View Full Version : Hearts fans; Hearts v Celtic
11/04/2005, 5:06 PM
Just back to Scotland after a week at home. Just seeing on the Scottish news headlines about the Hearts supporters booing the minutes silence for the Pope, the disrespectful feckers! If the Queen died, i wouldn't dream of booing a minute's silence for her, even though i can't stand the Royal waste of space.
11/04/2005, 5:17 PM
Much ado about nothing. Hearts are predominantly supported by those who don't have the train fare to Glasgow. What would you expect ?
These minute silences at football matches are usually unnecessary and should be abolished. We don't have minute silences at work so why on the football pitch ?
If the Queen died (head of the Church of England), how well do you think a minute's silence would go at Celtic Park ?
11/04/2005, 5:18 PM
Just back to Scotland after a week at home. Just seeing on the Scottish news headlines about the Hearts supporters booing the minutes silence for the Pope, the disrespectful feckers! If the Queen died, i wouldn't dream of booing a minute's silence for her, even though i can't stand the Royal waste of space.
Did you honestly expect anything else from them? :confused: Your average Hertz fan is just a hun without the bus fare, after all...
:ball: PP
11/04/2005, 5:49 PM
suppose they are! but i would say a minute's silence for the queen at parkhead would not be as bad, depends if it was an old firm or not, cos then u tend to get more thick bigots. just watched it on the news, the ref had to blow the whistle at 20secs as it was obvious they were going to continue.. :rolleyes:
not good for the club though, said on news it had made the papers in new york and other far flung places
Much ado about nothing. Hearts are predominantly supported by those who don't have the train fare to Glasgow. What would you expect ?
These minute silences at football matches are usually unnecessary and should be abolished. We don't have minute silences at work so why on the football pitch ?
If the Queen died (head of the Church of England), how well do you think a minute's silence would go at Celtic Park ?
Was at the game when there was a minute's silence for the Queen's Mother three years ago, and apart from a few eejit's giving the press more flack to chuck at us, 99 per cent of fans showed respect for it.
Did you honestly expect anything else from them? :confused: Your average Hertz fan is just a hun without the bus fare, after all...
Not that I look at the daily ******, but I seen a copy of it today and they even managed to find a way to blame Celtic fans for reacting to it by singing a few chants at Hearts fans afterwards.
How that paper has changed.
11/04/2005, 6:49 PM
Not that I look at the daily ******, but I seen a copy of it today and they even managed to find a way to blame Celtic fans for reacting to it by singing a few chants at Hearts fans afterwards.
ar$ieholes! :eek: i remember watching that game, when there was a min silence for the queen mum, i was pleasantly surprised at the reaction, fair play, they didn't stoop as low as the rangers/hearts/england followers who boo at the drop of a hat.
Junior
11/04/2005, 10:12 PM
I was at Hampden yesterday, it was all too predictable.
Everyone knew the Hearts fans were going to disrupt the minutes silence, though I was a bit surprised that it was 80-90% of them, booing, singing, whistling etc.......
Personally I wouldn't have bothered with it, I know there are those that would suggest this is bowing down to the bigots, however I feel that those who truly wanted to pay respects to the pope would have done so already & don't need a minutes silence at a game of football to do so.
I knew however that Celtic fans couldn't escape the wrath of the tabloid journalists and no sooner was I back in the car listening to Jim Traynor on the radio and I quote " Celtic can no longer claim the moral high ground after their foul mouthed bigoted response" He was of course referring to Celtic Fans singing The Soldiers Song, including the line 'God Bless the Pope' :rolleyes:
So no matter what Panorama says, Bigotry in Scotland is not only a West of Scotland issue, is it?
liam88
11/04/2005, 10:31 PM
"He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead"
God Bless the Pope! :D
11/04/2005, 10:34 PM
I only encountered bigotry when i came to Scotland from Northern Ireland! :eek:
chicago tribune and a few new york papers got wind of it.
http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/sns-ap-soc-pope-booed,1,722184.story?ctrack=1&cset=true
I was at Hampden yesterday, it was all too predictable.
Everyone knew the Hearts fans were going to disrupt the minutes silence, though I was a bit surprised that it was 80-90% of them, booing, singing, whistling etc.......
Personally I wouldn't have bothered with it, I know there are those that would suggest this is bowing down to the bigots, however I feel that those who truly wanted to pay respects to the pope would have done so already & don't need a minutes silence at a game of football to do so.
I knew however that Celtic fans couldn't escape the wrath of the tabloid journalists and no sooner was I back in the car listening to Jim Traynor on the radio and I quote " Celtic can no longer claim the moral high ground after their foul mouthed bigoted response" He was of course referring to Celtic Fans singing The Soldiers Song, including the line 'God Bless the Pope' :rolleyes:
So no matter what Panorama says, Bigotry in Scotland is not only a West of Scotland issue, is it?
That was the bloke that was banging on in the paper yesterday. That's right he normally does a phone in show after game's, when he starts off its almost like the Mark Walters carry on here. ;) As for Hearts have to admit not surprised with the response, this is proberly the first time i've seen them get blamed by the media for some of their bigoted actions.
12/04/2005, 11:15 AM
We don't have minute silences at work so why on the football pitch ? Where I work we did, minutes silence at 9am last Friday morning.
12/04/2005, 11:55 AM
let's not forget that the minute's silence was also interrupted (albeit to a lesser degree) in the other semi despite both Hibs and Dundee United being perceived as having Catholic links (again, on a lesser scale than Celtics).
12/04/2005, 12:06 PM
Much ado about nothing my arse. :) If this was the other way around it would be on the front page of every paper in Scotland.
Their was a minutes silence at CP for Diana and the Queen's mother btw.
However, former vice chairman of the Federation of Hearts Supporters’ Club, Robin Beith, said the SFA had to take at least some responsibility for what happened.
"This type of situation does lend itself to people acting in an antisocial manner.
"The Pope is unrelated to football and the SFA should have known better than to have a minute’s silence - I think they were ill advised," he said.
"Are the 20,000 other [Celtic] fans who were singing the Republic of Ireland’s national anthem going to be arrested too?"
12/04/2005, 1:33 PM
let's not forget that the minute's silence was also interrupted (albeit to a lesser degree) in the other semi despite both Hibs and Dundee United being perceived as having Catholic links (again, on a lesser scale than Celtics).
yes , i just got back on sat night, so i had not seen this on tv, but it is a joke too! if it was vice versa with the queen etc, it would be on front pages :rolleyes:
boysingreen
13/04/2005, 3:41 AM
"Are the 20,000 other [Celtic] fans who were singing the Republic of Ireland’s national anthem going to be arrested too?" [/b]
When did singing Amhrain Na Bhfiain become a criminal offense :mad:
Hibs4Ever
13/04/2005, 7:07 AM
When did singing Amhrain Na Bhfiain become a criminal offense :mad:
When did booing become a criminal offence :mad:
Can be taken as breach of the peace, or incitement to hatred, when done during a minute's silence, and that being a minute's silence for anyone.
Hibs4Ever
13/04/2005, 8:51 AM
Can be taken as breach of the peace, or incitement to hatred, when done during a minute's silence, and that being a minute's silence for anyone.
Sorry Sylvo. But booing is NOT a crimanal offence no matter what way you put it. I don't in any way agree with what the Jambos done. But observing a minutes silence is NOT a law, its a choice
13/04/2005, 10:19 AM
Much ado about nothing my arse. :) If this was the other way around it would be on the front page of every paper in Scotland.There was a minutes silence at CP for Diana and the Queen's mother btw.:
As I say, much ado about nothing. It wouldn't bother me if someone booed when Diana, the Pope, the Queen Mother or Uncle Tom Cobley and all died. There are dick heads all over the world who would boo even if it was their own parents' funeral.
Shock! Horror! Hearts fans disrespect the minute's silence. It's like expressing surprise that a junkie broke into a cocaine factory. It was almost the most predictable thing in the world, next to Linfield or Rangers' fans booing.
Hibs4Ever
13/04/2005, 10:21 AM
As I say, much ado about nothing. It wouldn't bother me if someone booed when Diana, the Pope, the Queen Mother or Uncle Tom Cobley and all died. There are dick heads all over the world who would boo even if it was their own parents' funeral.
Shock! Horror! Hearts fans disrespect the minute's silence. It's like expressing surprise that a junkie broke into a cocaine factory. It was almost the most predictable thing in the world, next to Linfield or Rangers' fans booing.
I agree. STUPID of the SFA doing it in the 1st place. Were they honestly surprised? I doubt it
13/04/2005, 11:02 AM
Saints4Ever - Seriously, you really have to lose the anti-Celtic bias. :) If Hearts booed the Pope against another team you wouldn't be condoning it.
Hibs4Ever
13/04/2005, 11:34 AM
Saints4Ever - Seriously, you really have to lose the anti-Celtic bias. :) If Hearts booed the Pope against another team you wouldn't be condoning it.\
I'm just saying it's not a criminal offence that the Jambos booed, in reply to a post saying its not a crimanal offence to sing our national anthem at a scottish match. Thats all. I don't agree with the jambo fans, i already said that. but it was to be expected, and nobody can honestly say they're surprised.
Hibs4Ever
13/04/2005, 11:35 AM
By the way. WHY do i have to lose the anti ceptic bias??? :D :rolleyes:
13/04/2005, 1:12 PM
By the way. WHY do i have to lose the anti celtic bias???
Because you're outnumbered. :cool: :eek: :D
:D PP
Junior
13/04/2005, 1:47 PM
Its not an anti celtic bias, he's actually defending his own beloved Hibs supporters for their behaviour on Saturday.
Ahh well you'll only be interested in one game the weekend of the Cup Final / Jackie Mc's Testimonial?? :D
13/04/2005, 3:00 PM
Its not really the bias, you just seem more interested in Celtic than you do Hibs. :) Just let Celtic and their fans get on with life! :mad: ;) I don't like Rangers but I don't have to post in every thread about them and find a reason to slate them.
sylvo
13/04/2005, 11:12 PM
Sorry Sylvo. But booing is NOT a crimanal offence no matter what way you put it. I don't in any way agree with what the Jambos done. But observing a minutes silence is NOT a law, its a choice
So why were six Hearts fans arrested then during the minutes silence, nothing to do with incitement to hatred.
Kerry Blue
14/04/2005, 4:06 AM
Hearts 1
Hibernian 2
Go on the Hibbees!
European football next season! :)
Hibs4Ever
14/04/2005, 7:39 AM
Hearts 1
Hibernian 2
Go on the Hibbees!
European football next season! :)
HIBEE'S HIBEE'S HIBEE'S :D :D :D
Hibs4Ever
14/04/2005, 7:40 AM
So why were six Hearts fans arrested then during the minutes silence, nothing to do with incitement to hatred.
You tell me. Show me the information that these Hearts fans were arrested for booing :confused:
Show me the evidence that Hearts fans were arrested too.
Hibs4Ever
14/04/2005, 7:41 AM
Its not really the bias, you just seem more interested in Celtic than you do Hibs. :) Just let Celtic and their fans get on with life! :mad: ;) I don't like Rangers but I don't have to post in every thread about them and find a reason to slate them.
Where am I "slating" celtic on this thread??
And nobody is stopping you from talking about rangers if you can see a thread on them. :D
You tell me. Show me the information that these Hearts fans were arrested for booing :confused:
Show me the evidence that Hearts fans were arrested too.
Not to up to date with the arrest file's of mr Stratclyde pole eece man, but in the match reports after it did say that six Hearts fans were lifted for their carry on during the minutes silence, hence breach of the peace, and incitment to hatred and due to the fact that the minutes silence was for a religous leader under new Scottish laws incitment of Sectarian hatred.
BTW good result for your team last night, I can only guess that that gave them something to really boo. :D
Hibs4Ever
14/04/2005, 8:09 AM
Not to up to date with the arrest file's of mr Stratclyde pole eece man, but in the match reports after it did say that six Hearts fans were lifted for their carry on during the minutes silence, hence breach of the peace, and incitment to hatred and due to the fact that the minutes silence was for a religous leader under new Scottish laws incitment of Sectarian hatred.
BTW good result for your team last night, I can only guess that that gave them something to really boo. :D
So all speculation. Good stuff :D
And yes, we enjoyed a great win over the jambos last night ;) Will be VERY happy with 3rd place finish and Europe :D
Gerrit
17/04/2005, 12:24 AM
It is a Scottish Premiership game, Scotland is not a catholic country and this means there shouldn't be a minute silence for the Pope in the first place.
I know Celtic claims to be Irish. Bull****, they are based in Glasgow, they're Scottish and thus British. I like Celtic, don't get me wrong, but they are in Scotland and have to adept to the general way things go there, weither they like it or not.
By the way, when the Queen Mum died, Celtic was the only club in Britain who refused a minute of silence. Nice way of trying to prove they're Irish :rolleyes:
Look, I am a native Belgian living in Ireland. I have to adept to Irish laws and rules, otherwise I have to leave back to Belgium. I cannot go speaking Dutch when buying a bag of Cornflakes or ordering coca-cola in a pub. I will not ask Shelbourne for a minute of silence in case the Belgian King would die.
The immigrant has to adept to the nationals, isn't that normal ? Celtic may have Irish roots, but they are in Scotland. So they have to accept the Scottish bylaws. Hearts shouldn't even do a minute of silence for the pope normally, they're protestant for god's sake !
17/04/2005, 2:34 AM
Well, Scotland may be majority Protestant, but there are quite a number of Catholics here also. As the Pope is the head of the Catholic church, and the head of the church of the Catholics in Scotland, there should be a minute's silence. Just like when herself the Queen dies, she is the head of the Church of England, but represents Britain, therefore yes a minute's silence. There were Catholics present at the game, players(on both sides i assume) and fans, who i would imagine would have wanted and respected a minute's silence. These scumbags should have respected silence for a great man, someone who made a difference to the world, not use it to attack Catholicism. As far as i know, i don't think Celtic refused a min silence for queen mum, there was definitely a min silence for her, i thought i watched it on tv and it was observed quite well under the circumstances, especially in comparison to this shameful ignorance. :mad:
17/04/2005, 9:32 AM
Well said KT. :)
Gerrit, I know you mean well, but your take is too simplistic for many of the issues at hand. Besides which, your suggestion that all immigrants should assimilate rather than integrate is an extremely dangerous one; usually the preserve of far-right groups if I'm not very much mistaken.
And just you try telling the 10,000 or so that cross the North Channel and the Irish Sea for games at Celtic Park that their club doesn't have an Irish dimension. I wish you luck... :eek:
Oh, and btw, you're well wide of the mark on that "refusal" by Celtic to hold silence for the gin-sodden old leech when she carked it. But why let the facts cloud a good story, eh? :rolleyes:
17/04/2005, 2:09 PM
Well said KT. :)
Gerrit, I know you mean well, but your take is too simplistic for many of the issues at hand. Besides which, your suggestion that all immigrants should assimilate rather than integrate is an extremely dangerous one; usually the preserve of far-right groups if I'm not very much mistaken.
And just you try telling the 10,000 or so that cross the North Channel and the Irish Sea for games at Celtic Park that their club doesn't have an Irish dimension. I wish you luck... :eek:
Oh, and btw, you're well wide of the mark on that "refusal" by Celtic to hold silence for the gin-sodden old leech when she carked it. But why let the facts cloud a good story, eh? :rolleyes:
Hee hee!! :D what a description!
Gerrit
17/04/2005, 4:03 PM
That I don't think the Pope was that great, I have already expressed in another topic. He did great things, but caused some deaths in Africa too... Anyways, that's off-topic.
18/04/2005, 2:19 AM
That I don't think the Pope was that great, I have already expressed in another topic. He did great things, but caused some deaths in Africa too... Anyways, that's off-topic.
he did not cause deaths in africa, but this has been discussed before :rolleyes:
18/04/2005, 11:16 AM
he did not cause deaths in africa, but this has been discussed before :rolleyes:
He was a homophobic old bigot though. Wellmeaning but ignorant would be my view though I do think the Hearts fans were out of order.