View Full Version : Wales V Republic of Ireland - Cardiff - 6th September 2018 - UEFA Nations League
Diggs246
04/09/2018, 4:31 PM
oh definitely, 100% certain.Now about these magic beans I have for sale.........;)
Lol nice.
04/09/2018, 6:29 PM
I know Im a deamer, but could this be one of those game were we are written off and then... boom we pull it out of the bag
You're not the only one.
samhaydenjr
05/09/2018, 2:12 AM
McClean out.
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/james-mcclean-faces-surgery-on-injured-wrist-as-problems-mount-for-ireland-ahead-of-wales-clash-37281778.html
Maybe he injured it fighting...
Well I guess it's official now... this is another rebuild week for the national team... a chance for the youngsters to stake a claim... just look at it that way and we'll all feel better about the results. So, new starting XI
-----------McDermott----------
Doherty---Long---Egan---Stevens
Horgan---Hourihane---Browne---O'Dowda
--------Burke-----Robinson-------------
Wait a minute... where did Shane Long go?!
DeLorean
05/09/2018, 8:36 AM
-------------Randolph------------
Coleman---Duffy---Clark---Ward
--Hendrick---Meyler---Browne--
------Robinson---O'Dowda------
-------------Walters--------------
I'm thinking he'll go with something like this. Clark & Long a toss of a coin, both if Duffy doesn't make it. Horgan over Robinson a possibility too maybe.
05/09/2018, 9:41 AM
OK, I’m always naively optimistic but I think we can do something with what’s available to us.
Randolph is on form and has kept 5 consecutive clean sheets. Coleman, Doherty, Duffy, K. Long, Clark, Hendrick, Ward, Browne, O’Dowda, Hourihane, Wiliams, Horgan, Robinson, Burke, Walters, Judge, Meyler, Stevens, McGoldrick, Egan....these are all good players. Not flawless by any means but if you take a glass half-full view of each one there’s ability there.
An XI made up from players like this ought to be well-balanced and competitive. I saw Williams for Millwall at the weekend and while he may be a bit lazy tracking back he is an absolute dude on the ball. Almost Alonso-like in his head-up nonchalance and passing accuracy. Great dead ball delivery too.
It’s down to management to put the team together with a good mix of ball winning and ball using ability, with a well-communicated plan.
That said I’m struggling to put together my XI.
2 CBs, 2 wing-backs:
-------------------------Randolph
-------------Long - Duffy -----Clark (though Lenihan impressed me vs USA)
Coleman------------------------Stevens/Ward
--------------Meyler ----Hendrick---------
-------O’Dowda------------Horgan
----------------Walters
Doherty (a few positions) Browne, Wlliams, Robinson and Burke all unlucky not to make this XI
4 at the back
Coleman-Duffy-Clark-Doherty (Stevens/Ward)
Doherty/O’Dowda—Meyler-Hendrick---Horgan
------Robinson---Walters--
Fixer82
05/09/2018, 11:03 AM
What channel is match being shown on?
Diggs246
05/09/2018, 11:07 AM
OK, I’m always naively optimistic but I think we can do something with what’s available to us.
Randolph is on form and has kept 5 consecutive clean sheets. Coleman, Doherty, Duffy, K. Long, Clark, Hendrick, Ward, Browne, O’Dowda, Hourihane, Wiliams, Horgan, Robinson, Burke, Walters, Judge, Meyler, Stevens, McGoldrick, Egan....these are all good players. Not flawless by any means but if you take a glass half-full view of each one there’s ability there.
An XI made up from players like this ought to be well-balanced and competitive. I saw Williams for Millwall at the weekend and while he may be a bit lazy tracking back he is an absolute dude on the ball. Almost Alonso-like in his head-up nonchalance and passing accuracy. Great dead ball delivery too.
It’s down to management to put the team together with a good mix of ball winning and ball using ability, with a well-communicated plan.
That said I’m struggling to put together my XI.
2 CBs, 2 wing-backs:
-------------------------Randolph
-------------Long - Duffy -----Clark (though Lenihan impressed me vs USA)
Coleman------------------------Stevens/Ward
--------------Meyler ----Hendrick---------
-------O’Dowda------------Horgan
----------------Walters
Doherty (a few positions) Browne, Wlliams, Robinson and Burke all unlucky not to make this XI
4 at the back
Coleman-Duffy-Clark-Doherty (Stevens/Ward)
Doherty/O’Dowda—Meyler-Hendrick---Horgan
------Robinson---Walters--
I would say Robinson will start regardless of the formation, he can play anywhere across the middle and upfront.
DeLorean
05/09/2018, 11:21 AM
What channel is match being shown on?
It's on Sky Sports (Main Event).
The Welsh channel, S4/C have also secured rights to all of Wales Nation Cup/Euro 2020 games, but I'm not sure you can access that through the Sky platform over here anymore.
Fixer82
05/09/2018, 1:40 PM
Thank you.
Any press conference today?
Johnnie C
05/09/2018, 1:53 PM
Highlights of game on VM3 on Saorview at 10 tomorrow night after live coverage of France v Germany. Full deferred coverage of Ireland game from 11pm.
VM3 have live games from Thursday through to next Tuesday including 3 live games back to back on Saturday and Sunday from this new Nations League.
DeLorean
05/09/2018, 2:42 PM
Fair play, that's great coverage.
05/09/2018, 5:42 PM
Alan Browne out injured.https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/alan-browne-is-the-latest-ireland-star-to-be-ruled-out-of-wales-clash-as-injury-crisis-worsens-37286752.html
He wasn't in either of my starting teams though but mainly because I couldn't make my mind up :)
Diggs246
05/09/2018, 6:27 PM
Alan Browne out injured.https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/alan-browne-is-the-latest-ireland-star-to-be-ruled-out-of-wales-clash-as-injury-crisis-worsens-37286752.html
He wasn't in either of my starting teams though but mainly because I couldn't make my mind up :)
The midfield situation is now serious. I would call Darly Murphy and ask him to meet the squad in Cardiff as a big favour. It will allow the oprion of Walters to drop to right mid if nessasary.
DeLorean
05/09/2018, 10:00 PM
Wouldn't Glenn Whelan make more sense, if you were to venture down that route? I suppose Hourihane could slot in instead of Browne, if he was down as a starter.
Diggs246
05/09/2018, 10:02 PM
Wouldn't Glenn Whelan make more sense, if you were to venture down that route? I suppose Hourihane could slot in instead of Browne in that team I drafted up earlier.
Actually where is McGoldrick?
Diggs246
05/09/2018, 10:09 PM
[QUOTE=Diggs246;1974282]Actually where is McGoldrick?[/QUOTE
Good call on whelo
Fixer82
05/09/2018, 10:21 PM
Definitely Whelan and McGoldrick. Any word on Pilkington?
backstothewall
06/09/2018, 7:04 AM
For me the simple solution is bumping Cullen up from the U21 squad
Diggs246
06/09/2018, 8:06 AM
Best idea yet
Olé Olé
06/09/2018, 9:43 AM
Ahead of Ryan Manning? I would have thought he'd be the automatic choice.
Ronan Curtis could have been given a shout also given his form, potential and our lack of forwards.
06/09/2018, 9:59 AM
Some scatty nonsense above. Josh Cullen. seriously?
We have Meyler and Hendrick certain to start so we need one more player who can play centrally if we play 4231. Hourihane must seize the opportunity. He's a good player who we haven't seen the best of.
Judge is a good player, Horgan is a good player (I understand he's played centrally for Hibs - but O'Dowda has played through the middle for us anyway allowing Horgan to play wide),
Williams is a very tidy midfielder. Doherty can play wide right allowing O'Dowda to move inside. Robinson could play deeper. We have plenty of good options in Browne's absence. Of course his absence weakens our options but calling up Cullen on the eve of a crucial U21 game is not the answer.
Diggs246
06/09/2018, 10:41 AM
Some scatty nonsense above. Josh Cullen. seriously?
We have Meyler and Hendrick certain to start so we need one more player who can play centrally if we play 4231. Hourihane must seize the opportunity. He's a good player who we haven't seen the best of.
Judge is a good player, Horgan is a good player (I understand he's played centrally for Hibs - but O'Dowda has played through the middle for us anyway allowing Horgan to play wide),
Williams is a very tidy midfielder. Doherty can play wide right allowing O'Dowda to move inside. Robinson could play deeper. We have plenty of good options in Browne's absence. Of course his absence weakens our options but calling up Cullen on the eve of a crucial U21 game is not the answer.
Williams is good in fairness, Hourihane disappears for long periods of games and hasn't played well once for us. Robinson, Meyler and Hendrick will already be on the Pitch and the others don't really play Centre mid.
People complain about us not getting young players involved with the senior set up, well here's a chance, Cullen is an excellent player
dynamo kerry
06/09/2018, 10:53 AM
Williams is good in fairness, Hourihane disappears for long periods of games and hasn't played well once for us. Robinson, Meyler and Hendrick will already be on the Pitch and the others don't really play Centre mid.
People complain about us not getting young players involved with the senior set up, well here's a chance, Cullen is an excellent player
Hourihane has precisely 3 caps. little early for such expansive statements isn't it? Cullen has played 85 league fixtures (not all starts) vs Hourihane 300+. Hourihane may not be the answer but he has yet to be fully evaluated in my view for the senior side. Cullen needs more experience to be in this discussion. Manning the same. It's Hendrick/Meyler + 1 more from O'Dowda/Horgan/Hourihane/Doherty.
Cullen and Manning are not at the races here.
Browne would have been very interesting. Most likely player to get purchased out of the championship into a premier league side in my view. all of the others will need to be promoted up with a team.
Diggs246
06/09/2018, 11:07 AM
Hourihane has precisely 3 caps. little early for such expansive statements isn't it? Cullen has played 85 league fixtures (not all starts) vs Hourihane 300+. Hourihane may not be the answer but he has yet to be fully evaluated in my view for the senior side. Cullen needs more experience to be in this discussion. Manning the same. It's Hendrick/Meyler + 1 more from O'Dowda/Horgan/Hourihane/Doherty.
Cullen and Manning are not at the races here.
Browne would have been very interesting. Most likely player to get purchased out of the championship into a premier league side in my view. all of the others will need to be promoted up with a team.
Rice has 3 caps and I think its fair to say he is a good player, also Hourihane has lost his place with villa. I agree with Manning and also what you said about Browne, I would add Robinson as a player who could be bought.
DeLorean
06/09/2018, 11:14 AM
I also see no sense in weakening the U21 team any further, they've already lost Rice from when they last played. For once they're actually going quite well.
Olé Olé
06/09/2018, 12:36 PM
Before Cullen is deemed an "excellent player" and being summoned for a call up, can anyone offer some insight as to why he could only get a loan with a League One club at the age of 22 and the same level he was on loan at at the age of 20?
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 12:44 PM
Team according to LiveScore
Randolph
Coleman
Ward
Duffy
Long
Hendrick
Meyler
Doherty
O’Dowda
Browne
Walters
dynamo kerry
06/09/2018, 12:54 PM
Rice has 3 caps and I think its fair to say he is a good player, also Hourihane has lost his place with villa. I agree with Manning and also what you said about Browne, I would add Robinson as a player who could be bought.
I haven't seen Robinson play at all really so I'll take your word for it. Definite difference between Rice and Hourihane. rice is a 19 year old people can see playing PL and international. It's like seeing Robbie or Duffer come through again. clearly he's quality. Hourihane is clearly in a dip which may or may not be indicative of a bigger malaise/problem. He's 26 .. it's time to produce. My mind isn't made up yet though.
06/09/2018, 12:55 PM
Randolph
Coleman
Ward
Duffy
Long
Hendrick
Meyler
Doherty
O’Dowda
Browne
Walters
Browne is out injured
Randolph
Coleman
Ward
Duffy
Long
Hendrick
Meyler
Doherty
O’Dowda
Browne
Walters
Not sure how livescore come up with these things. For club games I think they just list the team that played the previous week, whereas I suspect the above 11 have never all started the same game.
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 12:59 PM
Browne is out injured
So he is. I wonder are they just guessing.
If it is this team I’d say Hourihane in for Browne.
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 1:01 PM
Is Horgan injured? He’s done well for us in his few cameos
Diggs246
06/09/2018, 1:59 PM
Randolph
Coleman
Ward
Duffy
Long
Hendrick
Meyler
Doherty
O’Dowda
Browne
Walters
I know its not correct on livescore, but I would go with K. Long
Chiswick1983
06/09/2018, 1:59 PM
Jesus that's a poor squad
Diggs246
06/09/2018, 2:27 PM
Is Horgan injured? He’s done well for us in his few cameos
No he is fit, I would say Horgan and Judge will be brought on, especially if we are losing
I read elsewhere that Judge is the one from the 24 to miss out on the 23 man squad.
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 3:00 PM
I read elsewhere that Judge is the one from the 24 to miss out on the 23 man squad.
Hopefully untrue. Rather cruel to leave one person out of a squad
backstothewall
06/09/2018, 3:12 PM
Ok. It seems like I opened a can of worms with the Cullen thing.
I don't think anybody is suggesting Cullen starting the game. There is a world of difference between being added to the squad for extra cover at the last minute and starting a tricky away match.
But how many times through the years have we bemoaned players coming in and doing a good job, but being 27 or 28 by the time it happens? How many times has the question been asked: "He's great but where was he when he was 22?".
In many of those cases is there a good chance the answer was something like "On loan at Charlton"?.
Alan Judge was on loan at Plymouth at 22. Wes Hoolahan was at Livingstone at 22. Jon Walters was at Wrexham at 22. Glenn Whelan was on loan at Bury at 22. All were obviously good enough to play international football for us.
The trajectory Cullen is following is possibly ahead of those lads at the same age (he's had a run out at Anfield in the league). The injury issues we are having could be an opportunity for him to make a senior squad. Maybe even get 30 minutes of football. That in turn might get him a bit of attention and push his career forward a bit.
The U21 squad is obviously important. But it is important because it can help us develop the next generation of players. If the opportunity is there (for whatever reason) to develop a player by giving him exposure to the senior squad, that is enhancing the work of the u21 coaches, not hindering it.
rebelmusic
06/09/2018, 3:22 PM
Living in China...was foolish enough to believe the FAI are capable of knowing when our matches kick-off.
Useless and corrupt shower of bodachs
http://www.fai.ie/ireland/senior-men/matches
16:00 apparently
Cathalsmart
06/09/2018, 5:14 PM
Starting XI my predictions
(5-3-2)
GK Randolph
RB Coleman
CB Duffy
CB Long
CB Clark
LB Stephen Ward
CM Conor Hourihane
CM Jeff Hendrick
CM Callum O'Dowda
FW Callum Robinson
FW Jon Walters
Tbh Im really thorn on Burke, I have a feeling he might start but looking at that I cant find room for him.
06/09/2018, 5:31 PM
Coleman RM hopefully
backstothewall
06/09/2018, 5:41 PM
That's an odd selection. I don't quite see how it all fits together.
06/09/2018, 5:43 PM
Randolph
Christie-Duffy-Clark-Ward
Coleman-Hourihane-Hendrick-O'Dowda
Walters-Robinson
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 5:51 PM
Christie right side midfield I would’ve thought
backstothewall
06/09/2018, 5:54 PM
I was thinking earlier today that I wouldn't mind a look at Doherty in central defence as part of a 3. He's shown the adaptability to play on the left and he has the height to do it. Having someone as part of a 3 who has the ability to bring the ball out can really add something.
I'm wondering in O'Neill has had the same thought about Christie
------------- Randolph --------------
---- Christie - Duffy - Clark --------
Coleman Hourihane Hendrick Ward
-- O'Dowda - Walters - Robinson --
06/09/2018, 6:07 PM
Randolph
Coleman-Duffy-Clark-Ward
Christrie-Hourihane-Hendrick-Robinson
O'Dowda
Walters
That's how Sky have it.
Fixer82
06/09/2018, 6:13 PM
I was thinking earlier today that I wouldn't mind a look at Doherty in central defence as part of a 3. He's shown the adaptability to play on the left and he has the height to do it. Having someone as part of a 3 who has the ability to bring the ball out can really add something.
I'm wondering in O'Neill has had the same thought about Christie
------------- Randolph --------------
---- Christie - Duffy - Clark --------
Coleman Hourihane Hendrick Ward
-- O'Dowda - Walters - Robinson --
Possibly. He’s a big mobile lad.
Coleman and Ward as wing backs.
irishfan86
06/09/2018, 6:16 PM
At its best that right sided combo could see Coleman and Christie swap throughout the game with overlapping runs — at its worst it could see Christie sitting too deep as he may instinctually drop back when Wales are in possession. A worthwhile experiment but would prefer not to do this sort of thing in a competitive match.
06/09/2018, 6:23 PM
Christie lacks the imagination to play wide right. Anyway, we'll only have 30% possession so doesn't matter.
backstothewall
06/09/2018, 6:41 PM
At its best that right sided combo could see Coleman and Christie swap throughout the game with overlapping runs — at its worst it could see Christie sitting too deep as he may instinctually drop back when Wales are in possession. A worthwhile experiment but would prefer not to do this sort of thing in a competitive match.
I'm dubious about the extend to which this can be called a competitive match.