View Full Version : Games 29-30 June
01/07/2018, 9:56 AM
Now now, we've been over this. :)
Let's not have two Ezeikials; I think that would drive everyone away and be the end of the forum.
01/07/2018, 10:54 AM
How many league winning medals does Rogers have?
Djimi Traore has a Champions League medal. I don't think that puts him in the same bracket as Lionel Messi though.
Ezeikial
01/07/2018, 12:38 PM
Ez is a tad bit upset that I suggested Waterford (and Cork) had better goalkeeping options on the bench than Euro Calamity Rogers and Dropsy Sava.
Upset? certainly not
Probably more astonished, amused or bewildered by your claim that Niall Corbet (and Peter Cherrie) are both better goalkeepers than Gary Rogers.
It was pretty hilarious that when called out on it, you moderated your claim to say that you thought Corbet had more potential!!!
Ezeikial
01/07/2018, 12:41 PM
Now now, we've been over this. :)
Let's not have two Ezeikials; I think that would drive everyone away and be the end of the forum.
Translation might be - "lets not have anyone else challenge me on the ludicrous claims I make"
Maybe the forum could be saved if you were restored to your Moderating job, Stu?
01/07/2018, 3:49 PM
Stephen Bradley though.
RathfarnhamHoop
01/07/2018, 4:10 PM
Stephen Bradley though.
He does a good enough job of bringing Bradley up in completely irrelevant conversations without your help thank you very much nigel
Ezeikial
01/07/2018, 5:20 PM
He does a good enough job of bringing Bradley up in completely irrelevant conversations without your help thank you very much nigel
LOL
Like in the thread called "Stephen Bradley interview in the independent" that you started recently?
RathfarnhamHoop
01/07/2018, 5:30 PM
LOL
Like in the thread called "Stephen Bradley interview in the independent" that you started recently?
A rovers fan starting a thread about an interview their manager did that covers some fairly important issues surrounding players being sent abroad at 15/16, yeah I can definitely see your point that's definitely the exact same as how you could bring him up in a conversation about fair city.
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2018, 7:37 PM
Dundalks goalkeeper choice makes plenty of sense form the perspective of Dundalk supporters who have experienced winning leagues and FAI Cups in addition to consistent European qualification under Kenny. While Dundalk folk would be unlikely to contemplate change currently, what pineapple stu alludes to is an interesting suggestion that Dundalk could possibly achieve more with the current crop of players with better goallkeepers than Rodgers and Sava - it is unlikely that the thesis will be tested
However, in the event of Dundalk receding and going a season or two without winning a trophy, the Dundalk support may become more impatient with the Kenny choice of goalkeepers.
Ezeikial
01/07/2018, 7:48 PM
Dundalks goalkeeper choice makes plenty of sense form the perspective of Dundalk supporters who have experienced winning leagues and FAI Cups in addition to consistent European qualification under Kenny. While Dundalk folk would be unlikely to contemplate change currently, what pineapple stu alludes to is an interesting suggestion that Dundalk could possibly achieve more with the current crop of players with better goallkeepers than Rodgers and Sava - it is unlikely that the thesis will be tested
However, in the event of Dundalk receding and going a season or two without winning a trophy, the Dundalk support may become more impatient with the Kenny choice of goalkeepers.
https://qph.fs.quoracdn.net/main-qimg-d4b54b7c6e9a737c281fc6a4ae981d1d
Ezeikial
01/07/2018, 7:54 PM
interesting suggestion that Dundalk could possibly achieve more with the current crop of players with better goallkeepers than Rodgers and Sava -
It is probably a tad churlish to point out the flaw in your well thought out post - it hardly has escaped your notice that Dundalk are currently top of the league and bookies favourties to regain the title.
You may also be aware that on the goalkeeping front Dundalk have conceded the least goals of any team and have the most clean sheets.
A specific statistic about Gary Rogers that you may not be aware of, is that he has 15 clean sheets in 22 league games - an almost incredible shut out rate of 68%.
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2018, 8:31 PM
https://qph.fs.quoracdn.net/main-qimg-d4b54b7c6e9a737c281fc6a4ae981d1d
;) ...
Real ale Madrid
01/07/2018, 8:33 PM
It is probably a tad churlish to point out the flaw in your well thought out post - it hardly has escaped your notice that Dundalk are currently top of the league and bookies favourties to regain the title.
You may also be aware that on the goalkeeping front Dundalk have conceded the least goals of any team and have the most clean sheets.
A specific statistic about Gary Rogers that you may not be aware of, is that he has 15 clean sheets in 22 league games - an almost incredible shut out rate of 68%.
Jesus Ezeikal i was only having the craic. McNulty is better than Rodgers and that's good enough for me.
02/07/2018, 7:39 AM
McNulty is better than Rodgers and that's good enough for me.
His pass to Hoban first visit Oriel was sublime indeed!
Real ale Madrid
02/07/2018, 8:11 AM
His pass to Hoban first visit Oriel was sublime indeed!
Ha! Sure he was only helping him settle back in.
In fairness to Hoban he bursts himself during games, really gives it 100% - has been a great signing for ye even if his strike rate v tops teams is poor.
White Horse
02/07/2018, 8:20 AM
Ha! Sure he was only helping him settle back in.
In fairness to Hoban he bursts himself during games, really gives it 100% - has been a great signing for ye even if his strike rate v tops teams is poor.
Eh? He has scored against Cork, Shamrock Rovers, Derry, and Waterford.
02/07/2018, 8:20 AM
Tad bit random. Any particular reason for that comment? Matthew is a young local lad with a fair amount of potential and is number one, doing well too mind you.
Seen Matthew play for Irish colleges a few weeks ago, really good keeper
Real ale Madrid
02/07/2018, 8:35 AM
Eh? He has scored against Cork, Shamrock Rovers, Derry, and Waterford.
Has 2 goals in 8 games v teams in the top 4. Hasn't scored v Waterford. One of those was a very kind settling in gift from McNulty. Top player though and its a bit selective and I'm sure it will improve.
02/07/2018, 11:40 AM
Good win for rovers very comfortable 2 nil
Really was, wasn't it? Another routine loss for Derry, mostly down to brutal defending. Only light of the night was the new Canadian siging, Ben Fisk, who had a decent game.
One issue at Tallaght, couldn't take a backpack in. Pretty ridiculous stuff, and the stewards didn't seem to have an explanation as to why. They seemed a bit embarassed about it, TBF.
RathfarnhamHoop
02/07/2018, 12:57 PM
Really was, wasn't it? Another routine loss for Derry, mostly down to brutal defending. Only light of the night was the new Canadian siging, Ben Fisk, who had a decent game.
One issue at Tallaght, couldn't take a backpack in. Pretty ridiculous stuff, and the stewards didn't seem to have an explanation as to why. They seemed a bit embarassed about it, TBF.
Its the new stadium regs that all the stadiums that host big events in Dublin,might be everywhere but definitely dublin, are using now. Usually they just check the bags though
sbgawa
02/07/2018, 1:09 PM
Yes its ridiculous I was queuing up and a family of Filipinos who were obviously on a first time visit (I'm guessing from all the family stuff advertised) were told the Maldron would take their bag....I did wonder would they bother coming back from the Maldren as the dad looked cheesed off.
AFAIK it was a directive from the FAI some time ago.
Are other grounds also at this or are we just being best boys in class?
Regarding the match your best midfielder has left and McEneff was suspended so I thought we should be winning but didn't expect it to be so easy.
Sheils was roaring at them for more effort especially to cover back (lots of looking away) but they seemed very low on confidence and just praying something would happen rather than going for it.
I thought Fisk looked excellent if he keeps playing at that level and you get a couple in the improvement will be quick
Asterix
02/07/2018, 1:47 PM
Its the Guards enforcing the bag rule at Tallaght. Been in place for over a year now.
03/07/2018, 4:16 PM
Its the Guards enforcing the bag rule at Tallaght. Been in place for over a year now.
Bit pointless considering women can still bring their handbags in?
thebronze14
04/07/2018, 5:19 PM
Yes its ridiculous I was queuing up and a family of Filipinos who were obviously on a first time visit (I'm guessing from all the family stuff advertised) were told the Maldron would take their bag....I did wonder would they bother coming back from the Maldren as the dad looked cheesed off.
AFAIK it was a directive from the FAI some time ago.
Are other grounds also at this or are we just being best boys in class?
Regarding the match your best midfielder has left and McEneff was suspended so I thought we should be winning but didn't expect it to be so easy.
Sheils was roaring at them for more effort especially to cover back (lots of looking away) but they seemed very low on confidence and just praying something would happen rather than going for it.
I thought Fisk looked excellent if he keeps playing at that level and you get a couple in the improvement will be quick
I'm calling in to Harps and Drogs on Friday on the way back to Donegal on Friday night. Do any Drogs fans reckon I'll have any hassle with them or will the local pub take them if not?
RathfarnhamHoop
04/07/2018, 6:41 PM
Bit pointless considering women can still bring their handbags in?
Its bags bigger than A4 that aren't allowed
04/07/2018, 7:28 PM
I'm calling in to Harps and Drogs on Friday on the way back to Donegal on Friday night. Do any Drogs fans reckon I'll have any hassle with them or will the local pub take them if not?
I'm sure they'll be happy to let in as many Filipinos as you like.
thebronze14
04/07/2018, 9:55 PM
I'm sure they'll be happy to let in as many Filipinos as you like.
Haha! Well played!
sbgawa
04/07/2018, 10:01 PM
I knew that guy was heading somewhere else