View Full Version : Ryan Nolan D Larne b.1999

Pages : 1 2 [3]

20/10/2020, 7:52 PM
Started for Getafe B at the weekend in a 2-1 loss to Rayo Majadahonda:https://www.getafecf.com/Noticia/tabid/137/Article/7075/Habra-que-esperar.aspx

tommy_c12000
22/11/2020, 12:27 PM
A really pleasant surprise to see Ryan make the bench today for Getafe in La Liga away to Eibar, having reportedly playing well in a few B games. Hopefully he can get some consistent game time over the coming months including with their A team. He would deserve a shot with our under 21s if he does. Assume he’s still eligible next year?

22/11/2020, 12:50 PM
No, born in February 1999, he'll be overage for the 2023 U21 Championships

tommy_c12000
22/11/2020, 12:52 PM
That’s a shame. He will have his work cut out for a senior call up once covid settles, hopefully he can continue to do well in coming months!

liamoo11
22/11/2020, 2:52 PM
A really pleasant surprise to see Ryan make the bench today for Getafe in La Liga away to Eibar, having reportedly playing well in a few B games. Hopefully he can get some consistent game time over the coming months including with their A team. He would deserve a shot with our under 21s if he does. Assume he’s still eligible next year?

Scandalous that a player who has played for inter Milan and getafe couldn't make our 21s squad!!! In fairness alot of lads were laughing at him a few months back when not seeing much action in seria c andcsaying his agent was fabricating stories linking him with English sides so well done to him for knocking down and making an impact at his new club. Do getafe have a defensive injury crisis?

22/11/2020, 8:06 PM
Scandalous that a player who has played for inter Milan and getafe couldn't make our 21s squad!!! In fairness alot of lads were laughing at him a few months back when not seeing much action in seria c andcsaying his agent was fabricating stories linking him with English sides so well done to him for knocking down and making an impact at his new club. Do getafe have a defensive injury crisis?

He hasn't played for either Inter Milan or Getafe.

He's played for youth teams within those clubs. Minor difference. There's nothing scandalous about it with our under-21 squad was full of players playing first team football.

22/11/2020, 9:06 PM
He hasn't been involved with the national side since an U18 game in 2016. You'd think he would have called him into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?

22/11/2020, 9:54 PM
He hasn't been involved with the national side since an U18 game in 2016. You'd think he would have called him into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?

Absolutely don't disagree with that, but I was merely responding to a post that it was 'scandalous' he wasn't involved with our under-21's. He was playing in Serie C when Stephen Kenny was in charge of the under-21's, while we had players playing regularly at a higher level.

Not sure who 'he' is that you're referring to otherwise.

samhaydenjr
22/11/2020, 10:05 PM
Well this is a big turnaround - from being written off, as liamoo said (which was probably understandable given that he seemed to be struggling in Serie C teams) to a squad place in a Top-10 La Liga team. His career path over the last two years explains why he hasn't been in the U21s but the moment he steps on the pitch for the Getafe first team he becomes an option for the Irish squad.

22/11/2020, 11:02 PM
Absolutely don't disagree with that, but I was merely responding to a post that it was 'scandalous' he wasn't involved with our under-21's. He was playing in Serie C when Stephen Kenny was in charge of the under-21's, while we had players playing regularly at a higher level.

Not sure who 'he' is that you're referring to otherwise.
Sorry, I phrased that post badly, it should have read

You'd think he would have been called into a squad, even just to take a look at him, at least once in the last four years?

elatedscum
23/11/2020, 12:58 AM
I would have called him up for the first squad against Luxembourg that Corrie Ndaba was part of. He was on the standby list for that squad... liked him against Spurs in the UEFA U19 champions league prior to that.

But Masterson and O’Shea solidifying themselves as first choice, Scales doing well in Toulon and Collins moving from 19s to 21s, it became almost a non-issue. It was probably our position with most depth that wasn’t depleted by the senior squad over the campaign.

Conor McCarthy was also someone who played himself into contention at Cork and St Mirren but never played. The likes of Warren O’Hora, Aaron O’Driscoll, Luke McNally, Ciaran Kelly, Darragh O’Connor, James Finnerty etc etc etc were never used either, along with Ndaba and McCarthy.

Given the huge depth, I don’t think you can be overly critical of those decisions.

irishfan86
23/11/2020, 5:00 AM
Fair play to him. I think it’s fair to say he’s still a long shot case for Ireland but he’s still in contention for a breakthrough at a good standard. Many of us had doubts when he dropped to Serie C but he’s continuing to plug along and is still young, especially for a CB. Hopefully he continues the upward trajectory and forces Kenny’s hand.

23/11/2020, 10:12 AM
We've had plenty of players bloom later in their careers. We don't have the talent pool for it to be otherwise. If he starts playing La Liga football, someone will scout him.

26/11/2020, 2:27 AM
We've had plenty of players bloom later in their careers. We don't have the talent pool for it to be otherwise. If he starts playing La Liga football, someone will scout him.
Scales is an example himself. Never rated for underage squads but he worked his way up in men's football to become a regular in the 21s. Sometimes we expect guys to be amazing because of the club they're at but Nolan has shown that if you seriously graft you can get your opportunities, and I hope he becomes a success. Still think the people who lost their rag when Scales was called up ahead of him were dreaming but.

17/12/2020, 12:24 PM
Reports that he tore his cruciate ligament in training this week and will be out for the season

Eirambler
17/12/2020, 12:50 PM
That's desperately unlucky for him. I would say he's at a stage in his career where he couldn't afford that to happen to be honest. Could be 23 or close to it by the time he gets fit again with little first team football played in his career.

20/01/2021, 6:05 PM
Back on the bench for Getafe this evening, so guess that injury wasn't at all as bad as feared.

No place for Finn though

20/01/2021, 6:28 PM
Back on the bench for Getafe this evening, so guess that injury wasn't at all as bad as feared.

No place for Finn though

No he isn't, yes it is, and yes there is

20/01/2021, 6:35 PM
Ah - livescore are showing him on the bench (https://www.livescore.com/en/football/spain/laliga-santander/getafe-vs-sd-huesca/284972/), but they must be mixing up the two Irish players in that case.

JR89
28/02/2022, 12:36 PM
Signs for Northampton Town

Exgrad
28/02/2022, 3:54 PM
I wonder has anyone ever transfered from a club in La Liga to one in League 2, doubt it. Guess he needs to be sure he'll get game time at this stage.

28/02/2022, 5:47 PM
He only ever played a league game for Getafe's second string so moving from the Spanish 4th tier (or 5th where they play now) to League 2 is probably a step up. Though as Northampton's own twitter today said he was one for the future and they might look to arrange a loan I'd say he might not have found a constant run of games yet anyway.

livehead1
01/03/2022, 8:25 AM
He only ever played a league game for Getafe's second string so moving from the Spanish 4th tier (or 5th where they play now) to League 2 is probably a step up. Though as Northampton's own twitter today said he was one for the future and they might look to arrange a loan I'd say he might not have found a constant run of games yet anyway.

He's 22. Do they have a vets team?

2 Year Contract
01/03/2022, 9:42 AM
He's 22. Do they have a vets team?

23 actually, thought the 'one for the future' line was an odd one myself. It more than likely translates as "we think this lad could be good but we don’t want to take the risk of playing him in our first team so we’ll loan him to someone else instead, if he’s any use we'll play him and if not then we’ll get rid". Wouldn’t fill me with confidence if I was Nolan although he'll have belief in his own ability to hopefully do well and progress through the levels in england

Eirambler
01/03/2022, 10:29 AM
Just has to take what he can get at this point I think. It's basically a four month trial he's on. If Northampton pass at the end of it that will tell it's own story. Wasn't he struggling for game time down in Serie C at the end of his time in Italy? Could see him at Treaty United or somewhere similar before long.

Exgrad
01/03/2022, 11:34 AM

Pretty sure he made the bench on at least one occasion for Getafe, not sure squad member at La Liga to one for the furture (at 23) in League 2 is a step up. He was a free agent since last Summer i think, so this must have been best offer he got. V unlucky with timing of injury, even a handful of La Liga appearances would have given much better options.

Crosby87
01/03/2022, 2:22 PM
https://www.biography.com/.image/ar_1:1%2Cc_fill%2Ccs_srgb%2Cg_face%2Cq_auto:good%2 Cw_300/MTgwMzE3ODY0NDI5ODg4NjYy/gettyimages-1130207628.jpgHere's his baseball card.

28/07/2022, 11:33 PM
Signed for Scottish Championship side Raith Rovers.

tommy_c12000
31/07/2022, 12:41 AM
Played 90 minutes in a 2-0 loss to Cove Rangers today!

Looking back on the posts, probably a third of them or so are mine 🙈.

It wasn’t until he went on loan in serie C that I finally got to see clips of him, and gradually became less impressed with him, although highlights will generally show centre backs in the worst of lights. I do remember seeing one clip of him clearing the ball towards the end of a game and his technique was pretty poor and he looked like he was about to fall over himself. Alarm bells started ringing at that stage.

Still though, I stand by my assertion that he was still worth a look at during the underage days, casting an eye over potential talent is the very essence of our underage setup! What have you got to lose by bringing him in for a few games to have a closer look….it’s not like the people that kept him out of the squad are current world beaters, is it?

Eirambler
31/07/2022, 7:14 AM
Had a look back through the thread. I never understood the hype with this lad, he was only ever a poor enough player with a good agent at the youth team of a big Italian club, so I feel my fairly consistent cynicism throughout the thread in terms of his Ireland prospects has aged well!

He came through at centre back in an era when we seem to have produced more decent CBs than I can ever remember us producing at one time. The likes of O'Shea, Omobamidele and Collins are miles ahead of him now, Masterson and Scales - the other two who were chosen ahead of him - are on course for better careers too, albeit probably in the lower leagues or SPL.

But Nolan has been with teams in Italy, Spain, England and now Scotland, including Serie C and League 2 teams, and has yet to find a level he is actually good enough to consistently play at. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if he turns out to be not good enough for the Scottish Championship either. Doesn't sound like he got off to a great start yesterday.

Best of luck to him and there's probably book or a newspaper spread in his somewhat alternative career route, but he's never going to be an Ireland player, he's nowhere near good enough unfortunately.

Razors left peg
01/08/2022, 4:31 PM
Had a look back through the thread. I never understood the hype with this lad, he was only ever a poor enough player with a good agent at the youth team of a big Italian club, so I feel my fairly consistent cynicism throughout the thread in terms of his Ireland prospects has aged well!

He came through at centre back in an era when we seem to have produced more decent CBs than I can ever remember us producing at one time. The likes of O'Shea, Omobamidele and Collins are miles ahead of him now, Masterson and Scales - the other two who were chosen ahead of him - are on course for better careers too, albeit probably in the lower leagues or SPL.

But Nolan has been with teams in Italy, Spain, England and now Scotland, including Serie C and League 2 teams, and has yet to find a level he is actually good enough to consistently play at. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if he turns out to be not good enough for the Scottish Championship either. Doesn't sound like he got off to a great start yesterday.

Best of luck to him and there's probably book or a newspaper spread in his somewhat alternative career route, but he's never going to be an Ireland player, he's nowhere near good enough unfortunately.

Its probably a lesson for us not to get carried away with the liks of Zefi and Heffernan just because they are at big Italian clubs.

Olé Olé
01/08/2022, 5:03 PM
Its probably a lesson for us not to get carried away with the liks of Zefi and Heffernan just because they are at big Italian clubs.

Anyone getting "carried away" is probably doing so based on the fact that they have featured for senior teams and have looked good at underage level for Ireland, Zefi particularly. The Italian moves came on the back of these things. It was the other way around for Nolan - he came on the radar because he was Irish and because he was at Inter.

12/03/2023, 12:36 PM
Good interview with Nolan in the independent today ahead of their Scottish cup game against Rangers
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/it-can-all-be-taken-away-from-you-in-a-second-ex-inter-milan-defender-ryan-nolan-on-comeback-trail-at-raith-rovers-42382000.html

Trequartista20
15/07/2023, 11:18 AM
Leaves Raith Rovers for Spanish Division 4 Group 5 side Hércules.

https://herculesdealicantecf.net/ryan-nolan-es-blanquiazul/

Yard of Pace
16/07/2023, 12:27 AM
Leaves Raith Rovers for Spanish Division 4 Group 5 side Hércules.

https://herculesdealicantecf.net/ryan-nolan-es-blanquiazul/

Hércules and a love affair? Doubtful at this stage.

texidub
17/07/2023, 6:13 PM
I hope he's up to the task. There's no doubt it will take a big effort.

18/07/2023, 2:38 PM
I had to get my Atlas out just to see where he's going.

07/05/2024, 8:46 AM
promoted to the Primera Federación in Spain, basically the third division, after topping Group 3 in the Segunda Federación with Hercules
Noticed that, according to wikipedia, their stadium holds 30,000. That's more than twice the size of the next biggest stadium in the division - Lleida Esportiu's Camp d'Esports holds 13,500

13/09/2024, 8:27 PM
Announced on Instagram last week that he was leaving Hercules, and signed for Larne today
https://larnefc.com/invermen-add-defender-nolan/