View Full Version : Longford v City

Pages : 1 [2]

harry crumb
31/03/2005, 8:42 PM
Playing poor and beating teams. Good sign.

SSS
31/03/2005, 8:44 PM
Thanks for the updates, now just for info on subs and whether Behan or Liam scored (Daddy or chips)

yan
31/03/2005, 8:44 PM
whos on top of the league

:D :D :D

31/03/2005, 8:50 PM
ah lads, such a sh1te match :mad: In fairness, ye were crap its just things arent quite coming off for us :( Terrible goal to give away, and at a terrible time. Right wing free kick swung in by Kearney and Behan just got a toe to it and Digger was wrong footed. Dessie missed a sitter in the 2nd half, 1 on 1 with Devine with time to take a touch and just scuffed into the ground.

200 City fans TOPS. say about 1100-1200 altogether. ****ing rain, freezing, crap match, crap result :(

Roll on Monday.

harry crumb
31/03/2005, 9:13 PM
and everybodys favorite ex manager is there with the fans....dolan

Longford are playing Linfield on Monday night. QED.

Ive no problem with Pat coming to watch Cork anyway.

Counting Crow
31/03/2005, 9:52 PM
[QUOTE=DE TOWN]
200 City fans TOPS. say about 1100-1200 altogether :(

UOTE]

18% of the attendance supporting City.

How teams must love us playing at their grounds. Money in the bank and all that.

We're the only ones that keep the likes of Waterford and Shes from going into recievership :D :rolleyes:

City - super club, super fans.

Counting Crow
31/03/2005, 9:56 PM
[QUOTE=DE TOWN]
200 City fans TOPS. QUOTE]

You say that like it's pathetic or something. :rolleyes:

When was the last time ye brought 200 fans to The Cross not to mind on a Thursday night when most people had made plans for a Saturday night game......?

Shels (our Champions) couldn't muster up more that 60 -70 for a Cup match on a Bank Holiday weekend........ :rolleyes:

Wait until the rollercoaster really gets going and see how many are at games.

We'll keep the whole bloody League afloat if we get going at all. :D

31/03/2005, 10:04 PM
Thats not a pathetic number of fans. I added in TOPS because someone mentioned 250 earlier in the thread and I was just giving a more realistic number :)

harry crumb
31/03/2005, 10:16 PM
[QUOTE=DE TOWN]
200 City fans TOPS. QUOTE]

When was the last time ye brought 200 fans to The Cross not to mind on a Thursday night when most people had made plans for a Saturday night game......?

Shels (our Champions) couldn't muster up more that 60 -70 for a Cup match on a Bank Holiday weekend........ :rolleyes:

Wait until the rollercoaster really gets going and see how many are at games.

We'll keep the whole bloody League afloat if we get going at all. :D

Stop it man. :o

please. Im cringing listening to you.

lol

Druss
31/03/2005, 10:29 PM
From the match report on RTE.

"Kearney whipped a free-kick into the box and Behan got the faintest of touches"

They are getting their defense in early..and they learnt how to spell Kearney. :rolleyes:

01/04/2005, 2:49 AM
****ing rain, freezing, crap match,

Roll on Monday.

ill let u know in the morning how sick i am from standing in that wet and cold all night

CC..i feel a sick week coming on :D

01/04/2005, 6:49 AM
Thats not a pathetic number of fans. I added in TOPS because someone mentioned 250 earlier in the thread and I was just giving a more realistic number :)
I mentioned 250 because I was told between 200 and 300 City fans, so just posted the middle figure.....:D

Any number over 150 away fans is very impressive for last night......

Counting Crow
01/04/2005, 7:35 AM
ill let u know in the morning how sick i am from standing in that wet and cold all night

CC..i feel a sick week coming on :D

Did you get a doctor's note while you were up in Flancare :D

Make sure you're recovered for UCD though ;)

Counting Crow
01/04/2005, 7:37 AM
Any number over 150 away fans is very impressive for last night......

That would be a season high for Shels and Waterford............at home :D

01/04/2005, 9:23 AM
I thought 100 away fans behind goal + whatever was in the stand. School Break meant kids were on tour.

01/04/2005, 9:34 AM
School Break meant kids were on tour.

tell me about it :rolleyes:

01/04/2005, 12:38 PM
I thought 100 away fans behind goal + whatever was in the stand. School Break meant kids were on tour.
I know :mad: I might be in school myself but WTF were they shouting before the match :confused: :mad: Annoying little fcukers

01/04/2005, 12:50 PM
I know :mad: I might be in school myself but WTF were they shouting before the match :confused: :mad: Annoying little fcukersagreed. I'm sick of it. No harm in people having a few drinks before a game, I do it myself all the time, but most of this lot only go so they can drink. They just get ****-faced and then spend the game trying to stand up :rolleyes: :mad:

Wiseguy
01/04/2005, 1:13 PM
I wouldn't worry about it to much because these little sh1ts are everywhere you go.The carry on of some so called Town supporters was a disgrace at last years cup final which makes you wonder what kind of up bringing these people get.It's one thing having a few cans and keeping yourself to yourself but it's something else when your behaviour annoys those around you.These ****s should be kicked out of matches and handed over to the Gardai and have their parents drive the lenght of the country to pick them up from the cop shop.That would soon put a stop to it.Most of these people only go so they can get p1ssed and not have to worry about the outcome.

01/04/2005, 1:19 PM
agreed. I'm sick of it. No harm in people having a few drinks before a game, I do it myself all the time, but most of this lot only go so they can drink. They just get ****-faced and then spend the game trying to stand up :rolleyes: :mad:

There's a couple of fellas who'll never get on a bus to a City match again, if I have my way.
Not just because they were p!ssed, I can get over that, but just because of their general scumbag behaviour on the way home.

Anyway, it was a sh!t game. Probably the worst City game I've seen in years. Georgie was man of the match again for me, Behan, Kearney and Benno all played well too.
There was a good City support there but it was very quiet and like up in Harps a lot of people seemed extremely dissillusioned. I went to the stand for the second half with a few of the lads because it was so wet and cold. From the stand I could not hear a thing from the City fans who remained behind the goal, I think the wind and the lack of a roof didn't help matters. Dolan was also in the stand and seems to have really become one of our most passionate supporters.

Another three points on what was a night where we could have easily slipped up. We need to keep it going now.

01/04/2005, 1:24 PM
I don't think people are disillusioned. Longford was cold & wet so people just gald to get out of there. Maybe people tired in ballybofey from long journey & game was over after 50mins too.

01/04/2005, 1:47 PM
There's an awful echo about!

Dolan was also in the stand and seems to have really become one of our most passionate supporters.

How do you become one of our most passionate supporters? Is there a form I can fill out? Do you have to go to set number of away games, or is it "just a job"?

01/04/2005, 1:53 PM
How do you become one of our most passionate supporters? Is there a form I can fill out? Do you have to go to set number of away games, or is it "just a job"?

I don't know Sean, it just happens. I would consider myself one of our most passionate supporters, same goes for yourself and loads of others that we know and see at games. I would also put Pat Dolan in this category.
Why do some people have such a problem with the fact that Pat Dolan is now a fan of CCFC? It's kind of sad the way ye try and make it seem like there's some kind of agenda or something, he's just going to games supporting the team like we do.

01/04/2005, 1:56 PM
Another three points on what was a night where we could have easily slipped up. We need to keep it going now.

That's the important thing here.
We're getting into a habit of knowing the job in hand and completing it.
Lets keep it going.

01/04/2005, 1:58 PM
Can't remember last time lost at Flancare. Haven't checked records but must be our favourite away ground of top sides.

btw lads, town73 has put a report of the match up on the Town site if anyone wants to read it. HERE (http://www.longfordtownfc.com/reports05/plhm_cork_report.htm)

I don't know Sean, it just happens. I would consider myself one of our most passionate supporters, same goes for yourself and loads of others that we know and see at games. I would also put Pat Dolan in this category.
Why do some people have such a problem with the fact that Pat Dolan is now a fan of CCFC? It's kind of sad the way ye try and make it seem like there's some kind of agenda or something, he's just going to games supporting the team like we do.

Ahh no Colm think about it he's a professional footballer type guy...as in (AFAIK) his only job is football related stuff. He has to go to games and be interested in the league as a whole if he's doing his job. Longford are playing Linfield on Monday.

Now was Dolan there as a fan of Cork City or as a professional (and quite good) sportscaster doing his homework?

When did he become such a fan of Cork City? Im not trying to be funny here but I always though, even as City manager he was a Pats fan? Can you be equally passionate about two clubs?

01/04/2005, 2:02 PM
Can't remember last time lost at Flancare. Haven't checked records but must be our favourite away ground of top sides.
AFAIK, Monday January 13th, 2003. 1-0 to LTFC. Sean Francis after 3mins.

01/04/2005, 2:02 PM
Now was Dolan there as a fan of Cork City or as a professional (and quite good) sportscaster doing his homework?

?

well he was there kicking every ball, urging them forward like ourselves and got a great laugh out of the baker brothers chant :D

01/04/2005, 2:06 PM
well he was there kicking every ball, urging them forward like ourselves and got a great laugh out of the baker brothers chant :D

Which one? The one that implies the Mrs. Baker is not of virtue true? :D

01/04/2005, 2:07 PM
Which one? The one that implies the Mrs. Baker is not of virtue true? :D

thats the one

01/04/2005, 2:07 PM

Are we talking about the same guy who made a show of himself on Setanta Sports after the Shels game?
Hardly what I'd call professional! :rolleyes:

01/04/2005, 2:20 PM
There's a couple of fellas who'll never get on a bus to a City match again, if I have my way.
Not just because they were p!ssed, I can get over that, but just because of their general scumbag behaviour on the way home.
glad to hear it. there was a nasty atmosphere surrounding some of those fellas IMO, and i wasn't even on the bus.

Anyway, it was a sh!t game. Probably the worst City game I've seen in years. Georgie was man of the match again for me, Behan, Kearney and Benno all played well too.
Gamble and Benno were the best for me, I thought Georgie worked very hard but he wasn't effective enough- conditions played their part in that. Behan also played very well.

There was a good City support there but it was very quiet and like up in Harps a lot of people seemed extremely dissillusioned. I went to the stand for the second half with a few of the lads because it was so wet and cold. From the stand I could not hear a thing from the City fans who remained behind the goal, I think the wind and the lack of a roof didn't help matters.
Why did ye all have to go up in the stand- there was a grand atmosphere in the first half, would have been better if we'd all stayed together!! We sang quite a bit towards the end alright.

01/04/2005, 2:23 PM
At this stage, does it really matter? He is obviously going to go to games, as he is perfectly entitled to do. As far as I'm concerned he should be treated just like every other individual in the stands at Flancare last night- a person who went to watch the game. Why are we even talking about him, Cork City played Longford last night- 1,000 people (approx) were there, he was only one of them. We won, we're top of the league- thats all I'm worried about now

01/04/2005, 2:30 PM
Why did ye all have to go up in the stand- there was a grand atmosphere in the first half, would have been better if we'd all stayed together!! We sang quite a bit towards the end alright.

As I said, it was nothing to do with the atmosphere. It was just that it was too cold and wet behind the goal, especially when I didn't have a jacket with me!

exile
01/04/2005, 2:31 PM
at the end of the match last nite behind the goal almost everyone behind the goal was chanting rico which personaly i was glad hear as it shows people are starting to move on and supporting city takes precedent over any one person. im a big dolan fan and its great to see him supporting city but the club comes first not dolan.

01/04/2005, 2:32 PM

TBH... i thought everybody was gonna go over

01/04/2005, 3:38 PM
TBH... i thought everybody was gonna go over

Damn, if I knew ye were going over Id have followed you, it was FREEZING!!! :mad: And I didnt bother bringing a jacket either :rolleyes: With the weather, no roof and a cr@p game, and a cr@p view you're hardly going to get a great atmosphere.

Thought "Cerany", Behan, George and Hoggie were the best, but no one played badly except maybe Billy (lack of interest) & Kev (lack of interest too for a good while). Although Dan doesnt look like a world beater he wasnt too bad in fairness (except his last kick, you know the clearence/cross to the town player but I think that might have been cought by the wind which was cronic last night). Still only one goal conseeded this year remember!

Did anyone read the programme last night? Towns manager and chairman seemed to have little digs at Rico because of his punditory on eL Weekly :rolleyes: . Seemed a bit petty to be honest.

01/04/2005, 3:42 PM
That whinging, moany f*ck who manages Longford is at it again....:rolleyes:
He is quoted as saying "Cork never hurt us".....:rolleyes:

What an assh*le. He says this after every City game, when his team of boggers, rejects and hatchet men have been beaten yet again by us.

If getting 23 points from the last possible 27 against that tosspot is not "hurting" a team, I would hate to see what we will do to him when we really hurt them!

Is Whinger Matthews really Max Power?..:rolleyes:

01/04/2005, 3:56 PM
hes also complaining in the echo

"the tackle on alan murphy was a disgrace and thats not right in the game

hes gone off to hospital with a suspected broken ankle and that annoys me. its what you have come to expect though in the ga,e and why wasnt the offeding player not booked or red carded"

daveh
01/04/2005, 5:27 PM
He said the exact same things when we beat them 2-0 up in longford last year.He said O'Brien had no saves to make either.He obviously had at least one save to make anyway!!

colblimp
01/04/2005, 7:33 PM
Myself and a few others went into the stand at half time but the view was that crap, a couple of us went back behind the goal at the start of the second half.

I'd say about 150-180 City fans were there. Atomsphere wasn't the best but what do you expect on a night like that with the weather as it was?! :rolleyes:

Fair_play_boy
02/04/2005, 4:53 PM
Another three points on what was a night where we could have easily slipped up.Spot on summary there Colm.
Just back from the game after a detour through Ennis where the beer is sweet.
Crowd: Covered stand almost three quarters full, mostly local support.
City supporters behind one goal, I would say 190 to 200 shivering souls.
The singing was OK at times, but clapping was useless with numb hands and fingers.
Conditions were miserable, with loads of passes slipping over the side line for both teams.

Team:
Devine
Hoggie Benno Murray Murphy
Woods Gamble Georgie Kearney
Behan Doyler
Subs: Greg, Colin, Fenn, Shane Long, McNulty.
Devine:7. Longford corners looked dangerous but Devine was very effective catching the greasy ball despite jostling. Made one outstanding save tipping a rasping shot over the centre of the goal early in the second half.

Hoggie: 7. Kept really busy until Longford realised there was not much point going down that side. Tackled really well, and supplied some decent balls for midfield.

Benno: 9. Player of the match for me. Rock solid in defence and came forward when he had a chance. Took two half chances well, and forced two saves from headers.

Murray: 4. Dan defended high balls well with his heading ability, but anything that came through on the deck left him flat footed. In the first half, he mysteriously signalled Benno to tackle a player who was driving for the penalty area, even though Dan himself was more than a yard nearer! He is the banana skin of the side. I hope that Rico has the courage to drop him.

Danny: 8. Very strong. At times he came forward so well he was like a fifth midfielder, playing wide, and setting up Kearney and Georgie for some good runs. Whatever ball Longford got in from the right side, they were delivered with little accuracy.

Billy: 5. Looked tired. Little penetration. Took no shot on goal despite having two reasonable chances at sort of long range with the wind behind him. Noticeably slow covering back, leaving others covering for him. Maybe he is not up to playing three matches in seven days.

Gamble: 8. Another Colin O'Brien in style, only better. Battled everywhere, chasing everything, and winning back possession again and again. He is an outstanding asset to the team.

Georgie: 7. Good game, but his nimble footwork looked a bit bogged down at times on the wet turf. Had to cover a lot for Billy. Kept the ball on the deck, which was the only time we created anything, linking with Kearney more than Doyler. Should be named captain, IMO, when Dan Murray is dropped.

Kearney: 8. The usual sparkling runs which yielded four or maybe five free kicks when the frustrated Longford defence could not cope with his trickery.

Behan: 5. Apart from the goal (which was at the other end and hard to see what went on) he did not have a great game, IMO. He was marked tightly, but even when he managed to find space, his first touch was dire. On the plus side, he took a good free kick 25 yards out, mid way in the first half. He beat the wall, forcing a good save from a fully stretched keeper.

Doyler: 7. Never saw a player marked so tightly. Did not get many chances to play, but did manage one header on target (saved), and managed two weak shots (both wide) after skipping around a couple of defenders.

Subs: None used, unless you count Colin O'Brien coming on for Behan in the 92nd minute.

The ref: 6. Fair, but missed a lot of rash challenges including Georgie's chop on a Longford defender from which he was strechered off. He did flash a few yellows when things got a bit tense, including one to Behan when he could easily have seen red for retaliation.

Overall, we needed a second goal to make us safe. In the last quarter Longford looked threatening on the break, and concentrated on runs down the middle where Dan Murray was no great shakes. They wasted a lot of good possession by putting several shots way over the bar or wide.

Right through the game there were a couple of prats blowing whistles. You could never be sure when it was the ref who was blowing. This interference has to stop.

Lastly, whoever had the loudspeaker in the first half, he used it to call for Dan Murray to be taken off. I think this is not acceptable. It is fair enough to pass comment after the final whistle, but the guy does not need to be undermined by his own "supporters" in the middle of a game.