Collins 26 .......... Goldbey 68
Vaughan 36 75
Gorman 88

five games gone and we're already 6points behind
cobh and sligo.... another beautiful season in the
first division.... :D :) :o :( :mad:

DonO'Bate
10/04/2005, 5:14 PM
Oh, no another loss to Crackpot Keely, to borrow Mr. Keegan's phrase I would just love it, love it to have beaten Dub City.
We are now third from bottom of the league. What happened our defence? We have now got the worst defensive record in the league together with Limerick. We just simply have to beat Dundalk next Friday night, other wise we will end up like Finn Harps and spend 10 seasons in this division

Galwayexile
10/04/2005, 5:56 PM
this seems to happen every season with galway United.why dont they get things right for once.This league is so open this season its scandelous and what do we see yet again Galway United are doing s**t. I for one would love it if we had a team that every galway person could be proud off.What promised alot pre season has turned into a disaster.Hopefully i will be proved wrong but i doubt it as players like david o dowd just dont cut it in this divison.
Sorry for the rant, im just a frustrated Galway Fan based in dublin and sick of all the exposure the teams here are getting.

Ringo
10/04/2005, 8:54 PM
in fairness, your squad look very young. Dublin City have played fairly bad so far & the team wasn't gelling. Today the looked good. I wouldn't be too hopeful of getting a result against Dundalk, they looked pretty strong to me

GalwayFrancis
10/04/2005, 10:18 PM
in fairness, your squad look very young. Dublin City have played fairly bad so far & the team wasn't gelling. Today the looked good. I wouldn't be too hopeful of getting a result against Dundalk, they looked pretty strong to me

what was the attendance of the match in richer?

Derek
10/04/2005, 10:31 PM
Nothing offical but I would say about 200/250ish.

Breifne
10/04/2005, 10:41 PM
what was the attendance of the match in richer?

probably about that, seemed to be very few from Galway around, about 30/40, with maybe 200 Dublin City fans.

Have to complement the Galway side though, at no stage did they stop trying to play football, in this division that's really rare, so fair play, we we're stronger on the day, but thats the first game we looked like we could possibly win this division.

Galway have the right idea and only for a little bit more luck could have seen themselves back in the game when they got one.

Best of luck for the season ahead, hope that you manage to make a push, and hopefully secure second place.

galwaygirl
11/04/2005, 8:30 AM
Hopefully i will be proved wrong but i doubt it as players like david o dowd just dont cut it in this divison.

How in the name of god can you blame Dave O'Dowd, he didnt even start yesterday. In my opinion he's one of the hardest working players on the team

11/04/2005, 8:45 AM
at most there was 120 there and at least a third were from galway what Dublin City are in existence for I dont know.

11/04/2005, 9:58 AM
GalwaysFrancis, use proper thread titles please.

Galwayexile
11/04/2005, 1:26 PM
Galwaygirl i know he wasnt. i meant in general, at the end of the day hes a striker and his goal ratio is what strikers are based on.Only maybe barry moran has a decent rate. They should cop themselves on a bit or else the season will be over before its even started.Maybe the juniors from salthill devon would do a better job.

11/04/2005, 1:34 PM
Galwaygirl i know he wasnt. i meant in general, at the end of the day hes a striker and his goal ratio is what strikers are based on.

Which still leaves him as the second best striker we have at the moment :o , I think he scored 6 in the league last season. :(

Derek
11/04/2005, 1:38 PM
at most there was 120 there and at least a third were from galway what Dublin City are in existence for I dont know.

So we can bring you all the way to the big smoke and show you a thing or two about football. ;)

11/04/2005, 2:04 PM
they were almost as bad as we were and only for our Kindness in Gift Wrapping all 4 goals they hardly looked top of the table material. I see you didnt disagree over the crowd Pathetic!

11/04/2005, 2:06 PM
what Dublin City are in existence for I dont know.

Stupid thing to say gufct. Considering they did beat ye 4-1, it's not saying much about yer team so

11/04/2005, 3:11 PM
is mainly there to provide Ronan Seery with a job full stop.They bring nothing to the league and the way they are messing around teams over their fixtures is crazy.

11/04/2005, 3:15 PM
They bring nothing to the league and the way they are messing around teams over their fixtures is crazy.

They still managed to beat ye though, just accept it. If they are really bad, it's not saying much for Galway then is it? :confused:

Patrick Dunne
11/04/2005, 3:18 PM
.. apparently is when they are going to pay their games from now on. They will play anytime, anywhere. While they are a well organised club on and off the pitch, they bring very little to the league.

Galwayexile
11/04/2005, 5:20 PM
Thats a stupid statement to make, Dublin city are a good team and have a good manager in keeley.We wont get anywhere if we slag the other teams off.Hopefully Galway utd will buck up and improve their form.

11/04/2005, 6:06 PM
Its very annoying too see the start weve made this year and unfortunately it doesnt look like improoving but its a long season.However one thing that has really annoyed me is the lack of effort put in by 90% of the team.I dont believe that quality is our only fault,its pride in the jersey too!we also have a poor leader on the pitch with nigel keady and lack of belief to carry on the minute we concede.Things have to change and with 2 home games coming up 6 out of 6 points is a must.
Also it would be appreciated if the players would bother to acknowledge us after the game,especially when we travel 3 hours to watch our side loose 4-1

11/04/2005, 6:09 PM
Stupid thing to say gufct. Considering they did beat ye 4-1, it's not saying much about yer team so
Is that not trolling!

11/04/2005, 6:51 PM
Is that not trolling!

Eh no Conor, I'm stating a point, gufct said that he/she didn't know why Dublin were still in existence and all I said was they bet ye 4-1 so if they are bad team then it's not saying much for you ok?

Are you trying to start this whole Rovers/Galway thing again Conor? Cos it certainly looks like it. :rolleyes:

Derek
11/04/2005, 7:04 PM
I would have to say that it is a sad reflection of some people that have to resort to insults to a club that are doing well and in my opinion do add something to the Eircom league.

Can you not just take the result and move on? If you lost against the mighty Dubs then it is your own club that has problems and not the Dubs.

11/04/2005, 7:33 PM
Can you not just take the result and move on?

Exactly! ;)

Patrick Dunne
11/04/2005, 8:49 PM
.. We were hammered 4-1 by Dublin City. They deserve their victory. I have said in previous posts that DCFC were well organised on and off the pitch.
Certainly, on the pitch, they are in a far better state than us.

While developing football counties like Mayo, Meath,Tipperary, Kerry, Clare, Roscommon, Wexford have no EL teams, I fail to see what DCFC have to contribute. At the very least they should have to play by the rules. Their constant fixture changes are an outrage. They can get away with this because they have no support base to alienate.

Sligoman, you are guilty of hypocrisy. Like all Huns, you can give it, but you certainly can't take it back. I have no problem with you having a go at us on our forum. We are an appalling mess, and deserve to be slagged.

At the same time any mild slag from us on your forum (eg your supporters blatant lies at estimating home support, Connor never played for Port Vale, your insistence that you are massive) results in your posters running to moderators (Mammy, he said a bad word, waahh !). Next thing you'll be throwing stones at your computer terminal.

The sooner SRFC supporters develop a sense of perspective, humour and sarcasm the better, though I suspect because of your educational system, this will never happen.

PD.

Derek
12/04/2005, 12:15 AM
While developing football counties like Mayo, Meath,Tipperary, Kerry, Clare, Roscommon, Wexford have no EL teams, I fail to see what DCFC have to contribute. At the very least they should have to play by the rules. Their constant fixture changes are an outrage. They can get away with this because they have no support base to alienate.
PD.

I still don't see the point about the Dubs not having anything to offer or the relevence of the developing counties! The fixture changes are the fault of the league. What is stopping the developing counties? I will tell you, nobody with the vision of the DCFC chairman, it's as simple as that. He saw the opening a took it, The support will come given time.

And another thing, we are in good shape on and off the pitch aswell. How many teams are involved in the Galway youth football section?
Players get paid every week and on time.
Our biggest problem is a home of our own, but when we do get one the Eircom league should watch out as we will eventually rule the it. :D
We may have a small number of fans for now but one thing is for sure the fans we have are extremely loyal and a little bit of fixture hopping will not dampen our spirits.

Galwayexile
12/04/2005, 8:59 AM
they should make fortune or cleary captain to steady the ship.

12/04/2005, 9:31 AM
they should make fortune or cleary captain to steady the ship.

agree

Galwayexile
12/04/2005, 10:57 AM
whatever happened to tony folan then, did he retire or is he playing junor football.
Oh and also sean malee, now he was a great prospect.Is he playing gaelic somewhere in Mayo.

12/04/2005, 10:59 AM
changing the Captain will do anything as for giving Billy the armband are ye all living in Cloud Cuckoo Land.

Stephen has to assert his Authority full stop and move on from there. We then need to see who actualy cares about wearing the jersey and Roaring at people on or off the field is not a sign of love of the club.

As for Dublin City whether we won or lost on Sunday I would still qustion what are they in existence for!

Patrick Dunne
12/04/2005, 11:40 AM
.. gufct, as everyone knows he would go through the proverbial wall for GUFC.
There are plenty of other players there who deserve a kick up the a**e, especially what I call the "hair injury" brigade.

galwaygirl
12/04/2005, 11:41 AM
.. gufct, as everyone knows he would go through the proverbial wall for GUFC

ya i agree with you, PD

12/04/2005, 12:36 PM
I have added a poll to see who people think would do the best job possible as captain of our club.

12/04/2005, 1:13 PM
the problem with United wont be solved by changing the captain and I give up on some peoples ability to see through the Bull..t.

12/04/2005, 7:57 PM
I agree with you pd to an extent about billy but in dublin alot of his abuse(not encouragement) was directed simply at the younger players.This is harsh on them when it seems to me that alot of the more expierienced players need to wake up and realise there playing for G.U.F.C.So if Billy ,fort, nigel(hopefully not)or whoever are going to lead us then make no exceptions for anyone and get them to give 100% for the f****n jersey!

Patrick Dunne
12/04/2005, 8:16 PM
Like gufct, you were there, you witnessed what unfolded.

There are too many people at Galway United Football Club who don't care whether or not the first team are doing well. This extends to the majority of those on the board and executive. That is why they are in their current positions.

gufct, perhaps you should concentrate on the parasites who are killing our club.

12/04/2005, 8:24 PM
lads, if ye want to ask each other to stay of each other forum, forward links from previous posts and what not PM each other. I'm getting sick of reading this cr*p.

TERRY :mad:

12/04/2005, 8:24 PM
ya well said pd there are too many people who dont give a toss about how were doing and then simply criticise with no action

Galwayexile
13/04/2005, 7:36 AM
agreed, i thought the new board were all keen galway Utd fans including a certain politican. What can be done about it as a city like galway deserve a club that we can be proud of.We already have some of the best training facilities in the country if not the best.Terryland is a nice stadium with a great pitch, proberly only kilkenny's pitch is better.
All we need is someone to take a risk on a few decent players who give a toss about the Galway and give 100%. Do Galway have any supporter groups in dublin then.
Galway is a city with 70,000+ surely we can target a small % of them and get some more money on board from sponsors and i read somewhere that in 10 yrs time Galway will overtake cork as the No. two city in Ireland poplulation wise. Look at longford town, smaller town, stadium in the middle of nowwhere but they have a strong team and are playing in europe in the summer.Thats what we should be aiming for in the short term.