View Full Version : Jimmy Dunne D QPR b.1997

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Trequartista20
17/09/2020, 9:01 PM
Dunne's got a definite chance of making it at Burnley, but I think Long's probably well ahead of him as it stands.

I like Long, actually; a very solid and reliable performer. If anything were to happen to Duffy or Egan I'd feel far happier to see him step into the breach than Lenihan. But obviously Kenny views things differently.

seanfhear
17/09/2020, 9:12 PM
Dunne's got a definite chance of making it at Burnley, but I think Long's probably well ahead of him as it stands.

I like Long, actually; a very solid and reliable performer. If anything were to happen to Duffy or Egan I'd feel far happier to see him step into the breach than Lenihan. But obviously Kenny views things differently.
Long has not been playing regularly enough ! !

DeLorean
17/09/2020, 9:18 PM
Actually I think he should take his chances in Burnley. Long isnt improving or getting younger which i think could make dunne third choice CB.. he would get a lot of football throughout the season for a young player that's ok.

Some big bids being turned down for Tarkowski too, so every chance they'll cave before the window closes.

Trequartista20
17/09/2020, 9:35 PM
Long has not been playing regularly enough ! !

He got a fair bit of of game time at the back end of last season, but of course I'd agree. That said, Long seems to be able to come in and still perform, despite his lack of regular football.

Without wanting to damn him too much with faint praise, he's the the consummate dependable backup player.

seanfhear
17/09/2020, 9:41 PM
He got a fair bit of of game time at the back end of last season, but of course I'd agree. That said, Long seems to be able to come in and still perform, despite his lack of regular football.

Without wanting to damn him too much with faint praise, he's the the consummate dependable backup player.He did ok for us in one game out of the blue for Martin O’Neill as well if I recall correctly ! !

18/09/2020, 9:08 AM

Lenihan was namechecked by Keith Andrews a few times as well, could be an influence on his selection.

Trequartista20
18/09/2020, 11:26 AM
Possibly so. Another defender in the Duffy mould; a warrior and a leader, but even Blackburn fans admit that Lenihan isn't good on the ball, despite his having played in midfield previously.

I didn't necessarily think he was Kenny's type, so I was slightly surprised by his elevation over certain others.

Anyway, good to see Dunne make his debut.

irishfan86
18/09/2020, 2:04 PM
I wonder if Kenny has a philosophy of preferably having one of his two centre halfs be a bit more of a bully, while the other will be expected to do a bit more on the ball. It's not the worst strategy for set pieces to prioritize physicality in at least one of your centre halfs.

18/09/2020, 3:26 PM
He quite possibly does, in a Ferdinand-Vidic style partnership.
I'd put Clark, Egan, and maybe Dunne in the ball playing role, with Duffy, Dara O'Shea, and possibly Lenihan in the the bullying role.

seanfhear
18/09/2020, 5:31 PM
He quite possibly does, in a Ferdinand-Vidic style partnership.
I'd put Clark, Egan, and maybe Dunne in the ball playing role, with Duffy, Dara O'Shea, and possibly Lenihan in the the bullying role.
Whats wrong with bullying in both roles ? ?

Eirambler
18/09/2020, 8:04 PM
Whats wrong with bullying in both roles ? ?

We go back to just hoofing the ball up the park and gifting possession back to every team we play, just like we used to.

seanfhear
18/09/2020, 8:10 PM
We go back to just hoofing the ball up the park and gifting possession back to every team we play, just like we used to.
Why can’t you bully and pass the ball. Did Roy Keane not knock a career out of that in Midfield ! ?

Eirambler
18/09/2020, 9:13 PM
Yes if you have the players to do it. Not with the likes of Duffy or Linehan though - they can't play that game.

elatedscum
19/09/2020, 11:33 AM
Lenihan has always been praised as a ball playing centre half. I’ve never really seen it but that’s the general consensus, no?

Eirambler
20/09/2020, 10:50 AM
Jimmy Dunne is going to get his EPL chance tonight, according to Dan McDonnell.

Trequartista20
20/09/2020, 5:08 PM
Starts, as suggested, partnering Long.

Brady also in the Burnley starting xi.

livehead1
20/09/2020, 6:02 PM
When was the last time two Irish players partnered each other at centre back in the EPL?

Eirambler
20/09/2020, 6:43 PM
Dunne and Clark both featured fairly regularly for Villa during the 10-11 and 11-12 seasons so there must be a reasonable chance they partnered each other in the centre of defence at some point during those seasons.

Dunne was pretty shocking for the Leicester goal it must be said. Long has looked solid to be fair.

youngirish
20/09/2020, 6:53 PM
Dunne and Clark both featured fairly regularly for Villa during the 10-11 and 11-12 seasons so there must be a reasonable chance they partnered each other in the centre of defence at some point during those seasons.

Dunne was pretty shocking for the Leicester goal it must be said. Long has looked solid to be fair.

Haven't seen it but many of the Burnley fans are stating Taylor was at fault. The vast majority of comments on the Burnley match thread from the fans regarding Dunne have been very positive.

https://www.uptheclarets.com/messageboard/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=49894&start=200

However there does seem to be a consensus that he has been playing out of his skin and they are expecting him to be poorer than he has been. Has anyone seen much of Dunne playing and is he not Premiership standard?

He's only 22 surely he can only improve.

CraftyToePoke
20/09/2020, 6:54 PM

Was he one of the two that needed a taxi back to the pitch after the Vardy turn ?

tommy_c12000
20/09/2020, 7:17 PM

Disagree, more to do with Taylor as Vardy had drifted over to his side. Split the defenders but Taylor has full view of what’s going on. Dunne has been solid so far, he’s stylish on ball too, there’s definitely hope for him if he can get a run of games.

Colbert Report
20/09/2020, 7:24 PM
This is hard to watch. Without Bardsley putting in a Richard Dunne vs Russia performance, it could easily be 10-1.

tommy_c12000
20/09/2020, 7:28 PM
Hard to see Burnley or West Brom surviving this year

Colbert Report
20/09/2020, 7:31 PM
Jimmy Dunne scores on his Premier League debut!

Olé Olé
20/09/2020, 7:31 PM
Huge.

Diggs246
20/09/2020, 7:32 PM
Wow .. link please

20/09/2020, 7:32 PM
Hard to see Burnley or West Brom surviving this year

are burnley really worse than fulham, southampton and probably villa?

Colbert Report
20/09/2020, 7:35 PM
Wow .. link please

Sorry man, I'm watching on Peacock TV in the USA. Not sure where you can find a link in Ireland to watch.

Burnley have a couple of decent players, but on paper they are definitely not a Premier League club. I can't understand why they'd want to sell Tarkowski....surely they should be looking to strengthen instead of cash in right now?

tommy_c12000
20/09/2020, 7:38 PM
Fulham no. Southampton yes. Villa equivocal. Squad looks pretty stale and ordinary. Minimal investment and Tarkowski likely leaving. Chris Wood is not up to standard. So I expect they will be struggling at the wrong end of the table this year

20/09/2020, 7:45 PM
watching it here on BBC 1

Olé Olé
20/09/2020, 7:56 PM
I missed this match (having watched all the other Premiership games today) but Dunne is getting positive Tweets to his name from Burnley supporters on Twitter.

Did he play very well?

20/09/2020, 8:10 PM
Sounds bizarre about the defenders in a 4-2 loss, but both played well.

Also, these

Olé Olé
20/09/2020, 8:11 PM
He's getting praised to the hilt here.

https://www.uptheclarets.com/messageboard/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=49902

Eirambler
20/09/2020, 8:25 PM
Fair play to him getting the goal, it was a great driving run from outside the box to get on the end of it. I do think he was at fault for the first Leicester goal, I mean he basically took out his own left back, hard to see how he wasn't the culprit there.

He did well though across the whole game, the defence were under a lot of pressure and he worked hard for the team. If you ask almost any Sunderland fan they'll tell you he's a bombscare defender, but that might just say more about Sunderland than about him. Was very highly rated at Hearts a few years ago, not a great standard but he had a strong loan spell.

Only 22, misses out on our under 21 squad by less than three months. You'd have hope for him if could get a decent amount of top flight experience.

youngirish
20/09/2020, 8:31 PM
He did well though across the whole game, the defence were under a lot of pressure and he worked hard for the team. If you ask almost any Sunderland fan they'll tell you he's a bombscare defender, but that might just say more about Sunderland than about him.

That can easily be attributable to inexperience and nerves and could easily disappear with more playing time at a decent level.

elatedscum
20/09/2020, 9:21 PM
. If you ask almost any Sunderland fan they'll tell you he's a bombscare defender,

Genuinely, what’s a bombscare defender?

Eirambler
20/09/2020, 10:16 PM
One that's prone to a howler basically.

20/09/2020, 10:30 PM
I thought he was very good on the ball and an attacking threat in the oppositions box.

But him and Long had a bad time at the back. Primarily down to their full backs going awol at times but they kept being drawn towards the man with the ball and missed picking up runners. And they were on top of each other at times. I don’t see those two as a successful CB pairing. Dunne did defend well in a good few one on one situations with one battle with Vardy on the byeline near the end standing out. Looking forward to seeing him get more time.

20/09/2020, 11:36 PM
Bombscare defender. That's absolutely brilliant. He'd have everyone running amok all over the shop - even though that's not how it's intended.

irishfan86
21/09/2020, 1:49 AM
It certainly wasn’t a perfect debut but he looked competent and a goal always helps.

As much as I’d like Long to do well and play, he’s probably not the ideal player for a guy like Dunne to make a debut beside as he isn’t really good enough to cover up for your nerves/deficiencies which are always going to be there on a Premier League debut.

Eirambler
21/09/2020, 7:37 AM
Genuinely, what’s a bombscare defender?

I'm suddenly realising that this may be a local phrase I have picked up from years living in Scotland!

Thought it was more widely used to be honest.

Incidentally Olivier Tebily's nickname when he played for Celtic was bombscare.

Trequartista20
21/09/2020, 2:14 PM
'Bombscare' seems to have increased in prevalence recently. It's probably something Irish supporters have picked up from frequenting Celtic forums.

Razors left peg
21/09/2020, 4:03 PM
Dunne has gone under my radar completely. For some reason even when I seen his name mentioned anywhere I assumed he was a journeyman in his late 20s. Its great to see another very young fella starting in the Premiership.

Ive never seen him play and I dont pay too much attention to Burnley. Was he only playing because of a big injury crisis or were people thinking he was a legitimate 1st team player going into this season?

tommy_c12000
21/09/2020, 4:13 PM
Dunne has gone under my radar completely. For some reason even when I seen his name mentioned anywhere I assumed he was a journeyman in his late 20s. Its great to see another very young fella starting in the Premiership.

Ive never seen him play and I dont pay too much attention to Burnley. Was he only playing because of a big injury crisis or were people thinking he was a legitimate 1st team player going into this season?

From what I’ve observed it appears Mees and Tarkowski are first choice pairing with Long as back up. Currently, Tarkowski is “injured” (linked to a move away) and Mees is injured (expected back shortly), so Long and Dunne are the current partnership. I wouldn’t be surprised if Dunne is moving ahead of Long now in terms of selection. Certainly a much better prospect given his age. The ideal scenario is Tarkowski moves, and a longer term Dunne and Mees (given his experience) partnership. Their chairman has showed minimal interest in investing, so will see if they bring in any new signings but with Dunne’s emergence hopefully they’ll concentrate in strengthening elsewhere

elatedscum
21/09/2020, 9:37 PM
From what I’ve observed it appears Mees and Tarkowski are first choice pairing with Long as back up. Currently, Tarkowski is “injured” (linked to a move away) and Mees is injured (expected back shortly), so Long and Dunne are the current partnership. I wouldn’t be surprised if Dunne is moving ahead of Long now in terms of selection. Certainly a much better prospect given his age. The ideal scenario is Tarkowski moves, and a longer term Dunne and Mees (given his experience) partnership. Their chairman has showed minimal interest in investing, so will see if they bring in any new signings but with Dunne’s emergence hopefully they’ll concentrate in strengthening elsewhere

The sky commentator said that 'Tarkowski was a minor injury but Mee was more long-term' or words to that effect. Not sure what that really means...

Eirambler
26/09/2020, 9:05 PM
Other than the goal I thought Long and Dunne were reasonably OK tonight, although Southampton didn't push on too much in the second half so they weren't overly stretched as the game went on.

The feeling I got watching Burnley was that they'd make a great first choice partnership for them in the Championship, where right now they look like they'll be playing their football next season - they seem to have an overall lack of both quality and depth as a Premier League club this season, surely they will bring a few more players in before the transfer window closes.

03/10/2020, 7:22 PM
With Tarkowski back Dunne is on the bench. Long is having a bit of a mare with Wilson, so he might find himself getting a chance again soon!

Trequartista20
03/10/2020, 7:28 PM
Brady fit enough for the bench, which is a positive

Razors left peg
16/10/2020, 9:08 PM
There was an interview with Jimmy Dunne on Off The Ball this week. Definitely worth a listen, hes very well spoken. Its not like most footballers with bland answers who say nothing for a half hour. Id love to see him do well after listening to it

Olé Olé
16/10/2020, 9:19 PM
There was an interview with Jimmy Dunne on Off The Ball this week. Definitely worth a listen, hes very well spoken. Its not like most footballers with bland answers who say nothing for a half hour. Id love to see him do well after listening to it

Thanks. Have it downloaded but hadn't prioritized. Will now.