View Full Version : Who would you like your club to sign?

06/04/2005, 5:31 PM
Time for a good old fashioned stupid poll.
Presume the main few would be
Heary
Byrne
Hunt
and Doyle.
Although i've heard a few say Georgie is the most skilful player in the League.
The one player i'd like City to go after is actually Clive Delaney.
I haven't seen too much of him in recent months but he always impressed me. Just the kind of influence we need in the back four.

06/04/2005, 5:50 PM
The one player i'd like City to go after is actually Clive Delaney.
I haven't seen too much of him in recent months but he always impressed me.

SOLD to the man in the green, white and red top!

In fairness after an atrocious, and I really do mean atrocious, 1st season, he's probably our most improved player this season, dominating the air in both our games this season. He still doesn't attack the ball enough to be a big threat at our set pieces but hopefully he'll add that to his game in time.

He's also better than the similar sized Jimmy Aggry, but I'm not sure if thats much of a compliment......

06/04/2005, 5:52 PM
SOLD to the man in the green, white and red top!

In fairness after an atrocious, and I really do mean atrocious, 1st season, he's probably our most improved player this season, dominating the air in both our games this season. He still doesn't attack the ball enough to be a big threat at our set pieces but hopefully he'll add that to his game in time.

He's also better than the similar sized Jimmy Aggry, but I'm not sure if thats much of a compliment......
Jimmy aggry looks like one of the worst players in the league from what I've seen of him so far.

06/04/2005, 5:54 PM
Jimmy aggry looks like one of the worst players in the league from what I've seen of him so far.

TBH dunno who id prefer...aggrey or murray :confused:

06/04/2005, 5:56 PM
Aggrey is possibley the worst addition to the league I've seen in years.

If I could sign one player from another team in the league it would be Simon Webb. He's the best left full in the league and our options there are limited.

06/04/2005, 9:04 PM
Need right midfielder. Not much real quality options in the league - could play wes Hoolahan there or maybe Richie Baker but hard to tell how he'll work out this year.

adamcarr
06/04/2005, 9:14 PM
Would like a decent Centre Back! Possibly Dave Rogers!

aido_b
06/04/2005, 9:48 PM
hmm let me see,

well when we get the imminent 20 million from Real Madrid for Jimmy Aggrey :D , I'd love for us to sign Dave Rogers (real character and a great player) or Kevin Mc Hugh!

06/04/2005, 10:09 PM
Aggrey is possibley the worst addition to the league I've seen in years.
Was thinking that - he looked way off the pace against Derry - shockingly slow and marking empty space...

Just one player though? Creativity is our problem...I'd take Pat Sullivan (injury permitting obviously) or Seán Finn back. Barring that, someone like Wes Hoolihan who can run at players (trying to think of someone who does that from centre-mid?).

Amazed how Delaney's career has suffered since going to West Ham - should never have left us! :p

06/04/2005, 10:15 PM
Of course I'd love to see Jayo back anyday, besides him Heary or Hunt.
Mind you I'm probably forgetting some1

Candystripe
06/04/2005, 10:53 PM
We don't need anybody :cool:

07/04/2005, 12:35 AM
Same answer I always give in these polls.. Bring Stuey Byrne back to us, though I wouldn't turn my nose up at a prolific goalscorer such as Jason Byrne either.

BobtheDrog
07/04/2005, 11:54 AM
Would love to see killian brennan in the claret and blue, him or daryl murphy or even better both

07/04/2005, 12:10 PM
Amazed how Delaney's career has suffered since going to West Ham - should never have left us! :p
He was always overrated imo. Has it suffered because he left for west ham, or because teams have copped onto the fact that he is (and always has been) suspect to anything other than long balls aimed at him?

Stuey Byrne for me too. Him and Deano would be some pairing in the middle.

07/04/2005, 12:21 PM
He was always overrated imo. Has it suffered because he left for west ham, or because teams have copped onto the fact that he is (and always has been) suspect to anything other than long balls aimed at him?
Think you've had this rant before, haven't you? ;)

It obviously helped that teams - especially Cork - hoofed far too many balls towards him, but could play equally well with the ball at his feet. No other reason why West Ham - a Premiership side - would have signed him, started him in every reserve game and only not offer him a new contract because they were short of cash after getting relegated. Glad to see he seems to be coming into a bit of form again.

driver
07/04/2005, 12:29 PM
a striker, any striker actually, but preferably one who scores on occasion.

1 goal from the penalty spot in the first minute of the first game, and nothing since.

Goalkeeper to would be nice...Might stop one or two goals from going in....

wow a goalscoring striker and a goalkeeper to keep the shots out, well I can only dream :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :mad:

noby
07/04/2005, 12:35 PM
Did I miss something?
Is it understood we're talking about other eL players (even though it doesn't say it in the title) or is everyone very unambitious?

I'd like us to sign yer man Gatusso. He looked good on telly lastnight. And maybe Morientes, to replace Murphy if he goes to Ipswich.

If we are just talking eL players, I'd like to buy a whole load of attacking/forward players, just so no-one else can have them. Oh wait, someone is doing that already.

07/04/2005, 12:36 PM
You've Seanie there. Is he starting or is it yet another manager that can't see how good he is?

07/04/2005, 12:42 PM
The list in endless in fairness ! but at present the lads are doing a good job, but i would love to see Robbie Doyle back at the club (for obivious reasons !) We were also linked with Danny O'Connor in the close season, probably the most under-rated defender in the league, him back as well. And of the other any from Jason Byrne, Kevin Hunt, Stuey Byrne, Kevin Doyle, Tony MacDonnell or Trevor Molloy :eek:

driver
07/04/2005, 1:04 PM
sean has started a few games for us and come on in the other ones. Must have left his scoring boots at home though. The service is pretty poor to them, but in fairness the longer without a goal, the lower the confidence drops.

Come to think of it, maybe we just need a midfielder who an pass the ball and provide good service to our forwards.
Unlike others in this thread, I'm not picky, once they live up to the basic job description of their position I would be happy.

So lets see, my list at the moment contains, forwards, midfielders and a goalkeeper. So I guess, that means we're alright for defenders then.... :cool:

07/04/2005, 1:16 PM
Alan Reynolds and Trevor Molloy.

Would also have liked to see Killian Brennan come home too

07/04/2005, 1:32 PM
a striker, any striker actually,

why we have just the man for you, Introducing Colin O'Brien :o

07/04/2005, 1:33 PM
but i would love to see Robbie Doyle back at the club (for obivious reasons !) :rolleyes: :p lol
Agree 110%. Imagine Eamonn and Doyler up front together. What a strike force that would be, with back up from Fox, McGrory, Tarz and Grogan.... HAve a chat with him ROO!!! ;) Danny O' Conner @ left back aswell, what a defence we'd have then... But the player i want to see most @ Bray is, wait for it......... KEVIN MCHUGH. What a talent he is... Although on the form we are on @ the mo, we don't need anybody. :p

07/04/2005, 1:42 PM
Id like to see Brian Buckley (fairview rangers), Brendan Sweeney (douglas hall :confused: ) and Stev O'Flynn (Derry City) that should let us mount a challenge.

07/04/2005, 1:51 PM
Brian Buckley (fairview rangers), Brendan Sweeney (douglas hall) .
Who and Who??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

btid1
07/04/2005, 3:54 PM
I'd like to sign 10 new players.Preferably ones that dont get injured from the mere sight of a football :rolleyes:

Bohs Till I Die!

aido_b
07/04/2005, 4:06 PM
couldn't agree with ya more btid, keep hunt and build a whole new team around him! however I've just remembered one defender who was worse than Jimmy Aggray, Tony Witter! What a muppet!

monkey magic
07/04/2005, 5:19 PM
:rolleyes: :p lol
......... KEVIN MCHUGH. What a talent he is... :p

agree totally- weve been sniffin round him for a few seasons now but hes harps through and through... pity

bluemovie
07/04/2005, 6:16 PM
That's true loyalty that McHugh stayed with Harps for years in the 1st divsion. He's always been Premier class and having watched the drudge of Div 1 for a few years, I don't know how he didn't jump ship. Even if he didn't want to travel far, he could've signed for Derry. That's one reason I'd like Derry to stay up.

07/04/2005, 7:46 PM
Who and Who??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

Sweeney has played for Cobh Ramblers, Kilkenny City, Limerick and Cork City.

Buckley's a junior international and Fairview mainstay.

07/04/2005, 8:35 PM
Stuey Byrne any day

Dillo
07/04/2005, 9:04 PM
The list in endless in fairness ! but at present the lads are doing a good job, but i would love to see Robbie Doyle back at the club (for obivious reasons !) :eek:

What are the obvious reasons Roo69??

I'd love to see Robinho Doyle come to Longford but I could never see the lad leave the Capital for obvious reasons! Robbie needs Dublin just as much as Dublin needs Robbie. Probably more actually. His recent celebrations after finding the net in Drogheda were the best I've seen in a long long time. It's quite clear that Johnny McDonnell has resurrected Robbie's career after his troublesome spell with Bohs. He is now a real hit with Saints fans and its great to see Doyler is enjoying his football at last. All Robbie needs is some guidance. He has great ability and he's always full of energy on the pitch but some people such as Stephen Kenny fail to understand his ways. Let's hope Robbie has finally found an understanding manager in Johnny McDonnell.

07/04/2005, 9:07 PM
Obvious reasons are that he's a cousin of Roo's if memory serves correctly.

ccfcgirl
07/04/2005, 9:44 PM
Daryl Murphy or Jason Byrne.

08/04/2005, 8:20 AM

They are cousins, and he is such a brilliant talent.... Come back Robbie! :(

08/04/2005, 8:24 AM
I'd like to see GUFC sign ME !!! :D :cool:

galwaygirl
08/04/2005, 8:42 AM
I'd like to see GUFC sign ME !!! :D :cool:
Arent things bad enough Terry :D :eek: :D

08/04/2005, 12:05 PM

I'd love to see Robinho Doyle come to Longford but I could never see the lad leave the Capital for obvious reasons! Robbie needs Dublin just as much as Dublin needs Robbie. Probably more actually. His recent celebrations after finding the net in Drogheda were the best I've seen in a long long time. It's quite clear that Johnny McDonnell has resurrected Robbie's career after his troublesome spell with Bohs. He is now a real hit with Saints fans and its great to see Doyler is enjoying his football at last. All Robbie needs is some guidance. He has great ability and he's always full of energy on the pitch but some people such as Stephen Kenny fail to understand his ways. Let's hope Robbie has finally found an understanding manager in Johnny McDonnell.

Because he's one of my best mates (and cousin) and from Bray, i think he would be a real legend if he ever re-signed for Bray. His celebration was for one of the coaches on the Pats bench who's wife had just given birth.

he has done pretty well since signing for Pats and was one of the main reasons why they didnt get dragged into the relegation fight last season. Pats fans have taken to him very well, and yeah Johnny Mc is a very good Man Management Manager. The Bohs saga is well and truely behind him ta this stage.

08/04/2005, 1:22 PM
i think he would be a real legend if he ever re-signed for Bray.
Agreed.... He really does appreciate the support he gets aswell... :)

btid1
08/04/2005, 2:52 PM
couldn't agree with ya more btid, keep hunt and build a whole new team around him! however I've just remembered one defender who was worse than Jimmy Aggray, Tony Witter! What a muppet!

Jaysus Aido long time no talk.So this is where you have been hiding.The Eoin Mullen thing gave it away!!!

Ye a new team around Hunt would be nice.How about the following:

Russell

Toccy Maher O'Driscoll Webb

Shergar Hunt Caffo Morrison

Crowe Swanny

Now theres a team ;)

Bohs Till I Die!

P.S. Naturally Eoin Mullen would be on the bench!

Drogman.
08/04/2005, 3:34 PM
Well I would love to see Daryl Murphy. Every time I seen the lad he produces a brilliant display. Fantastic footballer and would improve any strike force ten fold.

I would have also said Shane Robinson, but we have him already :) So I'm happy enough.

Robbie Doyle? The chap has brilliant talent as a footballer but his attitude at times let him down a lot. If he wants to make a major impact in the league he'd wanna stop thinking that he's god gift to football. I mean at times at the game against Pats he would attempt to get the ball and then just dive and make a meal of it. Why bother??? But he's still youngish and has time to make an impact in the league if he wants to.

08/04/2005, 3:38 PM
Robbie Doyle? The chap has brilliant talent as a footballer but his attitude at times let him down a lot. If he wants to make a major impact in the league he'd wanna stop thinking that he's god gift to football. I mean at times at the game against Pats he would attempt to get the ball and then just dive and make a meal of it. Why bother??? But he's still youngish and has time to make an impact in the league if he wants to.
Edit this immediately. Roo69 will take you down........ :p ;) :p ;)

SligoRoversfan
10/04/2005, 3:09 PM
Colm Heffernan,Zinedine Zidane and Kenny Cunningham

10/04/2005, 3:24 PM
and Kenny Cunningham

Well, with our link up with Birmingham City SligoRoversfan, you never know ;) :D :D

10/04/2005, 3:28 PM
Robbie Doyle, he's got flair, he's entertaining, he's a character and he can score goals which we need and he has done at Belfield before!

blutil
10/04/2005, 10:47 PM
Heffernan is a great player alright, he loves his little flicks and stuff, just needs to know when to be fancy and when to be simple !!!

11/04/2005, 1:03 PM
Wes Hoolahan. Fantastic, skillful player.

Iorfa
11/04/2005, 6:50 PM
Shane Robinson/Alan Kirby.