View Full Version : Tv's Worst Pundits?
M@ttitude
28/02/2005, 8:27 PM
Heard Eamon Dunphy on Newstalk saying that the English pundits are the worst in the world, in fairness to him i actually enjoy Dunphy and Giles these days compared to BBC and Sky... My choice for the worst pundit is Peter Schmeichel , great keeper, but the guy is muck on tv. Anyone agree or have there own opinions on the worst?
Kowalski
28/02/2005, 9:27 PM
Giles, Chippy & Eamo are great to watch with Bill trying to play them off against one another. They see things in games that I would never think of.
I have to agree with Eamo, most of the Sky/ITV/RTE/TV3 & BBC commentators are crap:
RTE
Beglin - good with George, use to like him & Tylesdley on ITV CL.My Favourite colour commentator
Houghton - Tries too hard to be contreversial
BBC
Hansen - As good as any pundit
Lawrenson - To many sh*t jokes with Motson
Mark Bright, Schmeichel - Rubbish
ITV
Ally McCoist - Concentrates to hard on trying to be funny
Andy Townsend - What type of fridge is it?
Venables - single minded english blindness syndrome
Sky
Andy Gray - Good but thinks the premiership is the be all & end all, ref baits too much
Alan Smith - Get some elocution lessons
Brian Marwood - Exagerates too much, ref baiter
Tony Cottee - Annoying, horrible accent
Niall Quinn - Talks to much, too nice
I like some of the older guys that do Soccer Saturday
TV3
Toshack - Only in it for the money
Lawrenson - Doesn't try as hard with the jokes, has a clue
Frank - Is frank and frank is frank is frank
Peter Reid is woeful. Mark Wright way too biased for england to pundit (is that verb?)
28/02/2005, 10:22 PM
not a pundit but jeff stelling is a legend ,
also with sky rob mccaffrey and guillem balague are very good .
gotta say i like dunphy as a pundit same with most of the irish guys except johnny giles never liked him for some reason
IsMiseSean
28/02/2005, 10:56 PM
I can't stand Rodney Marsh and Eamon Dunphy
M@ttitude
28/02/2005, 11:02 PM
Is it only me but does Packie Bonner look totally uncomfortable with his job at tv3? I agree that Bill O'H is a little creep of a man but he's a familiar part of the furniture now so its ok, who's that other really stern serious looking guy on tv3 or maybe Rte?.. He looks like he'd fight you for a fiver!..never smiles or shows any emotion whats so ever.
01/03/2005, 7:30 AM
Least favourite, Venables. hate especailly during when ITV shows Champions league coverage, a little box in the corner comes up when Terry in the studio says something 'important', Managers View... eh Terry, if your that good why are you managing a cartoon strip side in the Sun and not a Premiership side. U fecked up Palace and Australia so get off your high horse... Anyway on to my favourtie, Chris Kamara! His enthusiasm is infectious and Jeff Stelling is a legend with the witty banter and one-liners...
Hibs4Ever
01/03/2005, 8:41 AM
what bout that plonker TREVOR WELSH. totally useless.
i think brady is very good.
but the funniest must be the rugby lads on RTE. brent pope and tom mcgruik(i think) are brilliant taking the **** out of george hook. i love it when hook says to the lads "let me finish, please". u can actually see his blood boiling in his face.
Agree. The rugby boys on RTE are definitely the best :D
01/03/2005, 8:47 AM
Giles, Chippy & Eamo are great to watch with Bill trying to play them off against one another.
So John , Eamonn was saying that you're a bit of a big girls blouse? Haw? well John what do you have to say about that? Ye fecker.
They see things in games that I would never think of.
Thats cause you used to play for Crumlin....
Aberdonian Stu
01/03/2005, 10:01 AM
It took ages for someone to mention Wright. He was painful to watch but has one good tv moment
Post match analysis of Ireland 1 Germany 1 in WC 2002
Roughly goes...
Wright: You were creaming when you saw that
Lineker: You said dreaming didn't you
And before you ask I was in Scotland so couldn't watch it on RTE.
Glad to see the back of him but given the propensity for stations to hire bad pundits and his other successful (yet dire) TV escapades why was he fired?
01/03/2005, 11:33 AM
Ray "Rant" Houghton - god awful.
Schmeichel is woeful, hasn't a clue.
Packie Bonner is the worst presenter of a show that there is, the man has no personaility whatsoever.
Don't like Terry Butcher on 5Live either,
On the positive side
For analysis during the games Jimmy Armfield on 5Live is about as good as it gets. Also over the last while Graham Taylor has been excellent.
as entertainment:
Dunphy
Giles
Brady
unbeatable combo entertainment wise
for actual knowledge of the game that you might learn something from:
Toshack
Brady
Giles (not on tv - his newstalk stuff - he gets more time and its superb)
for knowledge of the actual football scene and ability to know current players names:
Toshack
Brady
Graham Hunter
unbeatable on la liga:
Hunter
phill ball
sid lowe
and the dregs: packie bonner, linekar, anyone on ITV or who has ever appeared on ITV for that matter - previous form does implicate you with the guilty - venables mccoist et al. and last but not least mr dour : alan hansen - idiot oh and ray houghton - state the obvious bloke
unbeatable on la liga:
Hunter
phill ball
sid lowe
Have never heard Phil Ball, but read one of his books called Morbo.Its a great read.
Anyone remember Matthew Lorenzo and Elton Welsby.
Think they were on ITV when they had the english league coverage.
Never liked either of them
Ruairi
01/03/2005, 1:21 PM
gerry armstrong on sky's la liga coverage is pretty good... and damien richardson is always good value, even if you do need a dictionary next to ya when he's talking...
sullanefc
01/03/2005, 1:31 PM
The best would have to be the rugby boys on rte. Worst would be Houghton, Stapleton & Tony Catch-a-rhino
Noel King
Frank Stapleton
Niall Quinn
Ray Houghton (crap on Sportstalk too)
Ronnie Whelan
Jim Beglin (thought I'd escaped him when I left Granada region tele)
Gary Lineker
Steven Gerrard was brutal the other week for the FA Cup game.
Worst had to be Elton "the evertonian" Welsby - good call Ash. Remember he once said that "not many people get their name sung by the Stretford End" - most people would prefer it if it wasn't accompanied by "you're a wánker".
01/03/2005, 2:08 PM
gordon mcqueen
champagne charlie nicholas
jim beglin
Sky
Andy Gray - Good but thinks the premiership is the be all & end all, ref baits too much
Andy Gray knows his stuff alright, he's normally very astute, but it irritates me the way he's such a massive Anglophile: "As English as Finchley"!
I hate Dunphy. He's an arrogant drunkard with an enormous chip on his shoulder.