View Full Version : O Flynn Gone To Derry

Ozymandias
03/03/2005, 4:21 PM
Stephen O'Flynn is joining Derry..city accepted a €10K bid from them for him

would have liked to see what he can do but I think he'll be back here or limerick as he won't settle in Derry..too far.

hope it doesn't come back to haunt us

03/03/2005, 4:30 PM
Lot of money for a player with little Premier Division experience.

First portion of Dolan's compensation in the bank for Lennox anyway.

03/03/2005, 5:55 PM
I'd like to have seen him get a chance, but thats good money for a player who hasn't figured at all. We had too many strikers anyway, now that he and Nolan are gone, thats trimmed the squad a bit. He'll do well for Derry IMO

03/03/2005, 6:04 PM
City squad is too big. Prefer to see samller squad with quality than big average squad.

Saw him few times for u-21s last year playing on left wing & i was surprised how poor he was. Maybe he better in attack but definitely didn't look good enough for left wing.

If his 10k pays for portion of new signing then that will be good.

03/03/2005, 6:55 PM
Lads till you see SOF in a Derry shirt I would not count him as "gone"

Buile Shuibhne
03/03/2005, 7:07 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/03/03/story192014.html

03/03/2005, 8:21 PM
Nothing on the official site as of yet. €10,000 is a good price for a player that hasnt played in the premier in about 3 years but I would have liked to seen him for a while. Still though, he is behind JOF, Doyle, Behan and Fenn so it makes sense for him to leave. Id keep what Maribor in mind though.

04/03/2005, 12:44 PM
Nice few quid for ye....should slightly help pay Pat's compensation and unfair dismissal claim. :D

04/03/2005, 3:47 PM
He put pen to paper 45 minutes ago

Ozymandias
04/03/2005, 3:50 PM
he'll do well for ye maribor..not a bad player at all

wonder will he settle though

04/03/2005, 5:25 PM
Nice few quid for ye

I'd rather we kept the player !! :confused:

04/03/2005, 6:33 PM
^^^

To be fair, for a player who has never proven himself in the Premier Division, and has spent most of the last 12 months injured,

I dont think City could have possibly said no. Im not doubting his ability, and reckon he could well make a name for himself, but €10k is too much to turn down.

04/03/2005, 11:36 PM
Stevo is an excellent player, he'll do well for Derry. I would love to have seen him get a real chance at City (after Gunther ****ed him over the first time) but realistically he was never going to start too many games, so its very good money for him.

adamd164
05/03/2005, 8:11 AM
Ya there's no point in leaving him on the bench when we can get €10K for the guy.

09/03/2005, 11:08 AM
Looks like Dolan was one of the main reasons behind the move

See Here (http://www.derrycityfc.net/displaystory.php?storyid=74)

09/03/2005, 12:40 PM
Bit strange he thought Dolan would give him a go this season when Dolan was already looking at bringing O'Donovan in as another attacking player.

Would have been nice for O'Flynn to city for paying his wages (i know they have to anyway) while he injured for almost whole season.

09/03/2005, 12:47 PM
Well seeing as he was the one who threatened to leave if Dolan went, its no surprise. Good riddance. He's an excellent player and i was really looking forward to seeing him in a City jersey, but he obviously thought he was signing for Pat Dolan FC, not Cork City :rolleyes:

adamd164
09/03/2005, 2:07 PM
Ah, good riddance, if he loves Dolan so much he can p!ss off