View Full Version : Rate your old school teacher's
17/03/2005, 3:47 PM
http://www.ratemyteachers.ie/
Go to it and try to find your old secondary or primary school. Then you can leave comments on teacher's past and present, if the teacher is'nt there then you can add them and then comment on them. TIME FOR REVENGE!! :D
Let me know what ye think of it!
Gibbe84
17/03/2005, 4:05 PM
I don't rate yours too high with that apostrophe before the S ;)
17/03/2005, 4:09 PM
Gibbe I was about to say the same comment;) Great site Sligo. It's really bizarre seeing these figures up on the net so harshly yet accurately and justly criticised. Some guy put a teacher up who had left the school before I joined and I'm in 3rd year of college. :confused:
adamcarr
17/03/2005, 5:07 PM
That is absolute class! :D
17/03/2005, 5:33 PM
Thats brilliant Sligoman! Just hope Frank McCourt doesn't come across it :D
17/03/2005, 5:33 PM
Thats brilliant :D
Where did ye all/are ye all going to school?
My secondary school has yet to be listed (although my Primary is). However I will not be using the site as I can not comment on my own secondary form teacher without using 'f*cking', 'Kraut' or 'bitch', all of which seem to be banned and will be deleted. :mad:
17/03/2005, 9:42 PM
It's unbelievable how many people think the exact same as you. My Junior Cert Science teacher:
'He should stick to the sylabis instead of lecturing people on life'
'terrible teaching methods,supervises doesnt teach.'
'not helpful'
'cant even make proper mocks than cant correct them.worst teacher ever'
'no respect for students. couldnt be bothered correcting leaving cert mocks properly'
'He corrects leaving mocks wrongly, then goes on the defensive claiming no-time. The most unhelpful, unlikeable teacher.'
'horrible teacher looks for money to correct extra work'
'worst teacher ever'
'Terrible teacher. Supervises does not teach. Never remembers names of students he's had for years. Seems to be in a constant daze.Unbelievable he is still there'
'ruined my childs education'
What a legend!
17/03/2005, 10:02 PM
Lads .... it aint that great, the rules are really strict, you cant say anything really .... you cant comment on anything barr teaching and even that, there aint much room to manover.
Have to say though, there are not many teachers that i'd really dislike to be honest. For all their failings, most of them were ok and probably had a nightmare putting up with us.
17/03/2005, 10:41 PM
I think this site is a disgrace TBH. There were teachers I didn't like alright, but naming people on the net and criticising them like that is very bad form IMO
17/03/2005, 10:44 PM
my school has no nominations yet! the teachers were fine though, apart from a few of the scary nuns....... :eek: :D
17/03/2005, 11:30 PM
I think this site is a disgrace TBH. There were teachers I didn't like alright, but naming people on the net and criticising them like that is very bad form IMO
That is my point .... you cant !!
18/03/2005, 12:12 AM
Jaysus that brings it all back, it's amazing alright how everyone from all the different years all seem to come to the exact same conslusions as you. Most of the ones from my old school are fairly positive really bar a few.
Gibbe84
18/03/2005, 12:56 AM
my school has no nominations yet! the teachers were fine though, apart from a few of the scary nuns....... :eek: :D
Same as mine really. We had some guy called Deacon Column who was a wannabe priest. He used to give us lectures on morality if we were caught "doing things" with girls or looking at mags like FHM or what ever. Our was fairly strict and Catholic although none of the students were too religious. Our teachers generally helped and were pretty approachable apart from the religous fumdementalists.
18/03/2005, 1:11 AM
Both my secondary and primary are listed, althought there's only one teacher from my secondary (who I didn't have and heard good things about) listed and none from my primary - probably a good thing as I hated most of them.
I'm all in favor of sites like this, whatever about the revenge factor most of us feel, it'll finally give teachers something to have to face, the government is loath to introduce tables, so it's up to the net to do it for them!!
18/03/2005, 1:12 AM
our school was very strict until we got rid of the nun hierarchy. as part of our uniform, we had black shoes(outdoor shoes) and when we came in in the morning we had to change into red(indoor) :rolleyes: shoes and then our black outdoor shoes were locked in a cloakroom with our blazers, scarves etc.
The reason for this was to prevent truancy! If anyone was spotted(who could u bloody miss them!!) outside the school or leaving the school in red indoor shoes :rolleyes: the school would be informed and you were caught! :D then at the end of the day, cloakrooms were opened and we could get our black outdoor shoes, so we could go home... ha haa. They could rid of this rule thank God 2 years after i started. :D :D
Gibbe84
18/03/2005, 1:41 AM
our school was very strict until we got rid of the nun hierarchy. as part of our uniform, we had black shoes(outdoor shoes) and when we came in in the morning we had to change into red(indoor) :rolleyes: shoes and then our black outdoor shoes were locked in a cloakroom with our blazers, scarves etc.
The reason for this was to prevent truancy! If anyone was spotted(who could u bloody miss them!!) outside the school or leaving the school in red indoor shoes :rolleyes: the school would be informed and you were caught! :D then at the end of the day, cloakrooms were opened and we could get our black outdoor shoes, so we could go home... ha haa. They could rid of this rule thank God 2 years after i started. :D :D
Why not just bring old trainers and leave them in a hedge somewhere near the gates? There's ways around all systems.
18/03/2005, 1:48 AM
we were more concerned about looking stupid, red shoes and a dark uniform :rolleyes: :eek: made the nuns look better!!! :eek: :D
$Leon$
18/03/2005, 11:19 AM
ders a few of my old teachers there all right.
not quiet sure how dey are rated seems like only one person has been on rating them.
has anyone here givin a rating???
Gareth
18/03/2005, 12:29 PM
My primary and secondary are both listed, but only 2 teachers from my secondary are up. Both with high ratings. Personally I had some howlers of teachers in the past. A few spring to mind as bordering on the disturbed and insane. Never was a fan of the educational system as is. I do however feel utter sympathy for good teachers. Children are nothing short of nightmares. Group them together and they are utterly disasterous. I'd hate to have to educate them.
It is a shame that we don't educate people, merely stamp required knowledge into their heads for exam purposes. It will just eventually mean that people will have less of an understanding and more of an ability to recall. I think both Doctors and Teachers should be required to undergo psych and personality testing as well as a requirement to have a H Dip. Many of the Teachers I had couldn't handle their own shadows let alone a class of 40 kids. These tests should be carried out every so often and more inspecting of schools and teaching should be carried out.
Who in Leaving Cert science did experiments? Its a requirement to sit the Leaving that you have a Science Lab Book written up. If an Inspector called and you didn't have one, he could stop the class from sitting. In physics we came in, sat down and the teacher read out of a copy and we wrote it down. In a double class of 80 minutes all of it was spent writing furiously. That was my Physics class. We didn't learn physics, just how to be efficient writers!!!
18/03/2005, 12:51 PM
My secondary school is in, but my primary school isn't - even though the girls' school is! :mad:
18/03/2005, 5:11 PM
I tend to disagree. Do you see those comments on that Science teacher? I am in 3rd year of college and he has been teaching since before I came. The man is a god damn fool and utterly incompetent. This is the only job where you can consistently retain your job for being useless, apathetic, absent or all three. Where else can people vent their rage? This teacher and indeed my Leaving Cert French teacher were complained about to the staff of the school who said their hands were tied and the Dept. of Education would do nothing. Now these guys were not hampered by unwilling or terrorising students. They just couldn't care less. Good enough for them I say.
There are some teachers who are downright incompetent and you're right when you say it is the only job where you can avoid the sack if you're useless, but there are a lot of good teachers out there too who could be on the receiving end of negative shít they don't deserve
I don't think a whole class of people will deliberately pick on a teacher & lie about him/her. Teachers have a chance to get good as well as bad ratings.
Its getting more common for people to leave other careers to re-train for teaching. Know few people myself. I think most are likely to go for secondary school as expectations for irish language are too high for primary.
21/03/2005, 1:29 PM
In a double class of 80 minutes all of it was spent writing furiously. That was my Physics class. We didn't learn physics, just how to be efficient writers!!!
But didnt it stand to you? Id say that you've never used physics since, but you should be damn glad that you can write fast now :p
Aberdonian Stu
22/03/2005, 9:00 AM
In fairness there are plenty of jobs where you can be useless and avoid the sack. Bad teachers are just easier to spot.