View Full Version : 2018 season

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

L.T.F.C.
01/03/2018, 9:53 AM
Anyone have a copy of the program from the other day? I went to buy one at just missed the last one!

Town Legend
01/03/2018, 11:15 AM
I'm nearly certain Zambra got a couple for us last season??

01/03/2018, 2:42 PM
I'm nearly certain Zambra got a couple for us last season??

Think he scored in the 5-0 rout of Wexford but he defo got at least 1 if not 2 last season

01/03/2018, 8:54 PM
Did he score against Athlone when we scored 7 against them? Have a vague recollection of that.

01/03/2018, 10:29 PM
http://ltfc.ie/2017-2/

considering I compiled the stats for our website I should have known the answer to this! shame on me!

01/03/2018, 11:42 PM
I have phrased my previous question badly but these new signings that we made over the last two weeks who are they and from what clubs as I have never heard of them before?

02/03/2018, 2:25 AM
Having had a look at the website squad list, I assume you mean Jackson Ryan, Uri Keller and Daniel Ridge? Ryan is ex Shels, Uri Keller can't be his real name (or he needs to lose his parents) so I have no idea, and Ridge..well Google doesn't know him either. Possibly lads that came through Neale and Daire's "Path2Pro" academy at some point maybe.

02/03/2018, 5:20 PM
Andy O’Reilly is no longer with the club btw. Gone to cabinteely

02/03/2018, 9:47 PM
Andy O’Reilly is no longer with the club btw. Gone to cabinteely

thats disappointing that's hes gone. I thought that was a permanent signing?

02/03/2018, 11:15 PM
thats disappointing that's hes gone. I thought that was a permanent signing?

He was.

03/03/2018, 12:56 AM
Having had a look at the website squad list, I assume you mean Jackson Ryan, Uri Keller and Daniel Ridge? Ryan is ex Shels, Uri Keller can't be his real name (or he needs to lose his parents) so I have no idea, and Ridge..well Google doesn't know him either. Possibly lads that came through Neale and Daire's "Path2Pro" academy at some point maybe.

By the way it's apparently Uli Keller not Uri Keller, he is a keeper who was with Dundalk u17s last year. Still don't know anything about Ridge.

03/03/2018, 7:49 PM
By the way it's apparently Uli Keller not Uri Keller, he is a keeper who was with Dundalk u17s last year. Still don't know anything about Ridge.

Ah right seen him in Pre season warming up in the Dundalk kit, apparently it was a good laugh in the dressing room given fenn’s links to Dundalk

03/03/2018, 9:24 PM
Anyone have a copy of the program from the other day? I went to buy one at just missed the last one!

well LTFC,

if you ask on twitter or facebook on the Longford town fc a/c I am sure someone will facilitate you as that avenue worked for me before!

10/03/2018, 9:17 PM
Good win in the end tonight. Not as comfortable as the score would suggest but at the same time we could have had six. Mulhall took his goals well he should get quite a few this year. Pitch wasn’t in great nick which didn’t help us but that’s understandable given the recent weather. Other positives were McDonnell and O’Reilly who look a solid pairing, McGlade did well when he came on though he needs to learn to pass the ball occasionally, and Dean Byrne was lively too.

11/03/2018, 10:24 AM
Good win in the end tonight. Not as comfortable as the score would suggest but at the same time we could have had six. Mulhall took his goals well he should get quite a few this year. Pitch wasn’t in great nick which didn’t help us but that’s understandable given the recent weather. Other positives were McDonnell and O’Reilly who look a solid pairing, McGlade did well when he came on though he needs to learn to pass the ball occasionally, and Dean Byrne was lively too.

Very open at the back, Tristan looked lost so hopefully Kehoe will be back for Shels but as you said McDonnell and O’Reily were solid and the keeper did really well a few times to rush out and save us. Exciting game, both teams trying to play the right way. I thought Meenan had a good game but I’d love to see him take his man on a bit more he seems to always want to slow it down and go inside even tho he has the pace to beat a man and put in a cross. That’s one area we’ve really struggled with in opening games, crossing has been dire.

11/03/2018, 12:40 PM
We’ll always be quite open due to Fenn’s style, the midfielders are pushing forward at every opportunity so there will be gaps. Entertaining football to watch though.

11/03/2018, 4:56 PM
somehow Dave Sully wont be missed. Mulhall has being immense for us so far this season. I thought McGlade was superb when he came on as sub it must have being the long hair!

11/03/2018, 9:18 PM
somehow Dave Sully wont be missed. Mulhall has being immense for us so far this season. I thought McGlade was superb when he came on as sub it must have being the long hair!

Wouldn’t say that, Sully off the mark on Friday for Shels and should’ve had another only for a world class save from Gallagher. Hel score 10-15 easy for Shels this season. Delighted Mulhall has got off the mark so quickly

11/03/2018, 9:28 PM
Wouldn’t say that, Sully off the mark on Friday for Shels and should’ve had another only for a world class save from Gallagher. Hel score 10-15 easy for Shels this season. Delighted Mulhall has got off the mark so quickly

In fairness, he scored into an open net from a goalkeeping howler. He was largely very quiet on Friday night.

hollocaine
16/03/2018, 10:05 PM
You'll never win anything with kids.

2-2 and a man down. See out the fuc.kin game. Instead, we have lads going to try and get a winner. Brain-dead stuff. Manager on the sideline with his hands in his Gucci pockets not having a clue what to do/say.

Podcast guest McGlade clearly thinks he's the man. Showed his true colours tonight. Muppet.

We're so open defensively it's not even funny. Zambra provides as much protection as a torn condom.

Took us 80+ mins to kill off Wexford at home and look at them tonight. We'll do well to make top 6 this year.

16/03/2018, 10:26 PM
mcglade deserved his sending off. he completely lost the head. so much for sully being reserved in his celebrating. we played too much into shels hands imo.. mulhall was very poor for us tonight. tbh I think its going to be a long season..

16/03/2018, 10:31 PM
Bit of an OTT reaction. Stupid defensive mistakes need to be eliminated but we were the better side for long spells in the game. We’ll be there or thereabouts for the play offs. McGlade’s sending off was stupid and unnecessary.

L.T.F.C.
17/03/2018, 12:28 AM
I am disgusted with that.

Fenn clearly changed something at half time because we were pathetic after the break. Play it a bit around the back and then hoof. Zambra saps us of any good play and often takes the pace out of it. I like Verdon, but his head seems to be somewhere else alot.
O'Connor caught again for the first penalty. Both full backs rinsed all night, but Elworthy was good going forward.
Mulhall could do nothing with what was being played behind him. Hadn't a prayer at all.
It's going to be a very up and down season, with no consistency. We'll probably make the playoffs but go out in the first round.

17/03/2018, 8:16 AM
Jaysus lads I’m usually the one going lakes on here, I agree with longfordian its a bit OTT. Throwing away 2-0 against Cobh was awful and we shluldve learned from that, that annoys me. We knew we were up against nothing last week so played Gung Ho and yes we were nearly caught out a few times, we carried that into last night. We basically played 424, way way too open and as LTFC said zambra isn’t good enough, that’s where we need a Salmon or rice. McGlade totally lost the rag but Fenn can see the problems and I’m certain he will solve them. I’ve never enjoyed watching Longford more than under him, we are playing the right way after years of tripe under cousins and Mathews. Yes we need to find the balance but if we do this is a hell of a team. Lack of options on bench worry me tho. Mulhall was fairly cat last night and no experienced striker to bring on. That’s my 2 cents on it.

hollocaine
17/03/2018, 10:13 AM
You're a media man now, so more on-the-fence than outspoken

18/03/2018, 10:08 AM
You're a media man now, so more on-the-fence than outspoken

Not at all, I think anyone that knows me will say one thing is I call it as I see it. You’ve pointed out the major flaws In Fenn’s tactics and I totally agree but I know from speaking to him that he’s aware of them and knows if they arent fixed quickly Wel achieve nothing this season. He’s not like Tony cousins who had his head so far up his own arse he couldn’t see these things or was just too stubborn to change them.

21/03/2018, 10:18 AM
Fenn will Be on the podcast tonight lads and I’ll be putting your criticism’s too him. Be sure to take a listen.

22/03/2018, 8:15 AM
He came across very well I must say. Although that’s never been his problem. Let’s hope we show better game management over the next few weeks

AUDIOBOOM: https://goo.gl/arSrCc
ITUNES: https://goo.gl/W2bciE

29/03/2018, 5:17 PM
Watched the highlights of the Athlone game earlier. Jesus they’re bad, we were just walking through their defensive line. We missed so many chances too, Dean Byrne looked lively though. I like the look of him so far.

29/03/2018, 9:41 PM
Watched the highlights of the Athlone game earlier. Jesus they’re bad, we were just walking through their defensive line. We missed so many chances too, Dean Byrne looked lively though. I like the look of him so far.

Would love to see him in the 10 behind Mulhall, probably too attacking to do that against Galway but against the likes of Cabinteely, Wexford, Athlone he’d do damage.

hollocaine
07/04/2018, 9:30 PM
Completely flattering scoreline and a poor performance, but fair play to the lads who all put in a good effort which is all we can ask. Good to get another clean sheet too. For a guy that signed late on in pre-season from the LSL, Mick McDonnell has been excellent so far. Him and Adam O'Connor had to deal with a lot tonight, as once again, central midfield provides not enough protection for the back 4. Great strike by Hopkins. Looking forward to seeing that one again.

What's the story with Shane O'Connor?

07/04/2018, 10:59 PM
Completely flattering scoreline and a poor performance, but fair play to the lads who all put in a good effort which is all we can ask. Good to get another clean sheet too. For a guy that signed late on in pre-season from the LSL, Mick McDonnell has been excellent so far. Him and Adam O'Connor had to deal with a lot tonight, as once again, central midfield provides not enough protection for the back 4. Great strike by Hopkins. Looking forward to seeing that one again.

What's the story with Shane O'Connor?

aint he injured.. thought cabo were extremely dirty tonight. hopefully Daniel O'Reilly wont be too long out as hes key for us! thought that Peter Hopkins goal was superb.. I thought at times that we were lucky to win the way we did as Cabo missed some sitters. Bring on Drogheda...

Town Legend
07/04/2018, 11:10 PM
What's the story with McGlade? Did Fenn run him after the Shel's game or did he get a longer suspension than Verdon?

07/04/2018, 11:21 PM
What's the story with McGlade? Did Fenn run him after the Shel's game or did he get a longer suspension than Verdon?

longer suspension. Seen it on one of the loi websites. he should be back for Drogheda match as he got a three match suspension.

08/04/2018, 1:05 PM
Excellent goals from Hopkins and Byrne. With these two along with McDonnell, Neale Fenn is certainly demonstrating an ability to spot a player.

08/04/2018, 7:08 PM
Excellent goals from Hopkins and Byrne. With these two along with McDonnell, Neale Fenn is certainlthogy demonstrating an ability to spot a player.
thought that Hopkins was MOM for us. Dean Byrne was immense for us yet again.

L.T.F.C.
08/04/2018, 9:02 PM
I am certainly concerned that we are only scoring at the end of the game, and we could easily been behind looking at the highlights. Drogheda will be a big test.

09/04/2018, 4:38 AM
Crap game last night but just watched Fenn’s post match interview and he’s saying everything you’d want to hear from him. He acknowledged it was a poor performance but we played fantastic in Galway and should’ve won only for missed sitters so it was our turn tonight for a bit of luck. Big Mick Kelly has been superb since he’s coming in as has McDonnell. Big Dean Byrne fan think he offers far more than Mulhall in games like this, been very disappointed with Mulhall. Hopkins has been a huge loss with injury so great to see him back and scoring a goal very similar to the one he got against Sligo. Another point next week is more than fine.

L.T.F.C.
14/04/2018, 11:19 AM
Disappointed with the result, but we were far better than them. Aodh Dervin is simply unreal. Where he is from is irrelevant, I am glad he is from Longford, but what a performance from him. His head for the game is exceptional - close control and passing is sublime. Zambra could learn so much from him.
Chambers did very well but nearly filled the togs with losing the ball close to our own goal.

14/04/2018, 5:18 PM
Cut out the mistakes and Wel be right up there. Seen every team bar UCD and Harps now and we are better than everyone we’ve played.

14/04/2018, 9:17 PM
if we have to achieve our ambition we simply have to get our best players back.. McDonnell and Kehoe are huge losses for us.. Kelly yet again was immense for us.. I don't know why we ever signed Mulhall as he does nothing upfront.. As for that loser Skinner don't get me started! Aodh Dervan yet again was immense and isn't afraid to scold any of his teammates! he will be captain one day whether it will be achieved whilst with us I am not sure..

22/04/2018, 12:09 PM
Last night was our worst performance of the season, if not of Fenn’s reign. Totally flat, felt like I was watching a friendly, starting to think we are better off playing away from home the atmosphere is that flat at home. On the pitch Aodh Dervin was the only one who put a shift in so not great to to see a few of his team mates having a go at him. Mulhall is a waste up front, offers nothing. Dean Byrne made a few good runs but was pushed off it to easy. UCD are the best team I’ve seen so far, unreal under pressure on the ball.

22/04/2018, 7:09 PM
I am very demoralised after seeing that defeat. we have no end product, rely on Mick Kelly to save us from harm way too much. Mulhall deserves the bad press he gets from us. He doesn't bother his hole. I am that concerned that I can see us dropping down the table like Cobh. Yet again Aodh was everywhere if only the other town players had the same passion and commitment he possesses. A lot more to do I am afraid.
This UCD side will easily win the first division this season. They know how to press at the right times and Georgie Kelly is something else. That's the sort of striker I would love to see play for us!

All of a sudden that's a lot of pressure on us to deliver against Harps as they haven't started well either.

23/04/2018, 6:13 PM
Harps game is huge. They’ve had an awful start but have the attackers to tear apart a back 4 that has an off day. Lose that and all of a sudden we look in trouble.

4DeTownRnB98
24/04/2018, 10:56 AM
Harps game is huge. They’ve had an awful start but have the attackers to tear apart a back 4 that has an off day. Lose that and all of a sudden we look in trouble.

They've been very poor. I think we could easily stick 4 past them on the night. Although I agree it could be 4-1 or may be even 4-2?

4DeTownRnB98
25/04/2018, 12:56 PM
What a win last night, brave performance from the lads and fair play to Danny for sealing it at the death. Bradley surely can't last too much longer there. Not a bad draw for us in the next round either, not bad at all. Huge confidence boost ahead of Saturday night.

25/04/2018, 4:11 PM
What a performance from us last night. It was aodh dervans best ever game for us. How jack brady made those saves I never know. This was definitely our best performance under NF.

NF reminds me so much of SK. I have not seen such a unity between the fans and players since 2000/01 season.

Had a great chat with PH on luas coming back to city. He will be back in two weeks time and he said more than likely AOC will have to quit due to work related issues which explains his lack of playin time with us.

bring on harps is all I say!

25/04/2018, 7:42 PM
Think you’ve got a bit over excited saying it was our best game ever under Fenn Marty. Yes we played well but could’ve just as easily lost it as won it. The win over Sligo was probably bigger in fairness. Huge game Saturday

26/04/2018, 3:23 PM
They've been very poor. I think we could easily stick 4 past them on the night. Although I agree it could be 4-1 or may be even 4-2?

Put four past the best defence in the division? We've not been good going forward, but we've not been bad at the back. Our defensive record would be better yet if it weren't for a couple of individual errors rather than collective bad defending.

L.T.F.C.
27/04/2018, 10:29 PM
Put four past the best defence in the division? We've not been good going forward, but we've not been bad at the back. Our defensive record would be better yet if it weren't for a couple of individual errors rather than collective bad defending.
Starting early yea?