View Full Version : Your Team of Narks and leg breakers
05/04/2005, 3:02 PM
Harald Schumacher (Germany who was the Frenchman he almost cut in half ?)
Chopper Harris (England name says it all)
Vinnie Jones (Wales but almost Ireland)
Allan Hunter (England bites yer leg)
Lee Bowyer (England doesn't fight only with his teammates)
Roy Keane (Ireland except for friendlies)
Paul Ince (England the Governor?!)
Robbie Savage (Wales usually lives up to his name)
Sparky Hughes (Wales master of the late tackle)
El-Hadji Diouf (Senegal watch that spittle)
Craig Bellamy (Wales his scowl says it all)
Manager: Graham Sourness (pun intended)
05/04/2005, 3:26 PM
Harald Schumacher (Germany who was the Frenchman he almost cut in half ?)
Battiston I think. I was only 7 at the time but can remember watching that with my Dad and being totally shocked at the "assualt" :eek:
Metrostars
05/04/2005, 3:31 PM
Patrick Battison. Schumacher fractured his vertebrae.
Other hard men:
Ian 'Psycho' Pearce
Basile Boli (headbutted Psycho once)
Andoni Goicoechea (Broke Maradona's ankle)
Hristo Stoichkov (intentionally broke a college player's leg in a friendly 3 years ago in the US)
Edmundo
Dema Kovalenko broke poor Ronnie O'Brien's leg two years ago and is a fairly dirty player.
ken foree
05/04/2005, 3:47 PM
no one harder than the italian Gentile
05/04/2005, 3:52 PM
Oh yes, forgot Gentile. Shouldn't confuse hardness with just being a cheating and dirty sob.
One of my favourite players, Mick Lyons or indeed Kevin Moran, were true hard men in the correct sense of the world. Shirk nothing and not be afraid to take it but not be dirty players at the same time
stojkovic
05/04/2005, 4:02 PM
Most appropriate name for a Latin American full-back ;
Daniel Killer (Argentina)
stojkovic
05/04/2005, 4:03 PM
Other hard men:
Ian 'Psycho' Pearce
Basile Boli (headbutted Psycho once)
Andoni Goicoechea (Broke Maradona's ankle)
Hristo Stoichkov (intentionally broke a college player's leg in a friendly 3 years ago in the US)
Edmundo
Dema Kovalenko broke poor Ronnie O'Brien's leg two years ago and is a fairly dirty player.
Surely you mean Stuart 'Psycho' Pearce ?
Team: Shelbourne FC
Substitutes bench: Waaaaterford United FC
05/04/2005, 4:15 PM
The Leeds team of the 70's fits the bill
Junior
05/04/2005, 4:25 PM
Heard a story many years ago that they became good friends after and one was the others best man at his wedding.
Googled it but can't find anything. Anyone confirm this??
Heard a story many years ago that they became good friends after and one was the others best man at his wedding.
Googled it but can't find anything. Anyone confirm this??
yea this is true AFAIK.
05/04/2005, 5:51 PM
Schumacher being best man at Battison's wedding......
Yes it is true . Harald Schumacher wrote about it in his autobiography " Abfiff (Blowing the Whistle)". In fairness to Schumacher he visited him a couple of times in the hospital afterwards and said he never intended to injure him that seriously.
My team would be:
Goalkeeper: Harald Schumacher for reasons already aired in this thread
Right-back: Lee Dixon... As much for his alleged BNP membership as anything he did on the field.
Centre-back: NORMAN Hunter for the record. This is the Leeds and England international known as " bite your legs".
Centre-back: Dermot Keely... An excellent player in many ways but also a dirty one although the player he injured most seriously was himself.
Left-back: Stuart Pearce.... Committed so much so that it was amazing he never ended up in a straitjacket.
Right-midfield: Willy Van Der Kerkhof....Probably a little out of position but anyhow. A Total nutter from the nation that gave us total football... played in an illegal cast during a World Cup Final in 1978.
Centre-midfield: Roy Keane... Nuff said
Centre-midfield: Claudio Gentile.. With these two in the heart of midfield nobody would get by intact.
Left-midfield: Willie Johnston... Not that dirty but the crass manner his career ended gets him in here...plus I needed a left winger .
Centre-forward: John Hartson... The Eyal Berkovic incident springs to mind
Centre-forward: Craig Bellamy... Why have one Welsh head case when you can just as easily have two? :D
05/04/2005, 5:55 PM
Surely you mean Stuart 'Psycho' Pearce ?
A legbreaker alright - don't think I've ever heard of any other player to have suffered two broken legs in his mid-30s and return pretty much as good as new both times. Absolute legend; could teach the modern players a thing or two (or quite a few more!)
Harold Schumacher
Dave Hill more tough than dirty
Julien Dicks
Stuart pierce
Vinnie Jones- the picture of him and gazza comes to mind as well as the pic of him tackling a mascot. :eek:
Roy Keane
Johnnie Giles-he was no angel
alan reynolds
David Batty
Paul ince
Kevin Muscat-sued for 6million but agreed to a 600k payoff for a tackle on matty holmes in a cup game about 6 or 7 years ago. which more or less ended his career.
05/04/2005, 9:19 PM
u gotta have cantona in there...anyone seen the tapes of his time with montpellier...total psycho
Thunderblaster
06/04/2005, 1:06 AM
GK: Harold Schumacher. The assault on Patrick Battiston.
RB: Kevin Muscat. Violent tackler.
CB: Vinny Jones. Red card personified.
CB: Paolo Montero. Comes from the Uruguayan school of leg chopping.
LB: Claudio Gentile. Better chopping accuracy than an axe.
RM: Steven Ryan. Very antagonising footballer to watch.
CM: Roy Keane. Worse than a pit bull terrier.
CM: Eric Cantona. Cocky, arrogant and violent.
LM: Dara Ainsworth. Controversial player.
CF: Jurgen Klinsmann. Liked to dive.
CF: Edmundo. A lunatic.
Manager: George Graham. He loved his bung!!
06/04/2005, 9:51 AM
A legbreaker alright - don't think I've ever heard of any other player to have suffered two broken legs in his mid-30s and return pretty much as good as new both times. Absolute legend; could teach the modern players a thing or two (or quite a few more!)
He's the manager of man city now and is doing exactly that by all accounts. Supposed to be running them into the ground at training to bring up fitness levels for a final push at the end of the season, and a chance at being kept on as manager
07/04/2005, 10:30 AM
The Leeds team of the 70's fits the bill
ah do better ...it's the easiest quip in football -
"Leeds were a bunch of hackers in the 70's" -that team was the best team that never won the European Cup -FACT.
:cool:
07/04/2005, 10:50 AM
ah do better ...it's the easiest quip in football -
"Leeds were a bunch of hackers in the 70's" -that team was the best team that never won the European Cup -FACT.
:cool:
thugs dont win european trophies ;)
This is my selection that has, to me, all the hallmarks to either kick off with the opposition...or with themselves.
GK: Harald Schumacher ('nuff said)
LB: Claudio Gentile (A legend!)
CD: Andonν Goicochea (Maradona's assault only the tip of the iceberg)
CD: Juan Lopez (Namesake of mine; Paul Stanley (of Kiss) look-a-like and the only player I've seen twice and got sent off in both games (Spain v Ireland 1992, Leicester v Atletico Madrid 1997)).
RB:Mick Kennedy (Dunno if anyone remembers this Oldham defender from the eighties. Favourite of mine because he came on as half-time sub against Czechoslovakia in Reykjavik in 1986, proceeded to break one Czech's set of teeth with his elbow and a few minutes later almost broke anothers'. I always thought he was hauled off by Charlton before he was sent off, but it seems he wasn't either of the two.)
LM: Graham Souness (Don't know if this is his position but I'm stuck and I can't leave out of this team someone from Rangers)
CM: Eric Cantona (Just the sort of player that will kick off with anyone else)
CM: Lee Bowyer (Likewise, especially in this case if French, Spanish or German)
RM: Juan Gomez 'Juanito'. (My captain and only player here pushing up the daisies, I think. Andalucian Gitano that done a w*nker sign to the crowd in Belgrade and got hit by a bottle in 1977 (showing he's got lots of it); head-butted a linesman in Zurich in 1978 (no respect for authority); told his Basque team-mates in 'la seleccion' what he thought of 'democracy' causing more than a little bad blood just before the 1980 European Championships (no respect for teammates); ended his European career at Real by using Lothar Mathaeus' head as a trampoline after the man who taught Klinsman how to dive put on a 'perfect six' performance in a European Cup Semi-Final in 1987(No respect for human life) Perfect to lead this team.)
CF: Paul Van Den Hauwe (I've included him after I heard a story about how in a pre-season friendly for Tottenham he knocked out a Borhemwood defender after he asked VDH what this was - making the sign of an 'O' with his thumb and finger - then to a bemused VDH stating it was 'A Mandy Smith headlock.' Apparently he didn't even wait to get the red card. Coooooooll!!)
CF: Stan Collymore (Bound to have slept with Mandy Smith and general all round irritating b*stard)
07/04/2005, 1:41 PM
Thugs don't get into a team that contained 11 contemporary full internationals (in an era when that was virtually unheard of) either.
Dublin12
07/04/2005, 1:50 PM
W A C C O E !!
Mot.
stojkovic
07/04/2005, 2:21 PM
Internazionale won it twice in the sixties :)
Mourinho
13/04/2005, 4:15 PM
paul dickov has to be in it, what a dirty little c**t also joey barton and thats even including the christmas party incident!!
Rathfarnham Utd
14/04/2005, 5:17 PM
1. Gary Sprake (usefull hook)
2. David Burrows (filthy)
3. Micky Droy (would you mess with him?!)
4. Norman Hunter
5. Alan McDonald (N.Ire circa 86)
6. Steve McMahon
7. Roy Keane
8. Billy Bremner
9. Souness
10. Bergkamp (nasty, late ones)
11. Emerson (nutter)
Subs-
pick any from Uruguay 1986 team
Shelsman
15/04/2005, 1:06 PM
Most people are going for international players, but how about MichaeL Collins for Portadown? Read the other day that he was thrown out of two English clubs for indiscipline, hardly surprising judging from the games I've seen him play so far. Total knacker.
Oh, then there's yer man McNulty who used to play for Dundalk, he was a seriously dirty player too.
Then there was the time Richie Purdy broke Mark Rutherfords leg in a horror tackle from behind in Tolka, I'll never forget that, it was really horrendous. That said, Purdy was nearly in tears at what he'd done and obviously meant it as a hard challenge but hadn't intended anything so severe. He was substituted before the ref had time to send him off.
Aldini98
15/04/2005, 1:37 PM
This is my selection that has, to me, all the hallmarks to either kick off with the opposition...or with themselves.
GK: Harald Schumacher ('nuff said)
LB: Claudio Gentile (A legend!)
CD: Andonν Goicochea (Maradona's assault only the tip of the iceberg)
CD: Juan Lopez (Namesake of mine; Paul Stanley (of Kiss) look-a-like and the only player I've seen twice and got sent off in both games (Spain v Ireland 1992, Leicester v Atletico Madrid 1997)).
RB:Mick Kennedy (Dunno if anyone remembers this Oldham defender from the eighties. Favourite of mine because he came on as half-time sub against Czechoslovakia in Reykjavik in 1986, proceeded to break one Czech's set of teeth with his elbow and a few minutes later almost broke anothers'. I always thought he was hauled off by Charlton before he was sent off, but it seems he wasn't either of the two.)
LM: Graham Souness (Don't know if this is his position but I'm stuck and I can't leave out of this team someone from Rangers)
CM: Eric Cantona (Just the sort of player that will kick off with anyone else)
CM: Lee Bowyer (Likewise, especially in this case if French, Spanish or German)
RM: Juan Gomez 'Juanito'. (My captain and only player here pushing up the daisies, I think. Andalucian Gitano that done a w*nker sign to the crowd in Belgrade and got hit by a bottle in 1977 (showing he's got lots of it); head-butted a linesman in Zurich in 1978 (no respect for authority); told his Basque team-mates in 'la seleccion' what he thought of 'democracy' causing more than a little bad blood just before the 1980 European Championships (no respect for teammates); ended his European career at Real by using Lothar Mathaeus' head as a trampoline after the man who taught Klinsman how to dive put on a 'perfect six' performance in a European Cup Semi-Final in 1987(No respect for human life) Perfect to lead this team.)
CF: Paul Van Den Hauwe (I've included him after I heard a story about how in a pre-season friendly for Tottenham he knocked out a Borhemwood defender after he asked VDH what this was - making the sign of an 'O' with his thumb and finger - then to a bemused VDH stating it was 'A Mandy Smith headlock.' Apparently he didn't even wait to get the red card. Coooooooll!!)
CF: Stan Collymore (Bound to have slept with Mandy Smith and general all round irritating b*stard)
PAT Van Den Hauwe actually :rolleyes:
And for the record, Schumacher was at the wedding alright but wasn't the "best" man and he reckons he thought Patrick was gonna lob him so he was trying to block that :)