View Full Version : Chairman steps down
As reported on waterford-united.ie
Waterford United Chairman Steps Down
April 5 2005
Waterford United wishes to acknowledge the efforts, commitment and dedication of Ger O Brien over the past five seasons. The club is in a strong position today to move forward and continue its development and progress and the efforts of Ger O Brien have played a significant part in achieving this status. Waterford United would like to thank Ger O Brien for his endeavours and wish him well for the future.
"Waterford United is in excellent shape today thanks to Ger O Brien's work over the past five years," commented Director Greg Pheasey. "Ger's departure marks the end of an important chapter in the club's history but we have a game against Bohemians on Friday night and our attention is now directed at that match. I would urge all the supporters to get behind the club and come to the RSC on Friday evening."
Greg Pheasey will assume the role of acting chairman of Waterford United for the moment.
Ger O Brien stepped down as Chairman, Director and General Manager today for business and personal reasons.
05/04/2005, 3:28 PM
well lads you finally got your way...the bishop will be ecstatic :D
05/04/2005, 3:47 PM
Greg Pheasey will assume the role of acting chairman of Waterford United for the moment.
More like the role of keeping the seat warm until Dolan's contract settlement is sorted! :p :D :D :D
hmmmm :eek: interesting. Still, good to see the back of this individual, by reputation alone the guy seemed like an uncompromising bully.
05/04/2005, 4:08 PM
He was the guy who sacked a manager over a dispute over not playing his son isn't it? If so, I can see why the Waterford fans are delighted with the news.
Partizan
05/04/2005, 4:18 PM
He was the guy who sacked a manager over a dispute over not playing his son isn't it? If so, I can see why the Waterford fans are delighted with the news.
We are. :p
05/04/2005, 4:47 PM
He should have been ousted out for that ages ago .... He was at the fore for getting rid of Jimmy Mc aswell wasn't he ??
Fair play to the guy for pitchin' in and probably spending a bit too, but he seemed to be all 'my way or the highway'
Blues fans ... can you fill us in on what he was like ???
blutil
05/04/2005, 5:10 PM
can you fill us in on what he was like ???
check the btid message board (http://btid.irishfootie.net) for both sides of the arguement
06/04/2005, 11:08 AM
Well he did take over the club during the doldrums, and it follows that he must in some way be partly responsible for the club's return from the first, and development to the point where we are expecting a top half finish, and that relegation seems anathema.
The treatment of Jimmy McGeough is at best mysterious, and seems to us chronically unfair and a personal decision, based on their relationship and the playing of Kevin O'Brien, his son. There are stories of him and Rennie not talking, and much more besides.
He seemed a proper dictator when he didn't get his way, but his way did put us back on the right road. The club is now no longer an albatros that no-one wants anything to do with, so that is to his credit. I'm glad he is gone, though, he brought the club so far, and now someone else will take it further I hope. Hopefully not the Wallace / Dolan entity. With a bit of luck a "Ronan" Abramovic will come forward in the next month or so.
That seems a fair assessment, Bluebeard. We are in a much healthier position now than when he took over.
But there are endless stories of fall-outs, and disagreements, and him being the boss, there is only likely to be one winner. McGeough's sacking being one example.
I guess he's a good business man, but not a people-person.
Of course there was rumours of managers having to play his son. This didn't help anyone, including the player himself.
He was the guy who sacked a manager over a dispute over not playing his son isn't it?
If rumours are to be believed.
Apparantley fell out with Rennie for not playing his son in the cup final.
Trouble is, everything is rumour. There was never an official reason for sacking Jimmy. Getting an official statement from the club was like getting blood from a stone. Just last week there was a public meeting held, for supporters to ask questions/voice concerns. He pulled out at the last minute, which made the whole meeting pretty pointless.
Partizan
06/04/2005, 11:56 AM
Its better he's gone, his time was unduly up and what the Club now needs is change.
conboy
06/04/2005, 12:28 PM
Its better he's gone, his time was unduly up and what the Club now needs is change.
Does that mean you will be taking over youreslf or are you planning on leaving yourself? :eek: :rolleyes: :cool:
08/04/2005, 9:59 PM
The Blues are my next favourite team and I have been a shareholder for a while in the PLC. Greg Pheasey is a safe pair of hands and would be a good choice in the longer term not sure if he wants it long term mind. Well done on being top of the League, hoping to knock you off your perch next Friday :D