View Full Version : Portadown Away :Parking and Bars-Very Important

redgav
04/04/2005, 7:25 PM
Got a call from the portadown Security officer earlier.A ports friend of mine gave him my number,and the following is in place for the game.

-City fans are being put in the new stand behind the goal-has refreshments etc but no bar...I Will know tomorrow evening if Euro's will be accepted there but take it at the moment its sterling

- City fans will NOT be allowed into the bars at the ground,at the request of the PSNI.There is bar close by the ground but its not recommended we drink there as PSNI can't guarentee our safety there

- City fans will be bussed out of the ground immiediatly after the game 9:15 at the latest.Home fans are being kept in the stadium until we have departed and we will have a Police escort away from the ground untill we are on the road to dubland

-Secure parking under CCTV cameras and stewards ,along with Police presence ,will take care of the buses(200 yds from ground)

-buses will be brought up to the stand 10 mins before full time ready to take us home and police escort waiting

-There is Secure parking in the ground for maximum of 30 away supporters cars

gav

Admin - can this be made a sticky please

04/04/2005, 8:51 PM
bit heavy-handed, isn't it?

04/04/2005, 8:54 PM
ye think thats bad :confused: We had the sniffer dogs and horses on patrol tonight :D

redgav
04/04/2005, 9:03 PM

Standard for the competition- ports fans were escorted to tolka, same with linfield fans tonite - same rules apply as a precaution apparently

04/04/2005, 9:14 PM
makes u think is this tournament all worthwhile

harry crumb
04/04/2005, 9:30 PM
why do you say that?

Counting Crow
04/04/2005, 9:57 PM
Chr$t - it makes the Rovers games seem like the Corpus Christi procession :eek: :D

Imagine if the same applies at The Cross - will we be kept in the ground while they go to their busses?

redgav
04/04/2005, 10:16 PM
These are all precautions only - with the media waitin to pounce on any story's, and everyone wanting this to go off smoothly , they just want the risk taken out of it - AFIK the same applys to ports fans comin to cork

04/04/2005, 10:50 PM

To be honest .... it is better to have too much than too little.

From what i can see already, i cant see there being any problems what so ever but it being the first year i suppose there is not harm in going through all of this ... it is only protocol, and exercise .... cant see it being like that all the time.

04/04/2005, 11:29 PM
I suppose its better that they're extra careful, it only takes one idiot :rolleyes: Pity though, as I had been invited to have a drink with a Portadown fan. Hopefully these measures won't be necessary next time around and we can all enjoy the next setanta cup in a more civilised normality.

Dricky
05/04/2005, 9:10 AM
Better to be safe than sorry, time will sort out the segregation so until then maybe it's for the best, we don't want this to be the first and last Setanta Cup.

Pity as there are plenty of O fans would love to get the craic going as they want a day out when they come down to the cross.

05/04/2005, 9:19 AM
cant see it being like that all the time.
Woodint it be grayt if it was like dis ul the time.

Ye're probably right once you've proper stewards.

City steward wouldn't let me walk past behind the Derrynane Stand with its 8 Shels fans at 6.30 last Monday. That unnecessary stuff just aggravates people.
I'm confident Setanta will pass off peacefully.

Wiseguy
05/04/2005, 9:25 AM
I know that there were lots of Linfield fans about Longford yesterday and last night in the pubs and their was no bother with them so maybe the Ports fans could do the same when they go to Cork.Also we had no probs spending Euro's at the match with Glentoran because all you could buy was the match program and stuff from the chipper van.They are only to glad to take euro's up the north so i wouldn't worry to much.

05/04/2005, 9:25 AM
Pity though, as I had been invited to have a drink with a Portadown fan.

Me too, shame about that, a bit of pre-match banter would have been good

05/04/2005, 11:10 AM
makes u think is this tournament all worthwhile

Was thinking the same thing myself.

There is bar close by the ground but its not recommended we drink there as PSNI can't guarentee our safety there

Jeez what is this...Iraq?

I'm sure the PSNI and officials have to err on side of caution but i'm sure once we up there will be able to wander around a bit outsdie the ground...

IMO supporters have as much responsibility to ensure they prevent their own idiots from not provoking things with "insensitive" jestures.

fella
05/04/2005, 12:19 PM
Lads,
Seeing as we leave Jackland at 3 we should be there roughly at 5.30. The game doesn't kick off till 7.15 (or 7.30). Is there somewhere we can go for a pint/munch? They hardly expect us to go straight into the ground do they??
I'm all for security as it would take a few idiots to mess things up for everyone - but sticking us in the ground for that long is unfair.

Maybe Exile might consider a pit stop somewhere outside Portadown for an hour en route.

05/04/2005, 12:32 PM
Maybe Exile might consider a pit stop somewhere outside Portadown for an hour en route.

I don't know he not so handy with a map ;) :D

05/04/2005, 12:34 PM

Coming from the man who drives down Pedestrian streets and the wrong way around Roundabouts ;) :D :D

05/04/2005, 12:54 PM
Coming from the man who drives down Pedestrian streets and the wrong way around Roundabouts

Thought we'd forgotten all about that. :o :D
Did I say left or right? :confused: :D

05/04/2005, 1:09 PM
I'm not sure of which route we are taking, but Armagh is about 15 minutes drive from Portadown, so maybe we could have a jar and a bite to eat there?

Dublin to Portadown is about an 1 hr 50 mins, so arriving at Armagh at 5.15/5.30 would give us an hour to relax before heading to the ground at 6.30.

Is this an option or are we ging to be "chaperoned" all the way from the border?

EDIT: Do we have to go straight to the ground when we arrive in Portadown?

Just checked AA Road Watch there, and Dublin - Armagh is 1hr 46mins.
That gets us there at 5ish. I would like to have a jar/food and relax for a while somewhere, I don't see the point in going to Portadown to be in the ground 2 hours before kick-off?

05/04/2005, 1:09 PM
Probably best to stop in or around Newry lads. You're about 45mins from Portadown there.

05/04/2005, 1:37 PM
I guess if we're not going to be allowed into the social club :( we may as well stop en route for a jar and to stretch the legs. No point in being stood in the stand at Portadown at 5.30, probably wouldn't be anyone there to let us in. I guess the lads would have to clear it with the bus driver first though.

exile
05/04/2005, 5:27 PM

you've just made it to my sh1te list :D :p

05/04/2005, 5:45 PM
you've just maid it to my sh1te list :D :p

<snigger> :D

05/04/2005, 6:02 PM
Pity though, as I had been invited to have a drink with a Portadown fan.

Looks like you'll have to postpone your date till some other time :D

Fair_play_boy
05/04/2005, 8:32 PM
I guess if we're not going to be allowed into the social club :( we may as well stop en route for a jar and to stretch the legs. No point in being stood in the stand at Portadown at 5.30, probably wouldn't be anyone there to let us in. I guess the lads would have to clear it with the bus driver first though.Lads, isn't the bus leaving from Nassau Street at 3.00pm? It will take an hour to get through jackland traffic alone, so the arrival time at Portadown is more likely to be 6.30. I would go straight to the pitch with 45 minutes to get a bag of chips and read the programme. :p
Are the l a n g e r s from the Longford trip banned?

05/04/2005, 10:43 PM
Lads, isn't the bus leaving from Nassau Street at 3.00pm? It will take an hour to get through jackland traffic alone, so the arrival time at Portadown is more likely to be 6.30. I would go straight to the pitch with 45 minutes to get a bag of chips and read the programme. :p
Are the l a n g e r s from the Longford trip banned?

Nah can get to airport in 30mins at 3pm no problem. Motorway all the way to Dundalk (could get stuck in rush hour there).

I'm so proud to make exiles sh!t list as I don't feel left out now.

Driver is only good as his navigator ;) See how does World Rally lads would do without a navigator....

06/04/2005, 9:05 AM
Lads n lassie's
Still seats left on the CCOSC bus, thats doing an overnighter just outside Dundalk.

Cost from cork including hotel is 90euros

PM / email me if interested.

supportersATcorkcityfc.ie

cheers

08/04/2005, 3:03 PM
Driver is only good as his navigator ;) See how does World Rally lads would do without a navigator....

Wahey!
Nowt to fear anyway. I've been on Exile's list since the Longford game and I still have my head, so all is good.

exile
08/04/2005, 4:20 PM
Wahey!
Nowt to fear anyway. I've been on Exile's list since the Longford game and I still have my head, so all is good.

its 3hrs to portadown have you seen jeepers creepers alot can happen on a 3hour drive :eek: :) :)

08/04/2005, 4:32 PM
Three layers of scarfs it is then...

exile
08/04/2005, 4:35 PM
Three layers of scarfs it is then...

dont forget my hat and i might take you off the list ;)

08/04/2005, 4:43 PM
what hat?

Morpheus
10/04/2005, 11:29 PM
I'd recommend Newry for a stop off & a few jars if yous' come that way.

Plenty of bars & the Canal Court Hotel (sponsor of Newry City) right in the middle of town. Roughly 30-40 minutes to Portadown.

Or if you do come by Armagh, the Armagh City Hotel would be fine aswell, 20-30 minutes to Shamrock Park.

Heres hoping you all have a safe & enjoyable trip & remember....It's a marathon, not a sprint! :D