View Full Version : Bus to portadown

exile
07/03/2005, 2:44 PM
i have texted people payment details for the portadown trip could everyone please pay into the aib account number i texted ye by friday march 18th and write your name on the payment slip that leaves loads of time to pay, the bus will be 20euros, for anyone who has paid me a deposit could you pay the the balance please, if everyone goes the bus will work out cheaper and and money will be refunded on the day if less people go i will be paying the rest out of my own pocket so if you are going please pay by friday march 18th any questions or anyone i have not texted pm me
cheers paul

can admin make this a sticky please

08/03/2005, 1:01 PM
If less people go, I'm sure ppl won't object to throwing in a few extra quit.
Ya shouldn't be left out of pocket Exile.

fella
08/03/2005, 5:12 PM
agreed - Exile there's no question of that being allowed happen - I'd be happy to pay extra to cover any balance outstanding.
Hopefully there'll be no such problem - should be a great and unique trip.

ian
09/03/2005, 7:00 AM
Will Exile hope ot gos well for you. Know you how I feel every second week. haha

exile
11/03/2005, 12:56 PM
someone has lodged money and i dont know who it is again can the person who lodged money today 11th march pm me or text and again can you please write your name on the lodgement slip
cheers paul

11/03/2005, 9:44 PM
Where and when is the bus leaving from? I need to organise an excuse. Im going to be starting in a lab around then and cant ask for time off so a dentists appointment or something has to me mede (or atleast though of).

redgav
11/03/2005, 10:34 PM
Where and when is the bus leaving from? I need to organise an excuse. Im going to be starting in a lab around then and cant ask for time off so a dentists appointment or something has to me mede (or atleast though of).

it goes from opposite the kilkenny shop in nassau street - 3 pm sharp

11/03/2005, 10:58 PM
Oh its ok, I thought it was on a week day, no problems there then.

redgav
12/03/2005, 7:56 PM
Oh its ok, I thought it was on a week day, no problems there then.

it is on a week day !!! its a monday ( 11th)

12/03/2005, 10:45 PM
I thought so too but (and admittedly this is taken from the FAI site so Im not too sure if it can be believed. Its about the ref we'll have. 16th is a Sat if Im not mistaken)

16/04/2005
Portadown
Cork City
Shamrock Park
Brian Turkington
David Redfern
Dan Steele
Adrian Ball
TBC

*Ah just looked at another page on thier site and its on the 11th alright, just another FAI F-up again, thats all, sorry about any confusion*

13/03/2005, 12:01 PM
I'm not so sure it is. Media info sent out says it's on the 16th. All fixtures are subject to confirmation...

13/03/2005, 12:57 PM
We are away to Bohs on the 15th so can't see how could even be moved to the 16th.

FAI :rolleyes:

redgav
13/03/2005, 2:06 PM
Full list below -

Group 1 fixtures

15/03/05 Glentoran v Longford Town
04/04/05 Longford Town v Linfield
19/04/05 Linfield v Glentoran
25/04/05 Longford Town v Glentoran
10/05/05 Linfield v Longford Town
16/05/05 Glentoran v Linfield

Group 2 fixtures

22/03/05 Shelbourne v Portadown
29/03/05 Cork City v Shelbourne
11/04/05 Portadown v Cork City
25/04/05 Portadown v Shelbourne
02/05/05 Shelbourne v Cork City
16/05/05 Cork City v Portadown

13/03/2005, 2:21 PM
Well like I posted, they have the ref down to have the match on the 16th.

I suppose its on the 11th alright, but you never know with the FAI :o

Seeing as its on the City site as the 11th (I think), that'll do for me.

13/03/2005, 10:33 PM
11/04/05 Portadown v Cork City
16/05/05 Cork City v Portadown

Are ye getting confused here folks?

14/03/2005, 12:29 PM
Give me some credit :rolleyes:
According to the info sent out by the FAI the away fixture is the 16th of April and the home fixture is the 16th of May. Still haven't got it confirmed by anyone other than the FAI...

14/03/2005, 7:02 PM
Are ye getting confused here folks?

I just copies and pasted so no typo's on my part!

exile
16/03/2005, 12:39 PM
CAN THE PERSON WHO LODGED 20 EUROS TODAY THE 16TH PM OR TEXT me NO NAME WITH THE LODGMENT IM NOT A MIND READER
cheers Paul

exile
22/03/2005, 12:34 PM
Thanks to everyone who paid on time.
For the people who didnt pay and the 1 one person who paid late i gave your seats away its your own fault ye had plenty of notice so anyone who hasnt paid yet dont lodge money into the account the bus is now full, can whoever oliver ryan is contact me and i and your money will be refunded.
for the people who didnt bother to pay i have your names and numbers and ye wont be going on any other buses organised by the exiles
cheers Paul

22/03/2005, 12:53 PM
look forward to travelling on the bus paul
cheers for organising it

22/03/2005, 1:01 PM
it goes from opposite the kilkenny shop in nassau street - 3 pm sharp

Now that we've filled the bus (nice one exile) can I tempt people to a pre-bus bevvie (just the one, I don't fancy waiting for pit stops :p ) somewhere in the Nassau Street region around 2pm

Suggestions?

exile
22/03/2005, 1:17 PM
Now that we've filled the bus (nice one exile) can I tempt people to a pre-bus bevvie (just the one, I don't fancy waiting for pit stops :p ) somewhere in the Nassau Street region around 2pm

Suggestions?

judge roy beans??

22/03/2005, 1:28 PM
look forward to travelling on the bus paul
cheers for organising it

I know its a european hame 'n all but I thought was just for exiles? Who left him in?

Judge Roy Beans sounds good as evryone should be abale to find that.

22/03/2005, 1:33 PM
I know its a european hame 'n all but I thought was just for exiles? Who left him in?
I did :o There's 5 of us travelling up to the pale in my car

22/03/2005, 1:48 PM
eaaaanr you beter make shure we in the pale in time for a pre bus drink :)

22/03/2005, 5:35 PM
Lads, Im looking for an excuse to get out of the lab early, any ideas? Im going to be new and it might as well be a new job (except not getting paid:( ) but I dont get any time off for holidays or anything like that.

Should I:
a) Come clean and ask for a half day.
b) Arrange a trip for the 'dentist'
c) Pull a sickie
d)?????

I need help! :( Has anyone had any similar experiences?

exile
22/03/2005, 5:41 PM
Lads, Im looking for an excuse to get out of the lab early, any ideas? Im going to be new and it might as well be a new job (except not getting paid:( ) but I dont get any time off for holidays or anything like that.

Should I:
a) Come clean and ask for a half day.
b) Arrange a trip for the 'dentist'
c) Pull a sickie
d)?????

I need help! :( Has anyone had any similar experiences?

if your not getting paid just say you have a pre arranged family function

22/03/2005, 5:43 PM
u want me to write ya a note troy :)

22/03/2005, 9:06 PM
Have you started in the lab yet?

If not started yet say you have pre-arrange meeting/function
/whatever on the day....also say you can survive with just the half day off...will make it seem you doing them a favour...?

23/03/2005, 7:28 AM
Yeah, I agree with Pete.
Say you need the day off for a pre-arranged function, then if they 'hum and hah' do them a great favour by telling them you will swing things around and try and get in for a few hours in the morning.

City match and brownie points!!

23/03/2005, 7:39 AM
City match and brownie points!!

and a few pints b4 we get on the bus
the job like :)

agree with the lads too, its a new job, tell them pre arranged thing but u putting yurself out a bit by coming in for a half day.. works for me all the time here does that one

adamd164
23/03/2005, 1:47 PM
Hope there won't be trouble up there. Last night after they scored against Shels, according to a fan who's a friend of mine, they made 'gestures' of a bigoted nature.

Dricky
23/03/2005, 2:24 PM
Ah sure we all break into "All you need is Love" from the beatles if they start any sectarian sing songs.

Not that we'll be heard

23/03/2005, 2:43 PM
Hope there won't be trouble up there. Last night after they scored against Shels, according to a fan who's a friend of mine, they made 'gestures' of a bigoted nature.
I heard of bigoted words and chants, but what is a bigoted gesture?:confused:

23/03/2005, 3:58 PM
The Ports were given a Garda escort last night because Longford were given one to Glentoran. I was at the game. There was no sign of any trouble but there were chants from both sets of supporters...the same you'd get at any game.
I would think the bus will be escorted to the ground, we'll be expected to stay there, be loaded up afterwards and sent on out merry way with all three points.

redgav
23/03/2005, 5:30 PM
The Ports were given a Garda escort last night because Longford were given one to Glentoran. I was at the game. There was no sign of any trouble but there were chants from both sets of supporters...the same you'd get at any game.
I would think the bus will be escorted to the ground, we'll be expected to stay there, be loaded up afterwards and sent on out merry way with all three points.

I can confirm that - 2 police bikes blocked off the crossroad at collins avenue and 2 police jeeps escorted the buses down grace park rd into Tolka park away from the home fans.There was a lot of additional security and looked like guards were well on top.Fans had to buy tickets away from the ground to avoid congestion at the turnstiles -
We'll have the same goin to Ports I'd imagine,just waitin to hear back from the PSNI about it.

23/03/2005, 10:22 PM
Have you started in the lab yet?

If not started yet say you have pre-arrange meeting/function
/whatever on the day....also say you can survive with just the half day off...will make it seem you doing them a favour...?

Thanks guys.

No I havent started in the lab yet (I'll be in RCSI which I would guess is pretty work intensive but handy for the bus).

What can I say the function is? A Christening or something? I cant exactly say that Im rushing off to a christening with a City top on. I'll need to leave at 2:45, what can I go to that will last longer than 2:30 hours? I think that I need something better than the dentest. :(

How about:
Dentest appointment at 3:20 near St James's where I live,
I'll need 30 min to get there on time so I'll have to be gone by 2:50 at the very very latest (Im only 2 min away from the Kilkenny shop).
Wont be out of the dentest by 4 when you consider delays and all that.
Couldnt possibly be back before 4:30.
Is it worth coming in for one hour? So I'll have to take the afternoon off

Unfortunatly, I dont think that they will have a problem in saying that I can just stay in the lab til 8 to make up for lost time! :(

23/03/2005, 10:25 PM
Try asking for the full halfday, have the "i could come in til 2.45..." in reserve if needed?

23/03/2005, 10:32 PM
Thanks guys.

No I havent started in the lab yet (I'll be in RCSI which I would guess is pretty work intensive but handy for the bus).

What can I say the function is? A Christening or something? I cant exactly say that Im rushing off to a christening with a City top on. I'll need to leave at 2:45, what can I go to that will last longer than 2:30 hours? I think that I need something better than the dentest. :(

How about:
I'll need 30 min to get there on time so I'll have to be gone by 2:50 at the very very latest (Im only 2 min away from the Kilkenny shop).

Unfortunatly, I dont think that they will have a problem in saying that I can just stay in the lab til 8 to make up for lost time! :(
I hope they're reading this site :p :D

colblimp
23/03/2005, 10:49 PM
Thanks guys.

How about:

Why not just throw a sicky?! Ring up on the morning of the game and say you've had hot sweats, been up all night, you're feeling very weak and the room spins every time you try to get up. They can't say a thing then, can they? Mind you, if you do say that and they're reading this forum....you're shagged! :D

adamd164
24/03/2005, 9:27 AM
I heard of bigoted words and chants, but what is a bigoted gesture?:confused:
Couldn't tell you, that's why I put gestures in quotation marks!

Morpheus
24/03/2005, 1:16 PM
Dont know what the guys on about re the bigoted gestures :confused:
There wasn't a hint of any trouble or bigotry at the game!

Regurgitating some hearsay from a 'mate' is never a good idea. Ask the people who were there & they'll tell you they saw a great game, played in the right spirit & two sets of fans backing their teams with cheering & singing.

IMO the atmosphere was great....me throats shredded :D

Myself & a group of mates made a night of it, went down on the train & stayed overnight. We had a great reception from everyone we met & I'm looking forward to the trip to Cork now more than ever!

We're here for a good time, not a long time, & life's too short for all that bull****. We'll be coming to Cork looking for the drink & the craic thats all.......

Oh & the 3 points of course! :p

adamd164
24/03/2005, 1:37 PM
Here here! My apologies if what I wrote offended anyone but it was only hearsay.

24/03/2005, 2:40 PM

Yes there was, you could hear it on tv! It went along the lines...

"Champions League? You're having a laugh!" :p I was nearly joining in at home :D

A sickie might be the answer. I just met the boss today and got a stack of reading to do. I'll see how the first week goes, if Im still doing reading then I can doss off easily enough, otherwise I'll have to develop a fever for a while.

And no, they are not reading this! :D

Counting Crow
04/04/2005, 10:02 PM

Regurgitating some hearsay from a 'mate' is never a good idea. Ask the people who were there & they'll tell you they saw a great game, played in the right spirit & two sets of fans backing their teams with cheering & singing.

IMO the atmosphere was great....me throats shredded :D

Myself & a group of mates made a night of it, went down on the train & stayed overnight. We had a great reception from everyone we met & I'm looking forward to the trip to Cork now more than ever!

We're here for a good time, not a long time, & life's too short for all that bull****. We'll be coming to Cork looking for the drink & the craic thats all.......

Oh & the 3 points of course! :p

Personally I can't wait for this game. Fair play to ya Morpheus - looks like you got the right attitude.

Oh and by the way if you thought the atmosphere was good in that graveyard they call Tolka Park wait until you hit The Cross!!! ;)

Best atmosphere in Ireland - North or South.

Will many of ye travel or will the journey put yere fans off?

05/04/2005, 10:20 AM
And no, they are not reading this! :D

Make sure you not posting from work then ;)

Fair_play_boy
05/04/2005, 8:37 PM
Oh & the 3 points of course! :p :D
If ye do take all three points let it be from our mutual friends on the banks of the Tolka. :p

06/04/2005, 9:13 AM
Lads n lassie's
Still seats left on the CCOSC bus, thats doing an overnighter just outside Dundalk.

Cost from cork including hotel is 90euros and theres some food in the hotel thrown in also.

PM / email me if interested.

supportersATcorkcityfc.ie

cheers
_______