View Full Version : Cheat O'Callaghan
29/03/2005, 11:27 PM
Did he not give Shels 'a taste of their own medicine' by diving? :confused: So you're whole defence is "Sure f*ck it it's against Shels, I don't like them, fair play to you Georgie"? I find that pathetic. If Jason Byrne did that I'd be the first one on here to have a go at him over it, how can you defend that?
Fair enough. I don't agree with diving, its cheating and it should be stamped out. But George and a number of other players have been on the receiving end of cheating (fouling, kicking, pushing etc) from Shels players for the last few years and this has gone unpunished. Two wrongs don't make a right, I know that, and what George did was wrong. Its just that his wrong-doing was justified to some extent by those on the receiving end of it. I'm not condoning it, I just can't bring myself to condemn it either
29/03/2005, 11:33 PM
Eanna, there seems to be a lot of comprimising going on here, back in to the Shed with you and less of the 'being nice to Shels fans' malarkey ok? ;) :D
29/03/2005, 11:41 PM
Fair enough. I don't agree with diving, its cheating and it should be stamped out. But George and a number of other players have been on the receiving end of cheating (fouling, kicking, pushing etc) from Shels players for the last few years and this has gone unpunished. Two wrongs don't make a right, I know that, and what George did was wrong. Its just that his wrong-doing was justified to some extent by those on the receiving end of it. I'm not condoning it, I just can't bring myself to condemn it either
That's about as fair as I'm going to get :D At least you you can admit that what he did was wrong, I just disagree that anything that has happened justifys it but I can see where your coming from I suppose, it's the people who can't even see that he did wrong that annoy me.
29/03/2005, 11:43 PM
That's about as fair as I'm going to get :D At least you you can admit that what he did was wrong, I just disagree that anything that has happened justifys it but I can see where your coming from I suppose, it's the people who can't even see that he did wrong that annoy me.
ah you know me, I'm a reasonable guy :) ;)
Gareth
30/03/2005, 7:52 AM
From my previous experiences in EL football over the years, I've come to ignore 90 percent of Cork posts about the place. They tend to follow the same pattern no matter what. It starts off with some kind of anti-dub or shels statement. Then it is quickly followed up with a comment reassuring themselves that Cork is great. Loosely covered usually in some foolish point about a game of football.
O Callaghan embarrassed himself in front of the enitre lot of us. No matter how "legendary" a player is, he did something that turns most true football fans stomachs. Ollie wasn't "hauled" off. He was subbed. Jamie Harris has played up front for us tons of times, in fact he played up there more than in defence when he joined first. Apart from that, I think Cork played better on the night. It was a terrible game though. Someday I might have a proper conversation with a Cork City supporter about a game of football. I look forward to the day you see past your own issues with Shels.
From my previous experiences in EL football over the years, I've come to ignore 90 percent of Cork posts about the place. They tend to follow the same pattern no matter what.
From my previous experiences in EL football over the years, I've come to ignore 90 percent of $hels posts. They tend to follow the same pattern no matter what.
The dismissal of all other posts as simply following a pattern.
The total blindness to the wrongs within their own club, like the thuggery, the total lack of sportsmanship, the referree intimidation.
The fact that the secratary of the club would have been banned for life by now by a properly run football association.
All the things that turn true football fans stomachs.
Someday I might have a proper conversation with a $hels supporter about a game of football, like I used to have a long time ago. I look forward to the day when these same $hels supporters can see that the rest of us are not imagining all the rotten things wrong with their club and they can see past their issues with Dolan, Bohs, Rovers, Pats...actually everybody else in the league.
Gareth
30/03/2005, 10:08 AM
Lucky my posts fall into the 10 percent you dont ignore then. I'm interested in the thuggery side of your comments. And the referee intimidation. I personally see the same level of barrating of the ref and officials from a lot of other managers. Richardson was head to head with the fourth official only last game!! As for thuggery, do you mean on the pitch or off it?
As for talking about a football game, I have stated that Cork played better than us in the game. We failed to get any form of pattern going and as with the last few games, we have hoofed it once too often rather than taking the ball down and playing some decent football. I do not see us losing to Cork as a crisis. I think Cork have a very good set of players and I hope that they can do extremely well with them in Europe. I have very little probelm with the Cork team. I do think O'Callahan was a disgrace and I think Rogers could of easily been booked for the challenge before. Referee inconsistancy is something we all complain about. I just get tired of Cork fans. Like you get tired of Shels fans clearly!!
30/03/2005, 10:09 AM
From my previous experiences in EL football over the years, I've come to ignore 90 percent of $hels posts. They tend to follow the same pattern no matter what.
J'know ..... i was going to say the exact same thing .... its just uncanny !! ;)
Dricky
30/03/2005, 10:17 AM
Breaking news......................................
Footballers Dive all the time.
Stop press.
Hibs4Ever
30/03/2005, 10:23 AM
I think some of the Cork attitude to this is very wrong. He is a cheat, plain and simple. If Jason Byrne had done it this thread would be over 20 pages long now
30/03/2005, 10:27 AM
Lucky my posts fall into the 10 percent you dont ignore then. I'm interested in the thuggery side of your comments. And the referee intimidation. I personally see the same level of barrating of the ref and officials from a lot of other managers. Richardson was head to head with the fourth official only last game!! As for thuggery, do you mean on the pitch or off it?
As my posts fall into yor 10%!.
ALL fans of ALL clubs are blind to certain aspects of thier own club. But you, and quite a lot of $hels fans fall simply dismiss the posts of Cork/Bohs fans for not admitting to the failings within their club, while totally ignoring those within your own.
Not every fan in the eL is paranoid about $hels. Yet fans from EVERY club in the country will say that $hels players intimidate refs, they act like thugs and "sportsmanship" is a word rarely heard or used in Tolka. Your manager is a nasty little f*cker when things are not going his way, his assistant is worse, and the guy who runs your club has caused more hassle in this league than everypody else put together. Yet you dismiss this as simply being some "pattern" and say fans are obssessed with you club.
I'll talk football with anyone, but you and so many $hels fans will have to realise that fans of other clubs have real issues with your club, and it's not all just jealousy/obssession/paranoia.
30/03/2005, 10:29 AM
I think some of the Cork attitude to this is very wrong. He is a cheat, plain and simple. If Jason Byrne had done it this thread would be over 20 pages long now
I agree to a certain extent. I am unhappy with his actions the other night, but Byrne and Co. are quite adept at cheating themsleves, though they do not make it so obvious as George the other night.
Gareth
30/03/2005, 10:42 AM
Ok, you dislike Shels because of what you stated above. I have no problem you disliking the club. As a football fan, I think I am fair when I watch a game. I call a foul a foul, a bad decision a bad decision. On aspects ON the pitch, I try to be pretty objective (not always achieving it). So when I see a Shels player foul someone badly, I call it. Likewise when I see someone cheating I am disgusted, be it a cork player or a Shels player. Dont think Cork fans here are the same and I think thats what SAINTSFOREVER is saying!. I don't agree with every decision made in Tolka. As you probably don't agree with every decision made in Cork City backroom. As for all teams hating shels, I remember everyone hated pats until they stopped winning. It tends to put a spotlight on your club if you win. I love seeing Cork do well in Europe. I hate having to listen to Cork fans go on about it thou! And they do go on.
30/03/2005, 10:49 AM
I love seeing Cork do well in Europe. I hate having to listen to Cork fans go on about it thou! And they do go on.
Get used to it ;)
George himself will be kicking himself over this one, he was caught rotten cheating on the telly, and he gained very little, the game was already over plus Shels get to play their next game without Crawley, which if anything will help them :D
Gareth
30/03/2005, 11:05 AM
:) Tiktok you have a point :)
Awh anyways adds a lil spice to the league meeting. Cos you could image it would be a dull affair without this ;)
30/03/2005, 11:13 AM
George himself will be kicking himself over this one,
Not as much as the kicking he will get when we next play $hels.....of course $hels fans will say he deserves it.....;)
Gareth
30/03/2005, 11:21 AM
Come on now, we dont need to kick him, he'll do a recreation of a "Man being kicked" all by himself :p
30/03/2005, 11:27 AM
Come on now, we dont need to kick him, he'll do a recreation of a "Man being kicked" all by himself :p
Just like that passage of play when Danny Murphy was about to pass the ball and got hacked down but play was waved on, the ball went to George who passed to Liam Kearney and was hacked down a spilt second later only to see play waved on, and just as Liam was about to pass/cross the ball he gets hacked down for, eventually, a free. Now there were three hacking fouls within the space of about 6 seconds, but to $hels fans, this would not be cheating or thuggery, would it?......;)
30/03/2005, 11:34 AM
And could SLK explain how that comment was in any way "racist"?
Because dear old George said that there were too many foreign players coming in and taking the places of those already in situ. It reminded me a smelly old alco type who used to stumble into a shop I was working in, collapse in a sorta slumped heap by the door and lament that he "couldn't get a job here while there's all sorts of foreign types". My attitude to that is, tough! If he'd drank a little less and smelled a little better then maybe that fragrant old drunk would have found gainful employment.
Similarly if the local Cork footballers aren't good enough (and if Can't Pass O'Brien is any guage then your fringe players of the recent pass clearly aren't!) then they're not going to get to play. It's not like it would have made any difference to O'Callaghan in the long-term anyway because clearly he has enough ability.
Anyway patsh, stop trying to shift the goalposts. O'Callaghan's being criticised now for cheating, plain and simple. It's a difficult enough allegation to fight without out you turning it into a debate on misdeeds past! :)
Gareth
30/03/2005, 11:37 AM
Bad ref'ing if anything. If there was a hacking, as I assume the term was being used to illustrate the strength of tackle needed to fell a cork player, being executed then I would expect the ref to call it up, as with a second hacking. A third hacking would clearly demonstrate extreme bad ref'ing to have let all this verocious hackings to take place. But then we probably had the ref "intimidated" as we can do away from home in the Cork Cauldron. Red cards all round.
30/03/2005, 11:54 AM
Anyway patsh, stop trying to shift the goalposts. O'Callaghan's being criticised now for cheating, plain and simple. It's a difficult enough allegation to fight without out you turning it into a debate on misdeeds past! :)
YOU are the one "shifting the goalposts", calling someone a racist based entirely on hearsay. I can imagine that it would be very difficult to fight an allegation like that, against someone who uses such flimsy "evidence" yet is fully convinced by it.
30/03/2005, 11:56 AM
Too many people are treating this like you're average day to day dive. It was nothing less serious than the worldwide controversial (that made most people hate him) Rivaldo dive.
"diving is part of the game" - So it is, but what GOC did is not part of the game and I rarely see something like that. Shouldering a player and going down clutching his bloody face. :rolleyes:
30/03/2005, 11:56 AM
Bad ref'ing if anything. If there was a hacking, as I assume the term was being used to illustrate the strength of tackle needed to fell a cork player, being executed then I would expect the ref to call it up, as with a second hacking. A third hacking would clearly demonstrate extreme bad ref'ing to have let all this verocious hackings to take place. But then we probably had the ref "intimidated" as we can do away from home in the Cork Cauldron. Red cards all round.
QED: 3 disgraceful tackles, but it was the Ref's fault!...:rolleyes:
I didn't realise that it had nothing to do with those saintly angels from $hels.....:D
30/03/2005, 12:01 PM
YOU are the one "shifting the goalposts", calling someone a racist based entirely on hearsay. I can imagine that it would be very difficult to fight an allegation like that, against someone who uses such flimsy "evidence" yet is fully convinced by it.
It was widely widely reported and accepted. O'Callaghan himself didn't even deny it. A Cork City player that I know quite well vouched for it and if I'm willing to accept the word of friends that I know and trust you'll just have to forgive me. You know that it's true anyway. That said, I shall comment on it no more because for now I'm perfectly happy to label him 'Cheat'. And maybe, just once, 'Port Vale reject'. :D
30/03/2005, 12:06 PM
Hearsay is just that, hearsay.
I notice that you are very quick to point out the negatives, but I've rarely if ever heard you comment on him when he is being loudly and very often praised for his skills and ability. A little touch of the Irish begrudgery syndrome there?
Gareth
30/03/2005, 12:36 PM
QED: 3 disgraceful tackles, but it was the Ref's fault!...:rolleyes:
I didn't realise that it had nothing to do with those saintly angels from $hels.....:D
Its a referee's choice to call the foul. If a bad tackle is made, then it should be called up by the Ref. anyways what were the cork lads doin running into the shels players feet.
30/03/2005, 12:37 PM
I was surprised with the number of City fans who were very unhappy (as I was) with what George did. Possibly the majority of City posters.
Its an internet forum after all, not always the place to go for reasoned arguments, especially the day after City had beaten their biggest rivals for the first time in 10 games and George had won man of the match.
So non City fans shouldn't expect us to beating ourselves up over a bad refereeing decision.
adamd164
30/03/2005, 12:43 PM
It starts off with some kind of anti-dub or shels statement.
What are ya bringing me into this for??! ;)
Gareth
30/03/2005, 12:44 PM
Haha, more the merrier I guess.
30/03/2005, 1:00 PM
Too many people are treating this like you're average day to day dive. It was nothing less serious than the worldwide controversial (that made most people hate him) Rivaldo dive.
I disagree with the comparison to the Rivaldo incident, who (to remind people) fell in apparent agony clutching his face at the corner flag after a player passing the ball to him, hit him on the shin with it.
I'd sooner compare it to Damien Duff's dive in the penalty box against Spain in the last world cup when he went down like a sack of spuds after the very slightest contact when he could easily have stayed on his feet.
I'm not defending George, but Crawley went in with his head and did make contact (which the linesman was already flagging when George dropped). The reaction was unacceptable, but I believe that Crawley did square up to George with intent, which was not the case with the Rivaldo incident.
ConfusedBlue
30/03/2005, 1:08 PM
Lads the simple fact of the matter that ye all seem to be missing out on is that George O 'C is a cheat,has cheated in the past and will continue to cheat in the future because he gets away with it!!!!!!!!
He is nothing short of a disgrace and how CCFC fans can support what he did is beyond belief,you should be ashamed of yourselves after seeing what he did!!!!!!!!!!!
Lads the simple fact of the matter that ye all seem to be missing out on is that George O 'C is a cheat,has cheated in the past and will continue to cheat in the future because he gets away with it!!!!!!!!
He is nothing short of a disgrace and how CCFC fans can support what he did is beyond belief,you should be ashamed of yourselves after seeing what he did!!!!!!!!!!!
:D :D :D
Oh sweet Jebus H. Christ...
Now that I've picked myself up off the floor, I must say this is some laugh.
A WUFC "fan" complaining about cheating! :D
Two words for you sunshine, Alan Reynolds.
Actualy I should make that 3 words, Alan Cheating Reynolds to give him the full and proper name he was christened with.
Now off with you to the comedy circuit, you'll make a fortune........
30/03/2005, 3:05 PM
Perhaps in Waterford BITING PEOPLE is an everyday pursuit and doesn't count as cheating ...
30/03/2005, 3:32 PM
I'm not defending George, but Crawley went in with his head and did make contact (which the linesman was already flagging when George dropped). The reaction was unacceptable, but I believe that Crawley did square up to George with intent, which was not the case with the Rivaldo incident.
I'll try and get the clash online tonight or tomorrow. Crawley didn't go in with his head. No point on trying to explain again, I'll have it online asap. :)
31/03/2005, 3:22 AM
what about that penalty crowe won against u.c.d. first game of the season
no contact there either i reckon ;)
Gareth
31/03/2005, 7:52 AM
Thats probably cos you had one eye closed :)
31/03/2005, 9:41 AM
Thats probably cos you had one eye closed :)
well one things for sure, the ref didnt have his 2 eyes open :eek:
31/03/2005, 12:32 PM
A little touch of the Irish begrudgery syndrome there?
Hardly. 99% of what's reported as Irish begrudery syndrome is simply people expressing a desire that nicer things would happen to nicer people.
31/03/2005, 12:50 PM
Hardly. 99% of what's reported as Irish begrudery syndrome is simply people expressing a desire that nicer things would happen to nicer people.
Well your posts on O'Callaghan only consist of negative comment and accusations based on hearsay. If you had ever given any sort of praise for the brilliant skillful stuff he does 99.99% of the time, you wouldn't come across as being interested in purely his negative aspects, and thus sound exactly like a begrudger.
However, you having being such a loyal fan to Limerick, that stuck with the club through thick and thin, I'll certainly mention the positives about you, in the hope that I do not sound begrudging....:)
31/03/2005, 2:22 PM
what about that penalty crowe won against u.c.d. first game of the season
no contact there either i reckon ;)
Unfortunately, it looked like there was. :(
The Sheliban
31/03/2005, 6:21 PM
I wonder if there's a difference between a) "cheating while play is going on" ie diving for a penalty, punching the ball into the net - where the oject of the "cheat" is to derive some advantage on the field of play eg a penalty, a goal etc and b) "cheating while the game has stopped" in which case the only possible reason for it is to get another player sent off?
All teams and 99% of players in all senior teams will try the first. Its called professionalism, its part and parcel of the game and its up to the ref to sort the genuine from the fake.
The second instance is a lot rarer - I remember Mark Hughes doing it in a European game years ago, and of course Rivaldo. And now George. All three supremely skilful players. And despite the years and years when they played in the spirit of the game, they will for me always be remembered for the one shameful incident. Certainly, whatever short term gain George got from his actions - was there a minute left on the clock? - his reputation has slipped for a lot of people.
01/04/2005, 12:16 PM
Well your posts on O'Callaghan only consist of negative comment and accusations based on hearsay. If you had ever given any sort of praise for the brilliant skillful stuff he does 99.99% of the time, you wouldn't come across as being interested in purely his negative aspects, and thus sound exactly like a begrudger.
However, you having being such a loyal fan to Limerick, that stuck with the club through thick and thin, I'll certainly mention the positives about you, in the hope that I do not sound begrudging....:)
Well then in the interest of solidarity and ending our entrenchment here allow me say that I think George O'Callaghan is one of the 2-3 most talented footballers in the eL and would be an asset to any team in the League. However I also stand by my previous comments. Terrific footballer, not sure about the bloke inside I must say. That's probably where any negativity you're sensing comes from. :)
skitz3
01/04/2005, 1:45 PM
I am inclined to agree with some of the comments the George is indeed a very good footballer. However, the fact that he is a good footballer doesn't justify him falling down as if struck by electricity. Most Cork fans who've posted to this thread seem to be very quick to change the subject from his hollywood dive to his footballing skills, they just can't seem to find what's wrong.
Very few people have denied his ability as a footballer so when people try to jusify his gold-medal-olympic-dive by resorting to his football skills they come across as ignorant and prejudice. This thread is about how George is a cheat, not about his footballing ability. The quickness at which people change the subject just proves that they know his guilt and are reluctant to talk about it.
On the back of this a rhetorical question must be asked: If it was a Shels player who dived, or indeed any other player in the league, would Cork fans take the same approach and talk only of that players skillful ability, if indeed he has any, or would they take the objective approach and keep to the true subject of the thread???