View Full Version : The Football Show

31/03/2005, 11:51 PM
Saw it tonight and thought it was very good ..... very well put together and loads of content and info.

Covered everything really ... National, League, Cup, Jimmy Mc the movie star. There was a good panel too, fair play to them ... they all seemed fairly knowledgeable about the game up there (just wondering do Northern fans give out about them as much as we give out about our lot, well Kinger anyway) ..... good to see anyway.

Two things though, in the whole programme, there was no mention of Setanta and no mention of UEFA Licensing which seems very strange as there was some debate about improving grounds and structures to get crowds back and both seem like ways of doing that.

Anyway .... good show, well put together !!

harry crumb
31/03/2005, 11:56 PM
What channel is this on? :confused:

01/04/2005, 12:03 AM
Sorry, should have mentioned that !!

UTV every Thursday at 11.00 to half !!

Da Real Rover
01/04/2005, 10:59 AM
Ya it wasn't bad(better than our one) but they didn't seem to positive about the idea of an All-Ireland team. Surely this can only help Irish football, having an All-Ireland League and National team, and i thought Boyles argument for not having one was terrible. He said that if there was an All-Ireland team then alot of players would not get international football. By that argument you should divide up Ireland into the 4 provinces so even more people get international football, or why not into counties, that way we can get much, much more people playing international football.

Thunderblaster
02/04/2005, 2:22 AM
Ya it wasn't bad(better than our one) but they didn't seem to positive about the idea of an All-Ireland team. Surely this can only help Irish football, having an All-Ireland League and National team, and i thought Boyles argument for not having one was terrible. He said that if there was an All-Ireland team then alot of players would not get international football. By that argument you should divide up Ireland into the 4 provinces so even more people get international football, or why not into counties, that way we can get much, much more people playing international football.

Are you trying to destroy national identity? Okay, lets have the World Regional Cup. Ireland's group would be County Dublin along with Bavaria of Germany, Catalonia of Spain and Lombardy of Italy. The Oscar Traynor Cup would suddenly come under the jurisdiction of FIFA.

Da Real Rover
03/04/2005, 12:44 PM
What do you mean destroy national identity??? We seem to be able to co-operate grand in Rugby and GAA, so i don't see why we don't do it football either. So what if we have different politics or creeds we should be able to have an all-ireland team, cause were all from the same island and our similarities out weigh our differences.

03/04/2005, 4:14 PM
I'd be inclined to agree there to be honest.

Plastic man
03/04/2005, 4:32 PM
What do you mean destroy national identity??? We seem to be able to co-operate grand in Rugby and GAA, so i don't see why we don't do it football either. So what if we have different politics or creeds we should be able to have an all-ireland team, cause were all from the same island and our similarities out weigh our differences.

Well , where do you start!
Would you like to tell the Scots and Welsh that they should give up their national teams too ! Sure they would be better off with a Great Britain team!
Just face the fact that Northern Ireland is seperate from the Republic and has it's own national soccer team !

-lamb-
03/04/2005, 9:49 PM
Cup, Jimmy Mc the movie star.

(just wondering do Northern fans give out about them as much as we give out about our lot, well Kinger anyway)

just to add that Jimmy has gotten Larne into the Irish Cup final after a 16 year wait with a hard fought 1-0 win over Ballymena yesterday. :D

and yes, Beacom in particular gets serious stick for his dismissive views on any team outside the big 3. :rolleyes:

joey B
05/04/2005, 1:22 PM
That beacom dude has the most annoying voice ever :D

15/04/2005, 12:08 AM
It was on again tonight ..... ffs lads, it is a great show .... very well put together, very informative, edited perfectly, some great little schetchs with the paintballing and the Dallas thing. The panel seemed very good and good craic between them. Has to be said ... top notch and only something the eircom League could noly dream of right now. :eek: