View Full Version : 2018 Season Tickets
Your opinion is wildly speculative and based on extremes. Your home attendances last year were good because you were winning every week. That won't happen in the Premier (if it does fair play but its unlikely). Your opinion that Dundalk will bring over 500 because the last time you played them they did is foolish, because that was a massive game. Perhaps if you play them first you might get 300 or so, but they don't bring that sort of a crowd for run of the mill games. When they were winning leagues they brought a really big crowd ~500 once or twice in the last four years to Cork, usually its much lower. Same for us going to Dundalk. When leagues were on the line we bring a big crowd up there but for a mid season game it would be closer to 200 or so.
I'm sure for their first trip to Waterford they will bring a decent crowd but you were using a starting point of 500 whereas I would say that would be extremely optimistic, even if its the first game of the season.
The only clubs who will realistically bring close to 500 to Waterford are Cork City (cos its a close game for us) and Shamrock Rovers. I hope I'm wrong and every game is a sell out, but experience tells me I won't be.
When we were ??? Christ, last one was in October 2016, not like it was decades ago :)
Out of interest from the 3 league titles in a row period, what was the biggest Dlk away support? I'd be guessing the 2-1 win, when Towell scored twice in April 2015?
30/11/2017, 1:18 PM
Any idea when the fixture lists are coming out guys?
22nd December last year. Assume something similar this year.
sbgawa
30/11/2017, 1:44 PM
Rant coming................its feckin ridiculous that we can't get the fixtures out sooner especially with the league starting earlier.
El-Pietro
30/11/2017, 1:46 PM
When we were ??? Christ, last one was in October 2016, not like it was decades ago :)
Out of interest from the 3 league titles in a row period, what was the biggest Dlk away support? I'd be guessing the 2-1 win, when Towell scored twice in April 2015?
I paused on that line, but said I'd throw the dig in there! Its been AAAAAAGES since you won a league :P
I think there was a massive crowd - ~600 for that game yeah. You had ~100 for the game a few weeks back, though it was a Monday and I probably wouldn't have traveled for the game if I was in your position.
To be fair well played EL P, I'd have been happy with that dig myself !
Yeah that was great game, April 2015, my first ever trip to TC, we had some craic in the Evergreen bar before and after.
Dundalk general stand, ST are €220 this year, up €20, 2 extra games, still very good value. Noticed Cork have same price for all adults, suppose all seater.
bluemovie
30/11/2017, 3:31 PM
Nice to hear that about Dundalk fans doing an overnighter. Keep in touch with us about that and we'll see if we can sort you out (I mean that in a nightclub entry, advice, directions type way rather than a Green Street way). We'll probably benefit from a novelty factor for away fans that haven't been down here in years. But apart from Wexford, one Cobh game and one Shels game, we had pretty much zero away fans last year so any extras will add to the averages.
I know last year's budget was based on getting average attendances of 300. They ended up averaging over 1500 so that was a big bonus. I tend to err on the cautious/pessimistic side so I'd say we'll get less than 2000 for games against Bray and Sligo, but any of the others would be considered a big draw (well taking into account that Limerick should bring a good few fans). Cork fans will travel in numbers and draw a lot of fringe local fans too. We were getting four and five thousand for those games the last time we were up. So I'd expect an average by end of season of close to 2500, but we'll see.
Speaking of Limerick, it's gas to see one of their fans complaining about the RSC after 20 years of dragging us to The Worst Toilet in Scotland!
I know last year's budget was based on getting average attendances of 300.
Where was the rest of the money expected to come from? Investment from Power?
Nice to hear that about Dundalk fans doing an overnighter. Keep in touch with us about that and we'll see if we can sort you out (I mean that in a nightclub entry, advice, directions type way rather than a Green Street way). We'll probably benefit from a novelty factor for away fans that haven't been down here in years. But apart from Wexford, one Cobh game and one Shels game, we had pretty much zero away fans last year so any extras will add to the averages.
I know last year's budget was based on getting average attendances of 300. They ended up averaging over 1500 so that was a big bonus. I tend to err on the cautious/pessimistic side so I'd say we'll get less than 2000 for games against Bray and Sligo, but any of the others would be considered a big draw (well taking into account that Limerick should bring a good few fans). Cork fans will travel in numbers and draw a lot of fringe local fans too. We were getting four and five thousand for those games the last time we were up. So I'd expect an average by end of season of close to 2500, but we'll see.
Speaking of Limerick, it's gas to see one of their fans complaining about the RSC after 20 years of dragging us to The Worst Toilet in Scotland!
Thanks BM re the offer. I`d be cautious on the attendances overall though, regardless of getting better players in, its still a significant step up to the PD for most clubs, and especially in a ten team league a few defeats and fans could become frustrated. Nothing more fickle than the avg Irish football fan and this is what makes us so different to clubs in say League 2 in England, over there you can go on a month or more without a home win and the crowds still hoover around your avg of 4 or 5k.
I think if you ended with an avg of 2k, that would be a very good return first year back, as you have to think about the less attractive games, but one point is very valid, away support, virtually non existent in the FD, it will be a very welcome sight and will of course add to the atmosphere.
Edit: it's far too long a season and first year up, Waterford could easily lose 3 or 4 in a row and be back to 1k. I think an avg of 1,500 first year back would be a solid return. Build it up gradually after that.
Philosophizer
30/11/2017, 3:48 PM
So I'd expect an average by end of season of close to 2500, but we'll see.
very ambitious... there's only 3 clubs in the premier who get those types of numbers.
What did ye average the last time in the Premier? 2500 sounds like pie in the sky stuff unless ye end up challenging for the league.
gormacha
01/12/2017, 10:27 AM
Attendances depend on results. For every club. Always have, always will.
littlebray
01/12/2017, 10:28 AM
Any idea when the fixture lists are coming out guys?
22nd December last year. Assume something similar this year.
19 December, the FAI tells us.
Announced yesterday, see here (http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/2018-sse-airtricity-league-format-confirmed/id-1183)
Ezeikial
01/12/2017, 10:42 AM
Your opinion is wildly speculative and based on extremes. ............ Your opinion ............ is foolish,.
............... I hope I'm wrong..., but experience tells me I won't be.
You really have a gift with words
Ezeikial
01/12/2017, 10:47 AM
Nice to hear that about Dundalk fans doing an overnighter. Keep in touch with us about that and we'll see if we can sort you out (I mean that in a nightclub entry, advice, directions type way rather than a Green Street way).
A poster called bluemovie makes an offer like that......I don't know if it will detract from or add to the number travelling!
bluemovie
01/12/2017, 8:29 PM
Where was the rest of the money expected to come from? Investment from Power?
Yes. He didn't have to put in as much as he thought to get us up. I know if we weren't top by midseason, he said there was money available to go get the players we needed to get up.
Just responding to a few comments in one go. Last time we were up, attendances would've averaged over 2000 the first couple of seasons. We were dreadful the next three, but still got 3000-5000 for Cork games which partly made up for lows of about 1000. It's true my estimates are based on us winning games, but I do see us winning games. There's massive interest in the club right now so just for next season anyway I'd expect very big crowds. Remember we averaged over 1500 in the First Division last year with no away fans so I'd expect a lot more casual fans from Waterford too. Not if we're bottom of the table obviously, but I don't see that happening. We had 3000 the last home game when we lifted the trophy (announced as 2500 but let's just say I hope the taxman doesn't investigate that) and you'd expect most to want to return. If we get a Sligo style bandwagon that dies away in years to come, that's another matter to be dealt with down the line but I'd expect comfortably more than 2000 on average in 2018.
bluemovie
01/12/2017, 8:31 PM
A poster called bluemovie makes an offer like that......I don't know if it will detract from or add to the number travelling!
Anything you want that would be at all possible for us to get you, just ask for it. And I mean anything. Except the English papers.
El-Pietro
02/12/2017, 4:15 PM
Yes. He didn't have to put in as much as he thought to get us up. I know if we weren't top by midseason, he said there was money available to go get the players we needed to get up.
Just responding to a few comments in one go. Last time we were up, attendances would've averaged over 2000 the first couple of seasons. We were dreadful the next three, but still got 3000-5000 for Cork games which partly made up for lows of about 1000. It's true my estimates are based on us winning games, but I do see us winning games. There's massive interest in the club right now so just for next season anyway I'd expect very big crowds. Remember we averaged over 1500 in the First Division last year with no away fans so I'd expect a lot more casual fans from Waterford too. Not if we're bottom of the table obviously, but I don't see that happening. We had 3000 the last home game when we lifted the trophy (announced as 2500 but let's just say I hope the taxman doesn't investigate that) and you'd expect most to want to return. If we get a Sligo style bandwagon that dies away in years to come, that's another matter to be dealt with down the line but I'd expect comfortably more than 2000 on average in 2018.
There is no tax on gate receipts in Ireland. There is absolutely no reason (bar safety and over crowding) to under report attendances in this league (except maybe Derry). Fans consistently overestimate crowds.
02/12/2017, 4:25 PM
You could keep cash off the books to give players a tax free bonus by understating crowds.
But agree that people overestimate crowds alright
03/12/2017, 11:40 AM
Even if you got 5000 at both Cork city games, which seems unlikely, you'd still have to average over 2100 on all the rest of the games to come out at a 2500 average. Sure, if ye're challenging for the league I could see it, but if ye're midtable? I think you're setting some unrealistic expectations.
03/12/2017, 12:22 PM
Limerick fans said an awful lot of similar stuff last year.
LK37oldskool
03/12/2017, 5:22 PM
Have to agree with Nigel, we started the season with serious intent and after a couple of terrible results we lost a huge slice of our initial attendance. Attendance is purely based on results.
redobit
04/12/2017, 12:46 PM
If we get a Sligo style bandwagon that dies away in years to come, that's another matter to be dealt with down the line but I'd expect comfortably more than 2000 on average in 2018.
Nevermind us. :p
In fairness all clubs get their fair share of the bandwagon brigade. We get about 1800 for home attendances in relegation battling seasons, so not too shabby.
Philosophizer
04/12/2017, 1:56 PM
Have to agree with Nigel, we started the season with serious intent and after a couple of terrible results we lost a huge slice of our initial attendance. Attendance is purely based on results.
While results definitely play a large part, i think the "attendance is purely based on results" line is an excuse used by a lot of clubs to do no community work whatsoever. Rovers attendances increased 40% this year, but their results weren't much better than last year. They're community endeavours, and promoting their own youngsters through the academy seem to have made the difference.
sbgawa
04/12/2017, 7:15 PM
I'd agree with you there 're the comunity work and the promotion of youth but a big part of it was the terrible football played under Fenlon drove people away.
legendz
04/12/2017, 7:41 PM
I was going to use Limerick as an example as well. I think Waterford's attendance might have a similar decline over the season.
While results definitely play a large part, i think the "attendance is purely based on results" line is an excuse used by a lot of clubs to do no community work whatsoever. Rovers attendances increased 40% this year, but their results weren't much better than last year. They're community endeavours, and promoting their own youngsters through the academy seem to have made the difference.
You make a good point as well in fairness. I think Limerick to be fair have been aware of the importance of working in the community.
I know Limerick supporters who prefer the Saturday 6.30pm kickoffs and were not happy about the changing of many fixtures last year. I know season ticket holders who missed many games as a result of that last season and won't be renewing their season ticket due to the uncertainty of many games being moved from their original date and time.
08/12/2017, 9:22 AM
http://www.finnharps.com/fhfc/?p=5505
Harps season tickets out.
IsMiseSean
08/12/2017, 12:49 PM
How much will Harps be charging on the gate next season?
08/12/2017, 1:25 PM
How much will Harps be charging on the gate next season?
Same prices as last year. 12 euro terrace, 15 seats. Tenner student ticket.
Bit steep for First Division in arguably the worst ground in the league in my opinion but suppose the money needs to come from somewhere for the promotion push.
gufcfan
08/12/2017, 1:30 PM
Bit steep for First Division in arguably the worst ground in the league in my opinion but suppose the money needs to come from somewhere for the promotion push.
Money has to come from somewhere yes.
Dropping your prices too far is just screwing yourself. You'll just have the same people paying less. The number of people who will buy because it has been dropped further is tiny compared to the losses you would incur.
Same as when a club does any sort of ticket promotion. You have to be careful who you target, so that you're not just cannibalising your revenue.
sbgawa
08/12/2017, 1:51 PM
Money has to come from somewhere yes.
Dropping your prices too far is just screwing yourself. You'll just have the same people paying less. The number of people who will buy because it has been dropped further is tiny compared to the losses you would incur.
Same as when a club does any sort of ticket promotion. You have to be careful who you target, so that you're not just cannibalising your revenue.
Agree with that , the hardcore will show up anyway and the floating guy probably won't show up unless you are winning matches and won't be put off if the ticket is 3 or 4 euro more either way.
Olander
08/12/2017, 3:02 PM
Some of our supporters are giving out about a €140 adult season ticket.
sbgawa
08/12/2017, 3:44 PM
give me strength...do people not realise its supposed to be about supporting your club not a purely Financial transaction.
Centenary
08/12/2017, 10:23 PM
Can any Shamrock Rovers fans tell me if their season ticket entitles you to park beside the Stadium? If not, who parks there?
RathfarnhamHoop
08/12/2017, 11:34 PM
Can any Shamrock Rovers fans tell me if their season ticket entitles you to park beside the Stadium? If not, who parks there?
It doesn't. Only membership does. Plus sponsors, match officials, etc
09/12/2017, 1:58 AM
Free parking on level three in the Square is effectively the next best thing. I assume that'll be continuing next year?
09/12/2017, 8:32 AM
Free parking on level three in the Square is effectively the next best thing. I assume that'll be continuing next year?
That does be absolutely superb on match day, very handy.
Olander
09/12/2017, 2:59 PM
Galway United season tickets
http://galwayunitedfc.ie/2018-season-tickets-sale-now/
10/12/2017, 11:44 AM
LTFC season tickets €110 for adults (€100 pre 31st December) and €55 kids (€50 pre 31 Dec.). Very reasonable I must say.
SeanDrog
10/12/2017, 4:24 PM
LTFC season tickets €110 for adults (€100 pre 31st December) and €55 kids (€50 pre 31 Dec.). Very reasonable I must say.
Drogs crosslanes season ticket adult 175e can also bring a kid in on it.
Centenary
12/12/2017, 9:30 PM
It doesn't. Only membership does. Plus sponsors, match officials, etc
Thanks. Handy car park if one can get in!
14/12/2017, 12:19 PM
Is the Square not free after a certain time anyway? The barriers are always up by the time we're leaving.
sbgawa
14/12/2017, 12:51 PM
they lift the barriers for that top level part of the car park on match nights to allow everyone out for free.
Some lucky shoppers get out for free as well :)
Philosophizer
14/12/2017, 1:24 PM
they lift the barriers for that top level part of the car park on match nights to allow everyone out for free.
Some lucky shoppers get out for free as well :)
It's a great set up in fairness.
El-Pietro
18/12/2017, 12:39 PM
Cork City have sold over 1,000 season tickets for 2018. Announced on facebook/twitter this afternoon.
EatYerGreens
19/12/2017, 1:26 AM
Cork City have sold over 1,000 season tickets for 2018. Announced on facebook/twitter this afternoon.
Only cuz no-one wants to buy your home shirt ;)
19/12/2017, 1:52 AM
****, what's our excuse then?
I'm not a huge fan, buy we've already sold more home shirts than we did all of last season apparently! We didn't have enough stock in
EatYerGreens
19/12/2017, 3:39 PM
****, what's our excuse then?
People are keen to see if you'll actually line out in that hazy hoops home shirt monstrosity or not :D
El-Pietro
19/02/2018, 10:14 PM
https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/965641253286068224
More than 1340 Season Tickets sold (so 1341?) as of today. Definitely a club record.
19/02/2018, 10:28 PM
https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/965641253286068224
More than 1340 Season Tickets sold (so 1341?) as of today. Definitely a club record.
Incredible, even taking an average ticket cost, that's over €180,000 lifted to kick start the season. A lot of clubs would be happy enough to average that in attendance for the year.