View Full Version : FREE bus

12/04/2005, 2:22 PM
In tonights leader (not written by o'shaughnassy) :D

Limerick have a half page advert about FREE buses to the game provided by Kelly Travel Pallasgreen. There are three routes

1 Pallaskenry 6:45
Kildimo 6:55 slatterys pub
Clarina 7:05 maxol
Mungret 7:15 19th hole bar

2 shannon 6:30 shannon knights pub
Bunratty 6:45 Creamery bar (main road)
Cratloe 6:55 Setrights pub
Cahirdavin 7:15 Davin Arms pub

3 Knocklong 6:30 dan doooleys ford centre
Hospital 6:45 Handball alleys
Herbertstown 7:00 Ger Wrights pub
Cahirconlish 7:15 Lynchs bar

Theres is a note attached

If u and a group would like a bus from any other town in the mid west,contact 086 1758184 for further info.

fc hammer
12/04/2005, 2:25 PM
pickup outside the steering wheel at 7.30?? :)

13/04/2005, 10:26 AM
pickup outside the steering wheel at 7.30?? :)

:D :D

Seriuosly Ilike the buses idea tho good step. Now hopefully they can fill them :ball:

dutchie
13/04/2005, 11:34 AM
where in pallaskenry is the pick-up

13/04/2005, 11:43 AM
What happened to Kilfinnane - Killmallock - Bruff? :confused: :rolleyes:

13/04/2005, 11:49 AM

Ask the same question every time I drive through. I reckon it must be a combination of the famine and the Civil War :D

13/04/2005, 1:26 PM

ring the number! get onto nempton who has 3/4 and go from there.

13/04/2005, 1:27 PM
where in pallaskenry is the pick-up

not being funny but how big is pallas? id say its on the main (one) street.

Nempton
13/04/2005, 2:13 PM
Its great to see the free buses up and running but a bit disapointing to see that they are not venturing too far out from the city, I would have thought that they would target the big towns like Kilmallock and Newcastle West. Also they should have targeted towns where the players come from because people will always have an interest when someone they know is involved.

ring the number! get onto nempton who has 3/4 and go from there.
I can't see any point in contacting the number after I went to the bother to fill out the sheet listing the people interested in the buses, it seems clear that they are not interested in having buses running that far out. I guess we are on our own again SLK :(

For the Clare bus they should consider stopping in Sixmilebridge, its a bit silly to bypass it when you are heading from Shannon to Cratloe.

Ask the same question every time I drive through. I reckon it must be a combination of the famine and the Civil War
Hey blondie leave us country boys alone, we can't all head to the hairdresser like you to get our roots done :p ;)

13/04/2005, 2:24 PM
I can't see any point in contacting the number after I went to the bother to fill out the sheet listing the people interested in the buses, it seems clear that they are not interested in having buses running that far out. I guess we are on our own again SLK :(

What u say is correct you did put names down on a supporters club sheet but as the SC has not met with the club since it has not been possible to give it to them. So again i suggest you ring the number and get a bus going!

4tothefloor
13/04/2005, 4:28 PM
No bus from West Limerick is a bit of a joke - Newcastle West is only the fastest growing town in europe, why bother? :rolleyes: There should be a bus going from Newcastle West - Rathkeale - Adare - Patrickswell. They're providing buses for the people that live closest to Limerick, yet none for those that live out in the county!? All you are going to achieve with that is people who are already attending games will start to avail of the buses, and leave their cars at home. The whole point of the buses should be to target new fans in big areas of the county that are untapped by the club at the moment. Not just provide buses for the fans we already have!

There is a lot of people from NCW going to the Limerick games as it is, plus Keith Hartnett is from Rathkeale, Liam Costelloe is from Adare. If there was a bus put on and it was well advertised in secondary schools etc, there'd be no problem filling them. What else are people going to be doing on friday nights during the summer, especially teenagers interested in soccer, but no premiership to watch?

LFC in Exile
14/04/2005, 9:34 AM
No bus from West Limerick is a bit of a joke - Newcastle West is only the fastest growing town in europe, why bother? :rolleyes: There should be a bus going from Newcastle West - Rathkeale - Adare - Patrickswell. They're providing buses for the people that live closest to Limerick, yet none for those that live out in the county!? All you are going to achieve with that is people who are already attending games will start to avail of the buses, and leave their cars at home. The whole point of the buses should be to target new fans in big areas of the county that are untapped by the club at the moment. Not just provide buses for the fans we already have!

There is a lot of people from NCW going to the Limerick games as it is, plus Keith Hartnett is from Rathkeale, Liam Costelloe is from Adare. If there was a bus put on and it was well advertised in secondary schools etc, there'd be no problem filling them. What else are people going to be doing on friday nights during the summer, especially teenagers interested in soccer, but no premiership to watch?

I think Gael's message said something like:

Theres is a note attached

If u and a group would like a bus from any other town in the mid west,contact 086 1758184 for further info.

Why not help the club by being the point man for West Limerick. Do a bit of work and if you believe the numbers are there the club appears only too happy to arrange buses.

14/04/2005, 11:06 AM
I guess we are on our own again SLK :(

Well I can get you back as far as Bruff afterwards if it suits you. I know it's not the same as a bus but it'll do me for now! ;)

14/04/2005, 11:51 AM
Hey blondie leave us country boys alone, we can't all head to the hairdresser like you to get our roots done :p ;)

:o

I'll have you know I did these roots all by myself :eek: :D

4tothefloor
14/04/2005, 11:26 PM
Why not help the club by being the point man for West Limerick. Do a bit of work and if you believe the numbers are there the club appears only too happy to arrange buses.

I live in Raheen and drive to the games straight after work, so I wouldn't be much help in that regard. I'm just saying that there should be a bus from West Limerick as there is large untapped support out there. It's the club PRO's job to do his homework and get the buses running, not mine!

eL Bettor
21/04/2005, 3:51 PM
Ask the same question every time I drive through. I reckon it must be a combination of the famine and the Civil War :D

:D :D :D @ Lim til I die

21/04/2005, 3:55 PM

Thanks, I try :p

eL Bettor
21/04/2005, 4:16 PM
Think I found it funny cos I have cousins near Kilmallock! Keep em comin LTID :D

22/04/2005, 11:24 AM

I laughed too actually. A contender for post of the month surely?

22/04/2005, 11:30 AM
I laughed too actually. A contender for post of the month surely?

Jaysus SLK thats two out of me in the last month. :D

Lads i'll have to start charging for all my pearls of wisdom :p

25/04/2005, 5:35 PM
two new routes starting in Killmallock and Newcastlewest are to be added for this Friday night. I DO NOT NO WHERE EXACTLY YET SO DONT GO ASKING where there stopping etc and other stuff. Ill post up when i know the full details. Also the supporters club bus to kildare is filling up nicelly so anyone who wants to go will have to pay up and put ur name down this Friday at the table. its only €6 return.

4tothefloor
25/04/2005, 8:02 PM
Ye should try and get some posters up in the secondary schools and pubs around the towns. Ideally someone should visit the schools to publicise it properly. It's the only way you'll fill the buses. If you have posters I can get someone to put them up in a few pubs etc in NCW.

JohnD
26/04/2005, 4:23 PM
Limerick FC are Running more Buses this Friday to the Game from Newcastlwest, Rathkeale and Kilmallock.

Bus Routes:
1 Pallaskenry 6:45 Community Centre

4.Kilmallock 6.30 The Church
Bruff 6.50 Dave Clarke’s Bar
Holycross 7.00 O’Riordans’ Bar
Grange 7.05 The Hamlet Bar
Ballyneety 7.15 The Stroller Bar

5.Newcastlewest 6.30 The River Room Motel
Rathkeale 6.45 Rathkeale House Hotel (Car Park)
Croagh 6.55 The Croagh Tavern
Adare 7.05pm Chawkes’ Bar
Patrickswell 7.20 Chu Chulainn Bar

26/04/2005, 4:38 PM
I presume it won't be a problem just getting the bus one way (back to Bruff) should I require it?

Westside
26/04/2005, 7:51 PM
Limerick FC are Running more Buses this Friday to the Game from Newcastlwest, Rathkeale and Kilmallock.

Bus Routes:
1 Pallaskenry 6:45 Community Centre

4.Kilmallock 6.30 The Church
Bruff 6.50 Dave Clarke’s Bar
Holycross 7.00 O’Riordans’ Bar
Grange 7.05 The Hamlet Bar
Ballyneety 7.15 The Stroller Bar

5.Newcastlewest 6.30 The River Room Motel
Rathkeale 6.45 Rathkeale House Hotel (Car Park)
Croagh 6.55 The Croagh Tavern
Adare 7.05pm Chawkes’ Bar
Patrickswell 7.20 Chu Chulainn Bar

If u and a group would like a bus from any other town in the mid west,contact 086 1758184 for further info.John the bus routes are a great idea but I think the Pallaskenry route would be better if it was run as follows

Askeaton :6.45 Arena Supermarket.
Kilcornan :6.55 The Coach House aka Go Karting Centre.(Pallaskenry is only
3 miles approx from this pick-up point.At least then it covers
Askeaton and also maybe Shanagolden and Foynes, as these
areas are only short drives to Askeaton.The rest of the
stops on that route are ok.
Maybe it should be mentioned to the powers that be at the club. I would have no problem putting up posters in NCW, Askeaton, Foynes, Rathkeale etc if it meant generating more interest....... At least if the club handed out flyers to individuals from certain areas in the county, ie all the big towns of free buses to the games well what harm would it do.

dutchie
27/04/2005, 9:10 AM
I think the route from askeaton via kilcornan would be a preferred route as their is a lot of intrest in limerick soccer in these two areas.

Westside
27/04/2005, 9:06 PM
Just happened to be at an underage match in Pallaskenry tonight and I was talking to a lot of guys down there about the bus route from there, they seemed to think they would have trouble filling it as they have Desmond League matches on Friday night (well this weekend anyway) so I still think with a little bit of advertising Askeaton - Limerick would be the more viable option.

10/05/2005, 1:59 PM
Just bringing this to the top again lads as its on again this Friday. i think the pallaskenry thing is still going :cool:

10/05/2005, 2:19 PM
Just bringing this to the top again lads as its on again this Friday. i think the pallaskenry thing is still going :cool:

There are 5 buses departing from the following locations, and making stops in towns and villages on the way:

Shannon
NewcastleWest
Knocklong
Pallaskenry
Killmallock.

The half time entertainment will be played out this week by the Ennis Town underage academy, which, incidentally is run by Limerick FC head coach Declan Farmer.

marketsfield
11/05/2005, 6:31 PM
Just as a matter of interest how many people are travelling on these buses. Are the viable in the long run with the present numbers

muls world
11/05/2005, 9:48 PM
"Provide the bus and they will go".
And no this isn't a pipe (field of) dream(s). Come on the blues, lets send them ramblers packing friday night

4tothefloor
11/05/2005, 10:08 PM
I'm trying to find places in Newcastle West at the moment that will allow the match posters to be put up. Not going to go near any of the pubs yet as most of them have connections to the towns desmond league clubs, and with games on friday nights still taking place, I don't want to step on anyone's toes. They'll be going up in some schools and shops tomorrow though.

LFC in Exile
12/05/2005, 11:25 AM
I'm trying to find places in Newcastle West at the moment that will allow the match posters to be put up. Not going to go near any of the pubs yet as most of them have connections to the towns desmond league clubs, and with games on friday nights still taking place, I don't want to step on anyone's toes. They'll be going up in some schools and shops tomorrow though.

Fair play.