View Full Version : Useless newstalk...
16/03/2005, 6:03 PM
Why are they covering Liverpool v Blackburn (which I'd imagine is already on Sky) when our own national league champions are kicking off the new season tonight? The game wasn't even mentioned in the headlines of the programme.
16/03/2005, 6:06 PM
Why are they covering Liverpool v Blackburn (which I'd imagine is already on Sky) when our own national league champions are kicking off the new season tonight? The game wasn't even mentioned in the headlines of the programme.
Thats disgraceful :mad:
and yes, Pool v Blackburn is on Sky tonight :mad:
16/03/2005, 6:11 PM
Thats disgraceful :mad:
and yes, Pool v Blackburn is on Sky tonight :mad:
Looks like my hattrick cup game against you will have to entertain me instead.;)
It's annoying. It's a relatively unimportant game given Liverpool's distance from the CL spot and Blackburn's mediocrety. Plus you could find it on another radio station or on TV and the Shels v UCD game is not on TV.
16/03/2005, 6:14 PM
Looks like my hattrick cup game against you will have to entertain me instead.;)
Yeah I know, looking forward to it myself!
You will hammer me though!
16/03/2005, 7:46 PM
Its a fcúking disgrace that there is absolutely no coverage for this match.
blackburn ?? who cares ??
16/03/2005, 7:53 PM
0-0 between Shels and the College at half time.
16/03/2005, 7:54 PM
0-0 between Shels and the College at half time.
any news on chances/teams? Is Murph (adrian) starting for youse?
16/03/2005, 7:59 PM
http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/03/16/story194023.html
not exactly very informative. RTE arent even showing the scores
16/03/2005, 8:16 PM
http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/03/16/story194023.html
not exactly very informative. RTE arent even showing the scores
Aertel on RTE.ie have it as 0-0 (page 222)
16/03/2005, 8:18 PM
any news on chances/teams? Is Murph (adrian) starting for youse?
Not a clue. According to Aertel and Livescore it is still 0-0.
16/03/2005, 8:26 PM
Dupuy puts UCD 1-0 up!!!!!!!! :eek: :D
16/03/2005, 8:26 PM
Yessss!
16/03/2005, 8:27 PM
Whats left? 1/2 hour? C'mon the students!!! :confused:
16/03/2005, 8:29 PM
20 minutes I think. Dupuy scored on the 63rd.
16/03/2005, 8:40 PM
10 minutes left. I hate following matches on aertel.
16/03/2005, 8:46 PM
87' Shelbourne [0 - 1] UC Dublin
63' [0 - 1] Dupuy
16/03/2005, 8:47 PM
63' [0 - 1] Dupuy
Thanks for the update..... :rolleyes:
16/03/2005, 8:47 PM
63' [0 - 1] Dupuy
Livescore were pretty late picking that up. We're approaching the 90 minutes now. But then there's the inevitable 5-10 minute wait for confirmation of full time. :(
16/03/2005, 8:49 PM
1-1 s byrne from the spot. 86 min.
:mad: - probably dived to win the thing
16/03/2005, 8:50 PM
:mad: . The f**kin manyoo of Ireland!!!
16/03/2005, 8:51 PM
1-1 s byrne from the spot. 86 min.
:mad: - probably dived to win the thing
Ah ********. :mad: :mad: Hate the fecking slow updates. :mad:
16/03/2005, 8:51 PM
I read 1-0 to UCD and went SH1T. I thought it was going to be a terrible opener.
Great to hear byrne scored. he was probably hacked down in the peno area when clear on goal. :)
16/03/2005, 8:54 PM
I read 1-0 to UCD and went SH1T. I thought it was going to be a terrible opener.
Great to hear byrne scored. he was probably hacked down in the peno area when clear on goal. :)
What makes you so sure? :confused: Given that our captain and other central choice midfielder were out I'd probably have taken a draw before hand. Terrible to lose the points on a late winner in this fashion though. :(
16/03/2005, 8:56 PM
Looks like the Ginger Judas, the Big Nosed Judas and the Ugly Shergar Judas have taken the 'can't beat the small teams' curse with them
16/03/2005, 8:59 PM
According to livescore they're still playing!!!. The ref must've been told to add enough time for $helS to sneak the winner. :rolleyes:
16/03/2005, 9:00 PM
Looks like the Ginger Judas, the Big Nosed Judas and the Ugly Shergar Judas have taken the 'can't beat the small teams' curse with them
So you should be able to beat Shels this year then?;)
16/03/2005, 9:00 PM
According to livescore they're still playing!!!. The ref must've been told to add enough time for $helS to sneak the winner. :rolleyes:
As I said there is the inevitable 5-10 minute wait for them to confirm full time. I am sure it's over by now.
16/03/2005, 9:01 PM
Hopefully Friday will see us take a 2 point lead over them in the League
16/03/2005, 9:03 PM
As I said there is the inevitable 5-10 minute wait for them to confirm full time. I am sure it's over by now.
I said that last year too when we were 1-0 up on Cork at the Cross... :(
16/03/2005, 9:04 PM
Confirmed. Damn it. But considering we have had a terrible start to our last two Premier campaigns under Doolin this could be the makings of a better start. Lets hope we show him how it's done next week.
ShelsTim
16/03/2005, 9:31 PM
Fenlon Out ;)
16/03/2005, 9:34 PM
SHELBOURNE 1 UCD 1
Stuart Byrne saved Shelbourne's blushes
with a late penalty equaliser at Tolka
Park as the current eircom League
champions earned a 1-1 draw with a
gritty UCD side.
Damien Dupuy appeared to have provided
an opening day shock when putting UCD
in front.
College were well-organised, defending
well before Frenchman Dupuy struck for
the lead on 63 minutes with a header.
But Byrne kept his cool to fire home an
86th minute penalty after Glen Crowe
had been felled by Conor Kenna to earn
sluggish Shels a point.
From aertel.
16/03/2005, 9:36 PM
I dont know what happened Poor Student , it was tounge in cheek.
Good result for Shels IMO. I didnt think the team would be blazing in the first few games, I hope it comes together quickly though :eek:
16/03/2005, 9:39 PM
I dont know what happened Poor Student , it was tounge in cheek.
Good result for Shels IMO. I didnt think the team would be blazing in the first few games, I hope it comes together quickly though :eek:
Alright rodger, didn't really get the tone, you know messageboards. I wouldn't be pleased ar all if I were you. At home and we were missing our central midfield.
Clones Road Cas
16/03/2005, 9:42 PM
Still an early stutter from the faves :D
Student Mullet
16/03/2005, 10:09 PM
Glen Crowe could do with loosing at least a stone and a half and gaining some speed. The number of times he was beaten to a through ball by the UCD defence was amazing.
Last time I was in the premier he was good!
Also that new french striker we have is worse than Duff for diving. He tries it as often but just isn't a good enough actor.
Gareth
16/03/2005, 10:46 PM
Match Report and Teams :
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/matchzone.php?matchid=181
Gareth
16/03/2005, 10:48 PM
Poor game, disappointing result for Shels fans. The UCD lads behind me were well pleased. Need to up the performance if we are to challenge this year. Setanta will give us match practice before Rovers in 9 days. Gary O'Neill was very good I thought.
17/03/2005, 12:36 AM
Regards the title of the show:
offtheball@newstalk106.ie
e-mail them FFS! Everyone. If I find one person who hasn't I'll bite your nose off. :mad: No need for a big essay, they'll get the point if a hundred of us email them with a 1 liner.
17/03/2005, 4:43 AM
Not sure about NL games on Wednesdays, but AFAIK, RTE have the exclusive radio rights for live coverage of NL games. Certainly Newstalk can't do live commentaries on Friday games, after RTE stopped them when they did. Now, Newstalk are restricted to updates on games only, on Fridays.
Fair enough, they might not have the rights to eL games, but Off the Ball is a better show without the relayed 5Live coverage of Premiership games. And to make it worse, I have to listen to the rubbish repeat again in the morning!!! I could understand if it was potentially explosive affair like an Arsenal / Utd grudge match, but on Tuesday we had to endure Chelsea v West Brom and then Wednesday there was Liverpool v Blackburn. Hardly games to get the heart racing.
17/03/2005, 7:46 AM
Sorry. According to the eL links at the top of the page I thought newstalk did live coverage. So RTE cover games? Was the game covered last night? You don't seem to be able to get RTE over the web if you are abroad. :confused:
onceahoop
17/03/2005, 2:41 PM
NEAR FM @101.6 FM are broadcasting all Shels home games this season. It's a community station based in Coolock but I'm able to pick it up clearly out in The North County.
17/03/2005, 4:47 PM
So RTE cover games? Was the game covered last night?
They have a good show on medium wave on Friday nights that has live coverage of one of the games and updates on the rest. I don't think they covered last night's (nothing 15 mins or so before kick off, when I was going in), probably only do the Friday games.
Why the need to rely on radio coverage of the Tokla Park game? Why not actually go to the game?
I wouldn't criticise Newstalk for having commentary on Liverpool v Blackburn (already have deal with BBC 5 live) than shels game. I would criticise Newstalk for doing commentary on the likes of Fulham v Portsmouth on a Monday night.
17/03/2005, 4:58 PM
Why the need to rely on radio coverage of the Tokla Park game? Why not actually go to the game?
Not being in Ireland for a start.
17/03/2005, 5:15 PM
Not being in Ireland for a start.
That's no excuse! ;)
17/03/2005, 5:33 PM
That's no excuse! ;)
Ok what about the non-existence of Tokla (sic) Pk.?;)
17/03/2005, 5:53 PM
I sent an email to offtheball@newstalk106.ie and it didnt work