View Full Version : June 4: Lansdowne Rd.
boysingreen
28/03/2005, 4:32 AM
Ireland v Israel
Lansdowne Rd.
June 4
Any info on kickoff time? Also, what's the ticket situation like? Sold out already or haven't gone on sale yet? I've sort of a long shot hope of getting to the match. I'm hoping to be taking a class this summer at Galway University- the program ends on June 4th. Thanks in advance.
28/03/2005, 10:27 AM
Tickets do not go on sale for qualifiers in Lansdowne.
boysingreen
28/03/2005, 11:14 AM
Never been to a match at Lansdowne. If they don't go on sale, how d'you go about getting a ticket?
Saint Tom
28/03/2005, 12:07 PM
all tickets are pre-booked. Your best bet is to try to buy a ticket from the Israeli FA
onenilgameover
28/03/2005, 12:32 PM
Will the Israeli's definitely use up their full allocation when they come in June?
There wasn't very many of them in Switzerland? They're are doing really well now so there might be more interest but if they get beat on Wens I can see em fallin off the pace as they'ill be the first to lose from the top 4..
All corporate, block book (900 on waiting list) & Eircom League supporters clubs (200 tickets each I believe). I'm gonna try & get tickets off a load of sound Israeli's I met over there.
onenilgameover
28/03/2005, 4:18 PM
All corporate, block book (900 on waiting list) & Eircom League supporters clubs (200 tickets each I believe). I'm gonna try & get tickets off a load of sound Israeli's I met over there.
Where ye gettin this info from Colie? do ye mean the 900 on the waitin list will get tickets?
soccerc
28/03/2005, 6:30 PM
Eircom League supporters clubs (200 tickets each I believe).
Well off the mark there Colie, as onenilgameover said Where did you get that information as it would add up to 4400 tickets and it is nothing like that!
Where ye gettin this info from Colie? do ye mean the 900 on the waitin list will get tickets?
Nah 900 on the waitin list to get block book, well I'm the late 800's & I've been down for a good while. Hope to get one in the new stadium tho.
As for the EL teams I heard from one group they get that many so I just assumed it was the same all round, maybe it reduces with the size of the supporters club or something, I dunno, my figure could be totally wrong. Why, how many do youes get?
Basically the way I see it you're screwed if you aren't part of either & you can't get the corporate ones, ended up paying €120 for the Russia home game! So this time I'm gonna try get the Israeli's to get me one of theirs, it's a longshot, I know but hey...
soccerc
28/03/2005, 10:39 PM
As for the EL teams I heard from one group they get that many so I just assumed it was the same all round, maybe it reduces with the size of the supporters club or something, I dunno, my figure could be totally wrong.
Totally wrong.
No club gets more than 125 and whoever told you they got 200 is well for the want of better words "living in a fantasy land". EL supporters overall now take less than 750 tickets.
onenilgameover
29/03/2005, 10:29 AM
EL supporters overall now take less than 750 tickets.
Jaysus if thats true thats shocking....
Hibs4Ever
29/03/2005, 10:40 AM
Any idea of kick off time lads???
My genius girlfriend booked us a week in canaries coming home on june 4th, even though she knew I had tickets :mad: flight leaves at 9pm so will have to be in airport at 7.30pm.
If its an early kick off i'll be ok :)
onenilgameover
29/03/2005, 10:43 AM
Its a sat so I presume its 3 O'Clock as usual. Will the Israeli's sell their allocation.
Hibs4Ever
30/03/2005, 8:37 AM
5.30pm kick off
Should get to see it ok in Canaries
I HOPE
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 1:44 PM
Its a sat so I presume its 3 O'Clock as usual. Will the Israeli's sell their allocation.
I'm thinking it depends on tonight's result, and I'm pretty sure they won't use the entire allocation anyway. So there just might a few more tickets available later on.
5.30pm kick off
I HOPE
I'll have yer ticket........
Hibs4Ever
31/03/2005, 6:59 AM
Christ that ticket is long gone, my mates brother snapped it up. Sorry.
joeraki
31/03/2005, 5:48 PM
Not really. My understanding of the ticket situation from talking to some of the boys that take care of 2 of the Dublin teams, was last year ye pretty much got what you asked for, with some clubs getting upwards of 150, though the games where big games at the end of the Euro qualifying campaign, so selling them wasn't a problem.
Then this year they had to commit to talking a set amount for every game regardless of it was a big game v France or a small friendly against China. That doesn't sound to easy too do, so most averaged out what they thought they'd sell. If its only 750 I'm guessing some didn't bother ?
GK for the Town
01/04/2005, 12:22 PM
I sent a Mail to the Fai checking if there had been any movement on the waiting list for block booking etc. I had rang last year but they said it was huge waiting list. This was the reply to me the other day.
"Our Season Ticket (or Block Booking) scheme is full and unfortunately
due to capacity constraints for qualifying matches in the current
stadium we are unable to open this scheme to new customers. We do have a
waiting list for the Block Booking scheme, with almost 1000 people on
it"
Any new stadium would have have a huge capacity to meet the demands of the people that want to get block booking.
04/04/2005, 9:42 AM
Its an unsual time on a saturday to be playing at home but it means that a whole lot more drinking will be done on the saturday. I wonder will this affect the atmosphere, I think people are going to be nicely hyper and it could be a great atmosphere there.
04/04/2005, 10:52 AM
Yeah the later the ko the better - the more jarred the supporters are, the better the atmosphere will be :) - happy days ;)
Junior
04/04/2005, 11:17 AM
Yeah the later the ko the better - the more jarred the supporters are, the better the atmosphere will be :) - happy days ;)
******xxxxxx - when have we ever had a 17:30 kick off on a Saturday?
I always stay over for the Saturday games but this time I decided a short stay was enough and booked to head back on the Saturday evening. Flight is at 19:45, only booked it during the week as well.
Fur fux sake :mad: :mad:
soccerc
04/04/2005, 11:51 AM
5.30pm kick off
I HOPE
Very unlikely that you'll see it in the Canaries due to the angle of satellite.
If it is a 3pm start then you may be lucky to pick up first half hour or so - If it is a 5:30pm kick-off forget about it.
Learned my lesson for the 2003 Cup final between Pats and Town
04/04/2005, 11:53 AM
If it is a 5:30pm kick-off forget about it.
It's listed on FAI.ie as a 17:30 K.O.
joeraki
04/04/2005, 4:37 PM
Maybe its 5.30pm because pubs and all that don't open on Saturdays in Israel until 7.30pm
Cowboy
04/04/2005, 5:29 PM
Very unlikely that you'll see it in the Canaries due to the angle of satellite.
what are you talking about man??
soccerc
04/04/2005, 6:25 PM
what are you talking about man??
Simple, as the game is only live on RTE it is impossible for any users of Irish Sky Cards on any of the Canary Islands to receive a signal from the astra satellite.
Sky transmit RTE on the North Beam Astra D 28.2 east which is only receivable in The Canaries on aidsh larger than 2 m from approx 4am to 4pm due to the angle of the earth in relation to the fixed satellite position.
cullenswood
04/04/2005, 7:20 PM
Simple, as the game is only live on RTE it is impossible for any users of Irish Sky Cards on any of the Canary Islands to receive a signal from the astra satellite.
Sky transmit RTE on the North Beam Astra D 28.2 east which is only receivable in The Canaries on aidsh larger than 2 m from approx 4am to 4pm due to the angle of the earth in relation to the fixed satellite position.
Here comes the science bit???!! :confused:
Cowboy
04/04/2005, 8:27 PM
Its nothing to do with the angle of the earth, its to do with whats known as the satellites fooprint but I'm not going to bore everyone here with the technicalities.
RTE reception is perfectly possible in the canaries using a large enough dish, good lnb and good cable ( I know this as I've done it) Astra 2d is actually higher in the sky in the canaries as all geo stationary satellites are located above the equator.
Saint Tom
04/04/2005, 9:26 PM
col, as far as i'm aware our tickets (pats) are no longer dependent on unfilled allocations. we now have a committed figure and as such are block booked. correct me if wrong....
17:30 is an all day session
soccerc
04/04/2005, 9:58 PM
Its nothing to do with the angle of the earth, its to do with whats known as the satellites fooprint but I'm not going to bore everyone here with the technicalities.
RTE reception is perfectly possible in the canaries using a large enough dish, good lnb and good cable ( I know this as I've done it) Astra 2d is actually higher in the sky in the canaries as all geo stationary satellites are located above the equator.
I was trying to make it simple for people to understand without getting into the technicalities of it.
If you can get RTE between the hours of 4pm and 4am then there is a job for you on the islands. RTE's footprint from Astra 2d is not very strong and is only on the North Beam. It is not meant for reception in the Canaries, just like ITV and BBC has been transmitte don reduced power for a while too causing the Brit ex pats grief.. By investing in a top of the range LNB, A 3m dish plus the oxygen free cable may provide some coverage I'm afraid that it still rarely works. Irish bar owners on the three main islands have been seeking a solution for years to no avail. Maybe you should give them a tinkle and make some money from them
soccerc
04/04/2005, 10:01 PM
col, as far as i'm aware our tickets (pats) are no longer dependent on unfilled allocations. we now have a committed figure and as such are block booked. correct me if wrong....
17:30 is an all day session
Right and wrong. The el clubs allocation are now on a block book basis but it was made clear from the start that tickets are not guaranteed for the Swiss or French games - it is dependant upon those countries allocations not been availed of in full.
Cowboy
04/04/2005, 10:37 PM
I was trying to make it simple for people to understand without getting into the technicalities of it.
what by talking nonesense about the "angle of the earth" or was it the "angle of the satellite".
Might have been easier to just say Irish bars have reception difficulties.
PS for Peadars benefit any bars (or individuals) in the canary Islands trying show RTE from the astra 2d satellite located at 28 degrees east of south in a geostationary orbit above the equator.
05/04/2005, 8:47 AM
Might have been easier to just say Irish bars have reception difficulties.
Surely then people could have assumed that the problem was specific to Irish bars!? ;)
stickyjoe
05/04/2005, 9:37 AM
the match is on SKY as well, so i dont think you`ll need to get anyone in the canaries to buy a new satellite for this game ;)
Bring Back Mick
05/04/2005, 12:22 PM
So why have the FAI changed the ko time................bang goes a night out in Mayo :(
carricksmasher
10/04/2005, 11:14 AM
looks like a day trip for me, anyone flying over from stanstead for the game?
12/04/2005, 5:17 PM
looks like a day trip for me, anyone flying over from stanstead for the game?
will be over from glasgow prestwick, got no ticket yet though....anyone can help that would be great...alright the_bonk? how is tel-aviv surviving without the Irish, have they managed to restock the bars again? :D
jaykay
04/05/2005, 1:12 PM
5.30pm kick off
I HOPE
I rang the FAI last week about this - apparently KO is 7:30PM. Its on the website as that too. I dont remember any previous internationals starting at that time on a Saturday
Duffer
04/05/2005, 1:31 PM
If anyone has spare tickets, sure would appreciate two. :)
Yer havin a laff! :p
05/05/2005, 10:10 AM
The FAI is on a collision course with angry eircom League supporters' groups, who have had their allocation for Ireland's forthcoming World Cup qualifier against Israel slashed by 70 percent.
Over the last two years, supporters' clubs connected with eircom League clubs have been allocated over 700 tickets for every international game at Lansdowne Road. However, as the Israeli FA has signified its intention to take up its full allocation of 3,600 seats for the tie, the FAI has had to cut the eircom League supporters' allocation to just 240.
The eircom League supporters groups, under the banner of the National League Supporters' Association, claim that they have block bookings and are insisting on their full allocation for every game.
The FAI insist that their agreement with the supporters' groups was always based on the number of tickets returned by visiting associations but concede that the groups have always received the same number of tickets for every match over the last two years because no visiting team has ever taken up its full allocation.
"The simple problem is there are not enough tickets," said an FAI spokesperson
Duffer
05/05/2005, 1:15 PM
Yer havin a laff! :p
yep it's my sole aim in life to amuse you Colie.
littlebray
06/05/2005, 1:06 PM
That's until this week - FAI cutting that back to 200! (see Neil's post) Merrion Sq never mentioned difficulty with Israel, tho' they did indicate France & Switzerland might be iffy.
:mad:
onenilgameover
06/05/2005, 2:01 PM
Seems like there's mixed signals coming from the FAI. I've heard form them that it is in no way certain that the Israeli's will defenitely be taking up their full allocation for June 4th. Fingers crossed anyway!!! :eek:
Thats a disgrace that that the EL should be cut from such a pityful amount to near nothing. :(
06/05/2005, 2:06 PM
Yeah I agree that it is a small amount and it should be much larger but I wonder how I got from waiting list to the block booking, someone must have lost out for me to get in. I wonder was it the EL or where the free spaces came from.
Cowboy
06/05/2005, 2:07 PM
Seems like there's mixed signals coming from the FAI. I've heard form them that it is in no way certain that the Israeli's will defenitely be taking up their full allocation for June 4th. Fingers crossed anyway!!! :eek:
Thats a disgrace that that the EL should be cut from such a pityful amount to near nothing. :(
I think one of the problems is the system which allows the away association to take the full alocation and then return what they dont sell a few weeks prior to the game. I have full sympathy for the EL block bookers perhaps a fairer way would be for all B bookers to take a smaller cut, spread the pain so to speak.
onenilgameover
09/05/2005, 9:43 AM
Have tickets for this game been sent out to everyone yet? If not does anyone know when they will be sent out?