View Full Version : Frank Quedrue

02/04/2005, 12:15 PM
Interested in donning the green it seems:

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=267069&CPID=219&CLID=&lid=2&title=Queudrue+ready+for+Irish+role&channel=Football_Home

JimmyP
02/04/2005, 12:36 PM
Everything in that article smacks of all the wrong motivational reasons.
There's not even a hint of subtlety there.

Surprised that he has spoken to Kerr about it though...

byrnie20
02/04/2005, 12:55 PM
Considering the left back postion is a bit of a weakness,I would say it would be a good move for us.

Docboy
02/04/2005, 1:03 PM
No, we don't really need him or want him. Okay we don't have a specialist left-back but I would prefer to see average players like Maybury or even Harte again rather than having to resort to this sort of thing. Wrong in any situation, maybe if it was a Zidane but not this.

JimmyP
02/04/2005, 1:06 PM
Agreed - spot on. He's not that great anyway. Nearly as many red cards as goals.

02/04/2005, 1:41 PM
He's an excellent player and would walk into our team but I'd prefer if he stuck it out with France. Obviously I'd back him if he did play for us but atm I'd also prefer an Alan Maybury.

davey
02/04/2005, 1:57 PM
No No No. His reasons are all wrong. And if he can't get in the French team at the moment, why do we need him?

02/04/2005, 1:59 PM
Sure why not. He'd be nice company for all the other Premiershi* mercenaries like Morrison and Holland. Or is it only ok if the mercenary has an English accent :rolleyes:

Irish_Praha
02/04/2005, 2:26 PM
I think we should take him up on his offer. Give him 5 mins at the end of the game against the Faroes and then forget about him.

Irish_Praha
02/04/2005, 2:51 PM
I see he has just scored a few mins ago from a powerful header .... sign the boy up :p

02/04/2005, 3:01 PM
I know where I would tell him to go :mad:

I would like to play for France because I feel I am French, but I would also love to play international football and if there is a chance that I could play for Ireland then I am interested.

He just wants to take advantage of us because he isnt "good enough" for France :mad:

Donal81
02/04/2005, 4:20 PM
"I would like to play for France because I feel I am French, but I would also love to play international football and if there is a chance that I could play for Ireland then I am interested.

Mercenary c*nt.

FarBeag
02/04/2005, 4:43 PM
We don't want him. He is a very good player but if he want's to play for Ireland just because he can't get a Frence call up he can take a run and jump.

brine3
02/04/2005, 4:45 PM
Maybe he's just using us to get attention in the French press.

Soon Ian Harte will be declaring for Spain. :p

ken foree
02/04/2005, 5:33 PM
i have a lot of time for quedrue as a player (v. entertaining, sometimes farcical) but him saying this is just.. bullsh*t

dr_peepee
02/04/2005, 7:07 PM
His motives are questionable but from a purely playing perspective it would be a valuable aquisition though...

I think that the option to switch allegience has expired at the turn of the year because it was only a 'window'???? :confused:

I could be wrong but seeing as he's already spoken to Kerr he may have already commited to Ireland before the window closed. We might get to see him against Celtic in may or Itlay in August.... Purely specultion on my part.

sylvo
02/04/2005, 7:24 PM
Maybe he's just using us to get attention in the French press.

Soon Ian Harte will be declaring for Spain. :p

Shame he didn't do that about 10 years ago ;)

barglee
03/04/2005, 7:37 PM
i dont blame someone for wanting to play international football.
if the rules allow him then why shouldnt he try play for ireland?

its then up to Kerr to decide who is the best 11 he can pick
personally i think Queudrue wud be on that.

weve had Cascarino, now why not Queudrue?

04/04/2005, 12:41 PM
I'll take anoyone who'll play for us no matter what his motives. I want the best side out possible representing Ireland and I don't care where they're born if they qualify within the rules. We're way too small a nation to be picky and with left back a problem this has to be good for us.

Give me qualification with a plastic paddy anytime than non-qualification with a team of pure aryan Irish blood.

I have no hang-ups here.

ken foree
04/04/2005, 12:46 PM
I'll take anoyone who'll play for us no matter what his motives. I want the best side out possible representing Ireland and I don't care where they're born if they qualify within the rules. We're way too small a nation to be picky and with left back a problem this has to be good for us.

Give me qualification with a plastic paddy anytime than non-qualification with a team of pure aryan Irish blood.

I have no hang-ups here.

yea i wouldn't be complaining but i think he coulda put it better.

04/04/2005, 12:47 PM
Can some of the outraged parties here point out the difference between this guy and Morrison, Holland, Macken, Aldridge etc etc?

Cowboy
04/04/2005, 12:53 PM
Yep I think the precedent had already been set with this one. I just wonder about Franks committment though and his motives for doing this now.

I have no hang-ups here.

04/04/2005, 12:55 PM
Can some of the outraged parties here point out the difference between this guy and Morrison, Holland, Macken, Aldridge etc etc?

Who said there was a difference? :p

04/04/2005, 1:01 PM
Who said there was a difference? :p

Well if you're against that lot than it's understandable but I find it odd that people who are happy to see those players playing for us and are now upset over this. Morrison made the exact same comments pratically, Macken bloody played for England knowing that at the time it would rule him out of playing for Ireland! Holland and McAteer always considered themselves English, Aldridge, the whole host of them. You can't be against this if you've no problem with those players, and most of the anti Quedrue people here are probably happy with the others.

Donal81
04/04/2005, 1:18 PM
I always react to this with disgust. The bloke is saying that he has no connection whatsoever with Ireland but he wants to play for us because he fancies a bit of international football.

The reason, I think, why the cries of mercenary die down once the player actually plays a game for us (and no one shouts it louder than me...) is that he often becomes one of us. Not always - Carsley, Macken, for example - but often, such as Aldridge, Houghton, McAteer, Morrison. Clinton obviously loves playing for the team, you can see it in him.

Players like Cascarino become part of the squad and give it their all. At the start, though, we've every right to be suspicious.

Not quite sure what point I'm trying to make here :)

04/04/2005, 1:51 PM
I'm not sure either :D

The problem here is that Q (not going to try and spell it) put it badly and shot himself in the foot.

I remember Brian Moore in his commentary in Euro 88 quoting Aldridge who said "We're all mercenaries you know" but it wasn't long before he was accepted as a Paddy.

I think it's true to say:

"If you're good enough, you're Irish enough".

Dawn_Run
04/04/2005, 2:29 PM
Whats the big idea about shooting this guy down. Fair enough his reasons are all wrong (at this stage). However he might change his mind! Thats his problem. If he works out for the good of the team I have no problem and will welcome him as an honourary Irish citizen as I have for the countless others listed earlier in this thread. If everyone is against him at this stage then we are at a loss from the get go. We are not in a position to be turning away, good, young, enthusiastic footballers.

Coltron
04/04/2005, 3:01 PM
If we all had attitudes like you Owlsfan then this country would never have existed in the first place. Its not about coming first, second or last. You go out play your football as best you can and shouldn't compare yourself to others. Its about principle. He doesn't consider himself Irish, he said so.

blobbyblob
04/04/2005, 3:10 PM
If we all had attitudes like you Owlsfan then this country would never have existed in the first place. Its not about coming first, second or last. You go out play your football as best you can and shouldn't compare yourself to others. Its about principle. He doesn't consider himself Irish, he said so.

I suppose everyone here stayed calmly in their seats when Ray Houghton notched against England and Italy. Ray also wanted to play for Scotland but Ireland got in their first. Hes made no secret of that...

The lad qualifies. He wants to play. Give him a chance and come down from the soapbox.

Metrostars
04/04/2005, 3:15 PM
If Domenech wasnt so stupid, Queudrue would be playing left full back for France right now. He is having a great season at Boro.

Eire06
04/04/2005, 3:17 PM
It can do no harm takin him on board..
And if it works out so be it..
It'll be Frances loss

ollie
04/04/2005, 3:26 PM
i have mixed feelings about it.one side is telling me he is just a mercenary.the other is saying what about it he's not the first and if he improves the side then well and good.
BTW what age is he?

ollie
04/04/2005, 3:34 PM
ooh didn't see the player profile bit. :o don't mind the question above.

04/04/2005, 3:44 PM
I always react to this with disgust. The bloke is saying that he has no connection whatsoever with Ireland but he wants to play for us because he fancies a bit of international football.
Just like Holland, Morrison, Macken etc.

Paulie
04/04/2005, 3:58 PM
Hypothetical situation - Imagine you're a fairly decent footballer (I'm actually brutal, can't kick snow off a rope) and it just so happens that you qualify for the Faroe Islands through a grandparent. You're nowhere near good enough to play for Ireland but you are good enough to play for the Faroe Islands so when the offer of international football arrives you take it. The Faroes are then drawn in a qualifying group with Ireland so you are to play against the place that you feel you are from. I know it's easy for me to say it but if the likes of Quedrue feels the same way about France as I do about Ireland then it just would not be possible for him play against France and give 100% regardless of what opportunities may arise as a result of him doing well in the intl. set up. Given his comments, if he was called up for the game with France could he be trusted, especially so early on in his intl. career, to give it his best? I don't know. He would only have been in the squad a short time at that stage so he wouldn't have had time to build up an affinity with the fans or the country. I have my doubts on this one.

04/04/2005, 4:05 PM
I would have no problem taking his on board, the greater our pool of players the better. If we were winning games at the WC im sure people wouldnt be too bothered about his origin.
However having said that i am not overly keen on the grandparent rule. If the particular player has an Irish parent, I believe they have as much right to play for Ireland as an Irish person.

04/04/2005, 4:21 PM

Not sure I follow that one. What has freedom from the oppression of one country over another to do with a player chosing to play for the land of his forefathers over his native land.

I totally disagree that football isn't about coming first, second or last. It absolutely is, within the rules of the game. I remember the days when a League of Ireland team (all fully bred Irishmen) represented Ireland at international level and we were stuffed (7-1 away to Austria I think it was). They played, in your words, football as best as they could but I can guarantee you no one enjoyed that.

We cannot compete with the big boys due to population size - if you want to be a Northern Ireland or Wales, good luck to you. I want our strongest side out within the rules of FIFA and I want us to compete and win at the highest level and the grand parent rule helps us to do this.

colster
04/04/2005, 4:47 PM
I say fair play to him. He's eligible to play so who are we to say he can't/shouldn't. I don't hear many calling for McGeady to be kicked out of the squad.

colster
04/04/2005, 4:48 PM
Hypothetical situation - Imagine you're a fairly decent footballer (I'm actually brutal, can't kick snow off a rope) and it just so happens that you qualify for the Faroe Islands through a grandparent. You're nowhere near good enough to play for Ireland but you are good enough to play for the Faroe Islands so when the offer of international football arrives you take it. The Faroes are then drawn in a qualifying group with Ireland so you are to play against the place that you feel you are from. I know it's easy for me to say it but if the likes of Quedrue feels the same way about France as I do about Ireland then it just would not be possible for him play against France and give 100% regardless of what opportunities may arise as a result of him doing well in the intl. set up. Given his comments, if he was called up for the game with France could he be trusted, especially so early on in his intl. career, to give it his best? I don't know. He would only have been in the squad a short time at that stage so he wouldn't have had time to build up an affinity with the fans or the country. I have my doubts on this one.

I think his desire to play in a World Cup will have some bearing on how he would play that game

Paulie
04/04/2005, 4:51 PM
I think his desire to play in a World Cup will have some bearing on how he would play that game

At the expense of his own country? If you were in the situation I outlined earlier would you be able to give 100% if playing versus Ireland? I know I couldn't.

04/04/2005, 4:52 PM
Good quality debate opening up. Keep it coming.

:D PP

Eire06
04/04/2005, 4:56 PM
At the expense of his own country? If you were in the situation I outlined earlier would you be able to give 100% if playing versus Ireland? I know I couldn't.
It seems to me that his desire to play international football is greater that his desire to play for his country. I think he would do everything possible to get to the world cup finals otherwise he'd stick with France and hope they pick him..

colster
04/04/2005, 5:04 PM

Sure I'd like to see them qualify but it still wouldn't stop me giving my all to the team I was playing for. You'd expect that your 100% would not be good enough.

Generally i don't see the logic behind your argument. Every day of your life you make choices that directly/indirectly affect the life of your country. Buying foreign instead of irish brands, supporting premiership club instead of a league of ireland club etc. etc.. The list goes on. Everyone, at some time or other, has put their personal gain/happiness above that of their country.

brine3
04/04/2005, 6:33 PM
Being an Irish person who has spent 83% of his life outside of Ireland I get kind of uncomfortable when I see these 'plastic paddy' and 'mercenary' comments being bandied about.

04/04/2005, 8:35 PM
I don't know how anyone can call a premiership player in this day and age a mercenary for wanting to play international football. Lee Bowyer was today fined £200k, it probably wouldn't make much of a difference to his bank account.

I'm just absolutely shocked at the bias (I don't know if thats the right word) that exists among Irish people. Here is the first few posts on Zat Knights thread:

good luck ya big lump of opportunistic rubbish

We're not interested. Thanks but no thanks Zat.

Keep this mercenary clown well away from our team, thank you very much.
The only people that didn't give Zat Knight a slating were those that thought he was good enough for the squad. We can't have one rule for one...

livehead1
04/04/2005, 9:35 PM
at the end of the day, if he comes into the squad he will improve competition and therefore maybe even give o'shea or someone a kick up the Ar*e and keep them on their toes. i dont think anyone doubts that he is good enough though. i think we should get in there before franc sack ya man and give him a cap...give him 5 games and he'll soon feel "irish"!

byrnie20
04/04/2005, 10:02 PM
Are you on drugs? This guy has no hope of ever playing for France so suddenly he wants to come play for us? Come back Ian Harte with your Irish passport and your big heart. Some of the people on here need their (small) brains read.

I suppose we are all entitled to our own opinions but iam sure most people with an un biased opinion would prefer to enter a world cup campaign with him rather than Ian Harte at left back.
Dont forget one of the greatest victories in Irish football history was achieved by a goal from a Scotsman,remember the Giants stadium 94 ?

FarBeag
04/04/2005, 10:29 PM
I, like the rest of you want Ireland to progress and am in two minds here.He would be a great asset to the Irish cause but is he just another 'Irish wannabee' like Vinne Jones,Marlon King,Paul Butler.Kevins Nolan and Wheelan Zat Knight etc etc..I would hate to give him the chance unless he was 100% commited.

barglee
05/04/2005, 12:27 AM
i am irish but i reckon if i declared for a country other than ireland and was to face ireland i would be even more committed to show my alliegence to whoever iwas playing for because id have something to prove.

i reckon Quedreue is top class left back and wed be maed to turn him down.
the down side is we dont wanna be seen to take on any player who'll improve our team......

if i was kerr id select him because the job of ireland manager is to pick the best 11 that are eligible to represent ireland.

left back i such a problem for us(weve actually noie in our squad) i reckon cal this guy up/
feck it.

whaynot.
we cud olay o shea either cebtere back or center midfield instead of restricting him to left bacj wher eh is oncomfortable,

ishe beter than harte yes!
oshea isbt even a left back!!!!!!!!!!

05/04/2005, 1:10 AM
Personally I would never trust him playing against France or even in a match
in the same group, so he is ruled out of this qualifying campaign.

If I could play for say, Cyprus, but I was not good enough for Ireland I would
probably break the own goal record in a qualifying game against Ireland :D

Before I was taken off that is :cool: