View Full Version : LOI Matches 17-18 August

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

redobit
22/08/2018, 2:15 AM
To put Sligo Rovers home and away form into context. We have 7 away WINS. We have 8 home GOALS.

ToberonaTornado
22/08/2018, 10:54 PM
Dundalk deserved winners. Took their chances when they came and are best team in the league imo. Which makes ya wonder why they never stop whinging and cribbing to the ref and rolling around like they are shot. Its not necessary for a good team.

Sligo opened up on the front foot and could well have hit front before 20 mins had elapsed.No fouls
Micky Duffy scores a brilliant goal on 30mins and Dundalk players are getting hit hard and heavy from the Sligo players almost straight after! 2 SR booked in a four min period after that goal.

Hoban scores on 78 mins,SR player in the book straight after it.

#Frustration :bad:

Sometimes you need a proper coach.:cool:

marinobohs
27/08/2018, 12:19 PM
Scumbags. I've no problem with lads thumping the head off each other in their own time but these ********s don't even go to games and don't represent either club.

Bohs, Shamrock Rovers AND their supporters were in Tallaght stadium for a football match. this bunch of never weres were somewhere off the North Circular Road - not even the right side of the city for the match.

sbgawa
27/08/2018, 12:26 PM
Bohs, Shamrock Rovers AND their supporters were in Tallaght stadium for a football match. this bunch of never weres were somewhere off the North Circular Road - not even the right side of the city for the match.

well said

oriel
27/08/2018, 2:44 PM
Just wondering is there much talk of Rovers fans coming up tomorrow night to one of their favourite away grounds? They may be out of all cups etc, but there is a still a chance they can finish 3rd (long shot) or 4th and hope that will be enough to qualify for Europe pending cup finalist.

Dundalk have a great opportunity to go 6 points clear with the same games played, but I`m taking nothing for granted in this match, we lost 1-0 at home to Rovers last summer in a back match, will need to be at it right from the start tomorrow night.

I`d imagine this will be significantly higher crowd that the Finn Harps match (1,800) on Friday, even if it is a Tuesday, schools still off and this is our 4th last home league game.

sbgawa
27/08/2018, 2:53 PM
I'd say small enough traveling support tonight , Tuesdays/midweek in general are a killer even for us at home let alone away and then there are the other issues in Oriel which we are all to bored to discuss again.
I know this is a rearranged game but they were discussing on the greatest league in the world podcast at the weekend that the first two rounds of the cup should be played midweek on the basis that crowds are probably only hardcore anyway. 1000 at the Cork match as a for instance.

If they extended the league by another 2 weeks and did that with the cup that would be 4 less midweek league matches.

If its a long shot for us to pull 4 points back off Waterford assuming we lose tonight I'm guessing you will be calling the league over tonight if you win and go 6 clear with a goal difference that makes it 7 in reality :)

dundalkfc10
27/08/2018, 3:08 PM
I'd say small enough traveling support tonight , Tuesdays/midweek in general are a killer even for us at home let alone away and then there are the other issues in Oriel which we are all to bored to discuss again.
I know this is a rearranged game but they were discussing on the greatest league in the world podcast at the weekend that the first two rounds of the cup should be played midweek on the basis that crowds are probably only hardcore anyway. 1000 at the Cork match as a for instance.

If they extended the league by another 2 weeks and did that with the cup that would be 4 less midweek league matches.

If its a long shot for us to pull 4 points back off Waterford assuming we lose tonight I'm guessing you will be calling the league over tonight if you win and go 6 clear with a goal difference that makes it 7 in reality :)

FYI its on tomorrow, Id love to go 6 points clear tonight

sbgawa
27/08/2018, 3:23 PM
FYI its on tomorrow, Id love to go 6 points clear tonight

Slip of the mind, I'm getting old, in my defence I did say Tuesday....

oriel
27/08/2018, 3:41 PM
If we win tomorrow, and that won’t be a formality, that would put us 6 points clear, but it will certainly not be over in my book. I don’t like looking past one game generally, however seeing as you asked !

After tomorrow night, both Dundalk and Cork would be expected to win on Friday, Dundalk away to Limerick, and Cork at home to Sligo, so it would still be potentially 6 points. The weekend after it’s the cup games, then 14/09 Cork are away to Bohs (I think) and Dundalk have no game (due to Derry in EA Final), so Cork could narrow it down to 3 points, (albeit one more game played) then the next game is between the two on 21/09, so chance for Cork to go level, or Dundalk to go 6 clear again with a game in hand, or a draw, so who knows?

I’d say if Dundalk avoid defeat in Cork, it will be looking increasingly likely the title will be going back to Oriel Park, but lots of football to played before then, and points could be dropped by both clubs over the next 3 or 4 weeks.

Ezeikial
27/08/2018, 4:12 PM
Even if Dundalk win against Rovers on Tuesday the 6 point gap is far from insurmountable.

Dundalk have lost 2 league matches this season - away to Cork and away to Waterford, Both of these away matches are part of the 7 matches remaining after Rovers. A win tomorrow followed by a win over Limerick and any unbeaten result in Turners Cross and the title would be close but not certain. Favourites, but certainly not a done deal.

28/08/2018, 2:11 AM
“The Leaving Cert had a big part in Aaron Bolger not featuring more in the season but that’s over now so Aaron is like any other player now, competing for a starting place in the team."

28/08/2018, 5:41 AM
Even if Dundalk win against Rovers on Tuesday the 6 point gap is far from insurmountable.

Dundalk have lost 2 league matches this season - away to Cork and away to Waterford, Both of these away matches are part of the 7 matches remaining after Rovers. A win tomorrow followed by a win over Limerick and any unbeaten result in Turners Cross and the title would be close but not certain. Favourites, but certainly not a done deal.

Even 2 losses, including us, and yed win on goal difference. As disappointing at it is at this stage, the leagues over practically. Dundalk are too good a side to slip up 3 times in this many games.If we'd beaten Pat's there'd be a chance, but that result finished it.

Ezeikial
28/08/2018, 6:30 AM
“The Leaving Cert had a big part in Aaron Bolger not featuring more in the season but that’s over now so Aaron is like any other player now, competing for a starting place in the team."

Can I guess?

Is it Bradser who has just realised that the Leaving Cert is over - he must have noticed the kids going back to school!

28/08/2018, 8:34 AM
They may be out of all cups etc, but there is a still a chance they can finish 3rd (long shot) or 4th and hope that will be enough to qualify for Europe pending cup finalist.

Third is entirely possible, and actually think they're fairly secure in fourth, can't see ourselves or Pat's catching them.
Looking at the Cup draw, if Bohs lose, you'd assume that's fourth in the league guaranteed EL.

RathfarnhamHoop
28/08/2018, 8:42 AM
Can I guess?

Is it Bradser who has just realised that the Leaving Cert is over - he must have noticed the kids going back to school!

You do realise he's been in the squad a lot since July?

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 9:40 AM
Third is entirely possible, and actually think they're fairly secure in fourth, can't see ourselves or Pat's catching them.
Looking at the Cup draw, if Bohs lose, you'd assume that's fourth in the league guaranteed EL.

If Bohs lose Derry are in the semi final.....2 matches away from a place in Europe, 4th place a long way from guaranteed a place.

Ezeikial
28/08/2018, 10:59 AM
You do realise he's been in the squad a lot since July?

Or even since June when his Leaving Cert exams finished.....?

Do you not seen even the slightest quirk in Stephen Bradley's pre-match website comments for tonights match, commenting that the Leaving Cert is now over?

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 11:06 AM
No I don't but then nobody spends as much time thinking about what he says as you do.
If I engaged my brain I'd say the web guys put a selection of quotes up from a media gig where one of the questions was probably in relation to would Aaron start against Dundalk as he did against Bohs......it reads like a collection of responses to me.
If I had a criticism it would be for the website as the quote is a bit floating and without context, but to be honest its hard to criticise volunteers so for me its a bit like every other manager quote including Kenny. Caulfield etc ...................meh.

RathfarnhamHoop
28/08/2018, 12:52 PM
Or even since June when his Leaving Cert exams finished.....?

Do you not seen even the slightest quirk in Stephen Bradley's pre-match website comments for tonights match, commenting that the Leaving Cert is now over?

Is the Leaving cert not over now? Where exactly does he say its just finished. Seriously get a new hobby mate

Ezeikial
28/08/2018, 3:18 PM
Shamrock Rovers manager Stephen Bradley says his side are more than capable of beating leaders Dundalk tonight if they play to their potential.
And he is taking heart from the Hoops' recent record at Oriel Park as they attempt to halt a Dundalk side that is seeking to move another step closer to a historic winning run which puts them ever closer to regaining the league title.

Stephen Kenny's men are seeking their 14th league win on the trot, with the all-time record currently standing at 15.

They have taken seven points from a possible nine in their three meetings with Rovers this season, but Bradley's side pushed them close in Oriel Park.

Replay

The Hoops also won a league game at the venue last season and took a draw from their FAI Cup semi-final meeting before losing the replay in Tallaght.

However, in the aftermath of another derby defeat to Bohemians and a cup exit at the hands of Drogheda, Bradley is under pressure to restore pride and keep his side's European hopes alive.

They will fall 30 points behind Dundalk if they lose this refixed encounter.

More pertinently, they are four points behind third-placed Waterford with a game in hand and need to overtake them to be sure of UEFA funds.

"It's a massive game, a really tough game," said Bradley. "We know that Dundalk are in good form but it's a challenge that we're really looking forward to.

"We always do well up there and I'm sure it will be no different. We're capable of beating any team in the league so we're all looking forward to it.

"There's a lot of points to be played for between now and the end of the season, we just need to stay focused and get back to what we do well."

Dundalk need to win just six of their eight remaining games to be assured of taking the title back from Cork.

If they succeed in winning both of their matches this week, they would travel to face the Leesiders on September 21 to complete the all-time winning streak.

DUNDALK v SHAMROCK ROVERS

Oriel Park (7.45)

Team news: Dundalk work off the same squad as last week, Karolis Chvedukas an injury doubt and Stephen O'Donnell out for the long-term. Gary Shaw is fit again for Rovers but Luke Byrne and Sean Boyd miss out through injury, Trevor Clarke also absent long-term.

Talking point: Huge game in Dundalk's season as a win here would put them six points ahead of Cork, with a better goal difference and a massive 30 points above Rovers.

Referee: Robert Harvey

Betting: Dundalk 4/9. Rovers 6/1, Draw 3/1

Verdict: Home win

Irish Independent

Ezeikial
28/08/2018, 3:19 PM
6/1 is crazy odds on a Rovers win

28/08/2018, 3:55 PM
I think any team that's lost two on the bounce versus Dundalk on the streak they are (in the league) would be similar enough odds, bar Cork.

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 4:37 PM
Did Rovers in a double with Spurs just so I will feel even worse tonight :)
1st leg up

28/08/2018, 6:51 PM
Rovers 1 up. Time to back Dundalk - 1!

Kingswood Rover
28/08/2018, 8:05 PM
1 a piece Duffy for the lilywhites

MattB11
28/08/2018, 8:42 PM
Ohhhh

28/08/2018, 8:43 PM
Full time Dundalk 1-2 Rovers.

Watts with a 90th minute winner.

Kingswood Rover
6/1 is crazy odds on a Rovers win
Anyone get a bet on, some pride redeemed after a poxy couple of weeks.

CorribsideSteve
Drama and then some up in Oriel. 30 secs left, Shams penalty, Watts scores. Watching the stream, there was a scramble in the box and its hard to tell what happened, but Dundalk really should have won and have lost instead.

28/08/2018, 8:45 PM
Sounds like dundalk dominated. Makes the Pat's result hurt more. Typical, get our hopes slightly raised to crush them. Greatest league in the world.

Bradley is the king of pulling a result out of the hat just in time.

CorribsideSteve
28/08/2018, 8:46 PM
Officials, unsurprisingly booed off, with several angry slaps on the roof at the pitch exit.

El-Pietro
28/08/2018, 8:46 PM

I made a small profit, though I am regretting backing Hoban to score next with 20 minutes to go now!

FFS Dundalk. Why'd you have to go and give us hope. We were happy in our misery.

28/08/2018, 8:47 PM
Did Rovers in a double with Spurs just so I will feel even worse tonight :)
1st leg up
What were the overall odds so, or do I want to ask...? :)

ger121
28/08/2018, 8:47 PM
Delighted. Keeps Bradley in the job a while longer. He’s very entertaining.

CorribsideSteve
28/08/2018, 8:51 PM
Sounds like dundalk dominated. Makes the Pat's result hurt more. Typical, get our hopes slightly raised to crush them. Greatest league in the world.

Shams started hoofing it away from their own box from about the hour mark but found an extra gear from somewhere to force the events that led to the penalty. An absolutely textbook smash and grab win

RathfarnhamHoop
28/08/2018, 8:52 PM
European football back in our own hands now. Cheers for the heads up on the 6/1 Ezeikial

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 8:59 PM

Backed them in a double with spurs against utd 21.5 to 1 ��

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 9:01 PM
What were the overall odds so, or do I want to ask...? :)

21.5 to 1 ...I'd actually forgotten about the bet until after watts scored.....priorities :)

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 9:02 PM

Not fair to call it a smash and grab , rovers were the better team for first 30 mins and last 15

RathfarnhamHoop
28/08/2018, 9:14 PM
Sean hoare sent of at final whistle too.

This poxy site and its edit button just deleting instead

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 9:15 PM
That's 6 wins a draw in cork and feckin loss to bohs in the last 8 league matches conceding 2 goals in 8. It's the hope that kills you :)

CorribsideSteve
28/08/2018, 9:22 PM
Not fair to call it a smash and grab , rovers were the better team for first 30 mins and last 15

The 1st half, yes, but it was more like the 85th min when Rovers suddenly realized they could nick a win. Fair play to them. But from the stream, it looked like Dundalk had half a dozen or more chances. If it finished 2 or 3-1 to them, it wouldn't have been out of place. Footballs not like that though, sometimes :) Great win for Rovers, a bad night for Dundalk. Was it a penalty? Very difficult to tell from my stream, unfortunately. Not that it will bother Bradley. Bit of a rollercoaster ride of a year for him.

placid casual
28/08/2018, 9:37 PM
No better place to go an win than the $hittest ground/town in Ireland. God knows what those yanks think of it. They must think they are in Fallujah or some such place.
Rovers are a mind£uck at the best of times...fair play to Pico anyway. He keeps going
Over to you corkies, to do this crap league a favour

Yossarian
28/08/2018, 10:21 PM
Sickening to lose like that. I thought we were well on top until McGrath was taken off. Poor substitution really.
On the penalty incident, on first look I thought it was one but apparently Finn was looking for a corner when the ref pointed to the spot. Shouldn’t have got into a position to let a poor ref have to make a decision.
We should’ve won and would’ve been happy with a draw at then end. The result makes our game down in Cork fairly crucial.

Congratulations to Rovers anyway on a big win. Great for them to celebrate only being 24 points off the top.

dong
28/08/2018, 10:31 PM
Sickening to lose like that. I thought we were well on top until McGrath was taken off. Poor substitution really.
On the penalty incident, on first look I thought it was one but apparently Finn was looking for a corner when the ref pointed to the spot. Shouldn’t have got into a position to let a poor ref have to make a decision.
We should’ve won and would’ve been happy with a draw at then end. The result makes our game down in Cork fairly crucial.

Congratulations to Rovers anyway on a big win. Great for them to celebrate only being 24 points off the top.

Yes its a big win for them and congratulations on a job well done.

sbgawa
28/08/2018, 10:33 PM
We were 44 points behind bohs in 2008 and only 4 in 2009. Things change. I'll settle for a decent 3 points tonight and hopefully finish in 3rd.
I agree with you on McGrath going off, seemed mad maybe he was injured

Ezeikial
28/08/2018, 10:37 PM
Credit to Rovers - not many teams have emerged from Oriel Park with a league win over the last number of years

They started like an express train and even if they lost their way for big parts of the match, they hung in to be in a position to snatch the win at the end. The referee was truly awful throughout and I await the video footage on the penalty decision to confirm my doubts about it

You don't always get what you deserve in an individual game, but Dundalk remain favourites to lift the title. It's now about getting focused for the next one and lifting 3 points in Limerick on Friday night

patrickccfc
28/08/2018, 10:49 PM
Dundalk could lose to us and still win the league should both of us win all our other games, because of the superior goal difference. Still think we lost the league against pats. It's the hope that kills you.

We still have to go to bohs, rovers and derry, very tough places to come out with 3 points.
Realistically, we have to win every game, can't see us doing that.

28/08/2018, 11:02 PM
Bit of payback there for the game in Tallaght where we probably should have been 2-0 up at half time but went in at 1-1 and Dundalk ran away with it. You'll always have to defend at Oriel so a satisfying performance.

ToberonaTornado
29/08/2018, 1:38 AM
The late pen a total Sucker punch after the foundations to win the bloody game had been well laid.
for the Shams opener a lot of Dundalk players that should be wiser were caught total fast asleep.Ref a blind man.Apparently,Robrerta lopes can kick who he f'ing pleases and rob harvey will give him a slap on the arse and say oh darling, see you later.But the marking for the his goal :rolleyes: