View Full Version : Pope read last rites

Orchard Celt
31/03/2005, 11:34 PM
According to news reports.

01/04/2005, 10:48 AM
I don't know if the last rites thing was ever confirmed but it seems he is gravely ill and apparently has hours to days left. He reportedly has suffered a heart failure, has breathing problems, can't swallow due to Parkinsons and has a urinary tract infection and no this is not a tasteless April's Fools.

harry crumb
01/04/2005, 12:46 PM
He's the only pope i've known so it is like the end of an era.

Sad day.

01/04/2005, 12:48 PM
Yeah, it does indeed look inevitable now. He has septic shock apparently he can only have 48 hours maximum.

01/04/2005, 12:49 PM
He's the only pope i've known so it is like the end of an era.

Sad day.

A very very sad day :(

01/04/2005, 1:06 PM
It is a sad day but I feel it will mean more to the older community and the devout Catholics than it will my generation.

01/04/2005, 1:25 PM
Thread split. One more disrespectful comment in this thread will result in a permanant ban. Who the pope is has nothing to do with it, he's a human being that's very ill at the moment, possibly about to die. Have a little respect, you animals.

ciaran76
01/04/2005, 1:28 PM
It is a sad day but I feel it will mean more to the older community and the devout Catholics than it will my generation.

I think that is a very true statement. Where any of yous one of the kids brought out to see the Pope when he was here in Ireland in 1978 ?

The year or 2 below me in school had loads of John Pauls i wonder why ? ;)

Eire06
01/04/2005, 1:28 PM
Well i have to disagree with ya there, the pope is the "head" of my religion, i personally think it is sad one of the great communitators of our time just about to pass away.

yes I agree with you, Its a sad day and I'll be morning his death, not hoping for a day off work like certain people but sure each to their own..
Just hope they show him the respect he deserves even if they don't follow the Catholic church a man is on his death bed and its nothing to joke about IMO.. :(

Fair play to you dahamsta some people have no respect what so ever

ciaran76
01/04/2005, 1:30 PM
ok,fair enough,I wasn't being disrespectful just wondering will the country be shut down as a mark of respect,thats all.

I don't think so. But then again you'd never know.

01/04/2005, 1:33 PM
millwallfc banned permanently from Foot.ie. That's my fourth ban today, anyone else want to try me?

01/04/2005, 1:36 PM
pronane banned permanently from Foot.ie. I've been looking forward to that one for a while. Next?

01/04/2005, 1:47 PM
That was coming in fairness if not for his spelling alone :D

01/04/2005, 1:54 PM
I don't know if i get a say as a non-practiser but seems a bit sad that Pole hasn't "retired" yet & only way can step down is by dying.

yur man
01/04/2005, 2:38 PM
i agree with ya, he should have had his feet up and enjoying his retirement ages ago

religion is a private matter for most people. i think a national day off work for it would be too much

REVIP
01/04/2005, 2:59 PM
The Pope has been defined as one of the most influential men of the 20th Century, mainly because of his role as an opponent of Soviet Communism in the 1980s and his role as a focal figure in the collapse of the Soviet Empire.

It's not just about religion. Even if we're not religious, it's sad that someone who spoke up for the poor and the oppressed should be slipping away.

I'm not a Catholic.

Closed Account 2
01/04/2005, 3:17 PM
I don't know if i get a say as a non-practiser but seems a bit sad that Pole hasn't "retired" yet & only way can step down is by dying.

As far as Im aware other Popes have in fact abdicated/retired, and there is talk of introducing a retirement age for the next Pope, like they have done with Bishops.

01/04/2005, 5:33 PM
The pope's view on retirement is I think to quote him 'Jesus did not come down from the cross'. In respect of the suffering of Christ in the crucifiction I think he sees himself as being able to do no less in the service of his followers.

My dad said on previous occassions when the pope died that all TV and radio programming would cease and they would just play sombre music annoucing his death every now and then, I don't see that happening this time.

exile
01/04/2005, 6:15 PM
just said on the news that the pope is in his final hours, Sky Italia Television said the Pope had lost consciousness but there was no independent confirmation.

adamd164
01/04/2005, 6:52 PM
According to TV3, he's just died.

blobbyblob
01/04/2005, 7:00 PM
Please change the subject until the Vatican make an announcement. The man is still alive. A bit of respect please

Metrostars
01/04/2005, 7:20 PM
According to TV3, he's just died.

Apparently not as the Vatican has denied he is dead.

colblimp
01/04/2005, 8:01 PM
No, he's still hanging on but he now has kidney and heart failure. I don't think he's long for this world to be honest...

01/04/2005, 8:13 PM
seems to more of a matter of mins/hours than days

beautifulrock
01/04/2005, 8:32 PM
Yes the reports are getting worse and it would seem only to be a matter of time. RTE news are extending their broadcast until 10 o clock, Sky news flash say "blood pressure has worsened". A sad day and I can still clearly remember his trip to Ireland, a trip at that time lite up a country that was economically a very dark place. Cant really remember the death of Pope PAul or Pope John Paul 1 but the news coverage is quite amazing almost wall to wall since early today on all news stations.

01/04/2005, 11:38 PM
The pope's view on retirement is I think to quote him 'Jesus did not come down from the cross'. In respect of the suffering of Christ in the crucifiction I think he sees himself as being able to do no less in the service of his followers.
I think I agree with that, to be honest. The papacy has been going for nearly 2,000 years and there's no need to go breaking tradition now.

blobbyblob
02/04/2005, 8:09 AM
"He has not lost conciousness but is in a serious stable condition" - Polish priest.

While I do pray regularly, I wouldn't consider myself a devout Catholic(however thats defined). All being said though, Pope John Paul II's imminent passing is having a profound effect on me.

I think were in the presence of greatness and should be greatful for that. As in most situations like this, we don't appreciate them until they have gone. Im sure he will find his rightful place in heaven when the time comes.

02/04/2005, 1:13 PM
"He has not lost conciousness but is in a serious stable condition" - Polish priest.

While I do pray regularly, I wouldn't consider myself a devout Catholic(however thats defined). All being said though, Pope John Paul II's imminent passing is having a profound effect on me.

I think were in the presence of greatness and should be greatful for that. As in most situations like this, we don't appreciate them until they have gone. Im sure he will find his rightful place in heaven when the time comes.

I don't think it would be an exagguration to say he is one of the if not the greatest popes ever. Prior to Pope John XXIII (1958-63) the papcy never really stepped up to meet it's global role. In fact prior to Garibaldi and Cavour uniting Italy it was far too concerned with its territories and interfering in Italian and European politics. The loss of its territory has been a blessing I think. Pope John Paul II has really embraced the global stature of the church and conducted over 100 foreign visits in his time as pope spanning all continents something unheard of before. He was the first pope to visit many countries including Ireland. His visits to his native Poland were intrumental in inspiring Solidarnosc the main movement behind bringing democarcy to Poland. Also in respect to prejudices he really brought the church into the 20th century asking for forgiveness from Jews and Orthodox for sins commited against them by Catholics and becoming the first pope to visit a Synagogue and a Mosque.

Partizan
02/04/2005, 1:29 PM
I don't think it would be an exagguration to say he is one of the if not the greatest popes ever. Prior to Pope John XXIII (1958-63) the papcy never really stepped up to meet it's global role. In fact prior to Garibaldi and Cavour uniting Italy it was far too concerned with its territories and interfering in Italian and European politics. The loss of its territory has been a blessing I think. Pope John Paul II has really embraced the global stature of the church and conducted over 100 foreign visits in his time as pope spanning all continents something unheard of before. He was the first pope to visit many countries including Ireland. His visits to his native Poland were intrumental in inspiring Solidarnosc the main movement behind bringing democarcy to Poland. Also in respect to prejudices he really brought the church into the 20th century asking for forgiveness from Jews and Orthodox for sins commited against them by Catholics and becoming the first pope to visit a Synagogue and a Mosque.

Although the Pope was my ideological enemy (I disagreed with him on many things, abortion, divorce, criminalisation of homosexuality, his unreleneting attacks on socialism, Yugoslavia, USSR, Cuba, Sandanistas, Archbishop Romero, his lovey dovey with Reagan, Thacther and Tudjman) I wish His Holiness all my deepest sympathy in his final hours.

02/04/2005, 1:37 PM
Although the Pope was my ideological enemy (I disagreed with him on many things, abortion, divorce, criminalisation of homosexuality, his unreleneting attacks on socialism, Yugoslavia, USSR, Cuba, Sandanistas, Archbishop Romero, his lovey dovey with Reagan, Thacther and Tudjman) I wish His Holiness all my deepest sympathy in his final hours.

But he is a socialist, in the South American/Christian model. He was a committed trade unionist, very much involved with the Polish resistence during WW2 and compainged strongly on many social issues such as 3rd world death. He was, however, opposed to brutal distatorships, such the Nazi's, the USSR and the commie dictatorship in his native Poland.

Partizan
02/04/2005, 1:48 PM
he indeed was a socialist, a Christian Socialist which is a conservative ideology. his views on contraception, divorce, womens' rights and criminializing of homosexuals was anything but enlightening.

His compasion of the poor was amazing and as people here have rightly pointed out, he was the first to champion the cause of the abolition of Third World debt long before the over inflated ego of Bono touched it.

The Pope was a very serene and passionate man who cared deeply about the Third World which was one of the few things I liked about him.

As for the successor, well, after all has been said and done, the Church will face some serious questions as to its future direction. It remins me of late 1980's and the state of the socialist world. It was rotten to the core, yes but now so is the institution called the Vatican. So many similarities with the Church today and the USSR in 1985. Old men, stuck in old impracticle ways out of touch with the masses.

liam88
02/04/2005, 6:24 PM
Sitting here in Cork airport almost crying and not ashamed.
The greatest man alive today and probably the greatest man to walk the earth since Jesus is about to enter in Jesus' kingdom.
Pope John Paul II is the best Pope ever and he's goin g to live on in all Catholics as well as the Muslims, Jews and Anglicans he reached out to-they are preying for him now and respected himthroughout.
I'm going to make sure his memory lives on-God Bless you my Pope.

The Pope of Popes will live on forever.
"Jesus rememer me when you come into your kingdom"

exile
02/04/2005, 8:08 PM
the pope has passed away

skynews (http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13319758,00.html)

02/04/2005, 8:17 PM
R.i.p.

Jon'o
02/04/2005, 8:21 PM
R.i.p

Thunderblaster
02/04/2005, 8:28 PM
Pope John Paul II passed away at 9:37 (Italian Time) this evening. May all the forumites pray for the repose of his soul. Eternal Rest grant to Him Lord and may the Perpetual Light shine upon Him. May His soul and all the souls of the Faithful Departed, through the Mercy of God, Rest in Peace. Amen.

Fair_play_boy
02/04/2005, 8:44 PM
Il Papa e morto. Il Papa e morto. I don't know what language this is, but when I heard those words shouted by a kid on holiday in a caravan park in August 1978, it signalled the end of an era for me, as Pope Paul VI was the only pope I remembered since I was born. A month later, I remember being scared when the RTE 7.30 am news said It is with deep regret that we announce the death of Pope John Paul.Tonight, my own children are a little scared at the news that the Pope has died.
May he Rest In Peace.

blobbyblob
02/04/2005, 9:11 PM
May he rest in peace. He's taken up his rightful place in heaven tonight. May we always remember that we were lucky enough to live in the presence of greatness.

RIP

blobbyblob
02/04/2005, 9:16 PM
May he watch over us and guide us - Rest in peace.

A great man gone to his rightful place.

02/04/2005, 9:37 PM
R.I.P.

dortie
03/04/2005, 8:47 AM
God Bless The Pope .....

RIP

liam88
03/04/2005, 12:35 PM
The greatest man to walk the earth since Jesus has joined our Lord in heaven. He spread the word to world, he saved Jews from the Nazi's in Poland and later pushed to save Poland from the Communist tyranny. He championed human rights around the world, especially in Cuba, he brought the problem of third world debt to the fore; as somebody mentioned, long before Bob Geldof or Bono. On coming to Ireland long before any talk of ceasfires or the Good Friday agreement he begged "on my knees" for peace-leaving no true Catholic with an excuse to fight and hide behind religion. He bowed at the holocuast memorial and entered a Synagouge; building a bridge between Christianity and it's older brother and making amends for the Vatican's silence during the holocuast in which he worked so hard saving so many lives. Within the Christian church he expressed his hope of unity, stating that the division of God's church is a sin. Not only was he the first Pope to enter a Syanagouge but the first to enter Anglican Cathedrals on his visit to England and he conversed with the Anglican heirarchy strengthening peace and union. He was a n example to all in granting the ultimate forgivness to the gunman who attempted to take his life. He reached out to the Muslim religion of Islam by entering a Mosque and building yet another bridge between faiths.
Our Pope John Paul II opened up the faith and good work of the Catholic chuirch to the world and right to the end he showed us how to fight through our suffering and stay faithful to the end. As the sun rose in America signalling the start of the Feast of the Divine Mercy, he recieved Communion for this day, that of his favourite saint before giving his final message "I have looked for you, now you have come to me and I thank you" and joining Jesus in heaven.
God bless you my Pope you are with us all forever. Enjoy you eternal rest and eternity with our Lord and our Saints. Please bless my grandad who is in heaven with you.

Fair_play_boy
03/04/2005, 2:21 PM
The greatest man to walk the earth since Jesus has joined our Lord in heaven. He spread the word to world, he saved Jews from the Nazi's in Poland and later pushed to save Poland from the Communist tyranny. He championed human rights around the world, especially in Cuba, he brought the problem of third world debt to the fore; as somebody mentioned, long before Bob Geldof or Bono. On coming to Ireland long before any talk of ceasfires or the Good Friday agreement he begged "on my knees" for peace-leaving no true Catholic with an excuse to fight and hide behind religion. He bowed at the holocuast memorial and entered a Synagouge; building a bridge between Christianity and it's older brother and making amends for the Vatican's silence during the holocuast in which he worked so hard saving so many lives. Within the Christian church he expressed his hope of unity, stating that the division of God's church is a sin. Not only was he the first Pope to enter a Syanagouge but the first to enter Anglican Cathedrals on his visit to England and he conversed with the Anglican heirarchy strengthening peace and union. He was a n example to all in granting the ultimate forgivness to the gunman who attempted to take his life. He reached out to the Muslim religion of Islam by entering a Mosque and building yet another bridge between faiths.
Our Pope John Paul II opened up the faith and good work of the Catholic chuirch to the world and right to the end he showed us how to fight through our suffering and stay faithful to the end. As the sun rose in America signalling the start of the Feast of the Divine Mercy, he recieved Communion for this day, that of his favourite saint before giving his final message "I have looked for you, now you have come to me and I thank you" and joining Jesus in heaven.
God bless you my Pope you are with us all forever. Enjoy you eternal rest and eternity with our Lord and our Saints. Please bless my grandad who is in heaven with you.Liam, for such a young guy, that is indeed some serious mature and thought provoking reflection. Glad to read it.
FPB.

04/04/2005, 10:00 AM
God bless you my Pope you are with us all forever. Enjoy you eternal rest and eternity with our Lord and our Saints. Please bless my grandad who is in heaven with you.

Excellent read

10/04/2005, 10:56 AM
I was born the day the previous Pope died, so Pope J P II has been the only Pope i have known, I have grown up watcing him on Tv, listening to his easter message each year. I have been to his homeland 3 times, visiting Krakow on many occasions, a beautiful city, ignored by some tourists, a city which was dear to him. I am sure now it will be a haven for so many tourists and pilgrims and Wadowice also. He had such a warm and caring expression on his face. For me, he was a great Pope and leader of the church, i am proud of him. At least, we know we will soon have another great Saint to pray to. It was especially sad to see the sadness of the Poles during this time.

R.I.P