View Full Version : Instead of Murphy....Who??

12/02/2002, 6:57 AM
Well the Murphy out brigade is out in force, there are a few of us who are not sure what we will get instead, so the question is Who do you want to replace LM? We cannot have Martin O'Neill or Fabio Capello etc, so give the name of someone who, realistically, can be brought in to manage the club.

dalo
12/02/2002, 8:18 AM
if murphy did leave and I would take a very poor view of it if he quit or was sacked. I reckon another city player would get it.

i think the murphy out brigade have this misguided notion that some outside MR BIG will get the job. it ain't goin to happen- there is no pat dolan, liam buckley or jim mclaughlin in the wings waiting for the city job. or would ye prefer that maggot roddy collins to get the job?

most likely jonny c or patsy or deccie would step in and that would be a disaster.

as I say murphy in of the rest of the season

12/02/2002, 9:33 AM
Don O'Riordan.

dalo
12/02/2002, 9:40 AM
interesting choice considering he has manged sligo and galway. Why do you think he could do a good job?

12/02/2002, 10:15 AM
I know people have mentioned Don O'Riordan a lot in the past as a replacement & I had the chance to see his current team in action at tolka on friday night.,

They looked a very young team & except for maybe the last 15 minutes they played very good neat passing football. I think they hadn't a game in something like 4 weeks & so looked very tired near the end of the game.

Sligo looked like a team with a game plan but then again they also lost so it didn't get them very far. Don't know the players names but the central midfielder was impressive as well as Hutchinson at left back & a few ither attacking players.

Not sure if I came away from the game impressed by the sligo tactics & their manager but certainly their general skillful play.

One thing I know, if Liam Murphy is to be replaced theres no point in doing so with Freyne, Caulfield etc....

dalo
12/02/2002, 10:26 AM
as ye all know i still believe murphy should not go just yet. however if it does happen there is little point in looking within the club for a manager as I don't believe the mangerial ablity exists in the club. if murphy has to go then there might as well be a new face come in and the old ones leave

i have no problems with a outsider coming in provided a) he is familar with the national league and is not another dm or colin murphy or rob hindmarch or eamonn o'keeffe

b) he has enjoyed relative success with a club already. i don't really think don o'riordan is in this category. i personally would favour liam buckley or noel king. ideally pat dolan but that is never going to happen.

c) there is noway we can ask dave barry to step in again

12/02/2002, 10:34 AM
Why Don O'Riordan?
I know very little about him, but his name has been mentioned a few times on here.
Can anyone post some info on him?........ Thanks.. :)

dalo
12/02/2002, 10:39 AM
he has manged galway and is currently in charge at sligo. he got galway promoted a few years ago - one of the few teams city constantly stuff. i think he is extremely overated

12/02/2002, 11:48 AM
Originally posted by dalo
i think he is extremely overated
This is coming from the same person who thinks Liam Murphy is the dog's rollix!

12/02/2002, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
Can anyone post some info on him?
This (http://www.sligorovers.com/club/showgrounds/sound_in_the_ground.htm) is just some of the kind of good work Don O'Riordan does with Sligo Rovers. He also 'chats online' on a Wednesday night. Can you imagine our bunch even thinking of that one!

Having said all this. There's probably no way we could attract someone of his calibre to a cowboy outfit like Cork City FC.

The future looks bleak.....

12/02/2002, 11:56 AM
i personally would favour liam buckley

Dalo, I can never take any of your arguements with regard to managers seriously ever again with that comment....... Well I suppose he's likely to be free to take over any day now.....

12/02/2002, 12:04 PM
i personally would favour liam buckley or noel king.
Un-fcukin-believable! This is the sh!t that comes from the people who think all is just fine with Cork City FC.

dalo
12/02/2002, 12:05 PM
Originally posted by Macy

Dalo, I can never take any of your arguements with regard to managers seriously ever again with that comment....... Well I suppose he's likely to be free to take over any day now.....

sorry macy i was thinking about the time he won the league with pat's. i have no idea what he is doing now. why don't you favour buckley? what has he done that is so bad? i 'd be interested as to be honest I am only plucking names out of the air.

12/02/2002, 12:06 PM
BTW, looking at the Sligo Rovers site makes me yearn for a decent Cork City site. And no, not a porn site.. :D !!
Well Don O'Riordan is the only name so far, so candidates seem to be a little thin on the ground.......
It's hard to see the board dumping LM, if there are so few possible replacements outside the club about............

12/02/2002, 12:07 PM
to be honest I am only plucking names out of the air.
But he seriously reckons Don O'Riordan is over rated.

12/02/2002, 12:09 PM
Well Athlone are looking likely to have to go for re-election to the league this year. The Bucko Out campaign is in full swing in the scum town of the midlands (I hope he stays :) ).
Didn't buckley win the league with virtually the same team that Fat Pat had managed to the title the same year - didn't exactly build a championship winning team......

12/02/2002, 1:09 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Didn't buckley win the league with virtually the same team that Fat Pat had managed to the title the same year - didn't exactly build a championship winning team......

Yup when he had Molloy, Hawkins, Osam & Russell all at the top fo their games, then Pat Dolan sacked him the next year with Pats struggling with newish team.

12/02/2002, 1:34 PM
Pat Doolan is a fantastic manager who has brought alot to UCD. If you take him out of the squad Id say that the team's average age is 24 or less and full of average players, with the exception of one or two,who are playing better than they should be. He has just signed a 2 year deal with them so that should be him out of the picture :( They were VERY unlucky to draw against Derry on the weekend.

Noel King, the Ireland womans soccer manager and Shels coach is very well respected in Shels, but I honestly dont know too much about him besides the fact that he is the only person involved in the eL thats been on Apres Match!

Don O'Riordan was sacked by Galway because of poor results. IMO he did well to get them in the premier division and keep them there for a while but is not spectacular. Sligo have had some big wins this year (5-0 V Limrick :eek: ) but some big losses aswell (5-0 V Drogheda United) and have lost to Rambelers 3-0 twice this year. They are currently in 6th place (out of 9) in the 1st division, 13 points from 1st, 8 points from last, having won 8 times and lost 9 and have a -4 goal difference.

What Pete & Macy have said about Liam Buckley seems to be true, but they were the form team in the 1st division last year. Did they get to the final of the league cup 2 years ago? Also he played a different system to Dolan using 352 more than Pat's 442 (I think).

I konw that he wouldnt move to take up the job, but I have always respected Charlie McKeever who was the Finn Harps manager who brought them to the Cup Final the year after we won it (& knocked us out along the way too :mad: )

IMO theres no one better than Gunther in Ireland avaliable right now, so I think our best bet is to support him for now, atleast until some one better is clearly available.

12/02/2002, 1:39 PM
Originally posted by Troy.McClure

IMO theres no one better than Gunther in Ireland avaliable right now,

ok any more of this nonsense and this is going straight to the humour section..

troy!! the fumes from the science building in UCD going to your head or what man

dalo
12/02/2002, 1:42 PM
very detailed posting there troy - good read and good thinking. i still can't why neil is so keen on don o'riordan.

as I say the only good thing about galway utd when he was there was that we were guranteed 9 points every year. he is hardly a trophy winning manager (watch now for the what about liam murphy retort :( )

dalo
12/02/2002, 1:45 PM
Originally posted by James

ok any more of this nonsense and this is going straight to the humour section..

ok james who would you have as manager (other than don o'riordan)

12/02/2002, 1:55 PM
duno - not a job i am paid to do

....certainly would advertise the position and seek all and any candidates for the position..then interview the candidates and select the best person for the job

certainly i would look at/ talk to liam buckley, don o riordain..noel king ( all of which have been mentioned ) also eoin hand..(who i think might do a good job..knows the league etc etc ) ..but wouldnt rule out an overseas ie english appointment ( get a professional man in for the job, full time players and full time approach )

but what i would like/do and what our shower of muppets would do are 2 completely different things..

what i think the board will do
they'll appoint peadars mate johnny c for an interim period ..and then give him the job with deccie as his assissant and the cycle will continue again for another 2 years

12/02/2002, 2:16 PM
Originally posted by James
duno - not a job i am paid to do

But you will tell them who not to have for free... how generous ;)

dalo
very detailed posting there troy - good read and good thinking.
Why thanks :)

BTW James, we have fume cupboards for the chemicals :cool:

dalo
12/02/2002, 2:34 PM

But you will tell them who not to have for free... how generous ;)

:

good retort there.

12/02/2002, 3:08 PM
Always a plesure dalo :)

12/02/2002, 3:20 PM
jesus christ troy
how the **** are you so happy
we've just lost our best player since dave barry..and your still ****ing smiling and joking in your lovefest with dalo

i'm ****ing fuming here...un****ingbeleivable u lot

isnt it great for ye that ye are so unemotional about your club

joe
12/02/2002, 6:40 PM

Don O'Riordan was sacked by Galway because of poor results.

Incorrect, his sacking had a lot more to do with money thatn results

IMO he did well to get them in the premier division and keep them there for a while but is not spectacular. Sligo have had some big wins this year (5-0 V Limrick :eek: ) but some big losses aswell (5-0 V Drogheda United) and have lost to Rambelers 3-0 twice this year. They are currently in 6th place (out of 9) in the 1st division, 13 points from 1st, 8 points from last, having won 8 times and lost 9 and have a -4 goal difference.

Considering the fact that when he took over in the summer there were only four players at his first training session, and only one of them actually signed up, he hasn't done too badly in a short space of time, don't you think?

Also, he is highly thought of for the way he has brought young players through and the way he works with youths - at their first home game of the season I overheard two teenagers comment on that fact, so obviously he had made a good impression, and as Pete posted earlier the current Sligo team contains a number of young players who, for the most part, didn't look out of place in the Carlsberg Cup Quarter-final with Shams the other night.

12/02/2002, 6:55 PM
Pat Doolan is a fantastic manager who has brought alot to UCD.

I think you're a bit mixed up here. The conversation was about Pat Dolan not Paul Doolan. When you chant "Murphy Out", you are talking about Liam Murphy aren't you?

Don O'Riordon is well overated. Ask the good people at GUFC.
If he were such a good manager as you people would believe then he wouldn't be at a dump like Sligo having been sacked from struggling Galway. I've always respected Paul Doolan as a player and think he's doing good work with the students.

Many people are against Johnny C being manager without knowing anything about the style of management he'd employ.
I don't know if you'd ever be happy, no matter who the manager is. If you don't hear from me on this forum as much as you used to it's because I'm sick of the crap which is continually repeated up here.

Johnny
12/02/2002, 7:08 PM
City may be a cowboy outfit but they'll be in the Premier next season(possibly Europe), Sligo + Galway will be in the first. What if the "great" Don doesn't want the job ? What then ? His stated intention is to return to England. Another Hindmarch/Colin Murphy/Mountfield type ?

joe
12/02/2002, 7:12 PM
Originally posted by Johnny
What if the "great" Don doesn't want the job ? What then ? His stated intention is to return to England. Another Hindmarch/Colin Murphy/Mountfield type ?

there's only one way that such 'types' make it back to England, and it ain't by losing 1-0 at home to the second worst team in the country in the Quarter-finals of the third biggest competition in the country :mad:

Johnny
12/02/2002, 7:25 PM
Joe wrote:
Considering the fact that when he took over in the summer there were only four players at his first training session, and only one of them actually signed up, he hasn't done too badly in a short space of time, don't you think?

Considering that Liam Murphy took a side heading for the first into Europe and currently lie 4th in the premier...................

joe
12/02/2002, 7:29 PM
Originally posted by Johnny

Considering that Liam Murphy took a side heading for the first into Europe and currently lie 4th in the premier................... [/B]

people keep throwing that one up, but does anyone really believe we were headed for relegation last year? Kilkenny and Harps went down automatically, while UCD beat Athlone in the play-off.

Besides we may be 4th, but we're 9 points off the top with 7 matches left and don't look like we could come close to scoring again, ever!

As for next season ...

12/02/2002, 7:31 PM
Originally posted by joe
there's only one way that such 'types' make it back to England, and it ain't by losing 1-0 at home to the second worst team in the country in the Quarter-finals of the third biggest competition in the country :mad:

Limerick are 16 places below Cork City in League terms.
Cork City lost 0-1 and the place is going hysterical.

Blackburn Rovers who are 14 places behind Arsenal in the league beat them 4-0 in the Worthless Cup and even the tabloids weren't talking about the chop for Wenger. Like Cork City, Arsenal are 4th in the League.
Am I making any sense?

joe
12/02/2002, 7:36 PM
Originally posted by Peadar

Am I making any sense?

somtimes:D

12/02/2002, 7:43 PM
could you also say that the second worst team in our league here beat and comprehensively beat the 4th or 5th best side in the league..

we dont have as many clubs peadar as you well know so the diff between top and bottom clubs is never going to be as big as you foreign (heehee) example..it aint really complaring like with like anyway..

anyway despite of this..it aint really the lims result that erked me so much...as i dont really rate the league cup and agree with peadar about its importance..

i'm more concerned with:

1 the exodus of players from our club

2 the fading chances of any good new players wanting to join what mus look like a sinking ship when they may be presented with a more attractive of profootball with a more forward looking club.. dont forgot we lost both kriby and rennie (both linked to us )..to fecking longford ( no offence longford fans)..point is even they look more pro then we do..and this was long long b4 the lims result

3 most importance performance on the pitch..what i saw when i came home was disgusting and to be told in the bar afterwards by fans that "well thats what we have had tp put up with every week" ..

so sure im dissapointed and embarrased to lose to lims..there are more important issues...Ollie today though seems to have been the breaking point for most...me i cracked ages ago

:mad:

12/02/2002, 9:20 PM
Am I making any sense?

None. I dont like having cuts at you all the time, but comparing City and Limk to the arse and Blackburn is a bit much really Peadar. The fact is, is that Limk are bottom of the 1st for a reason - that reason being - they are rubbish. We should be able to beat them with our eyes closed.

jbrazil
12/02/2002, 9:26 PM
The fact is, is that Limk are bottom of the 1st for a reason - that reason being - they are rubbish. We should be able to beat them with our eyes closed.

and we cant score to save our lives either, even at home

Casegrande
12/02/2002, 10:20 PM
Am I making any sense?
No! Who is this Peadar guy who thinks he's above everyone else? Trying to explain things to people like they are thick? Is he connected to the club or something because I have never seen so much rose-tinted rubbish in all my life!

The loss to Limerick was not just one result. It was the last in a long string of inept performances and results. But the scariest thing for me is that we are currently being downgraded as a club while all the rest are making strides to go professional.

The Board saved us from extinction. But we may have gone bust rather than have a club with no soul and no future.

13/02/2002, 1:03 AM
A big smile (http://www.eirways.com/citynet/header/1.jpg)

13/02/2002, 7:15 AM
It's time to bring back Miah Dennehy ......... :p

13/02/2002, 8:29 AM
The fact that so many people are having a go at each other only proves one thing. A lot of fans are unhappy and I think we all know that. Everyone is entitled to an opinion though as we live in a supposed democracy.

There are a few things I'd like to say though:

No one outside the club will want the job with the club is the state it is at the moment.

On the pitch, performances are as important as the results. I personally would be mortified if City won ANYTHING this year the way they have been playing.

The Limerick match has just focused people's attention that there is a problem, but Limerick have been playing better lately, and City haven't been playing well at all, particularly at home.

Is the nature of football that freak results happen and that people blame the manager afterwards. I'm not saying Murphy's blameless, but he's here at City and he ain't going anywhere for the time being. We'd be better of trying to support the team, if not the management and board - some of the players still care about the club.

dalo
13/02/2002, 12:51 PM
Originally posted by niamh

:

No one outside the club will want the job with the club is the state it is at the moment.

On the pitch, performances are as important as the results. I personally would be mortified if City won ANYTHING this year the way they have been playing.

i wouldn't be a bit bothered if we won a few trophies and a played hoof football. how do you think we won the league and the cup in 1993 and 1998. winning is everything.

as for no-one wanting the job at the time of writing there isn't a vacancy so that isn't a issue. as for the imagined state of the club can you prove the club is badlyrun. can you prove allegations of corruption and wrongdoing because while the likes of neil, eanna and james like to go on about such things they never prove it.

13/02/2002, 1:38 PM

can you prove allegations of corruption and wrongdoing because while the likes of neil, eanna and james like to go on about such things they never prove it.

hold your frecking horses here dalo.. corruption etc etc hints at if not alledges some sort of illegal activities and I never ever ever ever said that..ok lets get that straight from day 1
all i said was they rip the fans off and seemingly dont care about fans or the club nothing illegal there (although maybe it should for a director of a football club (heehee)..

I'm getting really ****ed off with this whole debate and pointless back and forth..
dalo we all support city, so lets leave it there ok (even if u have the wool drawn completely over you eyes :D )

heres hoping for a new manager and a fresh start for summer soccer season :D

13/02/2002, 2:44 PM
Originally posted by joe
Also, he is highly thought of for the way he has brought young players through and the way he works with youths - at their first home game of the season I overheard two teenagers comment on that fact, so obviously he had made a good impression, and as Pete posted earlier the current Sligo team contains a number of young players who, for the most part, didn't look out of place in the Carlsberg Cup Quarter-final with Shams the other night.

The very same could be said for our very own beloved Gunther! :eek:

BTW 2 teenagers said that he was good at bringing youths through. If there was only 1 teenager, Id say 'what does he know', but 2 teenagers, well thats conclusive proof!

Sorry for being so b!tchy, its this lack of food and a left winger thats getting to me, nothing personal.

13/02/2002, 4:03 PM
Many people are against Johnny C being manager without knowing anything about the style of management he'd employ.

Johnny C: One of the back-stabbing traitors who helped get rid Mountfield for personal gain. He'd fit the bill alright.

joe
13/02/2002, 5:53 PM

The very same could be said for our very own beloved Gunther! :eek:

BTW 2 teenagers said that he was good at bringing youths through. If there was only 1 teenager, Id say 'what does he know', but 2 teenagers, well thats conclusive proof!

Sorry for being so b!tchy, its this lack of food and a left winger thats getting to me, nothing personal.

I don't know you, and you don't know me, so I;m going to let that one slide

Snatch
13/02/2002, 6:51 PM
I believe that it is a big advantage to have a local manager for two resons.

1. He knows the set up of underage football in Cork. To be fare to Gunther, look at how many young players he has brought in from local clubs and the deal he has going on at Scoil Stiofan Naofa.

2. He naturally have a better affiliation with the fans. Dave Barry was a great example of this. Gunther is the exception that proves the rule.

For these resons I'd like to see local legend Dave Barry back at the helm should Gunther leave. I thought he didn't get the credit for turning things around last time and almost making a league winning team ofut of players like Flanagan and Colin O' Brien.

If we have a non Corkonian, it has to be Gerry McCabe. He'd bring some flair to summer football.

Johnny
13/02/2002, 9:33 PM
Johnny C: One of the back-stabbing traitors who helped get rid Mountfield for personal gain. He'd fit the bill alright.

How thick are you ?? What personal gain ?? Traitor to who/what ?? Johnnie C- 16 yrs dedicated service to the club, over 100 goals scored V Derek Who ? Where's he working now I wonder ?? With "fans" like you...

gilzysligo
14/02/2002, 12:06 AM
ye wouldnt get near him,hes stayin with rovers

14/02/2002, 6:55 AM
Originally posted by gilzysligo
ye wouldnt get near him,hes stayin with rovers
Don't cod yourself ! If CCFC wanted him and the money was right
then never will Don play the Sligo Rover no more !! No nay never.... :D