Athlone v Cobh Ramblers
Cabinteely FC v Shelbourne FC
Drogheda United v Longford Town
Galway United v Wexford FC
UCDAFC v Finn Harps
DING - DING :fighter:
bluemovie
12/04/2018, 8:04 PM
I'd take your hand off for a point in Derry. We're obviously missing Aborah and Hery, but also Duffus whose loan terms prevent him playing on Astro. Keegan isn't meant to play on it either because of prior injuries, but did half an hour as a sub in Dundalk so might be similar tomorrow, or could just be saved for the trip to Pat's on Monday. Chances are we'll be down three of our four midfielders though and Duffus who has five goals in his six games so far.
White Horse
12/04/2018, 8:44 PM
...Duffus whose loan terms prevent him playing on Astro. Keegan isn't meant to play on it either because of prior injuries, but did half an hour as a sub in Dundalk so might be similar tomorrow, or could just be saved for the trip to Pat's on Monday.
Have they seen the pitch in Inchicore?
Ezeikial
12/04/2018, 8:53 PM
I'd take your hand off for a point in Derry. We're obviously missing Aborah and Hery, but also Duffus whose loan terms prevent him playing on Astro. Keegan isn't meant to play on it either because of prior injuries, but did half an hour as a sub in Dundalk so might be similar tomorrow, or could just be saved for the trip to Pat's on Monday. Chances are we'll be down three of our four midfielders though and Duffus who has five goals in his six games so far.
Keegan only came in for the last 15 minutes in Oriel Park - Hery, Duffus and Akinade were also missing that night but Waterford came very close to getting a draw. Obviously Stanley Aborah is also out but Keegan and Akinade starting can leave Waterford with a stronger starting line-up.
Waterford are well able to get a draw in Derry
sbgawa
12/04/2018, 9:41 PM
Trevor clarke might play again this season after a successful operation according to the club website. Fantastic that this is even a possibility . I'd say it would be late enough but even if he is just able to do a full preseason for next year that would be great.
Ezeikial
13/04/2018, 8:20 AM
Without a doubt Bradser is right not to get involved in discussing criticisms of his goalkeeping selections and individual performances by Kevin Horgan and Tomer Chencinski, but he is foolish to create a further controversy by insulting Alan Cawley
CAWL THE SHOTS Shamrock Rovers boss Stephen Bradley tells Alan Cawley ‘I don’t respect you’ after goalkeeper criticism
Soccer Republic pundit Cawley suggested that the Hoops' current goalkeeping woes could end up costing Bradley his job in charge of the Tallaght side
But, ahead of tonight’s Dublin Derby at home to Bohemians, Bradley said: “I didn’t see it, I don’t watch it.
“I’ve obviously heard about it, a few people said it to me.
“You can let things get on top of you, what people say. But you have to respect their opinions for you take it on board.
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/2436080/shamrock-rovers-boss-stephen-bradley-tells-alan-cawley-i-dont-respect-you-after-goalkeeper-criticism/
White Horse
13/04/2018, 8:57 AM
“I don’t respect the person it came from, I don’t respect their opinion, so it doesn’t interest or bother me.”
Bradley has gone too far by insulting the person. It is nasty.
13/04/2018, 10:11 AM
I hate missing games. Especially when there's no live streams or radio coverage or feck all in terms of updates. Have to make do with Rovers v Bohs instead on the box.
sbgawa
13/04/2018, 10:49 AM
Apparently the pitch was torn up at the woman's international during the week, hopefully they have managed to fix it up and we get a decent game where there is a bit of football played.
placid casual
13/04/2018, 12:04 PM
Cawley is just a bitter little Sligo twa*. He deserves nothing but disdain.
White Horse
13/04/2018, 12:28 PM
Apparently the pitch was torn up at the woman's international during the week, hopefully they have managed to fix it up and we get a decent game where there is a bit of football played.
I watched some of that game and the pitch did take a battering. They also narrowed the pitch, so that will have screwed it up a lot too.
Ezeikial
13/04/2018, 12:46 PM
When asked if the pitch was a concern in a Rovers Twitter interview (about 1.00 minute in), Bradser said
"No I'd imagine it will be fine"
https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers/status/984696147452231680
sbgawa
13/04/2018, 1:12 PM
hopefully the ground staff have worked a bit of magic. I noticed as white horse said that they had narrowed the pitch and the subs linesman etc etc etc were churning it up on what will now be the wing....hope for the best, .
wonder88
13/04/2018, 3:11 PM
The weather (here in the west anyway) has improved last two days, so it may encourage a few more soccer fans to get to a LoI game. A win is crucial for Galway against Wexford tonight, along with an overall improvement on our play so far this season.
With another double fixture week, the premier division is moving along at a fair rate, but it is good to see that the top 6 teams are still close together.
Pats at 4/1 to win in Cork, may tempt some with their big stadium plans making plenty of headlines this week.
marinobohs
13/04/2018, 6:43 PM
Cawley is just a bitter little Sligo twa*. He deserves nothing but disdain.
May well be but he is right about shams goalkeeping ‘situation’. Are you saying you are happy with the goalkeeping this season ?
13/04/2018, 7:38 PM
Harps are pure filth.
4 yellows so far. Really looks like they'll end with 10 at this stage.
They're filth who are leading granted. But filth nonetheless.
Let this week's Waterford v Cork slanging match commence. :)
13/04/2018, 7:39 PM
Also, Kabia just scored for Cobh.
There's a random nostalgia trip!
13/04/2018, 7:47 PM
Harps are pure filth.
4 yellows so far. Really looks like they'll end with 10 at this stage.
They're filth who are leading granted. But filth nonetheless.
Let this week's Waterford v Cork slanging match commence. :)
Wrestlers saved it for their trip to UCD of course.
CorribsideSteve
13/04/2018, 7:57 PM
Superb goal by Carr, it reminded me of one that Aaron Ramsey scored recently. Bohs very much in it still. Horgan to his credit is coming up with the goods between the sticks for Rovers.
13/04/2018, 8:14 PM
McCourt booked for Harps now. Says a lot when he's reduced to a hacker.
A hacker who's set up both Harps goals in fairness.
13/04/2018, 8:15 PM
Another yellow.
This is more entertaining than watching the goals tbh
13/04/2018, 8:19 PM
Town 1-0 up in Drogheda. Dean Byrne. Cracking little player that Fenn picked up from Hardwicke in the lower divisions of the LSL.
13/04/2018, 8:27 PM
Seven yellows now.
We've also come back to lead with a hat trick from Kelly. But that's a sideshow at this stage
EAFC_rdfl
13/04/2018, 8:39 PM
Would you dry up
13/04/2018, 8:46 PM
Seven yellows now.
We've also come back to lead with a hat trick from Kelly. But that's a sideshow at this stage
UCD had three yellows as well. Dirtiest team Harps have faced this year. A disgrace. Horrible team.
13/04/2018, 8:51 PM
Drogs get the draw with the last kick of the game. Bit of a sickener but would’ve taken the draw before the game in truth.
Finished 1 nil to City in Turners Cross. Pat's were decent, we were very poor for large parts of the game. Lovely header from Cummins for the goal but outside that Pat's had the better chances. We're getting away with murder being back in 2nd playing so poorly at the moment.
CorribsideSteve
13/04/2018, 8:54 PM
Oh dear Rovers
13/04/2018, 8:54 PM
Excellent; excellent. That's it.
Erm, I think I blame Horgan now for something. Actually, Horgan should shut up. Really does himself no favours.
I'm only here now for the Bradley quotes.
Dalymountrower
13/04/2018, 8:56 PM
Coup (specialists) 'de Grace.
Calcio Jack
13/04/2018, 8:57 PM
Taxi for Bradley - the joke of a board continue to destroy the club by leaving a clown in control
Yossarian
13/04/2018, 8:57 PM
We were very poor tonight but Bray are a different team when the players actually try to put effort in.
On another note, congratulations to Bohs on their cup win.
13/04/2018, 9:02 PM
Bohs can thank their fans for their 99th minute winner.
Rovers fans can blame their fans for their 9 minutes of injury time.
13/04/2018, 9:02 PM
UCD had three yellows as well. Dirtiest team Harps have faced this year. A disgrace. Horrible team.
😂 Harps deployed classic disrupting tactics of rotating fouls when UCD gained any fluency or momentum. Fittingly put to the sword by Donegal boy and Derry product Georgie Kelly.
Dalymountrower
13/04/2018, 9:05 PM
We were very poor tonight but Bray are a different team when the players actually try to put effort in.
Cheers, usual trophy of a Rovers manager head on a plate.
SeanDrog
13/04/2018, 9:09 PM
Drogs get the draw with the last kick of the game. Bit of a sickener but would’ve taken the draw before the game in truth.
We were poor tonight, too many key players just were not on form. Great to get the draw. Longford very lively and played the pressure game, your number 7 is a class act - he went off injured - looked like a hamstring, very talented guy that was causing us havoc.
Pablo Escobar
13/04/2018, 9:12 PM
Also, Kabia just scored for Cobh.
There's a random nostalgia trip!
It's his son. He's 17 or 18. He scored 2 tonight so I think he's already surpassed his father. :D
Kingswood Rover
13/04/2018, 9:16 PM
Ah yiz are headwreckin, Bradly needs to walk, not learning quick enough nah not learning full stop.
Calcio Jack
13/04/2018, 9:16 PM
Cheers, usual trophy of a Rovers manager head on a plate.
If only.... board backed themselves into a cul de sac again guess they’ll have to ask the Triumpherate of Duff/McPhail/Robinson what should they do.... if they’re not too busy building the future... we’ve been failed by the greatest crowd of chancers and ego trippers that could teach Trump a lesson in how to create mayhem
13/04/2018, 9:23 PM
Very interesting and entertaining game in Tallaght. Bohs looked relaxed from the kick off, they were full of confidence and looked a nicely balanced side, I think there was 4 back heels from them in the first 15 minutes.
Rovers had more possession but again lacked creativity, they have some lovely players but discipline is still a problem, not in terms of cards or fouls but in shape and balance. They either seem to be on top of each other or running into dead ends far too often, sometimes the individual skills get them something but they don’t really make enough team chances for so many quality players.
Bohs has better chances all through the game and will have felt a bit hard done by going in behind at half time. Rovers defence vanished for the equaliser and didn’t cover itself in glory for the winner either.
Felt like a real turning point for Bradley, there was a big negative reaction from the crowd, patience has run out. The team never looked like they were trying to win it, they just looked terrified of losing and that was the real difference between the sides Bohs were playing with a freedom, yet a shape and balance that the arguable superior individuals in the Rovers side never matched.
Finished 1 nil to City in Turners Cross. Pat's were decent, we were very poor for large parts of the game. Lovely header from Cummins for the goal but outside that Pat's had the better chances. We're getting away with murder being back in 2nd playing so poorly at the moment.
We just don't seem to be getting the breaks lately. Played really well in Derry, against Dundalk in the league cup, and now tonight by all accounts but got nothing. Luck has to turn soon hopefully.
Yes dominated the first 20 minutes, the next 40 were utterly boredom from both sides with neither side playing any football. Then we'd a little possession and we scored. Ye pushed for 5/10 minutes and then it fizzled out again. All around a poor game of ball but we certainly got lucky for the win.
Real ale Madrid
13/04/2018, 9:31 PM
Cork City 1
St. Pat's 0
Points 3
Caulfield outside technical area 27
Brawls 0
Pats' have come on a lot in a year in fairness. Still thought we shaded it and deserved the win. Hit post in each half? Maybe second one was a save. Poor game.
13/04/2018, 9:35 PM
We were poor tonight, too many key players just were not on form. Great to get the draw. Longford very lively and played the pressure game, your number 7 is a class act - he went off injured - looked like a hamstring, very talented guy that was causing us havoc.
Peter Hopkins. Very good player but unfortunately susceptible to muscle injuries.
Pablo Escobar
13/04/2018, 9:37 PM
Cork City 1
St. Pat's 0
Points 3
Caulfield outside technical area 27
Brawls 0
Pats' have come on a lot in a year in fairness. Still thought we shaded it and deserved the win. Hit post in each half? Maybe second one was a save. Poor game.
I didn't make the game tonight, but Pats impressed me in the first game of the season and the TV game in Derry. A good win. We move on to the giant killers next week.
Jd2793
13/04/2018, 10:17 PM
Pats would be a big threat to Cork/Dundalk if they'd a bigger focal point up top. Keegan and Fagan werent great tonight. Pats seemed quite strong everywhere else in the pitch I thought. Jamie Lennon looks a player. From a Cork point of view good to get the 3 points but I've yet to see us play well bar the Sligo game its been terrible football all round. Hopefully this win helps them kick on.
wonder88
13/04/2018, 10:19 PM
Galway very poor against Wexford for an hour tonight, could/should have been 2 down. Bringing on two wingers and a bit of luck changed the game for us, peno and red card decisive moment of the game. Alan Murphy took the penalty and equalised or set a new goal scoring record for Galway?
Apart from Athlone, it is shaping up to be a quite competitive First Division this year. Galway as a team need to do a fair bit of shaping up as well.
Ezeikial
13/04/2018, 10:36 PM
Do Bohs automatically qualify for Europe now?
oriel
13/04/2018, 10:45 PM
Dundalk were very sluggish tonight in Bray, I actually think only 2 shots on target, well that I can recall, really only comfortable when the second went in on 93rd min.
O'Donnell made a big difference last 10 when he eventually came on, the team retained the ball better, not a good game to watch but a good 3 points and another clean sheet.
Bray look as if they should do a lot better for the rest of the season, but who knows how it will work out, the players def looked more up for a fight tonight.