View Full Version : We Need To Talk About cork city

Pages : 1 [2]

Ancient Rush
24/09/2017, 10:58 PM
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2596&stc=1
Saved this tweet from night of Turners Cross match. A national journalist drew attention to it on the night and it was subsequently deleted.
I have confidence now that they are alerted to it from this thread etc that stewards and Gardai will deal with any future incidents.

Crosshead
25/09/2017, 11:31 AM
Seems a bit odd that the OP didn't hear the abuse himself and is only aware of it because City fans were complaining about this racist, and yet is using the incident to have a go at the club in general.

There's no excuse for racism whatsoever, it's appalling behaviour that should be condemned. Anyone guilty of it (or homophobia or sexism) should be banned from games. But using an isolated incident involving one person to have a go at a club you don't like is at best pretty petty behaviour, and at worst a bit unhinged.

25/09/2017, 1:11 PM
So racism at a LOI game isn't worthy of discussion on an LOI forum? Considering some of the complete and utter nonsense you speak its hilarious coming from you. Another wild idea is to not read the thread if you have no interest in whats in it.

theres no need to be personal with me on this. I dont like racial abuse like everyone else but thats a matter for the authorities to investigate but the personal abuse of other peoples fans is classless in my opinion. I have every right to read this forum like everybody else so you are not going to bully me over this I like to keep up on other clubs affairs.Why am I not allowed to express an opinion like everyone else?
Your ignorance is class by the way.

bluewhitearmy
25/09/2017, 1:33 PM
Seems a bit odd that the OP didn't hear the abuse himself and is only aware of it because City fans were complaining about this racist, and yet is using the incident to have a go at the club in general.

There's no excuse for racism whatsoever, it's appalling behaviour that should be condemned. Anyone guilty of it (or homophobia or sexism) should be banned from games. But using an isolated incident involving one person to have a go at a club you don't like is at best pretty petty behaviour, and at worst a bit unhinged.

It's not an isolated incident.

thebronze14
25/09/2017, 1:37 PM
Limerick fans weren't near it to report it to Gardai Cork fans were and they didn't bother. He was called the N word and told to "f**k back to Africa" this is all coming from Cork fans that were right in the vicinity of the person doing it. They are saying it was just one but just one is too much especially considering the exact same thing happened the lad in Turners cross.

To just stand there and even tell the fella doing it be quiet instead of getting him out of the ground and banned is a disgrace.
Not saying it didn't happen but the away end is miles away from the home end in Limerick..How did you hear it?

bluewhitearmy
25/09/2017, 1:52 PM
Not saying it didn't happen but the away end is miles away from the home end in Limerick..How did you hear it?

Cork fans in the area of it brought it up some of who even approached the person involved.

Crosshead
25/09/2017, 1:55 PM
Cork fans in the area of it brought it up some of who even approached the person involved.

Person? I thought you said there were 'heroes' (plural) doing it?

It's almost as if you haven't a clue what you're on about.

El-Pietro
25/09/2017, 1:57 PM

So a Cork City fan racially abused Chedozie and other Cork City fans dealt with him/her? But Cork City have a problem worth starting a thread about? Sounds like it was dealt with on the night by Cork City fans and that you are just stirring. Hopefully they were reported to security at the time. I was in the away stand and I didn't hear anything other than boos for what its worth, so it can't have been massively wide spread. You need to be more subtle next time.

25/09/2017, 2:06 PM
Semantics.

Correcting Grammar.

Playing the man not the ball.

Deflect. Deflect. Deflect.

Also very telling that they have focused on trying to discredit the evidence of multiple incidents of their racialist actions rather than condemn them outright or indeed answer any of the other salient points in the op.

The Alt Right is strong in these cork fash.

"If I didn't hear something it doesn't exist."

"I was saying boo urns."

Methinks the Nazis doth protest too much.

I'm sad to see my thread end up like this.

But then fascists aren't fond of free speech I guess. :bad:

bluewhitearmy
25/09/2017, 2:07 PM
Person? I thought you said there were 'heroes' (plural) doing it?

It's almost as if you haven't a clue what you're on about.

It's almost as if I didn't write the opening post.

bluewhitearmy
25/09/2017, 2:13 PM
So a Cork City fan racially abused Chedozie and other Cork City fans dealt with him/her? But Cork City have a problem worth starting a thread about? Sounds like it was dealt with on the night by Cork City fans and that you are just stirring. Hopefully they were reported to security at the time. I was in the away stand and I didn't hear anything other than boos for what its worth, so it can't have been massively wide spread. You need to be more subtle next time.

Telling someone to cop on is not dealing with it as was proved by the fact he did it again after the first time he was given out to but allowed to stay in the ground. Now if they had actually dealt with it and made sure the person was removed from the ground there couldn't have been a repeat. Th
e same person will still be at City games same as the lad from the last game because of the lack of proper action by City fans. Pretend it's all ok all you like though.

Might be hard for people who's first thought is to excuse and deflect from it to believe but some people actually detest racism which is why I am bringing it up because it should be and the lack of action from the people around it should be highlighted. If you see it as someone to be used for petty point scoring that's on you I see it as a disgusting act that needs a zero tolerance approach not a ah stop will ya and let it carry on nonsense.

El-Pietro
25/09/2017, 2:38 PM
I don't see anyone saying it isn't disgusting, pretty much everyone here has said the same thing, we all agree it needs to be dealt with if it happened. I'm not doubting that it did happen, I didn't hear (and have never heard - actually no thats not true, the I'd rather be a Paki stuff has thankfully been disposed of in recent years) racial abuse. If i did hear it I would immediately report it to the nearest steward, as I have done anytime I've seen anyone throw anything on the pitch.

This thread was clearly not about racial abuse though, if it was then that would have been the topic, instead it was clearly about one posters issues with Cork City. Its disappointing that they would belittle such an important issue by hiding it among taunts at John Caulfield and our club as a whole. I don't think anyone is deflecting, I think we're questioning the intention of the poster, who I'm sure is in stitches now as they have clearly gotten the reaction they wanted.

I'm certain that there is racial abuse throughout Irish football at all levels. My club is not immune. If I see or hear it I will report it. I can't do anything about it if I don't see it. Hopefully the individual on Friday was reported. If not then we have to ask why not. Perhaps those who told the individual to cop on didn't want the hassle of dealing with security. I don't know, I don't have the answers but as a club and a league we should all be looking to make sure that our league isn't a place for racists to hide, and that those who do experience it are given a platform to call attention to it in the right manner

If anyone thinks Cork City as an institution and fanbase is racist then they are way off. Chedozie was a hero at Turners Cross and we were all (I guess not the racist fan or fans) excited about his progression this year, he left, we'll get over it. Pity he dives so much but he'll get better as he gains more experience. As far as I can tell no other player was abused on Friday, including Bastian Hery (who had a great game) so any racist abuse was clearly more than just racism, but the problem is that the individual felt their disgusting hatred was justified in this case.

25/09/2017, 2:52 PM
If anyone thinks Cork City as an institution and fanbase is racist then they are way off. Chedozie was a hero at Turners Cross and we were all (I guess not the racist fan or fans) excited about his progression this year, he left, we'll get over it. Pity he dives so much but he'll get better as he gains more experience. As far as I can tell no other player was abused on Friday, including Bastian Hery

"Some of my best friends are black."

I'm done with this thread.

Disgusting. :bad:

Crosshead
25/09/2017, 3:00 PM
To be honest I know it's the internet and it's all a bit of craic, but using racism as a wind-up ploy is a bit low.

25/09/2017, 3:29 PM
The whole thread is a mess from a quick skim, but that's hardly surprising given that the original post was exactly the same. If you don't want people to discuss issues other than the alleged incident of racism don't put them in your post.

Quite how the board of Cork City are to blame for the incident being repeated more so than the club hosting the fecking game is beyond me. And the attack on fan ownership (and I fully admit I am biased) reeks of someone more comfortable having a good old rant than ever actually taking on some responsibility. Locking this thread. Have no issue if someone wants to start threads on Sean Maguire, John Caulfield, Fan Ownership and the incidents in Limerick please do so separately.

Any questions on the decision to lock, bring them to the support forum.