View Full Version : Songs for the weekend!!!!
Got to get the first one on here
"Shalom, my friend,
Shalom, My Friend
Shalllllllllllooooooooommmmmmm
Shhhaaalllllllllllllllooooooooooooooommmmmmm
The Peace of Christ I Give You Today
Shaallllllommmmm
SShhhhhaaaallllllloooommm"
Quickly followed by,
"Da Da Da
Da Da Da Da Da
Start Spreading the News,
He's Starting today,
He's Gonna Score a goal for us
Keano, KEANO,
IF HE CAN, (duh, duh)
SCORE FROM THERE
HE'LL SCORE FROM, (duh, duh)
ANNNYWHERE,
IT'S UP TO YOU
KEANO,KEEAANNOOOOOOOOOO
da, da ,da, etc etc...."
Etc etc etc
etc,"
bling bling
23/03/2005, 8:00 AM
It being close to the Holy Land and all that what about this to the tune of Little Donkey :
Little Duffer Little Duffer
On the dusty road
Keep on scoring Little Duffer
We are almost there ........
Ring out your bells tonight
Da-mi-an Duff Da-mi-an Duff
Score us a goal tonight
Da-mi-an Duff Da-mi-an Duff
etc etc
Babysis
23/03/2005, 10:32 AM
The best song from Paris could be a good one:
"There's only one robbie Keane
He's proud to wear the Green
He wont f**k off like that Kn*cker from cork
Walking in a Keano wonderland"
Made me smile anyway :D
23/03/2005, 10:37 AM
The best song from Paris could be a good one:
"There's only one robbie Keane
He's proud to wear the Green
He wont f**k off like that Kn*cker from cork
Walking in a Keano wonderland"
Made me smile anyway :D
one of the best babysis i have to say.... :D
the first 2, great, i will be listening out for them :D
Eire06
23/03/2005, 10:39 AM
WE ARE GREEN
WE ARE WHITE
WE AINT GOT NO DYNAMITE
:eek: :o
Your a brave one...
23/03/2005, 10:53 AM
Do you not think that a song that unites us rather than divides us woudl be the best
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 12:47 PM
Do you not think that a song that unites us rather than divides us woudl be the best
Excellent point, it seems some of us wish to dwell on the past rather than support our team.
Babysis
23/03/2005, 12:50 PM
It is only a song. Certainly didnt do any harm getting people behind the team in Paris. :)
Eire06
23/03/2005, 12:53 PM
It is only a song. Certainly didnt do any harm getting people behind the team in Paris. :)
I refused to sing it in Paris even tought everyone else did :mad:
But it was funny a whole train singing it in the subway.. just a bit of fun.. But still I wouldn't sing it :rolleyes:
Babysis
23/03/2005, 12:57 PM
Thats fair enough. Everyone has their views on what happened, and thats not what this thread is about. This was a good song, and one i will have no problem singing when we go to the Faroe's but there will be some im sure who wont. Each to their own and all that :)
Babysis
23/03/2005, 1:14 PM
B0ll0cks each to their own.This is what the English fans do,slate off their own players because they're from a different club or whatever,exactly the same as you're doing with Roy Keane.If you can't get behind the whole team don't bother supporting them then. :D
So beacuse Im not in the Roy Keane fan club Im not entitled to support Ireland?? :mad:
I dont like him. I dont like, I dont like the way he picks when he is worthy to grace the team with his presence. This is not a thread on roy Keane, its a thread on songs.
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 1:34 PM
This is not a thread on roy Keane, its a thread on songs.
Yes and songs of support not derision. Whatever Roy Keane has done in the past should be set to one side when he wears the green jersey. We should be singing songs in support of the team that Brian Kerr picks, either support the whole team or protest in silence. Hence the term "supporter".
Of course you have the right to hold whatever view you wish on R keane but an important away match is not the place to express such opinions.
Lets all sing united for at least 90 minutes and help our team get 3 points.
Babysis
23/03/2005, 1:35 PM
Ok, its not just me starting some mass movement against Roy Keane. I support ireland whole heartedly and give my all. I dont agree with him being in the team, nor the disruption he has caused, nor the disgusting things he said about 2gs. But all of that aside, Its a harmless little song, so fair play to Che for singing it outside the Stade du France. :)
23/03/2005, 1:38 PM
What did he say about 2gs,
I think the point is that songs about Ireland should be supporting the team and not supporting one player over the other. We should be united in our support for the team and the songs we sing express that.
i am all for a bit of craic and songs like we all dream of a team of gary breens is good fun
but calling someone a knacker from cork in a song is not song of support.
I would feel the same about any player it just happens to be roy keane in this case.
Maybe the reason you find it funny is becuase you carry all those views in relation to Roy keane
Babysis
23/03/2005, 1:41 PM
What did he say about 2gs,
I think the point is that songs about Ireland should be supporting the team and not supporting one player over the other. We should be united in our support for the team and the songs we sing express that.
i am all for a bit of craic and songs like we all dream of a team of gary breens is good fun
but calling someone a knacker from cork in a song is not song of support.
I would feel the same about any player it just happens to be roy keane in this case.
Maybe the reason you find it funny is becuase you carry all those views in relation to Roy keane
Fair Point. :)
Eire06
23/03/2005, 1:59 PM
I don't think that song should be sang at Ireland matches cause it is putting down a member of our team.. Is the point of singing and cheering not to get behind your team and if possible intimidate the other team... Not pick on one of our own...
He is in the team wether you like it or not.. and He does work hard for the team and I don't think we'd be doing as well as we have been without him...
Have a solution though
you can sing
"There's only one Keano"...
Both sides can sing this one :D
Karlos
23/03/2005, 2:07 PM
Likewise booing opposition players does nothing for the support of our team but still we'll have 33,000 (minus a handful) doing it to Pires in September or when the next Rangers lads come along for a kick about in Lansdowne or indeed cheering Christiano Ronaldo for that matter as has happened recently but alot of us still do it :rolleyes:
For christ sake - all the fun has been taken out of football - you can't boo, you can't sing a funny song, you can barely scratch yourself these days!
One thing that has been great about Irish fans for years is the tone in which we sing our songs! They are not agressive, they are fun filled and (heaven forbid) we'd even make 'god save the queen' sound not even slightly agressive. It's football, not a night at the opera - give the opposition stick if they cheat, sing funny songs, have a drink, cheer the football - just enjoy yourself and don't cross the line into serious personal abuse.
having heard the Keane song in Paris I am in no doubt as to the context it was sung in. If 30,000 Irish lads are singing (as in Paris) it can give the team nothing but a lift. I'd be more worried about guys who booed and abused an Irish manager at Lansdowne Road than the singers of a song in jest.
rant over
apologies!
Babysis
23/03/2005, 3:01 PM
Its as good as any i guess :D
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 3:05 PM
Have a solution though
you can sing
"There's only one Keano"...
Both sides can sing this one :D
excellent, an Irish solution to an Irish problem :)
Eire06
23/03/2005, 3:08 PM
how about..
to the tune of one road
We're on the one road,
sharing the one load
We're on the road to Germany
We're on the one road, it may be long road
but were wining all the way..
Duffer, Keano, Given and all!
Dublin, Galway, Cork or Donegal!
We're on the one road, singing along, singin' Irelands song
:rolleyes: Waiting for the complaints about it being a republican song
but I think it has a good tune to it, could be worded better but I'm no Phil Coulter ;)
Karlos
23/03/2005, 3:18 PM
how about..
to the tune of one road
We're on the one road,
sharing the one load
but I think it has a good tune to it, could be worded better but I'm no Phil Coulter ;)
yep thumbs up here! I think that would work nicely!
23/03/2005, 3:25 PM
I think you should sing songs that support your team. I can understand the keane song been sung in jest. In addition I think booing a player that tried to cheat us i.e. Pires is perfectly acceptable, however booing him because he is french or because he is black or jewish or because he plays for Arsenal is wrong. I think everybody at the game realised he was been booed cause he had dived and for no other reason.
Finally I think booing a manager because you want him out is one of the few democratic rights that a suporter has. I think if you are supporting your club and you hold protests etc to get a manager sacked is ok in my book, as long as it is done after the game and does not affect the performance on the pitch.
The song about the 2 Keanos is a song in jest and should be taken that way, my worry is that some of the people how find it so funny do so for the comments about Roy keane more than the comments about Robbie Keane
zinedineontour
23/03/2005, 3:29 PM
ah will people ever get off there high horse its only a bit of crack. We would not be singing songs like them at the game but good crack in the pubs beforehand. Oh lets sing all happy ole ole songs what a fun bunch we are !
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 3:32 PM
Phil counter is muck, your effort much better
how about..
to the tune of one road
We're on the one road,
sharing the one load
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 3:35 PM
ah will people ever get off there high horse its only a bit of crack. We would not be singing songs like them at the game but good crack in the pubs beforehand. Oh lets sing all happy ole ole songs what a fun bunch we are !
Well sometimes its not much craic, saw several punch ups at the games in Japan
started by that kind of chant. I agree with you about the Ole olé, hate that chant.
blobbyblob
23/03/2005, 3:36 PM
Is this the way to Germany oh?
Every night ive been hugging my pillow
Dreaming dreams of Germany oh
And Robbie Keane who scores for me
Show me the way to Germany oh
Ive been weeping like a willow
Crying over Germany Oh
Sha la la la la la la Keano
Eire06
23/03/2005, 3:36 PM
Phil counter is muck, your effort much better
]yep thumbs up here! I think that would work nicely!
Why thank you ;) think I'll copyright it now :D
It has givin me the inspiration leave my job now and become a song writer....
Not like I do anything but mess on the internet anyway.. Anyone have Louis Walsh's number have a great ballad for Westlife.. :cool:
zinedineontour
23/03/2005, 3:39 PM
fair enough people still get heated about the keano songs nearly get a box out in dublin one night for singing that keane song ... just think we dont have enough songs at games and it does end up ole ole or stand up for the boys in green which ****ed me off in paris cause would rather have stood for the whole game or sat for whole game instead of all the up down **** .. its a good song if maybe done once a half or something
23/03/2005, 3:40 PM
would rather have stood for the whole game
So stand, there's nothing to say you have to sit down again at the end.
zinedineontour
23/03/2005, 3:42 PM
apart from the whole row behind me shouting sit down !
Eire06
23/03/2005, 3:43 PM
So stand, there's nothing to say you have to sit down again at the end.
well unless you start sit down for the boys in Green... :rolleyes:
remember that one outside O'Sullivans very early the next morning repeatidly being sang and everyone sitting on the ground.. Was very funny at the time :D
Beavis
how about..
to the tune of one road
We're on the one road,
sharing the one load
Were on the One Road is a great song, I still sing it at every game. Not remotely republican. I will still sing republican songs from the past because our history involved a republican struggle which I am proud of. However songs celebrating the provos/any present day paramilitary organisations, I would not associate with.
blobbyblob
When the day is dawning,
and three more points are callin'
How I long to be there
When Robbie Keane scores for me
Every lonely city
Where i hang my hat
Aint as half as pretty,
As where my Keanos at
Crying over Germany Oh
Babysis
23/03/2005, 3:48 PM
How about we all sing whatever we feel like, have a great trip and a bit of craic, and not take ourselves too seriously. Only a suggestion like ;)
Eire06
23/03/2005, 3:49 PM
Were on the One Road is a great song, I still sing it at every game. Not remotely republican. I will still sing republican songs from the past because our history involved a republican struggle which I am proud of. However songs celebrating the provos/any present day paramilitary organisations, I would not associate with.
I love the song.. My comment was sarcastic, as you prob know there's certain people on here that are disgusted and outraged by republican songs...
Sure some of the consider the national anthem offensive, republican ect ect.. load of crap but let them off...
Now back on topic before this turns into ANOTHER debate on the north south devide..
blobbyblob great song.. Can't stop singing that tune at the mo :D
Eire06
23/03/2005, 3:50 PM
How about we all sing whatever we feel like, have a great trip and a bit of craic, and not take ourselves too seriously. Only a suggestion like ;)
Oh no we have to get the harmonys right :rolleyes:
Babysis
23/03/2005, 3:53 PM
Oh no we have to get the harmonys right :rolleyes:
Ah dont, there will be a few who will take your sarcasm as being offensive. :D Why dont we nominate an official sing along committee, keep everyone in line, upkeep pc ness etc :rolleyes: :D
only messing - good song by the way, gets my vote :D
Sorry for starting this thread, hope we're all still friends. Typical us Irish take our Sing-Song's just a bit too seriously. But i still think my "Shalom" song is the business for the weekend, remember in Rapongi, Toyko, when all the police were lined up outside Paddy Foleys and everyone sang, "Ari-gateaux, Ari-gateaux, Ari-gateaux Nipon, Ariiiiiii-gateaux niiiiipon". Loosely translated to "Thank You Japan". feckin class!
The Shalom Song is quite apt for Israel, we just need to get one good line instead of "The Peace of Christ i give you today"
"Shalom, my friend,
Shalom, my friend,
Shhhhaaalllllooom
Shhhhaaaallllllooommmm,
23/03/2005, 4:11 PM
fair enough people still get heated about the keano songs nearly get a box out in dublin one night for singing that keane song ... just think we dont have enough songs at games and it does end up ole ole or stand up for the boys in green which ****ed me off in paris cause would rather have stood for the whole game or sat for whole game instead of all the up down **** .. its a good song if maybe done once a half or something
Yeah I agree there is a dirth of good songs at the moment, used to always here at least a few bars of "one road" on away trips
Babysis
23/03/2005, 4:12 PM
Sorry for starting this thread, hope we're all still friends. Typical us Irish take our Sing-Song's just a bit too seriously. But i still think my "Shalom" song is the business for the weekend, remember in Rapongi, Toyko, when all the police were lined up outside Paddy Foleys and everyone sang, "Ari-gateaux, Ari-gateaux, Ari-gateaux Nipon, Ariiiiiii-gateaux niiiiipon". Loosely translated to "Thank You Japan". feckin class!
The Shalom Song is quite apt for Israel, we just need to get one good line instead of "The Peace of Christ i give you today"
"Shalom, my friend,
Shalom, my friend,
Shhhhaaalllllooom
Shhhhaaaallllllooommmm,
Eire06
23/03/2005, 4:15 PM
Sorry for starting this thread, hope we're all still friends. Typical us Irish take our Sing-Song's just a bit too seriously.
Don't be sorry think its a great thread..
who's takin it seriously..
Most of my 'Serious' lookin comments were sarcistic..
Think we should get a few songs and maybe try to get them started at the next home match :D
Well that might be too soon.. but if we find out who's going and if theres a good crowd in the one place we can get it going..
oh oh we can start a campaign. hand out the lyrics to people before matches... The FAI aren't doin much to help so why don't we take matters into our own hands :D
blobbyblob
23/03/2005, 4:19 PM
When the day is dawning,
How I long to be there
Every lonely city
Where i hang my hat
Aint as half as pretty,
As where my Keanos at
Crying over Germany Oh
Theres a church bell ringing
South Bucket everyones singing
For Brian Kerrs army
And the people whos coming to see her
Just beyond the Dartline
Theres Paddy Cullens and it keeps me going
Through the wind and rain
And Gary Breen who scores for me
Dreamin over Germany Oh
Sha la la la la la la Breeno
Babysis
23/03/2005, 4:20 PM
When the day is dawning,
How I long to be there
Every lonely city
Where i hang my hat
Aint as half as pretty,
As where my Keanos at
Crying over Germany Oh
Theres a church bell ringing
South Bucket everyones singing
For Brian Kerrs army
And the people whos coming to see her
Just beyond the Dartline
Theres Paddy Cullens and it keeps me going
Through the wind and rain
Crying over Germany Oh
Im truely speechless. well done. :D can certainly see the chorus taking off at a game
Cowboy
23/03/2005, 6:56 PM
think you might be onto something there chief, nice one :)
We'll probably all end up in a mass drunken brawl over whether Keane should be back in the team or not!
Anyway, "Team of Gary Breens" is still the most legenday song ever & I always sing the whole thing at the games (to plently of derision from boring home fans).
Here's one we made up in Paris:
To the tune of "Livin on a Prayer"
Oh oh we're halfway there
Oh oh Given is our player
He got great hands
He'll save us I swear
Woh oh Given is our player
It will be sang again in Ramat Gan & he better be on the pitch to appreciate it.
Karlos
24/03/2005, 8:18 AM
In addition I think booing a player that tried to cheat us i.e. Pires is perfectly acceptable.
absolutely agree - I was one of those boo-ing Pires in Paris and will again should he be up to his oul tricks again. Saying that on the other hand I won't be cheering fantastic attempts at diving from our own players either.
Finally I think booing a manager because you want him out is one of the few democratic rights that a suporter has. I think if you are supporting your club and you hold protests etc to get a manager sacked is ok in my book, as long as it is done after the game and does not affect the performance on the pitch.
I do not beleive that boo-ing a manager after a game ( i should clarify that i mean directly after a game has ended and not a protest outside a ground which is a different matter) helps the team that you support. I can't see how 12 or 14 Irishmen leaving Lansdowne Road to a chorus of boo's having played their heart out is good support regardless of who the negativity is aimed at. I was ashamed of the attitude of so many of the 'best fans in the world' after that game against Switzerland. I've no doubts that the reasons some people sing the Keano song (i.e. as a hatred towards Keane) is the exact same reason why others where boo-ing McCarthy (one of our most successful managers, statistically anyway). Pathetic excuse for fans.
I am by no means a fan of Roy Keane but I will not stoop to boo-ing our own players. I'm all for the bit of banter and slagging some of our players get and it's good laugh and let's not take the fun outta the game but resounding chorus of boo's is something I hope to never here again from Irish Fans home or away towards our players or manager.
24/03/2005, 9:48 AM
So how should a group of fans call for the sacking of the manager
24/03/2005, 9:50 AM
I think there should be a sticky with Ireland songs in it. I should be just a thread with full song lyrics with the tune written on the top of it. So people could print them out and learn them off etc. As it is this is a long thread with some gems on it I think a sticky thread with just songs on it and not discussion could be a good reference for supporters etc.
Eire06
24/03/2005, 9:53 AM
I think there should be a sticky with Ireland songs in it. I should be just a thread with full song lyrics with the tune written on the top of it. So people could print them out and learn them off etc. As it is this is a long thread with some gems on it I think a sticky thread with just songs on it and not discussion could be a good reference for supporters etc.
Was just about to post that, a sticky thread with just songs no comments, and peoplle can add to the songs or modify them ect ect group effort :D another thread can be set up for the comments
Karlos
24/03/2005, 10:27 AM
So how should a group of fans call for the sacking of the manager
There are plently of ways that rise above the moronic boo-ing of our own managers and players.
1. Arrange a protest outside the club/organisation's HQ
2. Contibute articles to fanzine's/newspaper's letters pages/ radio phone-in's in support of your argument
3. Be active in a supporter's trust
4. Start a petition
5. Gain consenus that the 'fans' do infact want the manager out (nothing worse than reading than 'fans want Manager sacked' thanks to a handful of boo-ers!)
the list is endless
The problem with using boo-ing to signify your overall argument is that others get involved without realising why you are doing it (particulary youngsters). Were people at the Switzerland game, booing McCarthy, the team, the FAI or all of the above - everyone had their own personal agendas and we're sitting in different parts of the ground - surely this wasn't co-ordinated :confused:
I think if you look at the formation of supporters trusts and action groups in many clubs in the UK it allows the general fan to still support the team wholeheartedly but make their views known on other issues regarding the clubs including directors, managers and administrators etc through regular meetings, protests, attendence at agm's etc.
The problem however may also lie at the foot of the organisation if they do not have clear channels to allow supporters to contribute.
Boo-ing the national team players (or Arsenal for that matter) or management is something I won't do when a clear argument can be made through other channels. It will only ever be used by me as the very last resort. Stadium protests are fine provided that once the action starts it's all about supporting the lads and when the game is over you applaud their efforts and go outside to continue your protest. no bother there.