View Full Version : Celtic Muppets

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 7:56 AM
Was in The Submarine Bar for the match on Saturday. About an hour after the match was over the DJ came on. The atmosphere was good, everyone enjoying themselves as much as they could after the result. The the DJ played TINA TURNER - SIMPLY THE BEST this was when the table of about 15 lads all wearing Ceptic jerseys start going f*cking MAD, screaming and shouting abuse at DJ, throwing beer mats and bits of food at him, then singing hail hail,

Just because THE BEST was played at Ibrox

MUPPETS :mad:

29/03/2005, 8:47 AM
That's a bit much alright. I've jokingly done that before but to go off the head about it is taking it way too far.

Tis only a song...you'd say something if it was offensive :rolleyes:

stojkovic
29/03/2005, 9:05 AM
It defies belief it really does.
Well maybe not we're talking about Celtic fans I suppose.

Eire06
29/03/2005, 9:14 AM
Ya they are all the spawn of Satan and cause trouble and create havoc wherever they go.. :rolleyes:

They should be avoided at all costs especially when in a pack, they can be recognised by their green and white hoops around their upper bodies and usually a shrill sound of a wolftones song can be heard coming from them (That is their mating ritual) when this is heard run try to get away as fast as possible because if your caught they will pull you in and hypnotise you and make you one of them... ;)

They are also known to have green blood in their veins :D and stampede at the sight of red white and blue :D

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 9:19 AM
Typical Ceptic fan response

Eire06
29/03/2005, 9:52 AM
Typical Ceptic fan response
Presume you ment Celtic!!

Thats right :D Dirty Beasts the lot of us :cool:

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 9:54 AM
Celtic - Septic

Same thing really :D

Eire06
29/03/2005, 10:03 AM
Celtic - Septic

Same thing really :D
Love you ;) ;) :p

Junior
29/03/2005, 10:07 AM
And Man U fans don't go apesh*t at YNWA and Scousers don't go apesh*t at Glory, Glory Man U - its what football fans do, non?

Ahhh but these were ceptic, sellthick fans, it was a disgrace - they are all the same you know?

Admin - Lock it I tell you!!!!!

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 10:11 AM
YNWA and GLORY GLORY are football songs in case you weren't aware

Tina Turner songs aren't

Whats difficult for you to understand here :confused:

Junior
29/03/2005, 10:20 AM
YNWA and GLORY GLORY are football songs in case you weren't aware

Tina Turner songs aren't

Whats difficult for you to understand here :confused:

Was it Tina Turner songs they were getting upset at? I thought it was just the one 'Simply the Best' you know the one adopted by Celtics arche rivals Rangers as an anthem of sorts.

In case you weren't aware YNWA is a song taken from the musical Carousel, whilst Glory Glory is an adaptation of a well known Hymn - Just in case you weren't aware. Whats so difficult for you to understand?

Don't mention it.

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 10:24 AM
My apoligies lads, my mistake.
It IS right for Ceptic fans to throw things at a DJ and scream threatening abuse because of a song that has NOTHING to do with Rangers.

Will they be the same for the Proclaimers :confused: :confused:

Eire06
29/03/2005, 10:26 AM
It IS right for Ceptic fans to throw things at a DJ and scream threatening abuse because of a song that has NOTHING to do with Rangers.

Glad you finally came around to the right way of thinking :rolleyes:

Junior
29/03/2005, 10:28 AM

now it wasn't that difficult was it.

Aberdonian Stu
29/03/2005, 10:39 AM
It is never right to start throwing food at a DJ, or anyone for that matter, and hurling abuse just because you don't like what he's playing. If they had serious issues they should complain to management not behave like lawless thugs. I don't care what team they support, this kind of behaviour should be stamped out.

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 10:43 AM
Its ok Stu.

EIRE06 and Junior have assured me its ok because it's Ceptic fans :D

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/03/2005, 11:21 AM
SAINTS4EVER, you are 100% correct. This type of behaviour is disgraceful. However, it does not surprise me. The majority of Celtic fans on this island have little education, come from anti-social areas, and pride themselves on their sectarian, militant views. In other words, this is the type of scum that hangs like a plague over the game in Ireland and Britain. I have no time for so-called Irish people who think they are more Irish, simply because they wear a Celtic jersey. How come we never see anyone wearing the Hibs jersey? These are the type of people who think they are "republican". However, they generally come from families that did nothing when this country actually needed republicans. Misguided are many of them. This type of behaviour should not be tolerated.
Why were they wearing Celtic jerseys anyway? I thought Ireland were playing on Saturday. :confused:

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 11:32 AM
I agree Jamaican PM

There were 5 of us there, all Hibees fans, and we NEVER wear our Hibs jerseys to Ireland match

Whats the point :confused:

Rovers Fellow!
29/03/2005, 11:38 AM
Some fair points regarding the muppet element following Celtic. However as Ive been saying for quite a while to friends, many in the anti-celtic element have become just as big muppets, and just reading some of the responses proves the point. There are plenty of muppets as they have bein described, following the club over here but there are also plenty of very good blokes and women of course who support them who are genuine and knowledgabel footbal fans and many are EL fans too. Having suppported the EL for many years, its fairly obvious that there are muppets everywhere folllowing all kinds of teams. With a support as big as Celtic that muppet element is always going to be bigger. Its unfair to stereotype. Just regarding comment on wearing Celtic tops and Ireland playing etc, at the end of the day people can wear what they want, there many celtic fans in scotland and many second or third generation in Britain and elsewherewho follow and have followed Irish team over many years including when times were very bad and fair play to em. Celtic jersey at least is green, has a shamrock and is a footie jersey so surely its not that big a deal.

Rovers Fellow!
29/03/2005, 11:41 AM
Oh yes jamaican pm. That post i wrote was obviously very difficult to put together because im obviously from an anti-social area and of course i have little education too, I actually needed to get a friend of mine from a middle/upper class back ground to help me out with grammar and spelling etc, (and still i managed to make some mistakes!!)

QUOTE=TheJamaicanP.M.]SAINTS4EVER, you are 100% correct. This type of behaviour is disgraceful. However, it does not surprise me. The majority of Celtic fans on this island have little education, come from anti-social areas, and pride themselves on their sectarian, militant views. In other words, this is the type of scum that hangs like a plague over the game in Ireland and Britain. I have no time for so-called Irish people who think they are more Irish, simply because they wear a Celtic jersey. How come we never see anyone wearing the Hibs jersey? These are the type of people who think they are "republican". However, they generally come from families that did nothing when this country actually needed republicans. Misguided are many of them. This type of behaviour should not be tolerated.
Why were they wearing Celtic jerseys anyway? I thought Ireland were playing on Saturday. :confused:[/QUOTE]

noby
29/03/2005, 11:43 AM
In fairness, 'Simply the best' is tripe. And to play it after that awful 90 minutes of football might upset a lot of people, Celtic fans of not. Did the dj have his set made out before the match or what?

That aside, I do not endorse any sort of food throwing at dj's, unless it's custard pies at Chris Tarrant in a sort of Tiswas situation

Junior
29/03/2005, 11:47 AM
It is never right to start throwing food at a DJ, or anyone for that matter, and hurling abuse just because you don't like what he's playing. If they had serious issues they should complain to management not behave like lawless thugs. I don't care what team they support, this kind of behaviour should be stamped out.

I'd agree with all of that.

I don't agree with using this forum to attack anything celtic related. Would we have had a post from Saintsforever if a group of Hibs fans or Pats fans or any other group of fans had done the same thing? Probably not cause there are eejits acting the ****** in pubs the world over - Dublin is no exception, in fact probably a world leader!

This then generates in to posts from the likes of the Jamaican PM, telling me what the background of my fellow 'thicko' fans is.

Idiots for throwing stuff at the DJ, but then so are all football fans with their juvenile pet hates of rival teams.

Hows that?

Admin: Lock it, please lock it................

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/03/2005, 11:55 AM
Oh yes jamaican pm. That post i wrote was obviously very difficult to put together because im obviously from an anti-social area and of course i have little education too, I actually needed to get a friend of mine from a middle/upper class back ground to help me out with grammar and spelling etc, (and still i managed to make some mistakes!!

Your friend still made some spelling mistakes.
BTW, I said that the majority of Celtic fans in this country display those characteristics. That means that there are some Celtic supporters who come from good stock.

Pat O' Banton
29/03/2005, 12:13 PM
The majority of Celtic fans on this island have little education, come from anti-social areas, and pride themselves on their sectarian, militant views.

My, my how right you are I'm from a council estate and support Celtic, however your unneseccary generalisation falls down at the fact that I got to uni (and not as the janitor either!) and now look I have a job and can even use a computer. Don't forget my boy that if it weren't for working class people you wouldn't even have a sport of the nature of football to watch, you'd still be watching hockey.

Also you should maybe think about noting that as a Celtic fan I deplore sectarianism (as does every Celtic fan I've ever met - vast majority were socialists you see) so quit with the crass sweeping statements, it does nothing for your argument.

29/03/2005, 12:18 PM
I was actually in my local pub watching the Ireland-England rugby game a few weeks ago and once God save the Queen came a few people start shouting at the barman to lower it down. I had to laugh. For some reason I doubt what you seen in the Submarine was any different. For one, I doubt there were 15 people at a table all wearing Celtic tops, and two, they would have been thrown out if it was anything serious. FFS, this anti-Celticness drives me crazy.

Why is it anti-Celtic? Because nobody comes on here after an Ireland game telling how a few Irish people wanted the TV turned down when GSTQ comes on. And that happens in every "local" bar when England-Ireland play.

29/03/2005, 12:24 PM
That song being played at Ibrox had a very triumphalist attitude to it and eventually had to be banned as it had been warped by many into having sectarian lyrics. It's a song that really grates Celtic fans. Of course the behaviour was barbaric by any standards but then again drink makes a lot of people behave like arses. Lovely sweeping generalisations there btw PM.

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 12:27 PM
I was actually in my local pub watching the Ireland-England rugby game a few weeks ago and once God save the Queen came a few people start shouting at the barman to lower it down. I had to laugh. For some reason I doubt what you seen in the Submarine was any different. For one, I doubt there were 15 people at a table all wearing Celtic tops, and two, they would have been thrown out if it was anything serious. FFS, this anti-Celticness drives me crazy.

Why is it anti-Celtic? Because nobody comes on here after an Ireland game telling how a few Irish people wanted the TV turned down when GSTQ comes on. And that happens in every "local" bar when England-Ireland play.

You can doubt what ever you want about the amount of people at one table, but unless you were there you can't comment in ANY way on it.

And how do you know it happens with GSTQ in EVERY local bar?????

Seems you live your life on what you like to believe and think you know ;)

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/03/2005, 12:40 PM
My, my how right you are I'm from a council estate and support Celtic, however your unneseccary generalisation falls down at the fact that I got to uni (and not as the janitor either!) and now look I have a job and can even use a computer. Don't forget my boy that if it weren't for working class people you wouldn't even have a sport of the nature of football to watch, you'd still be watching hockey.

Also you should maybe think about noting that as a Celtic fan I deplore sectarianism (as does every Celtic fan I've ever met - vast majority were socialists you see) so quit with the crass sweeping statements, it does nothing for your argument.

If you read my post correctly, I said that the "majority" of Celtic fans are as I described them. I'll stand by what I said. Also, I was talking about Celtic "fans" in Ireland. I don't doubt that you're a well-educated person Pat, but I'm simply pointing to the fact that a lot of scum follow Celtic. As for working-class people, I have nothing against them. They're the grassroots of the game. Unfortunately, it would appear that many working-class people in this country think that sectarianism is acceptable. Did nobody ever tell these skangers that the founder of Irish republicanism was a Protestant? I wouldnt mind, if there was a war in the morning, they'd be the first people to shy away from it.

Socialist Celtic fans... :cool: :p :D

29/03/2005, 1:01 PM
The majority of Celtic fans on this island have little education, come from anti-social areas, and pride themselves on their sectarian, militant views.

Quite possibly the dumbest post I've read in a long time...

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/03/2005, 1:03 PM
Quite possibly the dumbest post I've read in a long time...

You know it makes sense. The JamaicanPM is never wrong.

29/03/2005, 1:06 PM
SAINTS4EVER - Unless I'm mistaking you for someone else you basically hate Celtic. If it was someone else that opened this thread fine but you seem to want to take every opportunity to get at Celtic fans. We all know there are a load of idiots in Ireland that wear Celtic jersey's. If we had to open a thread every time there were rows in pubs this site would be ransacked.

TheJamaicanP.M. - Don't give the people you are talking about the priviledge of calling them Celtic fans. If all these people were actually Celtic fans I wouldn't be supporting the club.

Pat O' Banton
29/03/2005, 1:10 PM
If you read my post correctly, I said that the "majority" of Celtic fans are as I described them. I'll stand by what I said. Also, I was talking about Celtic "fans" in Ireland. I don't doubt that you're a well-educated person Pat, but I'm simply pointing to the fact that a lot of scum follow Celtic. As for working-class people, I have nothing against them. They're the grassroots of the game. Unfortunately, it would appear that many working-class people in this country think that sectarianism is acceptable. Did nobody ever tell these skangers that the founder of Irish republicanism was a Protestant? I wouldnt mind, if there was a war in the morning, they'd be the first people to shy away from it.

Socialist Celtic fans... :cool: :p :D

... and here was me ready for a cyber ruck :D

Yes I read the 'majority' of Celtic fans and the 'in Ireland' bit and still can't agree with it, I know many Celtic fans who were born and brought up in Ireland (and many are very good freinds) and I certainly would not describe these as scum , they are some of the most genuine, generous and warm hearted people I know - ohh I'm going all Gyneth Paltrow here. (however, I agree that I have met some green and white hooped shirts that I would cross the road from speaking to.)

Going back to the what I typed earlier everyone of them is anti sectarian the very nature of their politics

Completely agree about Wolfe Tone and educating any sectarian 'nationalist' person on his background (Robert Emmett while we are at it) and if they were the genuine article Celtic fan they should also be aware of Stein, Dalglish, McGrain and Peacock's discenting faith.
(As I say stop with the sweeping arguments they undermine points that could be valid)

TheJamaicanP.M.
29/03/2005, 1:10 PM
SAINTS4EVER - Unless I'm mistaking you for someone else you basically hate Celtic. If it was someone else that opened this thread fine but you seem to want to take every opportunity to get at Celtic fans. We all know there are a load of idiots in Ireland that wear Celtic jersey's. If we had to open a thread every time there were rows in pubs this site would be ransacked.

TheJamaicanP.M. - Don't give the people you are talking about the priviledge of calling them Celtic fans. If all these people were actually Celtic fans I wouldn't be supporting the club.

Fair points eirebhoy. As ever, you speak some common sense. I know there are genuine Celtic fans. It just p!sses me off that numerous scum-bags hi-jack the Celtic theme for political/sectarian reasons. Football and politics should not mix, and I despise those who try to mix them.

Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 1:19 PM
Yes EIREBOY i do hate Ceptic.

And thats mainly because of so called "fans" like the ones I'm talking about

MUPPETS :D

29/03/2005, 1:24 PM
Yes EIREBOY i do hate Ceptic.

And thats mainly because of so called "fans" like the ones I'm talking about

MUPPETS :D
Its clear you can distinguish these types of people from the actual fans as you have called them "so called". Next step: Distinguish them from the actual club. :) Do you honestly think they even know Celtic's first 11? They haven't a bloody clue.

pedro
29/03/2005, 2:11 PM
i think the celtic fans are gettin bit of unfair criticism. fair enough, by and large in ireland you do get a disproportionate amount of fans in places like
tallaght, ballymun etc, who give it a bad image but what about thje decent fans who r gettin tarred with same brush? i've been to a few celtic games and i dont feel i fit into the same stereotype that everyone here is talking about. also at these games i've been to,all i have experienced was comraderery, togetherness and a feeling of goodwill to our fellow supporters. it may seem a bit far fetched to those on the outside looking in but that's how it is and few f**king idiots who act like saps isnt going to tarnish the realtionship i have with Celtic.
its a bit of a rant ,i know but im very very drunk , sorry.

AmenToThat
29/03/2005, 3:16 PM
Was in The Submarine Bar for the match on Saturday. About an hour after the match was over the DJ came on. The atmosphere was good, everyone enjoying themselves as much as they could after the result. The the DJ played TINA TURNER - SIMPLY THE BEST this was when the table of about 15 lads all wearing Ceptic jerseys start going f*cking MAD, screaming and shouting abuse at DJ, throwing beer mats and bits of food at him, then singing hail hail,

MUPPETS :mad:

So some lads in Celtic jerseys throw a wobbler and we get a thread called 'Celtic muppets' :rolleyes:
There was a story in the papers the other day about some Africans who were involved in criminal activity in Dublin I better go post a thread about about those 'Nigerian robbers'

You sir are a clown and a bigot.

Dotsy
29/03/2005, 3:17 PM
i think the celtic fans are gettin bit of unfair criticism. fair enough, by and large in ireland you do get a disproportionate amount of fans in places like
tallaght, ballymun etc, who give it a bad image but what about thje decent fans who r gettin tarred with same brush? i've been to a few celtic games and i dont feel i fit into the same stereotype that everyone here is talking about. also at these games i've been to,all i have experienced was comraderery, togetherness and a feeling of goodwill to our fellow supporters. it may seem a bit far fetched to those on the outside looking in but that's how it is and few f**king idiots who act like saps isnt going to tarnish the realtionship i have with Celtic.
its a bit of a rant ,i know but im very very drunk , sorry.

"dispoportionate amount of fans in places like tallaght, ballymun"

Jesus wept son you don't have a clue do you. I've played football for 25 years in this city and players and fans I've met from places like tallaght and ballymun are amongst the most knowledgeable about football and down to earth people. Talk about tarring people with the same brush.

AmenToThat
29/03/2005, 3:23 PM
This thread is a disgrace.
So full of nasty stereotyping its not even funny.
Its being used to slander people from 'working class backrounds' for want of a better word, how far a jump from that is it to slander people from ethnic minorities?

29/03/2005, 3:24 PM
You sir are a clown and a bigot.
Bigot? So Celtic Fans booing Rangers players at Landsdowne isn't bigotry, but saints4ever calling Celtic fans 'muppets' is :rolleyes:

I've played football for 25 years in this city and players and fans I've met from places like tallaght and ballymun are amongst the most knowledgeable about football and down to earth people.
I agree with what you've said Dotsy, but this really reads like ''I'm not racist, sure don't I work with a black fella'' :D

Dotsy
29/03/2005, 3:43 PM
Bigot? So Celtic Fans booing Rangers players at Landsdowne isn't bigotry, but saints4ever calling Celtic fans 'muppets' is :rolleyes:

I agree with what you've said Dotsy, but this really reads like ''I'm not racist, sure don't I work with a black fella'' :D

Hardly, I have lived in Old Bawn (in Tallaght) for 10 years. Didn't play my football there which is why I mentioned specifically meeting people from the two areas playing ball.

Condex
29/03/2005, 6:44 PM
The the DJ played TINA TURNER - SIMPLY THE BEST this was when the table of about 15 lads all wearing Ceptic jerseys start going f*cking MAD, screaming and shouting abuse at DJ, throwing beer mats and bits of food at him, then singing hail hail,

*******s are *******s no matter what team they support!!!

lopez
29/03/2005, 10:57 PM
How come noone's mentioned Mark Walters and his bananas yet? :confused:

AmenToThat
30/03/2005, 2:41 AM

Laugh it off all you want pal but hes a bigot and your not far behind for defending him.

260miles
30/03/2005, 5:19 AM
So 15 lads (Irish? Scots?, both?) who support Glasgow Celtic and the RoI whilst in a pub to watch a match react to a song played by Rangers (current)....their WOMD are beermats and chips.

In victory they sing 'Hail Hail'.

Charge: Daft boys who've had too much to drink forgetting where they are and not appreciating that their audience live in this century?

Or was it 15 'Republicans' who use Celtic and the RoI as vehicles to express their politics. They'll lash out for any reason to annoy the wider community whom they believe have selfishly abandoned the same people that died to free them?

Charge: Failure to organise appropriate political gathering

Grow up...

Some of the comments have been near fascist...it's sickening to see how much you resent your recent history. It's a disgrace knowing that you choose to dismiss how real an issue sectarianism and racism has been, and still is.

If Ireland needed the help of the near 1m Scots with Irish heritage, it would be given without question....

30/03/2005, 8:53 AM
How come noone's mentioned Mark Walters and his bananas yet? :confused:

Because Conor74 is "in hiding" ;) :D

30/03/2005, 9:44 AM
Laugh it off all you want pal but hes a bigot and your not far behind for defending him.

So you think I'm close to being a bigot 'a prejudiced person who is intolerant of any opinions differing from his own'?
How exactly do you come to that conclusion 'pal', because I don't see it? :rolleyes:

anto1208
30/03/2005, 12:51 PM
dont bother argueing with celtic fans they dont see things in the way others do , they support the spl for god sake !!! :D

Rovers Fellow!
30/03/2005, 6:10 PM
dont bother argueing with celtic fans they dont see things in the way others do , they support the spl for god sake !!! :D

Yeah, and we support the eircom league for god sake!!!

Dotsy
31/03/2005, 7:56 AM
So you think I'm close to being a bigot 'a prejudiced person who is intolerant of any opinions differing from his own'?
How exactly do you come to that conclusion 'pal', because I don't see it? :rolleyes:

I think ATT should read people's posts a bit more carefully before jumping in and calling people bigots.