View Full Version : LOI's greatest "Greatest League in the World" moment

Philosophizer
27/11/2017, 5:24 PM
The naming of the league Pat Grace's Famous Fried Chicken League...As a huge fan of fried chicken these were really special times

This comment was so good it inspired a new thread :)

27/11/2017, 5:40 PM
Brays 2017 series of statements.

patrickccfc
27/11/2017, 8:05 PM
Longford announcing on twitter that their next home game at the time was at home to Athlone in the cup, around a week or two before the actual draw. They didn't draw Athlone.

27/11/2017, 9:18 PM
FAI refusing to sanction Limerick's friendly with Barcelona.

It showed, all at once, the indifference, incompetence, and arrogance of the FAI, and also showed just how supine the LOI clubs are.

Treaty Gooner
27/11/2017, 10:49 PM
The chancers 'representing' Barcelona who were wined and dined by Limerick in the lead up to this debacle have an even better story tbf... The truth will out some day.

ToberonaTornado
27/11/2017, 11:32 PM
The Galway United 2006 promo video to the IAG and the subsequent Maxi meltdown in Merrion Square has to be up there.(sound not working on this? Sorry)
If anyone has a copy of this with sound or the Galway vid that'd be grand.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/jail-for-soccer-fan-who-doused-himself-in-petrol-at-fai-offices-26280019.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uWsk9FQzjg&t=116s

EatYerGreens
28/11/2017, 12:24 PM
The Galway United 2006 promo video to the IAG and the subsequent Maxi meltdown in Merrion Square has to be up there.(sound not working on this? Sorry)
If anyone has a copy of this with sound or the Galway vid that'd be grand.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/jail-for-soccer-fan-who-doused-himself-in-petrol-at-fai-offices-26280019.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8uWsk9FQzjg&t=116s

A version of this with the sound on would be immense.

The level of disruption caused by one man with a grudge :D

29/11/2017, 12:57 AM
Dundalk/former owner looking for 100's of thousands of Euro compensation for damage to an artificial pitch that had already been dug up for being sub standard?? Claiming that a big shed was worth 8 million and if it wasnt wanted there was a guy in Northern Ireland who would buy after its torn down. Independent licencing, licencing in general. Drogheda United's new ground planning application, Dundalk FC's away section and lack of minerals and crisps. Lack of direct bus routes to certain grounds in Dublin.....

29/11/2017, 7:00 PM
Yeah Maxi gets my vote. Faaaarce.

bluemovie
30/11/2017, 11:32 AM
A personal favourite was a UCD v Waterford Premier Division game in 2005 having kick-off delayed for 45 minutes.....because the FAI forgot to appoint a referee

NeverFeltBetter
30/11/2017, 6:07 PM
"Isn't bleak, but cool"

04/12/2017, 6:54 PM
A personal favourite was a UCD v Waterford Premier Division game in 2005 having kick-off delayed for 45 minutes.....because the FAI forgot to appoint a referee

I think we have a winner !

04/12/2017, 7:04 PM
I remember that game; was busy till 9:30 or so (it was a Monday evening) so couldn't make it. Sent a text shortly after full-time to see what the result was and was told the second half was only kicking off. So got a bonus 25 minutes in the end. :)

09/12/2017, 9:57 AM
This could qualify.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=awvQ5zF45-Y

nr637
15/12/2017, 7:02 PM
Shelbourne vs Cork City 29/10/11... Tolka Park

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w)

Pablo Escobar
15/12/2017, 9:47 PM
Shelbourne vs Cork City 29/10/11... Tolka Park

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkkNGYtVE5w)
Not only my favourite LOI moment ever, but probably favourite moment ever. The release from what had gone on before was immense.

On the topic, Paul Marley needs a mention.

15/12/2017, 10:48 PM
Yeah the Paul Marney situation and Pats getting their Champions of Ireland trophy is up there definitely.

16/12/2017, 8:04 AM
The celebrations in Oriel Park the night they 'won' the league were something else. Pat Dolan took off with a leap at the full time whistle that any centre forward would be proud of then sprinted from the players he was mauling to in front of the supporters in the stand looking like he was about to do a Klinsman dive but then though better of it, which would have been some sight and in his suit!! It was as if St Pats had actually won the cup (back then) and league double with the Champions League thrown in on top. A trophy was even produced from somewhere to pass around.

19/12/2017, 10:36 AM
Little bit of 'armless banter from official league website.

https://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2634&stc=1

CorribsideSteve
19/12/2017, 3:02 PM
You've gotta hand it to them, that's a decent pun

sulywaterfordfc
19/12/2017, 6:01 PM
I had the fourth official threatened me mid match when we played Cabinteely in the summer of 2016 down in Stradbrook!

16/02/2018, 8:48 PM
The chip van ladies.

sbgawa
16/02/2018, 10:25 PM
Have to say even I enjoyed that clip :)

trevy
18/02/2018, 6:31 PM
Another good celebrations moment from the RSC on Friday night when the Gardai parked behind the goal switched on their flashing blue nights on their van during the celebrations of Waterford's winning goal.

gormacha
18/02/2018, 10:05 PM
Perhaps on a more modest scale, but my favourite GLITW moment was Waterford away to Cobh a few seasons back. During the warmup, Waterford's Dylan Mernagh miskicked a pass out over the uncovered longside terrace into the gardens behind. He looked to the terrace to see who would go for it, but no-one budged. He then looked around at teammates, coaches and whoever, all of whom stared back at him. It then dawned on him he was going to have get it himself, so off he trudged up to the top corner turnstile, out of the ground, down the linny behind the terrace, climbing over the fences, avoiding angry-looking and sounding neighbours' dogs to retrieve the ball.

I think he was just back from doing well at the World Student Games. He soon had his cough softened.

23/02/2018, 4:59 AM
Surely the ultimate Greatest League in the World moment is the FAI stealing the name for their podcast without realising it was made up partly to make fun of their lack of interest in the league.

23/02/2018, 7:47 AM
Yeah I think it’s time to retire that hashtag now it’s been adopted by The Man.

Plus I’m a bit sick of it truth be told. Some prolific social media accounts are sticking it on anything remotely LOI related.

27/02/2018, 5:11 AM
Yeah I think it’s time to retire that hashtag now it’s been adopted by The Man.

Plus I’m a bit sick of it truth be told. Some prolific social media accounts are sticking it on anything remotely LOI related.

It was designed to take the p1ss, I actually think it’s quite tin pot using it officially. What must outsiders think when they see the league actually promoting itself as such

27/02/2018, 10:23 AM
When we proposed that the league adopt it a few years back, the idea was to both embrace the idiosyncrasies of the league and also to use it to highlight positive stuff like community integration, humour, fan displays or initiatives or anything like that.. although the usage did end up being mostly on the less positive stuff. In general though I still think its better to embrace our uniqueness and off beat stuff rather than trying to be some bland mini premiership with bugger all character or fun.

27/02/2018, 2:22 PM
Ollie Horgan stating in his interview on Fri night that they were all off for pints in Mother Hughes is up there. Whata guy.

28/02/2018, 12:43 PM
Ollies assessment of the performance of the bar staff and how his lads put away the pints would be fun (even if they didnt actually head to Mother Hughes).

28/02/2018, 3:58 PM
Ollies assessment of the performance of the bar staff and how his lads put away the pints would be fun (even i they didnt actually head to Mother Hughes).

Unfortunately, they didn't. Although, I'm sure some of the lads might have went for a few pints being close to home...(O'Connor x2)..

30/07/2018, 10:50 PM
Funny I thought there was a much longer greatest league on the world thread.

Anyways, Longford Town are running a competition on Facebook to name their new mascot.

Have fun folks :D

Eminence Grise
30/07/2018, 11:19 PM
Longford McLongfordface

Maybe just: why the long face?

Pablo Escobar
31/07/2018, 7:12 AM
Funny I thought there was a much longer greatest league on the world thread.

Anyways, Longford Town are running a competition on Facebook to name their new mascot.

Have fun folks :D

It's a Lion. 'Lonely the Lion' for me.

31/07/2018, 7:22 AM
We’re going to call him John in a gesture of thanks to Him.

Straightstory
31/07/2018, 9:02 AM
It was designed to take the p1ss, I actually think it’s quite tin pot using it officially. What must outsiders think when they see the league actually promoting itself as such
'Tin pot' - exactly. I find it embarrassing and excruciating.

Straightstory
31/07/2018, 9:06 AM
'Tin pot' - exactly. I find the phrase embarrassing and excruciating.

Eminence Grise
31/07/2018, 9:28 AM
We’re going to call him John in a gesture of thanks to Him.

Might as well go the whole way so - John Deliony.

Scrufil
31/07/2018, 10:12 AM
Ok I will bite, if you pardon the pun. Why have Longford Town adopted a lion as a mascot? Athlone Town had/have a lion as a mascot because there is a lion on the crest of the Athlone Town AFC jersey. The county of Longford has a hound on its coat of arms. Why not a hound?
It is the same bug bear I have with Dundalk using ‘C’mon the Town’ when this is the old catch-cry used for Athlone Town, who have Town actually in their title and are the oldest club with an unchanged title.

31/07/2018, 11:39 AM
Easier to get and wear a lion costume than a hound costume?

Both words start with L?

31/07/2018, 11:42 AM
Maybe there are still lions in County Longford. When was the last time anyone checked?

31/07/2018, 2:39 PM
Dunno but to be honest it’s probably just for alliterative purposes. The Longford Lion sounds better than..I don’t know..the Longford Bull or whatever. He’s made infrequent appearances since the early 2000s.

Oh and please submit John Deliony, I love it.

Eminence Grise
31/07/2018, 2:49 PM
Never bothered much with FB, so if you want to lob in John Deliony fire ahead. Since I riffed off your idea we'll split the royalties!

31/07/2018, 6:29 PM
there is a longford lions club in town specialising for those in hardship so dont know if it was named after that. have no idea of why theres a longford lion but it was regularly in early 00s.