View Full Version : Limerick Desmond League 2018/19
Pages :
[
16]
12/06/2019, 8:54 PM
On a side note, with the kennedy cup on I see south dublin pulled out ant a team from belfast went in.
There are now 3 schoolboy trams from Limerick and only 2 from Dublin , beggers belief, imo county and Desmond should join together .
I'm open to correction but I think South Dublin have joined up with DDSL.
12/06/2019, 9:29 PM
SDFL amalgamated with the DDSL early this year. made reference to it in the Schoolboys Section. I could be wrong, very wrong, but I think that particular SDFL age-group has struggled for a few years, effectively losing an almost full team last year. My lad was on the 2006 SDFL squad until we moved, and afaik they played all their games in the SFAI subway championships, so I suggest this might be just a blip.
There's room for a properly functioning South Dublin, North Dublin and SDFL imo.
Kennycon
12/06/2019, 9:48 PM
On a side note, with the kennedy cup on I see south dublin pulled out ant a team from belfast went in.
There are now 3 schoolboy trams from Limerick and only 2 from Dublin , beggers belief, imo county and Desmond should join together .
Desmond, county and district should just join up , Galway have just one team in it
Ballistinianlad
13/06/2019, 9:19 AM
I think the district is big enough and has stronger clubs like ashling. Fairview etc to remain on its own.
Desmond and county would benefit from joining but a lot would depend on the coach to make sure there’s no political picks etc
Do Kildimo have an exceptionally good u14 team. 9 players in the Kennedy cup squad is some achievement
robotwarsfan
13/06/2019, 8:51 PM
I think the district is big enough and has stronger clubs like ashling. Fairview etc to remain on its own.
Desmond and county would benefit from joining but a lot would depend on the coach to make sure there’s no political picks etc
Do Kildimo have an exceptionally good u14 team. 9 players in the Kennedy cup squad is some achievement
Strong enough. Got a few players in from a neighboring club this year both of whom made Kennedy cup. Management also from kildimo so read what you will. Tough group but performed poorly
Shearer
14/06/2019, 9:05 AM
Desmond League winners get a bye into the Quarter Final of the Munster Champions Trophy. Mick's and Janesboro drew each other in the first round so the likelihood of drawing a top, top team is lesser thankfully.
Gazza29
14/06/2019, 11:35 AM
Desmond League winners get a bye into the Quarter Final of the Munster Champions Trophy. Mick's and Janesboro drew each other in the first round so the likelihood of drawing a top, top team is lesser thankfully.
Are Rathkeale guaranteed the league if they win this weekend
Shearer
14/06/2019, 12:10 PM
Are Rathkeale guaranteed the league if they win this weekend
Abbeyfeale could still win it, but they literally cannot put a foot wrong in their last five games. I'll give a proper look at it soon, but the long and short of it is if Rathkeale beat Abbeyfeale it's curtains.
Griffo
14/06/2019, 4:42 PM
Abbeyfeale could still win it, but they literally cannot put a foot wrong in their last five games. I'll give a proper look at it soon, but the long and short of it is if Rathkeale beat Abbeyfeale it's curtains.
1, Rathkeale P15 Points 43
2, Abbey P13 Points 34
3, Broadford P13 Points 31
All three teams still to play each other.
Shearer
15/06/2019, 8:42 PM
Just a bit of concern regarding the fixturing.
After tomorrow Rathkeale will have one league game left.
If they make them play their last league game next week are they going to have to train away for a League Cup Semi that might not happen until next season, or best case scenario is still probably weeks away? Or will they push their final game out to coincide with everyone else's and play the league cup then which also leaves them with a few weeks off.
I could be completely off the mark here, would appreciate input.
Shearer
16/06/2019, 11:05 AM
Before today, Rathkeale's last loss in the league was at home to Abbeyfeale on December 3rd, 2017. That's a run of 28 games without a loss.
sportsfanatic
17/06/2019, 10:51 AM
Fair going. Are Abbey playing Broadford this weekend, I think they still have to play each other - could be wrong though. Huge game if they are, didn’t think title race would be this close and with 3 teams, fair play to the three of them.
Relegation looks like KB are going to go down. People wrote off Ballingarry very early, they have obviously turned things around winning majority of their games after xmas.
AK and Adare up to Premier next year, I’m interested to see how they get on and if they can stay up. It’s a huge step up from division 1.
Ballistinianlad
17/06/2019, 11:28 AM
Very interesting title race.
I still think Rathkeale will get over the line.
Fair play to adare and Ak. I think they will probably hold their own against the weaker premier sides and have a good chance of staying up.
Crazy to see Athea gone down to div 2. Always a premier side or top div 1 side.
Gazza29
17/06/2019, 4:23 PM
Quick question lads, who are Carraig United. The future chairman of the Limerick Desmond League seems to think that they play in the Premier Division. Another Fake News merchant I think
Ballistinianlad
17/06/2019, 7:01 PM
Quick question lads, who are Carraig United. The future chairman of the Limerick Desmond League seems to think that they play in the Premier Division. Another Fake News merchant I think
Who’s that. ?
Shearer
17/06/2019, 7:07 PM
Who’s that. ?
Our Facebook friend.
Gazza29
17/06/2019, 7:23 PM
Who’s that. ?
You are still his favourite though :) :)
He will only go for chairman though if the current chairman is stepping down. He won’t run against him though because he doesn’t want to upset anyone, even though most would say that he was the reason the recent dispute escalated to the level that it did
Ballistinianlad
17/06/2019, 10:16 PM
I can’t actually see his latest posts. Which page are they going up on till I get a laugh
Ballistinianlad
18/06/2019, 8:23 AM
He would want to stick to being a butcher or whatever it is he does. Desmond league is bad enough without him running things. Sure he couldn’t even run a Garda checkpoints page lol
LimkRef
18/06/2019, 9:02 AM
[best of luck to rathkeale]
Ballistinianlad
18/06/2019, 11:48 AM
Who have Rathkeale left to play
Shearer
18/06/2019, 12:20 PM
Who have Rathkeale left to play
Abbeyfeale at home and Granagh away, in that order.
Ballistinianlad
19/06/2019, 11:34 AM
Oh abbey and Rathkeale should be a cracker.
GreenGold19
23/06/2019, 11:40 AM
Ballingarry 8-0 against Kildimo
Foxynob44
23/06/2019, 12:07 PM
Hearing Abbey losing 2-0 to Broadford in league & Rathkeale losing 3-2 against Ncw in league cup with 10 mins to go
fanaticfan
23/06/2019, 12:36 PM
Broadford beat Abbey 2-1 in the league and Newcastle West Town beat Rathkeale 3-2 in the league cup semi
sportsfanatic
23/06/2019, 2:49 PM
If Abbey beat Rathkeale Friday evening, we have a 3 way play off for league??? You couldn’t write it!! Be finished just in time for pre season :)
Shearer
23/06/2019, 8:35 PM
8 wins in a row for Broadford, three of their last five games have been wins over Abbeyfeale or Rathkeale. Unbelievable.
Title still in Rathkeale's hands though, just have to get a result off of Abbeyfeale and a win over Granagh.
westernflow
23/06/2019, 10:09 PM
Some going from Broadford. Rathkeale dumped out of cup too, break hasn't helped them at all. I assume none of the 1-1 draws were actually played. Teams must be struggling with holidays. Well we get 3 cup finals played?
last man back
24/06/2019, 7:15 AM
I'd say we can forget about Desmond Cup,only 2 weekends left if 7th July is the deadline. Committee must be praying Rathkeale get a point Friday night.
Griffo
24/06/2019, 10:44 AM
I'd say we can forget about Desmond Cup,only 2 weekends left if 7th July is the deadline. Committee must be praying Rathkeale get a point Friday night.
Not all the committee!
last man back
24/06/2019, 2:16 PM
Haha that’s true !!!
Desmond18
24/06/2019, 8:42 PM
Who have Broadford left to play ? I heard today that the league having to be finished by 7th July is not true ? I’m sure clubs would like to play out all cups & just push out the start of next season by a few weeks. League cups should be scrapped from next season ... complete waste of time in my opinion. Take Glin for example ... I presume they haven’t played there last two league games so are they still waiting to play Desmond Cup semi ??
Cruyff
24/06/2019, 9:15 PM
Anyone else notice that there's one premier division game fixed for Monday and the rest are on Sunday?
Cruyff
24/06/2019, 9:19 PM
Anyone else notice that there's one premier division game fixed for Monday and the rest are on Sunday?
The optics aren't great
sportsfanatic
24/06/2019, 9:31 PM
Last two games have to be played together I thought as per rule? Only reason I can see this being put back to Monday is that a Carrig won’t have a team Sunday because of Munster final (or maybe abbey won’t ha).
Look it’s not the first time fixtures will go abbeys way, just take a look at the start of every season first 4 out of 5 games are at home to give them the best possible chance of getting a good start which we all know is everything in this league.
twotouch
24/06/2019, 9:55 PM
Per rule of the Desmond league last 2 fixtures must all be played together how abbey have a pass in this case is beyond me. They should be playing at 10am the same as all other teams regardless of nothing
fanaticfan
25/06/2019, 12:17 AM
On the ldfl website abbey are playing carrig on tuesday not Monday. Its ridiculous. Rules are there. Last 2 matches should be played at the same time.
noconnor16
25/06/2019, 12:38 AM
Division 1 league cup final on Saturday 7pm
Griffo
25/06/2019, 6:40 AM
You nearly have to admire the blatant disregard of others opinions and the lengths certain committee members will go to for their club. I’m sure all it will do will fire up opposition teams even more so and be counter productive.
Desmond18
25/06/2019, 12:38 PM
You nearly have to admire the blatant disregard of others opinions and the lengths certain committee members will go to for their club. I’m sure all it will do will fire up opposition teams even more so and be counter productive.
Great to see them beaten last weekend 😂😂
Johnnie C
25/06/2019, 7:01 PM
Division 1 League Cup Final between Adare and Breska will be streamed live on Full Time Productions Facebook page from 6.45 on Saturday evening.
More live streams to follow in the 2019/2020 season.
Gazza29
28/06/2019, 9:48 AM
Let’s hope for a classic in Rathkeale tonight, it’s a great conclusion to the premier league
Griffo
28/06/2019, 9:41 PM
Rathkeale win 2-0. Clinical performance from them. A point Sunday and they’ll be crowned champions.
Shearer
28/06/2019, 9:44 PM
Real bouncebackability from Rathkeale tonight, just a point away to Granagh and that's that.
Maybe the League might do their job and actually apply the rules to Abbeyfeale and make them play their final game against Carrig on Sunday at the same time as everyone else just like every other team in every other division in the entire Desmond League had to.
Just a thought.
Edit: KB/Kildimo, Abbeyfeale/Carrig and Ballingarry/Glin have all split the points of their final game according to the league website which has already been updated.
Foxynob44
29/06/2019, 5:59 PM
Great crowd at the Rathkeale/Abbey Match last night, along time since a DL match had a crowd that big, some big calls made by the Rathkeale management, especially dropping Harnett but were full vindicated as their Captain in the heart of midfield was the Man of the match in helping drive them to victory in my opinion.
Will the league & Desmond cups be finished this season does anyone know?.
last man back
29/06/2019, 6:10 PM
5 games will finish both cups. Get them completed and start fresh Mid September and let things settle after an eventful season
Johnnie C
30/06/2019, 12:10 AM
Rathkeale champs, assuming Granagh gave a walkover. Fixing games on day of Munster Final not a great idea. Next Friday would have been more suitable.
fanaticfan
30/06/2019, 9:15 AM
Rathkeale are champions. Granagh gave a walk over. Broadford and Newcastle called a 1 all draw.
Gazza29
30/06/2019, 9:51 AM
Broadford not too happy going by their fb page. They have a point, disgraceful behaviour from Granagh. I’m sure Rathkeale would also have wanted a game to have a proper trophy presentation