View Full Version : Shels 1 Waaaaterford 0
The Sheliban
01/04/2005, 10:05 PM
Down to ten men after seven minutes - what on earth were those muppets applauding Richie Baker off the field for? - the ten men really dug in and battled out a great win. Hawkins and Scouse were immense at the back. Crowe was a workhorse up front. Weso justified his start, and Stewie and JC covered every blade of grass.
Never ever understood why defenders insist on punching the ball away at corners. It happens so often and its unbelievable in its stupidity.
Thanks to Richie, we could have been five points behind Waterford today. He's lucky we're level.
01/04/2005, 10:19 PM
Baker was a disgrace, his suspension will do him good and he could have lost his place when he's back.
Up until the goal we played some great stuff, best all season, some brilliant passing and moves then we did a Brian Kerr on it after the goal, oweing to the fact we'd ten men. O'Neill and Ollie came on then, and then Harris, which dragged us forward more for the closing stages (Take note Brian) so it ended up fairly comfortable. Hawkins has been an absolute rock so far, what a signing.
01/04/2005, 10:33 PM
cant belive that idiot Baker got sent off. Fenlon should lay into him. We dont need that kind of sh1t later on in the season.
By all accounts it sounds like Shels were playing really good football which is great to hear:)
Libero
02/04/2005, 2:38 PM
Anyone get a good view of the sending off last night? I managed to miss it though it happened right in front of me...the paper says he punched the Waterford player but Jason Byrne was pretty upset with the Waterford lad and seemed to indicate that he had made a meal of it.
By the way, 100% agree with the Hawkins comments. Very dominant throughout.
Gareth
02/04/2005, 2:48 PM
I was looking directly at it. Richie was on top of the waterford player, bit of a tussle, and richie kinda flapped that the guy, but he raised his hands so whether he b1tch slapped the guy or pounded him, its irrelevant, he had to go. Moment it happened we all immediately said he's gone!
02/04/2005, 4:59 PM
I've seen a replay of it, an absolute 100% cast iron blatant red card. Jayo was probably unhappy as the Waterford player should have got a yellow for the initial challenge on Baker, but nobody can defend Bakers sending off.
From where I was sitting there was no doubt it was a red. I was mightily impressed with Shels performace other than that moment of stupidity from Baker. Willo was fantastic (thankfully it seemed ALL the Waterford shots were low ones! :D Otherwise we'd've been stung!), and Weso and Hawkins were unbelievably good. The defensive performace was very impressive as far as I'm concerend!
03/04/2005, 5:40 PM
Yeah when Weso is in that kind of form it's worth the entrance fee alone, he has sublime technique and offered us alot of what we've been missing so far this season.
ConfusedBlue
04/04/2005, 2:58 PM
Fair play to Shels,good result the other night!!Williams was class made some topclass saves to keep ye ahead in the game.
WUFC tactics against ye were shocking,never made the extra man count,played into Shels hands by pumping long balls all night.Its 3 points left in Tolka Park against a Shels side that was there for the taking!!!!!!!
skitz3
04/04/2005, 3:38 PM
I have to agree with the comments on this thread.
Shels played some really good stuff and ran out fairly comfortable in the end.
Baker was disgraceful and undefendable. A pity really, he has had such a good start to the season.
It makes me wonder, if a cork player did what baker did would the culchies criticise him or praise him for making a complete d1ckhead of himself and the club. I think the latter would echo from the boglands.
Waterford penalty was ridiculous. Looked liked Waters deliberately handled. If i was cynical i'd suggest he involved in match fixing scam. :eek:
ConfusedBlue
05/04/2005, 1:23 PM
If i was cynical i'd suggest he involved in match fixing scam. You know you may be onto something there,considering the performance he put in!!!!!!!!!!
skitz3
05/04/2005, 7:53 PM
Waterford penalty was ridiculous. Looked liked Waters deliberately handled.
I agree. Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought that a deliberate handball inside the box was an automatic red card. If the ref awarded the penalty surely he acknowledged a deliberate hand ball. Why didn't he go.