

I like to try go bit left field with the sacked manager/top scorer predictions. I'm going to get them wrong either way!!

Burnsie
14/02/2019, 2:52 PM
1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. St Patricks Athletic
4. Cork City
5. UCD
6. Bohemians
7. Waterford
8. Derry City
9. Sligo Rovers
10. Finn Harps

1. Shelbourne
2. Bray Wanderers
3. Longford Town
4. Drogheda
5. Cobh Wanderers
6. Galway
7. Cabinteely
8. Limerick
9. Athlone Town
10. Wexford

FAI Cup: Shamrock Rovers
League cup: Dundalk
Top Scorer: Duffy
First Manager Sacked: Reynolds

thebronze14
14/02/2019, 6:31 PM
People really talking up UCD this season. They were good enough in division 1 last season but it's a higher step up and did they not weaken? They were very good in the cup semi last season but didn't always hit these heights or have I got it wrong completely?!

14/02/2019, 6:37 PM
Didn't weaken as much as we could have. Daire is gone to Cork, but was behind Farrugia and McClelland by the end of the season. Sloggett is a loss but hopefully O'Farrell from Pat's will replace him. And Evan Osam has just been ruled out for the season through injury, which is like losing a player. Conor Davis took up where Georgie Kelly left off in terms of goalscoring, which was always one of our weak spots.

We did also beat Waterford in the FAI Cup quarter-finals, and Waterford qualified for Europe. Though on the flip side, we were knocked out on penalties by Bohs' reserves in the League Cup.

El-Pietro
14/02/2019, 6:42 PM
1 Dundalk
2 St. Patricks Athletic
3 Cork City
4 Shamrock Rovers
5 Derry City
6 Waterford
7 U.C.D.
8 Bohemian F.C.
9 Sligo Rovers
10 Finn Harps

And in the First,

1 Shelbourne
2 Bray Wanderers
3 Longford Town
4 Drogheda United
5 Cobh Ramblers
6 Cabinteely
7 Wexford
8 Athlone Town

FAI Cup: Cork City
League Cup: St. Patricks Athletic

placid casual
14/02/2019, 7:03 PM
For Rovers, you'd think they have to win a trophy this season, or the project is over.
If that's what you honestly think, then you really don't know Rovers at all.

Calcio Jack
14/02/2019, 7:20 PM

Thev Rovers project will continue even if we don’t win a major trophy for the 8th successive season ..... the Rovers board don’t do accountability

Ezeikial
14/02/2019, 7:27 PM

I suppose it may depend on what Oriel means by "the project"

If he is referring to the "Bradley Project", I suspect that the manager could be under pressure for his job if Rovers are not, at a minimum, challenging for the title. I doubt he would survive another 'also ran' season with a third or fourth place finish and no major trophy.

I don't expect that hypothesis to be tested

14/02/2019, 8:12 PM
Live and hope TonyD. Always watch out for Pats going back to the days when Galway United players used to join them frequently. My brother brought me up to Dublin one weekend (going back around 25 years here now) and we spent the night out drinking with Peter Carpenter, Ricky Flaherty and others. Best of Luck anyway, would be great to break the top 2 stranglehold this season.

Ah, the rats at St Pats, isn't that what they were christened in Galway at the time ?😄 Johnny Glynn was the third member of that holy trinity, still fondly remembered at Richmond, especially Ricky Flah. Peter Carpenter was a super left back too.

placid casual
14/02/2019, 9:09 PM
I suppose it may depend on what Oriel means by "the project"

If he is referring to the "Bradley Project", I suspect that the manager could be under pressure for his job if Rovers are not, at a minimum, challenging for the title. I doubt he would survive another 'also ran' season with a third or fourth place finish and no major trophy.

I don't expect that hypothesis to be tested

Fair enough if he was referring to Bradley, I assumed he was speaking about the grander Rovers project if producing young players through the academy. That will survive Bradley ,and many more besides, I'd wager.

Kingswood Rover
15/02/2019, 8:16 AM
Go way too fcuk, Rovers project will be over, its been going on since 1899, its in its 3rd different century.

ForzaForth
15/02/2019, 8:30 AM
1. Dundalk
2. Shamrock Rovers
3. Cork
4. St. Pats
5. Waterford
6. Bohemians
7. Derry City
8. UCD
9. Sligo Rovers
10. Finn Harps