View Full Version : Munster Junior Cup 2004/05
tralee_dynamo
31/03/2005, 7:45 AM
Are Waterford Crystal still the only Junior Club the Munster Senior Cup?
I know that Clonmel Town beat Cobh Ramblers 2-1 recently...fair play to them - that was a great result. Are Carrick still in it?...they beat us and beat a Munster Senior League team but not too sure how they got on since...
kingpin
31/03/2005, 7:56 AM
Waterford crystal werent in the munster senior cup and havent been for a number of years, clonmel town are in the semi final against avondale i think. Carrick are due to play cork city in turners cross on sunday in the 1/4 final.
The Gaffer
31/03/2005, 9:48 AM
Sorry I meant "Are Waterford Crystal still the only Junior Club to WIN the Munster Senior Cup
Ask me tom
31/03/2005, 10:33 AM
lads this is a football forum no need for all the rows
on the mjc we played clonmel last sunday there a good side. good going forward but will have to improve at the back and i saw carrick play the week before and they were no great shakes against an average newcastle side i`d tip clonmel to take carrick this year
tralee_dynamo
31/03/2005, 11:09 AM
How good are St. Michaels this year?, they did beat Fairview and Leeside on the way so they must be quality...
saints are strong still goin well in tipp league and cup and fancy there chances in munster junior . they have good goalie in bennis(ex pike) but have lost star defender paul tobin to limerick fc. they still have junior international chalkie walsh at centre half and breen who plays with him is very good also. they have a very big experienced midfield but i think there weakness is up front where they lack pace. they have good subs with 4 or 5 youths making up the squad. watch out for 16 year old richie ryan coming off the bench very good player. clonmel are also very experienced at the back and in midfield. they have a very good striker in alan coady cud win them the cup. clonmels ace card however are there young players. ian barnes , paul shanahan,adam mcsherry and michael mchugh are all top drawer players with pace in their teens. the winner of cup will defo come from tipp south
kingpin
31/03/2005, 3:19 PM
saints are strong still goin well in tipp league and cup and fancy there chances in munster junior . they have good goalie in bennis(ex pike) but have lost star defender paul tobin to limerick fc. they still have junior international chalkie walsh at centre half and breen who plays with him is very good also. they have a very big experienced midfield but i think there weakness is up front where they lack pace. they have good subs with 4 or 5 youths making up the squad. watch out for 16 year old richie ryan coming off the bench very good player. clonmel are also very experienced at the back and in midfield. they have a very good striker in alan coady cud win them the cup. clonmels ace card however are there young players. ian barnes , paul shanahan,adam mcsherry and michael mchugh are all top drawer players with pace in their teens. the winner of cup will defo come from tipp south
Maybe michael's, i havent seen them this year so i dont know what there like but i cant see town doing it though. I was at the town -regional game, very poor dispaly by town i thought they got out of jail. I think slow would be a better word instead of experienced, the two goals they conceeded were from long balls over the top, Coady was taken off after 20 minutes due to a concussion but didnt touch the ball while he was on the pitch although he only needs one chance. Of any of the young players, barnes is the only one worth mentioning. Good going forward but left huge gaps down the left due to not tracking back, there centre midfield pairing and ian cleary are their best players. Everyone seems to be overlooking dynamos, i tipp them to turn over michael's!!
tralee_dynamo
31/03/2005, 3:27 PM
I wouldn't rule carrick out of the equation yet,everyone seems to fancy clonmel town but in my view carrick have still got to play their best football in this competition - it wasn't by luck that they won it last year!
As for ourselves, we should have a fair chance against any team at home in tralee...the game against St. Michaels is scheduled for the 16th April...should be a cracking game!
irisheagle
31/03/2005, 10:58 PM
I have said from the start of this thread that Tralee will go well, once they are drawn at home they are a force. If Micheals are not fully focused they could leave rather sick. Clonmel were woefull by all accounts against Regional. Carrick are not playing as well as last season agreed, but they will not give up and remain a force. Both semi finals could go either way but Town will not have that homer referee to help them against Carrick !! as he did against Regional. Also Carrick done well in Newcastlewest with another homer waiting to gave the homeside anything he could but Carrick remained disciplined and gave him no reason to blow. The penalty the home side got was a joke. Remember Carrick have beaten two top Cork senior League sides on the Road this season. They travel to play Cork City in this competation on Sunday. The local paper states City refused Carrick's request to play the game in Carrick, were an attendance of 3,000 could have been expected. Carrick play town on April 16 and tralee host Micheals the following day. Incidently the guy Alan Cody, Town's striker, is a Carrick lad. Its interesting to note all the out of town players Micheals have compaired to Carrick. Now what attraction is there in Tipp Town that takes players from all over to them
tralee_dynamo
01/04/2005, 3:25 PM
I wonder would ladbrokes quote any odds on the semi finals similar to the FAI junior cup semis and quarters?, or even the odds on all teams left of winning the competition outright...
with reference to carrick,clonmel and saints it is a sign of good teams when there winning and playing badly. what position are tralee in league. also when did tralee regrade to junior soccer what year?
irisheagle
03/04/2005, 9:54 PM
I wonder would ladbrokes quote any odds on the semi finals similar to the FAI junior cup semis and quarters?, or even the odds on all teams left of winning the competition outright...
Believe Tralee have both keepers injuried at present.
carricksmasher
04/04/2005, 7:06 AM
[QUOTE=irisheagle] Incidently the guy Alan Cody, Town's striker, is a Carrick lad. Its interesting to note all the out of town players Micheals have compaired to Carrick. Now what attraction is there in Tipp Town that takes players from all over to them[/QUOTE
i think in all the years i have been watching carrick teams play that I have seen very few players play premier league for the club that have not represented the team at schoolboy level. For example last years team did not have one player who was not at the club as a schoolboy.
Beaten 2-1 yesterday in cork btw...disgraceful decision in the last few minutes stopped them from having a penalty.
tralee_dynamo
04/04/2005, 7:17 AM
with reference to carrick,clonmel and saints it is a sign of good teams when there winning and playing badly. what position are tralee in league. also when did tralee regrade to junior soccer what year?
If its the Kerry League you are on about, the premier is divided into two, where the top two teams in both leagues play off in league semi finals and finals. We should easily qualify for the semis, have a few games to catch up on first though.
We regraded to junior soccer at the 2002-2003 season...
tralee_dynamo
05/04/2005, 1:50 PM
[QUOTE=irisheagle] Incidently the guy Alan Cody, Town's striker, is a Carrick lad. Its interesting to note all the out of town players Micheals have compaired to Carrick. Now what attraction is there in Tipp Town that takes players from all over to them[/QUOTE
i think in all the years i have been watching carrick teams play that I have seen very few players play premier league for the club that have not represented the team at schoolboy level. For example last years team did not have one player who was not at the club as a schoolboy.
Beaten 2-1 yesterday in cork btw...disgraceful decision in the last few minutes stopped them from having a penalty.
Heard ye were very unlucky, just goes to show that there isn't a massive jump between the best junior teams and FAI senior level.Fair play carrick!
irisheagle
05/04/2005, 10:29 PM
Heard ye were very unlucky, just goes to show that there isn't a massive jump between the best junior teams and FAI senior level.Fair play carrick!
If the referee and his linemen were not pandering to the so called Eircom League stars Carrick would have won this game.
tralee_dynamo
06/04/2005, 10:13 AM
What date is the Carrick United vs Clonmel Town game set for? Are Carrick at home?
its on in ozier park waterford sunday week. should be good game with big crowd id say. carrick will win id say.
there is a massive difference between the best junior and senior teams in ireland. its just that cup football doesnt show this. carrick nearly drawing with cork, clonmel beating cobh ramblers etc. on another day if things clicked city could beat carrick 8 or 9 nil. no way could carrick ever score more than 2 against city at there best. a once off game the better team will not always win thats football. another example would be clonmel drawing with fai senior league cup and cup winners longford town in a friendly. a few weeks before that they were lucky to beat a division 4 team in tipperary cup. these were the exact same clonmel players who played in both games.a funny old game football. cobhs form in league has been very good since gettin knocked out of munster senior by a junior club. but standard in eircom league div1 is way higher than any junior league.
irisheagle
06/04/2005, 9:40 PM
there is a massive difference between the best junior and senior teams in ireland. its just that cup football doesnt show this. carrick nearly drawing with cork, clonmel beating cobh ramblers etc. on another day if things clicked city could beat carrick 8 or 9 nil. no way could carrick ever score more than 2 against city at there best. a once off game the better team will not always win thats football. another example would be clonmel drawing with fai senior league cup and cup winners longford town in a friendly. a few weeks before that they were lucky to beat a division 4 team in tipperary cup. these were the exact same clonmel players who played in both games.a funny old game football. cobhs form in league has been very good since gettin knocked out of munster senior by a junior club. but standard in eircom league div1 is way higher than any junior league.
No team will beat Carrick 8 or 9 nil !!!!, Cork beat them 2-0 in last seasons Munster Junior Cup Final, Shamrock Rvs beat them 3-0 in last seasons FAI Cup and Carrick beat Cobh 2-0 in last seasons Munster Snr Cup, its take four games against Eircom league side to but seven past them. Why not give credit were credit is due.
irisheagle
06/04/2005, 9:42 PM
its on in ozier park waterford sunday week. should be good game with big crowd id say. carrick will win id say.
Game is on Saturday week in Ozier 6pm kick off, extra time then a replay
carrick are an excellent junior side but the likes of kevin doyle liam kearney john o flynn george o callaghan and joe gamble would rip them apart if they were on song for city.
tralee_dynamo
07/04/2005, 7:37 AM
I think there is a big difference between the best junior and senior teams in ireland, primarily due to the fact that the senior teams are all full-time!. Your statement saying that the eircom league div1 is way higher than any junior league is probably true also. However there is not a whole pile of difference in standard between the lower senior clubs in division 1 and the best junior clubs in the country.
And the statement saying Carrick would lose to Cork by 8 or 9 goals is a joke - and insulting to Carrick United F.C, the league of Ireland is not that good, there is a step up in standard but even Chelsea would struggle to achieve a scoreline that large against any top junior team!
blobbyblob
07/04/2005, 9:09 AM
If you are going to the game, be careful where you park around Ozier. 17 cars got parking tickets for the last game. Its a residential area so its only fair you respect the locals. The Eire Og pitch beside Ozier Park will be open for parking so Id advise that you make use of it for everyones sake.
irisheagle
07/04/2005, 10:30 PM
If you are going to the game, be careful where you park around Ozier. 17 cars got parking tickets for the last game. Its a residential area so its only fair you respect the locals. The Eire Og pitch beside Ozier Park will be open for parking so Id advise that you make use of it for everyones sake.
And that was cars parked for a lower division league game !!!!, still plenty of parking in that area if you are willing to walk for 10 mins or so. Ozier is a bulit up area. The Waterford League should sell the ground and buy land outside the city and develope same. It will be interesting to see how many turn up a 6pm on a Saturday evening.
As for Cork beating Carrick 9-0, well they had two resent oppertunities and went no were near that. Remember the Cork chaps are paid to kick ball, Carrick are not.
Van The Man
08/04/2005, 1:26 PM
What date is the Carrick United vs Clonmel Town game set for? Are Carrick at home?
Watched Clonmel Town and Peake Villa play in a TSDL league game last Sunday. Peake beat the Town 1-0.
Clonmel were at full strength and Peake had a second string team out, Clonmel would want to up the ante if they are to come out top against Carrick on the 16th.
St. Michaels and Clonmel are battling for the league honours in the TSDL so both teams are playing every weekend before their respective MJC clashes.
I fancy Tralee and Carrick, Michaels are lucky to be at this stage, were lucky to overcome Fairview in earlier rounds. Carrick and Clonmel should be the better of the games.
tralee_dynamo
13/04/2005, 11:13 AM
Good luck to all teams left in the competition this w/end...Should be two cracking semi finals!
my prediction is all tsdl munster junior final. town versus saints.
my prediction was right all along. said saints and town would get to final.they now meet 3 times in the run in to the end of season. tipp cup semi,munster junior final and last league game of season where winner takes all in title race
irisheagle
17/04/2005, 9:11 PM
my prediction was right all along. said saints and town would get to final.they now meet 3 times in the run in to the end of season. tipp cup semi,munster junior final and last league game of season where winner takes all in title race
Fair play to you, but want to be careful on here heard comment could end up in the newspapers.
kingpin
18/04/2005, 8:51 AM
Anybody see any of the two semi-finals, or hear any reports on the games?
carricksmasher
18/04/2005, 11:42 AM
i listened to the carrick game on tipp fm and spoke to quiet a few people who watched the game.
The winning goal was more or less the last kick of the game and came about from an error by the carrick keeper who had caught everything before that.
Judging from the reports carrick controlled the first half and clonmel the second, although even at 1-1 carrick had chances to win but some wasteful finishing unfortunately :(
Did not hear too much from the other game only that moroney had got 2 inside the first half hour.
Seeing as last MJC final between Town & Michael's was in Cooke Park (2002 ??) - will this years be in Clonmel.
maybe cahir park will get it . but i doubt it .it will be on in clonmel id say alright. i fancy saints to win it
clownboy
19/04/2005, 6:23 AM
Toss a coin ..Isent that what they did the last time they met in the mjc final
mjc final fixed for cahir park sat 14th of may. saints have drawn 1st blood on clonmel beating them easily in tipp cup semi 4-1
munster junior cup final this saturday in cahir 6-30. saint michaels go into game as hot favourates after winning tipperary cup on saturday night
irisheagle
09/05/2005, 9:25 PM
munster junior cup final this saturday in cahir 6-30. saint michaels go into game as hot favourates after winning tipperary cup on saturday night
Ye the Cork / Limerick / St Olivers / Tipp Towm compination should be to strong again for Town.
Town played out of their skins v. Carrick its seems that was their cup final
Well done to the 'Town on Saturday's performance. Again the little bit of luck (and a referee willing to make tough decisions) deserted us. By far the better team in the first half playing some great footbal and although we did get a bit impatient in the second half playing too many high balls into their half - we did not deserve to lose. Here's hoping for a win on Saturday to get some reward for a good season.
kingpin
16/05/2005, 8:13 AM
Well done to the 'Town on Saturday's performance. Again the little bit of luck (and a referee willing to make tough decisions) deserted us. By far the better team in the first half playing some great footbal and although we did get a bit impatient in the second half playing too many high balls into their half - we did not deserve to lose. Here's hoping for a win on Saturday to get some reward for a good season.
Hard luck on saturday's performance, we wanted to see the cup coming back to the suirside for another year. Hope yee do the business in the league!
backodanet
16/05/2005, 9:19 AM
what was the score .......how did the match go
kingpin
16/05/2005, 10:12 AM
what was the score .......how did the match go
1-0 to michael's, chalkie walsh scored a header from a corner
irisheagle
16/05/2005, 9:46 PM
Very disapointed with Micheal's on Saturday, they played no football at all. Big, strong, fit , physical that was it.
They are Munster Champions yes but not a footbaling team any more. As stated Town played all the football and should have had at least one penalty.
But that football, unluckly Town