View Full Version : Resource Thread For Away Fans
I don't suppose anyone from Athlone would like to have a go at the questions? Have been doing pieces on the Harps site for our travelling fans this year:
http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5670
http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5623
People seem to like it so will try to get them done for each of the other D1 clubs.
**FrOsTy**
29/03/2018, 10:47 AM
Any Limerick fans know the best spot for away fans to grab a quick pre match pint tomorrow?
29/03/2018, 11:17 AM
Any Limerick fans know the best spot for away fans to grab a quick pre match pint tomorrow?
Right across the road from the away end, can't remember the name of the place, but it's got a take-away off to the side of it too. Pool table in the bar and all. Grand spot for a pint pre-match.
Tobin's / Track Bar is the one near the away end.
Over the road a bit Jerry O Dea's was were LIFT met recently so presume it's a Limerick FC kinda joint.
29/03/2018, 12:04 PM
That's the spot alright, Tobins. Yellow painted place. Good spot and an okay pint in there.
**FrOsTy**
29/03/2018, 12:21 PM
Cheers lads
29/03/2018, 7:30 PM
The Track Bar is a hole. Much better off in Jerry's.
Plus unlike Tobin Jerry O'Dea actually sponsors the club and the fans.
Ezeikial
29/03/2018, 8:35 PM
The Track Bar is a hole. Much better off in Jerry's.
Plus unlike Tobin Jerry O'Dea actually sponsors the club and the fans.
I was in The Track Bar previously and found it excellent - good welcome from bar staff, a bit of craic with locals, convenient location.
29/03/2018, 8:42 PM
Coming from dundalk would it be fair to say you aren't used to much??
Or am I being paid by Jerry O Dea??
We'll let the forum decide.
Ezeikial
29/03/2018, 8:49 PM
Or am I being paid by Jerry O Dea??
We'll let the forum decide.
What an idiotic post
30/03/2018, 1:30 AM
I suppose it'd be as fair as referring to stab city or 'stabs'(?) as one ridiculous post in reference to Limerick a while back.
patrickccfc
30/03/2018, 12:26 PM
Careful lads, no discussion about that club from the treaty city
ToberonaTornado
30/03/2018, 10:02 PM
I suppose it'd be as fair as referring to stab city or 'stabs'(?) as one ridiculous post in reference to Limerick a while back.
Mea culpa.
On the 'new shirts' thread i made that reference.
What of it? Nobody got annoyed when i posted and i wasn't annoyed by ltid's comment about Dundalk.
FFS folks,lets not go down here the moral high-horse crap we've being seeing recently on twottor.
Give a punch,take a punch!It's always been the way on football forums!!
31/03/2018, 2:25 AM
Fair enough! Didnt look to see who posted it, I just thought it was daft. I wasnt particularly offended by ltid's post either tbh, if it wasnt baiting it would be a bit ironic of a post. Are we allowed even mention the city of the former L37? Im not privilaged enough to read why not.
By twotter stuff i presume yer referring to the recent high profile Belfast court case stuff? If so I agree let the Brits worry about their own!
02/04/2018, 12:47 AM
It's sad to see the friendship between the blue team and Dundalk has broken down. Looks like they were only interested in you when you were champions.
Over the season I've put together info pieces for travelling Harps fans. They're a bit patchy depending on what information could be found or what was provided by SLOs or websites, but still, might be useful to some in future:
Thanks to all those who contributed here and shout out to UCD especially for having great info on site and just being super helpful.
UCD: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6336
Dundalk: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6243
Athlone: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6232
Bray: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6214
Drogheda: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6048
Cabinteely: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=6028
Galway: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5995
Wexford: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5937
Shelbourne: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5865
Longford: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5830
Cobh: http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5670
seand
05/10/2018, 10:45 AM
Cork have a great little guide for a first time visitor on their website
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/first-time-fan/
If there are any updates to this, it'd be a good time to call them out. Putting together one for visiting Dalymount today.
ger121
11/02/2019, 6:07 PM
If there are any updates to this, it'd be a good time to call them out. Putting together one for visiting Dalymount today.
#1 - It’s still there (Just)
#2 - Pieman is good but pricey
#3 - Woodstock Cafe for a big pre match nosh if #2 don’t appeal to you or you’re in Des Kelly
#4 - I love the Members Bar and sure they’ll let anyone in, bar Rovers,who has a ticket for the Jodi.
#5 - The Luas has made it easier to hit town for food/beers prior to getting to Dayler
Posted it here: https://www.finnharps.ie/post/slo-update-information-for-harps-fans-travelling-to-dalymount Let me know if there are any issues or additions needed.
Finlay Harp
12/02/2019, 9:05 PM
Can anyone park in the car park beside the Connaught Street stand in Dalymount, or is it home support only?
Plenty of on-street parking around Connaught St and the surrounding area in my experience, and free after 7pm.
sidewayspasser
13/02/2019, 8:29 AM
A friend and I will be going to the Pats - City match on Friday. Any recommendations where to park?
seand
13/02/2019, 11:56 AM
A friend and I will be going to the Pats - City match on Friday. Any recommendations where to park?
Again, just my experience of 50 odd games at Richmond, but usually plenty of free on street parking just across the road from Richond, up the Bulfin Road/Connolly Ave area, a couple of minutes walk to the ground. Check it on Google maps.
Sligo fans tomorrow and same advise for most other fans going to Oriel Park this season, I`d pay the extra fiver and head straight to the stand. There are around 100-150 seats segregated at the front, decent view too, and for most clubs visiting you will probably get into the upstairs bar in the ground.
If i was a visting fan, I wouldn't think twice about not going to the stand, but obviously for bigger crowds going, they will head to the terrace.
Pretty poor form by the club not to have at least roofed both sides of the stand this winter, even though they spent 350k on the YDC, these mimimun and basic upgrades should have been done.
Best of luck to all (well most) fans this season, great to have the football back.
marinobohs
15/02/2019, 1:26 PM
Parking in Connaught Street side not available to anyone AFAIK.Plenty of on street parking around although be careful, while most 'pay parking' ends at 7 pm the are a few 24 hour pay pointing locations (street signs show hours). Unlikely tonight that Des Kelly stand will be open so all fans will be in the JODI (Harps fans down in section A). Two bars there which will be open from 5pm until late.Usually no problem for away fans wishing to enjoy a pre or post match pint. The live game (Dundalk V Sligo) will be shown on screens in both bars. pie shop and chipper van will cater for any needing food.
15/02/2019, 2:47 PM
Parking in Connaught Street side not available to anyone AFAIK.
They usually let us park our buses in there. Not cars though.
marinobohs
18/02/2019, 10:01 AM
They usually let us park our buses in there. Not cars though.
The car park at Dalymount is rented out so we have limited access ourselves. We use it for 'away' team coach and some supporters busses but AFAIK no personal cars allowed for away fans. Its also used by AGS and ambulance service. Plenty of on street parking around as said previously, and car parks at shopping centre (beside Dalymount) which is usually full or at the Brian Boru pub about 5 minutes walk (pay parking).
18/02/2019, 6:52 PM
The car park at Dalymount is rented out so we have limited access ourselves. We use it for 'away' team coach and some supporters busses but AFAIK no personal cars allowed for away fans. Its also used by AGS and ambulance service. Plenty of on street parking around as said previously, and car parks at shopping centre (beside Dalymount) which is usually full or at the Brian Boru pub about 5 minutes walk (pay parking).
Didnt know that theres a sc on connaught st side of dalymount
marinobohs
19/02/2019, 9:50 AM
Didnt know that theres a sc on connaught st side of dalymount
Behind what used to be known as the tramway end (opposite end to the Des Kelly stand) it has pay parking but usually full with shoppers. nothing directly behind Connaught Street side except houses and road which also tends to be very busy from a parking perspective.
Asterix
21/02/2019, 10:46 AM
Most people probably already know but away fans will be in the North end of the East stand in Tallaght and are entering through Block 1 this season.
https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2765&stc=1
sbgawa
21/02/2019, 3:34 PM
really looking forward to tomorrow night.
I like the idea of having the away fans over in the East stand , makes it easier to see them (speaking as a west stand person) and also will cut down on the massive seat kill that was needed in the west stand to separate the home and away fans.
On busy nights it could be hard to get a seat in the west stand and then on tv you would see 100's of empty seats separating the home and away fans in the West stand.
Now the away fans have a stand to themselves and probably less stewarding needed.
Did a piece on Waterford but TBH didn't have a lot to go on. Where do they put away fans for games like this? Is there a pub where home fans gather? Anything else people might like to know?
https://www.finnharps.ie/post/slo-update-information-for-harps-fans-travelling-to-waterford
27/03/2019, 6:44 PM
[QUOTE=Mr A;1996699]Did a piece on Waterford but TBH didn't have a lot to go on. Where do they put away fans for games like this? Is there a pub where home fans gather? Anything else people might like to know?
https://www.finnharps.ie/post/slo-update-information-for-harps-fans-travelling-to-waterford[/QUOTE
Mr A follow Brian Kennedy on twitter and pm him. hes the man in the know on this! I havent being in RSC since end of 2017 season and there wasnt too many away fans that travelled. so that doenst count.
Got some help from Waterford fans on twitter, so was able to flesh it out a bit.
Asterix
12/08/2019, 1:29 PM
Parking in the Square Shoping centre is no longer free for Rovers matches(unless you leave the game early). First 2 hours are free then 2€ per hour after. You can buy a pre paid ticket before the match at the customer service desk inside on level 2 to avoid the queues after the game.
Yossarian
12/08/2019, 6:17 PM
Parking in the Square Shoping centre is no longer free for Rovers matches(unless you leave the game early). First 2 hours are free then 2€ per hour after. You can buy a pre paid ticket before the match at the customer service desk inside on level 2 to avoid the queues after the game.
What’s the reason behind this change? And how will they cope if a lot of cars just drive to the barrier without paying at the machine? The free parking was hardly taking spaces away from people going into the shopping centre was it?
sbgawa
13/08/2019, 10:27 AM
AFAIK the shopping center just looking to make some extra money.
I'd say it did cost them money to be fair as a lot of locals know that if they went up to do their shopping or to the cinema on a Friday night they could get free parking by parking in the top car park.
Simplest solution is to buy a half dozen of the €2 tickets and throw them in the dash then u don't have queuing issue to pay. (home fans option obviously)
mcgonigle
13/08/2019, 1:45 PM
Presume the barriers will be down on the way out in this case? So big queues leaving as people have to use their ticket to open the barriers, then there's the inevitable of people who don't get the message and expect the barriers to be up as per previous games only to get stuck blocking the exit. Could be mayhem getting out of there.
sbgawa
13/08/2019, 4:24 PM
It used to be mayham before they went the lifting the barriers route and i think that was partly why they went the lift the barriers route as they probably got complaints from Shoppers/cinema/restaurant go'ers stuck at massive queues at the pay machines who happend to come out at the same time as the match finished.
Personally if i was going tonight id go and park in the lower car parks and spend the extra few quid on parking to avoid the hassle.
ger121
10/09/2019, 10:09 PM
Anyone know if you buy General Admission tickets on Pat’s website will that get away fans access to Block A in Main Stand? Have generally just bought tickets at the ground in the past.
I bought mine online for DFC away game during the summer and I don't recall having an option for away supporter. Also its the same price (€15) for the stand and the terrace. You just walk in through the arch and that takes you either the away part of the stand or the terrace. Once the two blocks were full in stand, you were directed to the terrace right beside it behind the goal.