View Full Version : U18 Players 2018/19

samhaydenjr
20/10/2018, 9:28 PM
Thought I'd make a thread for this season for players playing at U18 in England this season, as there doesn't seem to be one, although this season it will probably be easier to call it the Troy Parrott Tracker Thread.

On that note, he got two against Villa: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39550/u18-premier-league/2018-19/spurs-v-aston-villa

OK, there are other Irish youngsters in English U18 teams (though not as many as last season, as they've all moved up to U23 - which is a good thing). Just to prove this, Jason Knight also scored today for Derby, while Festy Ebosele also played: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39551/u18-premier-league/2018-19/west-brom-v-derby

samhaydenjr
02/12/2018, 4:15 AM
Okay, so maybe Troy Parrott isn't quite ready for senior international duty just yet as he got moved back to Spurs' U18s this weekend... did help himself to a brace, though, so still well on track: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39586/u18-premier-league/2018-19/leicester-v-spurs

Also, Ryan Corrigan was credited with an assist for Many City in a 3-3 draw with West Brom: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39587/u18-premier-league/2018-19/man-city-v-west-brom

Bungle
02/12/2018, 8:14 AM
Zak Delaney of wba is from knocklyon.

liamoo11
02/12/2018, 10:04 AM
Okay, so maybe Troy Parrott isn't quite ready for senior international duty just yet as he got moved back to Spurs' U18s this weekend... did help himself to a brace, though, so still well on track: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39586/u18-premier-league/2018-19/leicester-v-spurs

Also, Ryan Corrigan was credited with an assist for Many City in a 3-3 draw with West Brom: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39587/u18-premier-league/2018-19/man-city-v-west-brom

I don't ever remember corrigan playing for us at any level and this is his last year at under 19 level

samhaydenjr
06/12/2018, 12:31 AM
Some Irish lads in action in the FA Youth Cup this week - Jimmy Corcoran was successful in a shoot-out, saving two as Preston knocked out Charlton. Adam O'Reilly also played: https://www.pnefc.net/news/2018/december/match-report-for-preston-north-end-u18-vs-charlton-athletic-u18-on-04-dec-18/

Will Ferry scored for Southampton in their 2-0 win over Rotherham: https://southamptonfc.com/news/2018-12-04/u18-report-fa-youth-cup-southampton-rotherham-united

samhaydenjr
18/12/2018, 12:18 AM
Parrott credited with an assist on Spurs' winner in their come-from-behind extra-time win over Millwall in the FA Youth Cup: https://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/2018/december/late-turnaround-sees-us-through-in-fa-youth-cup/ He also received praise from the coach:

Matt also singled out striker Parrott for praise: “In terms of the level of performance that we’re looking for, I said to Troy afterwards that without him on the pitch tonight, we’d probably have been dumped out. He was outstanding with the presence with which he played. Aside from that, it was a disappointing evening in terms of individuals and in terms of the performance.”

18/12/2018, 11:35 AM
the (slight) downside to Parrott playing in the FA Youth Cup is that it means he more than likely won't be involved tonight for Spurs U21 side against Oxford in the Checkatrade Trophy

samhaydenjr
10/01/2019, 9:53 PM
Nathan Collins got an injury-time equaliser for Stoke in their FA Youth Cup tie with Everton, only for Stoke to lose on penalties, although James Jennings did convert his https://twitter.com/stokecity/status/1083467536790970369

liamoo11
12/01/2019, 6:02 PM
mceneff who missed the first half Of The season returned for arsenal 18s in the last two games. He also missed most of last season swell with injury at arsenal. They play spurs in the fa youth cup on Thursday who have parrot who scored another two today. That arsenal side also has mcguiness and ogungbo who are under 18 and under 17 for us respectively this season.

samhaydenjr
12/01/2019, 7:40 PM
Will Ferry dropped back down to U18s today and grabbed a goal for himself: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39607/u18-premier-league/2018-19/chelsea-v-southampton

Olé Olé
17/01/2019, 5:47 AM
https://talksport.com/football/475659/who-is-troy-parrott-tottenham-harry-kane-mauricio-pochettino/

Jim White of Talksport speculating that Parrott is well up the queue to get a run in light of Kane's injury.

samhaydenjr
18/01/2019, 2:01 AM
https://talksport.com/football/475659/who-is-troy-parrott-tottenham-harry-kane-mauricio-pochettino/

Jim White of Talksport speculating that Parrott is well up the queue to get a run in light of Kane's injury.

There seems to be some buzz around the internet about the possibility of him getting moved up and I didn't realise that he travelled to Leicester with the first team in December - in the article you linked Pochettino says he has been regularly involved with the first team squad in training and implies that he'd be comfortable moving him and Oliver Skipp up. If he does appear in the coming matchday squads it would be a stunning rise.

Also got an assist in Spurs' FA Youth Cup defeat to Arsenal - McEneff played the first half for Arsenal: https://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/2019/january/extra-time-derby-defeat-in-fa-youth-cup/

Olé Olé
18/01/2019, 10:47 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2019/jan/18/premier-league-10-things-to-look-out-for-this-weekend

The Guardian add fuel to the fire in point 1.

samhaydenjr
18/01/2019, 11:49 PM
In fairness, Pochettino will likely start Llorente and Dele Alli, but if Parrott could even get on the bench...

Olé Olé
19/01/2019, 11:38 AM
He's being name-checked as an option by Pochettino but fans on Twitter think 20 year-old Kaziah Sterling is more likely to get the nod on the bench behind Llorente.

samhaydenjr
19/01/2019, 4:16 PM
Jason Knight drops down to Derby's U18s and helps himself to a goal against Blackburn: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39615/u18-premier-league/2018-19/blackburn-v-derby

samhaydenjr
23/01/2019, 12:09 AM
OK, the Troy Parrott speculation can now go into overdrive with news that Dele Alli is going to be out for six weeks: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2019/0122/1024856-spurs-star-alli-set-for-six-week-lay-off/ - by my reckoning that leaves Llorente and Janssen as their only available first-team forwards, who have a scored between them a grand total of... wait for it... 3 league goals! And a Carabao Cup semi-final and FA Cup fourth round game coming up!

CraftyToePoke
23/01/2019, 12:16 AM
If he gets game time and scores, or does well the specification he could be a bolter for Micks first squad will be on.

samhaydenjr
23/01/2019, 12:29 AM
Adam O'Reilly on the scoresheet for Preston as they beat Norwich 3-0 in the FA Youth Cup - clean sheet for Jimmy Corcoran. Adam Idah played for Norwich with Josh Giurgi coming on as a late sub: https://www.pnefc.net/news/2019/january/preston-north-end-u18-vs-norwich-city-u18-match-report/

23/01/2019, 1:12 AM
Adam O'Reilly on the scoresheet for Preston as they beat Norwich 3-0 in the FA Youth Cup - clean sheet for Jimmy Corcoran. Adam Idah played for Norwich with Josh Giurgi coming on as a late sub: https://www.pnefc.net/news/2019/january/preston-north-end-u18-vs-norwich-city-u18-match-report/
William Hondermarck started for Norwich too after his move from Drogheda.

Eminence Grise
23/01/2019, 8:45 PM
And good to see he's Hoffdermarck so quickly.

samhaydenjr
26/01/2019, 10:03 PM
Will Ferry got an assist for Southampton U18s against Fulham. Kameron Ledwidge and Seamus Keogh also lined out for the Saints who now have eight Irish underage players on their book by my reckoning: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39622/u18-premier-league/2018-19/southampton-v-fulham

And a name I don't recognise - Shane Flynn lined out for Leicester U18s today - anybody know anything about him: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39611/u18-premier-league/2018-19/reading-v-leicester

Olé Olé
27/01/2019, 8:11 AM
https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/leicester-city-news-shane-flynn-15262778

liamoo11
27/01/2019, 10:14 AM
https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/leicester-city-news-shane-flynn-15262778

Hasn't played slot for usaybe injuries? I think he is the Luca Connell age group so will be under 19 again next season

samhaydenjr
03/02/2019, 12:46 AM
I mentioned at the start that there weren't as many Irish U18s around this season as last as a bunch had moved quickly up to U23 level (and beyond, in the case of Obafemi). But I have news about a potential new wave emerging at this level. Firstly, former Barcelona "wonderkid" Zak Gilsenan seemed to have slipped a little, going from the nou Camp to Anfield and then on to Ewood Park. But he came on as a sub for Blackburn's U18s against Everton today. At the age of fifteen, that's still a pretty impressive achievement: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39631/u18-premier-league/2018-19/everton-v-blackburn

Meanwhile, in a weather-hit schedule, 16-year-old Matt Everitt made a sub appearance for Reading: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39629/u18-premier-league/2018-19/brighton-v-reading

03/02/2019, 8:26 AM
Gilsenan only signed last September, that's great progress from him

samhaydenjr
10/02/2019, 3:32 AM
I mentioned at the start that there weren't as many Irish U18s around this season as last as a bunch had moved quickly up to U23 level (and beyond, in the case of Obafemi). But I have news about a potential new wave emerging at this level.

And more to add on that emerging wave - three Irish underage players lined out for Man City's U18 team against Stoke today. Having completed his move from Rovers early, Gavin Bazunu joined Joe Hodge and Timi Sobowale on the field. James Jennings got the winning goal for Stoke and Max murphy came on as a second-half sub: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39694/u18-premier-league/2018-19/man-city-v-stoke

Olé Olé
10/02/2019, 12:53 PM
I would say we are on the unlikely side of holding onto Hodge and, less so, Sobowale. What is Hodge's connection?

liamoo11
10/02/2019, 4:01 PM
I would say we are on the unlikely side of holding onto Hodge and, less so, Sobowale. What is Hodge's connection?

Is there talk sobowale wants to play for Nigeria? at least he is not England qualified. Hodges father used to post on the bigsoccer England forum and understandably seemed delighted when his son was been picked for their 15/16s I got impression his Irish connection was a grandparent.

But to b fair Hodge has kept coming back and has not been in the last 2 England squads nor has okoflex . The brits wood like Hodge back http://www.bigsoccer.com/threads/england-u-17-discussions-thread-3.1775615/page-264 . virgin in that England group is Irish born as well but clearly no connections to us

CraftyToePoke
10/02/2019, 8:43 PM
Is there talk sobowale wants to play for Nigeria? at least he is not England qualified. Hodges father used to post on the bigsoccer England forum and understandably seemed delighted when his son was been picked for their 15/16s I got impression his Irish connection was a grandparent.

But to b fair Hodge has kept coming back and has not been in the last 2 England squads nor has okoflex . The brits wood like Hodge back http://www.bigsoccer.com/threads/england-u-17-discussions-thread-3.1775615/page-264 . virgin in that England group is Irish born as well but clearly no connections to us

Watchin them like A hawk liamoo, fair play to you.

samhaydenjr
15/02/2019, 3:00 AM
In FA Youth Cup News, Ryan Cassidy stepped down to Watford's U-18s for their game against Ipswich and promptly scored two and set up another: https://www.watfordfc.com/teams/under-18s/fa-youth-cup-report-reaction-watford-4-1-ipswich-town

15/02/2019, 6:39 AM
Cassidy captained the side too

samhaydenjr
23/02/2019, 7:48 PM
mipo odupeko made his first appearence for man utd 18s today when he started and scored. He is a big centre forward who is eligible for the 17s this season. Gilsenan was on bench for blackburn 18s in that game,

Has an English flag beside his name on the Premier League Site - call him up, Colin, quick! TBF they also have English flags beside McAuley and Obafemi and a Tricolour beside Rice.

Elsewhere, Jason Knight dropped back down from Derby's U23s and nabbed a goal and an assist for himself at Middlesbrough. Festy Ebosele was credited with an assist for Knight's goal - https://www.premierleague.com/match/39643/u18-premier-league/2018-19/middlesbrough-v-derby

27/02/2019, 8:14 PM
Ryan Cassidy has nudged Watford 2—1 in front in extra time of FA youth Cup quarter final. He scored the opener in normal time, winning and converting a penalty

27/02/2019, 8:16 PM
https://streamable.com/8taid

27/02/2019, 8:25 PM
https://streamable.com/8wsq8

samhaydenjr
27/02/2019, 11:19 PM
https://streamable.com/8wsq8

Excellent striker's goal that one - ghosted in behind the defender, then put his body between the defender and the ball and a cool finish one-on-one with the keeper

Razors left peg
28/02/2019, 6:33 PM
https://streamable.com/8taid

The chest control and turn to win the penalty there was great.

gastric
28/02/2019, 8:34 PM
Has Cassidy actually played for Ireland since his old man cracked it over his lack of game time last year?

28/02/2019, 8:42 PM
Hasn't been in a squad since May
https://i.imgur.com/qObIPUDl.png

liamoo11
28/02/2019, 9:13 PM
Hasn't been in a squad since May
https://i.imgur.com/qObIPUDl.png

https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/ireland-u19-domestic-friendlies-prepare-side-for-elite-round he was in this squad a few weeks ago

28/02/2019, 9:40 PM
https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/ireland-u19-domestic-friendlies-prepare-side-for-elite-round he was in this squad a few weeks agoApologies, so he was.
He's between ages.
U19s is 2000 age group
U17s is 2002 age group

U19 elite phase first game is 20/3, FA youth Cup semis are on 23/3 so won't be involved with U19 this season I imagine.

liamoo11
28/02/2019, 10:47 PM
Apologies, so he was.
He's between ages.
U19s is 2000 age group
U17s is 2002 age group

U19 elite phase first game is 20/3, FA youth Cup semis are on 23/3 so won't be involved with U19 this season I imagine.

Those 19 qualifiers are in a few weeks. No obafemi or I assume Connolly so might be space for him I assume we will have McCauley afolabi, idah and parrott as well

samhaydenjr
01/03/2019, 1:40 AM
Went to check how Oko-Flex was getting on as he was spotted training with Celtic's first team recently - has scored three times in his last two games for their reserves and has got five in five: http://www.celticfc.net/news/under20

samhaydenjr
10/03/2019, 1:18 AM
Oko-Flex on target again recently for Celtic's reserves in a rout of Dundee, Thomas Caffrey also scored: http://www.celticfc.net/news/15848

Elsewhere, Jason Knight scored for Derby's U18s against Liverpool: https://www.premierleague.com/match/39702/u18-premier-league/2018-19/derby-v-liverpool

14/03/2019, 6:06 PM
The U18 Premier League Cup is being streamed on YouTube
NWW9rCxnr8U
lineups
Bazunu unlikely to get on, but good to see him in the squad anyway

liamoo11
16/03/2019, 1:57 PM
Sotona who is under 17 for us this season got his first appearance for man utd 18s today he is a winger

16/03/2019, 2:26 PM
Has a reputation as a speed demon

liamoo11
16/03/2019, 2:33 PM
Has a reputation as a speed demon

Along with odubeko we haven't picked them much at 17s

19/03/2019, 4:45 PM
Liverpool beat Watford 2-1 in the FA Youth Cup on Sunday, Cassidy scored Watford's consolation, see from 4:03 below.

According to YouthHawk, Cassidy is the joint top scorer in this year's tournament, with six goals
l03rXpBsGfA