View Full Version : LOI fixtures - Friday 22nd Sept to Monday 25th Sept

Pages : 1 [2] 3

ger121
24/09/2017, 9:23 AM
Probably upping their game to impress - everyone wants to play for Rovers you know

Or maybe it's because it's their cup final?

It kind of is at this stage

sbgawa
24/09/2017, 12:59 PM
Probably upping their game to impress - everyone wants to play for Rovers you know

Or maybe it's because it's their cup final?

True enough

24/09/2017, 7:23 PM
It kind of is at this stage

Sadly that's true. We are quickly running out of games. If we lose tomorrow it's brown trouser time.

El-Pietro
25/09/2017, 8:31 AM
Over the course of the 33 games Cork will prove to be the best team by winning the league. That is unquestionable as is the assertion that they are certainly not the the best team on current form or results.

Their achievement will be rightfully acknowledged when they eventually stumble across the line, even if it is accompanied by significant concern in Cork about their prospects for next season.

It is amusing that you even mention Rovers in your post
We were disappointing on Friday but had enough chances to win the game, we just can't take our chances right now. Brain fart for the first goal, and a silly free for the second (two great finishes). We've earned the right to have a bad spell, and given we are missing 3/4 of our first XI from the first half of the season our form is a at least partly explained. If Dundalk are given a free pass for taking half a season to figure out their team after losing a few players at the end of last season then surely we get similar right now.

I don't think we'll win it tonight, form says calling for that would be madness, though I'm certain our players will put on a performance tonight.
No one will remember this run of form in years to come unless we throw the league away, no one remembers the lead Dundalk almost threw away in 2014 (obviously not as large a lead but the points we've thrown away at this point would be similar if we lose tonight).

White Horse
25/09/2017, 10:24 AM
We were disappointing on Friday but had enough chances to win the game, we just can't take our chances right now. Brain fart for the first goal, and a silly free for the second (two great finishes). We've earned the right to have a bad spell, and given we are missing 3/4 of our first XI from the first half of the season our form is a at least partly explained. If Dundalk are given a free pass for taking half a season to figure out their team after losing a few players at the end of last season then surely we get similar right now.

I don't think we'll win it tonight, form says calling for that would be madness, though I'm certain our players will put on a performance tonight.
No one will remember this run of form in years to come unless we throw the league away, no one remembers the lead Dundalk almost threw away in 2014 (obviously not as large a lead but the points we've thrown away at this point would be similar if we lose tonight).

There is only one thing that counts at the moment. Getting enough points to win the title.

Once that is done and dusted, rebuilding the side will be the priority.

DannyInvincible
25/09/2017, 6:32 PM
Looks like a good atmosphere in Turners Cross tonight.

Brian Kerr on commentary just referred to Seán Hoare as "Seán Hoor" before correcting himself, haha. :D

White Horse
25/09/2017, 6:37 PM
I hope the ref doesn't ruin this.

Two yellow cards that shouldn't be.

Philosophizer
25/09/2017, 6:38 PM
Looks like a good atmosphere in Turners Cross tonight.

Brian Kerr on commentary just referred to Seán Hoare as "Seán Hoor" before correcting himself, haha. :D

Heard that. Haha.

The ref meanwhile is doing his best to ruin the most anticipated match of the year. Gave 2 yellows for absolutely nothing. Neither were even fouls!

DannyInvincible
25/09/2017, 6:40 PM
Roy Keane is in attendance but I'd have liked to have seen Martin O'Neill there too considering it's a clash between the two top teams in the country. I wonder does Keane have his eye on anyone for international consideration or if he's just taking in the game because he happens to be back in Cork at the minute.

DannyInvincible
25/09/2017, 6:45 PM
Calamitous goal to concede. Probably a bit unfortunate but Cork have certainly started with intent and their pressure forced that ****-up.

CorribsideSteve
25/09/2017, 6:46 PM
Keystone Cops defending there from Dundalk.

CorribsideSteve
25/09/2017, 6:49 PM
I understand i've said that as a Galway supporter but I digress. Great, actually fantastic to see TX full to the brim for the big match

25/09/2017, 7:13 PM
Feck off Pat's.

joey B
25/09/2017, 7:27 PM
Cork by far the better side, might rue that Keohane chance but, I hope they finish the job.

Dalymountrower
25/09/2017, 8:09 PM

Ory maybe it's because it's their cup final?
Pats 2 0 up.
Rovers the cup jinx specialists.

25/09/2017, 8:10 PM
Equalising goal for Dundalk, scored by numbers 18, 27 and 36, Robbie Benson.

Cork wasted a hatful of chances and deserve to have let Dundalk back into it. Albeit that a draw is effectively enough anyway.

Calcio Jack
25/09/2017, 8:16 PM
Equalising goal for Dundalk, scored by numbers 18, 27 and 36, Robbie Benson.

Cork wasted a hatful of chances and deserve to have let Dundalk back into it. Albeit that a draw is effectively enough anyway.

Hymns to the silence - by Van Morrison

patrickccfc
25/09/2017, 8:29 PM
What a sucker punch that was right at the end. Very unfortunate but now only 2 points needed so we'll take that.

jinxy lilywhite
25/09/2017, 8:32 PM
What's green and white and goes beep beep?

The Cork city league championship bus reversing back into the garage for another few weeks.

Poor performance from us.

White Horse
25/09/2017, 8:35 PM
Frantic game but the quality of football on offer was poor from both sides. A draw was a fair result, and left both sides reasonably happy.

All but guarantees Cork the title (if it was not already nailed on).

Dundalk have the satisfaction of not surrendering their title directly to Cork in Turners Cross.

joey B
25/09/2017, 8:50 PM
Massive result for Pats and unfortunately pushes us ever slightly nearer relegation.

D24Saint
25/09/2017, 8:52 PM
That was delicious what a superb performance, everyone worked their socks off. The keeper skowron would give you a heart attack , one minute spilling light shots then pulling off wonder saves. It was badly needed morale boosting win but need to push on from this as it's very tight at the bottom.

AlanOB
25/09/2017, 9:03 PM
Analysis of tonight's Turner's Cross title-decider, where Dundalk failed to beat Cork City at their own game: http://bit.ly/2y3k2TD

mcgonigle
25/09/2017, 9:06 PM
Frantic game but the quality of football on offer was poor from both sides. A draw was a fair result, and left both sides reasonably happy.

All but guarantees Cork the title (if it was not already nailed on).

Dundalk have the satisfaction of not surrendering their title directly to Cork in Turners Cross.

Not sure I agree it was a fair result, we were awful again, very worrying that we can't match Cork's intensity and physicality. Some really poor performances from players that had been playing so well lately. We have some excellent footballers but are no use when it's a scrap.

We were there for the taking but Cork only have themselves to blame, too conservative and just kept dropping deep. The silence when the equaliser was beautiful

CorribsideSteve
25/09/2017, 9:34 PM
The game between Galway and Pats on Friday 13th October , appropriately, will be absolutely massive.

25/09/2017, 9:39 PM
Massive result for Pats and unfortunately pushes us ever slightly nearer relegation.

That was delicious what a superb performance, everyone worked their socks off. The keeper skowron would give you a heart attack , one minute spilling light shots then pulling off wonder saves. It was badly needed morale boosting win but need to push on from this as it's very tight at the bottom.

Great shift from everyone in a red jersey tonight. Rode our luck at times and our keeper had to make two superb saves, but frankly, who cares ? It's all about the points at this stage.

D24Saint
25/09/2017, 9:53 PM
The game between Galway and Pats on Friday 13th October , appropriately, will be absolutely massive.

Will be popping the Valiums like tic tacs that night.

WoodquayBoy
25/09/2017, 10:22 PM
And I used to like Rovers, but after tonight . . .

oriel
25/09/2017, 10:33 PM
Not sure that was a fair result, Dundalk really only got going on 75 mins, Cork much the better side up to then and especially in the first half. Goals win games though and Dlk showed great resilience in the last 15, amazing how McComack raises his game v Dlk then again it was his half clearance that led to the equaliser.

Cork will obviously win the league, mid October next window now.

patrickccfc
25/09/2017, 11:20 PM
They really are making us wait for this title aren't they? Would've been perfect to do it tonight, but if it has to be dalymount on October 13th then so be it, what's 2 and a half weeks compared to 12 years?

Knew we needed that second goal tonight, pity it wasn't Sheppard that had that chance keohane missed, I'm sure he would've put it away. Not the end of the world as its now fully in our hands and don't have to depend on other results, but what an occasion it would've been to do it tonight.

25/09/2017, 11:31 PM
One step forward, two steps back. For once, can't complain about us creating nothing because Shaw alone missed three sitters and their keeper pulled off some great saves. Not sure what Cronin was thinking playing Webster in midfield when Bolger has been flying since breaking into the team.

DannyInvincible
25/09/2017, 11:49 PM
Dundalk didn't play that well earlier. They were probably fortunate to get the equaliser, even if they did play a bit better in the final third of the game. Duffy and McEleney couldn't get into it until O'Donnell came on. I thought Cork defended very tightly generally, bar the goal.

Hoare was lucky to remain on the pitch, considering he was already on a yellow card when he made a very poor/dangerous tackle just after the hour-mark. That later tackle definitely should have been a booking at least, although maybe the ref looked upon it more leniently in order to compensate for dishing out yellows like sweets earlier in the game.

Just going back to Cork's goal; should a penalty have been given to Cork instead of a goal as Gartland definitely handled the ball (he even instinctively pulled his hand behind his body immediately afterwards to try and make the hand-ball look less conspicuous before it became apparent the ball was going to bounce into the net) or can advantage be played on a hand-ball in the box? The hand-ball could be seen more clearly in the replay angles to the sides behind the nets. In fairness, I don't think any of the officials would have spotted it.

It's ridiculous that RTÉ think they can get away with just sacking doing a proper Soccer Republic programme tonight because they briefly showed some highlights from other games over the weekend before the Cork-Dundalk game. Clearly, three hours of LOI football coverage would be just too much for RTÉ to show in one day... :rolleyes:

And just another thing... George Hamilton displayed his LOI-ignorance/EPL-centrism in commentary when he spoke of Cork fans "doing 'the Poznań'" a short while after Cork went 1-0 up. EPL fans and observers call it "the Poznań" as they would have (presumably) first encountered it when Manchester City fans started doing it after seeing Lech Poznań fans do it during the two teams' 2010 Europa League tie.

The terrace "dance" has a different origin in LOI circles, however; it would be more correct to call it "la Grecque/Grek" when it makes an appearance in the LOI as I'm pretty certain Cork fans adopted it (well before 2010) after Derry fans originally introduced it to the LOI upon first doing it in the Parc des Princes in Paris exactly eleven years ago on Thursday. Derry fans got it from the away leg of the 2006 UEFA Cup first round tie against PSG after the home fans there performed it so impressively and Derry fans reciprocated (as you can see from the photo and video below). I can only assume PSG fans borrowed it from a Greek team they once played, hence why they called it "la Grecque/Grek". :)

http://i68.tinypic.com/a4qtdk.png

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxWZQZcX44k

sbgawa
25/09/2017, 11:52 PM
Even when we lose I prefer it to the fenlon days ;) we missed Clarke and Burke but have to be able to miss a few players...strengthen for next season in a few positions plus boyd Doona Bolger and Clarke getting better all the time....reasons to be hopeful..

But it's the hope that kills you :) :)

Yossarian
26/09/2017, 7:17 AM
Just going back to Cork's goal; should a penalty have been given to Cork instead of a goal as Gartland definitely handled the ball (he even instinctively pulled his hand behind his body immediately afterwards to try and make the hand-ball look less conspicuous before it became apparent the ball was going to bounce into the net) or can advantage be played on a hand-ball in the box? The hand-ball could be seen more clearly in the replay angles to the sides behind the nets. In fairness, I don't think any of the officials would have spotted it.

Advantage can be played anywhere on the pitch but I actually think it should have been a free out. When Hoare kicks the ball up towards Gartland, Keohane(I think?) came flying in and tackled Hoare just after the ball was gone. It was a poor goal to give away but I think it should have been a free out.
Overall Cork did what they've done to us the last few times we've played down there. The played with high intensity and didn't let us have any time on the ball. We were lucky to come away with a point really. It is concerning that Cork seem to be able to get up for these games against us but we can't.

26/09/2017, 8:27 AM
If they should have had a penalty but got a goal, that's about as clear a case for playing the advantage as it's possible to suggest.

Goal > Penalty.

seand
26/09/2017, 8:47 AM
Not that it really matters, but Hoare was clearly fouled for the goal. If his clearance had flown out of the box he definitely would have got a free for the very late tackle from Keohane. It got lost in the excitement of the deflection and goal I think. But then Massey could have been off for two terrible tackles before that and Hoare could have been off too.

Cork defended excellently and deserved at least the draw. It was always going to be hard once we went behind but we need a little more from our midfielders when faced with an ultra-defensive, ultra-committed opposition. Dundalk struggle to match Cork's intensity and commitment these days. At least Dundalk dug deep to spoil the party.

Great to see TC absolutely rammed (over-sold?) and hopping... only a matter of time before they seal a well earned title.

patrickccfc
26/09/2017, 8:54 AM
Great to see TC absolutely rammed (over-sold?) and hopping... only a matter of time before they seal a well earned title.

I reckon there was more than what was announced, my season ticket didn't scan so was just told head on in without it being counted. Could've been just mine now...

Real ale Madrid
26/09/2017, 8:58 AM
Stuck in some sort of footballing purgatory. Another 2 plus weeks until the next league game.

At least the performance of team settled the nerves somewhat and indicated a brighter future than a lot were giving us credit for.

Straightstory
26/09/2017, 9:21 AM
I've rarely seen so many free-kicks in a game. Without Maguire, Cork are a rather horrible team to watch - spoilers and hoof-ball merchants. But they did seem to have about 20 players on the pitch running around all over the place. They'll need a bit more guile if they're going to do anything in Europe next season.

El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 9:32 AM
Winning it last night would have been special, but I think this is a better result for us. If we had won last night I think we would have lost on Friday and any hope of the double would be gone.As it is we've proven we can still compete with the best this league has to offer and we should not fear anyone for the rest of the season. A performance even 75% as good as last night should be enough to take care of Limerick, and you know that they will want to show they can beat Limerick after last Friday.
If we were to face Dundalk at Lansdowne again it would be a very tough game, the bigger pitch definitely suits Dundalk more, but we'd give them everything in that game.

What was Dundalks winning streak before last night by the way? Thats twice they've gone on a winning run and been stopped by us this season.

26/09/2017, 9:47 AM
Was hoping Cork would win and go on a 3-day bender before the cup game this weekend.

DannyInvincible
26/09/2017, 10:37 AM
If they should have had a penalty but got a goal, that's about as clear a case for playing the advantage as it's possible to suggest.

Goal > Penalty.

That would make sense, but I was trying to think if I'd ever seen advantage being played on a hand-ball before and nothing sprung to mind. That's certainly not to say it hasn't happened though. Indeed, I may even have seen it happen and forgotten!

26/09/2017, 11:48 AM
If we had won last night I think we would have lost on Friday and any hope of the double would be gone.

Why, because the lads would go on a mad sesh or just not be bothered with cup?

El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 12:28 PM
Why, because the lads would go on a mad sesh or just not be bothered with cup?
Mad sesh. That and the emotion of the whole thing could potentially lead to a bit of a deflating night on Friday. With a two week break after Friday we have no excuse not to go all out against Limerick.

dundalkfc10
26/09/2017, 2:21 PM
Mad sesh. That and the emotion of the whole thing could potentially lead to a bit of a deflating night on Friday. With a two week break after Friday we have no excuse not to go all out against Limerick.

Dosnt matter now but surely they would have waited until after the game Friday to go on the sesh!
Well id hope they would, as your club pay them!

oriel
26/09/2017, 2:22 PM
Maybe not a bad point had it been deflating if Cork won last night. Dundalk lost 4-2 away to Bray on a Tues night 48 hours after winning the league on the previous Sunday last year, this was the game when the infamous tweet was sent by the Sligo manager at the time 'integrity'

Think it was about our 10th game that month!

It must have been deflating though to concede in the 87th min all the same last night, but does it matter that much now, only a matter of time for them to win it from their perspective.

For Dundalk it was a good match to get ready for Rovers, we just need to start so much better, as we were dreadful in that first half, credit though for getting something out of the game and to keep going for the last 10/15.

El-Pietro
26/09/2017, 2:33 PM
It must have been deflating though to concede in the 87th min all the same last night, but does it matter that much now, only a matter of time for them to win it from their perspective.
Not at all, everyone was in a great mood leaving the stadium. Given how poor our performances have been for the last few weeks this was a nice reminder that we are top for a number of reasons, one of which was Sean Maguire, but another was how difficult we make it for teams in midfield. Conor McCormack is a gem. Thanks Brexit.

Real ale Madrid
26/09/2017, 3:34 PM
Not at all, everyone was in a great mood leaving the stadium.

I was in a terrible mood.

PartySaint
26/09/2017, 3:43 PM

Hopefully you win it at home to Derry on the Monday before you play Pats

oriel
26/09/2017, 4:00 PM
Not at all, everyone was in a great mood leaving the stadium. Given how poor our performances have been for the last few weeks this was a nice reminder that we are top for a number of reasons, one of which was Sean Maguire, but another was how difficult we make it for teams in midfield. Conor McCormack is a gem. Thanks Brexit.

I doubt that now El P, really ?? the silence for a start when Dlk scored and almost every fan with their hands on their heads at the shed end, look I`ll be honest, I'd have been very disappointed if the boot was on the other foot.