View Full Version : Sligo Rovers (H)

AlanOB
21/07/2017, 6:46 PM
The Bit O'Red are one of only two sides yet to register an away win this season; a great opportunity for Limerick to get back to winning ways, and revisit that promising opening day thrashing.

If you can't attend, you can follow it all live, from 6.25pm, with myself and Noel O'Connor, at the usual link: www.mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2017, 7:09 PM
Really hope he gets rid of this ridiculous notion of playing Lee J on the wing the lad is the only one we have to get us on the ball and get us going and he is stuck out wide waiting for others to do it who simply aren't. Ideally I'd like to see the
4-4-2 go altogether don't think it suits what we have.

Garbhan has to start.

LK37oldskool
21/07/2017, 7:37 PM
If Lee jay is out wide we're screwed. I'd like to see Kenny and Clarke wide with Lee Jay and Bastian in the middle. Robbie and Crowe centre halves. Tracey and Kelly full backs. Either keeper will do. Tosi and Ogbene up front. Winning combo for me 👍

Castlepook
21/07/2017, 8:32 PM
And where to put Cameron ? If we don't take 3 points out of this we are in big trouble. All quiet on the transfer front as well with Joel talking to Cork.

Lims4ever
21/07/2017, 8:42 PM
Going by tonight's results by god do we need a win or it could be freefall from here , great ability garbhan but does not work hard enough too lax sometimes aswell when he's on the ball can't see him starting great goal in Galway, the only reason we were so high up the table was the sides below us were playing **** now there all starting to pick up wins being outplayed by the teams below us last few weeks does not bode well but we should have enough to see off Sligo

LK37oldskool
21/07/2017, 8:49 PM
If ever Mcdonald needed to pick the right players in the right positions in the short time he's been with us, it's tomorrow night.

21/07/2017, 9:06 PM
Garbhan has to start.
Something you never thought you'd say!

But we really need people in midfield who can hold onto the ball, the last few games we've just hoofed it forward and lost it straight away.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2017, 9:11 PM
Something you never thought you'd say!

But we really need people in midfield who can hold onto the ball, the last few games we've just hoofed it forward and lost it straight away.

I didn't at all tbh but have to be fair to the lad he has been doing something when he has come on recently and if you aren't gonna put a lad in that is doing well when others are doing nothing whats the point.

21/07/2017, 9:17 PM
Where would you play Lynch though if Garbhan is in? I don't think Lynch is the type to sit in the middle of the park. He is an attacking midfielder that needs players behind him to give him the freedom to create and move around. If lynch picks up the more attacking role then where does Garbhan go because I wouldn't say he is an up top centre forward. It's probably between Lynch and Garbhan for the position just behind Tosi.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2017, 9:31 PM
Where would you play Lynch though if Garbhan is in? I don't think Lynch is the type to sit in the middle of the park. He is an attacking midfielder that needs players behind him to give him the freedom to create and move around. If lynch picks up the more attacking role then where does Garbhan go because I wouldn't say he is an up top centre forward. It's probably between Lynch and Garbhan for the position just behind Tosi.

I think Lee J could do a job as a deeper midfielder no problem tbh I could be well wrong but I think he would be perfect to stop the hoofing and actually get us playing as he will have no problem at all dropping back to get the ball from CBs and actually get us forward. He has played in a deeper midfield role a few times with us and done well including when he dropped back in there against Dundalk in Oriel earlier in the year and was excellent. If it was midfield 3 id go Duggan and Lynch deep Garbh in the 10 if its
4-4-2 I'd go Duggan and Lee J in the middle Garbh up top.

21/07/2017, 9:38 PM
3 wins at home all season is nothing short of a disgrace.
they better win tomorrow.

CraftyToePoke
22/07/2017, 12:40 AM
they better win tomorrow.

Or what ? You'll send the boys round to their houses is it ? Sleep with the fishes job.

Stand by the tunnel as they come out shaking your fist angrily and shouting ye better f*ckin win right

LK37oldskool
22/07/2017, 4:56 PM
O Connor and Deano are full backs tonight! WTF! Ogbene on the wing. Two in the middle for Limerick v Sligo 3. Going to be a long night.

CraftyToePoke
22/07/2017, 5:31 PM
Garbhan has to start

You called it.

CraftyToePoke
22/07/2017, 5:31 PM
O Connor and Deano are full backs tonight! WTF! Ogbene on the wing. Two in the middle for Limerick v Sligo 3. Going to be a long night.

Hard to believe its a back four with those but seems it is ?

LK37oldskool
22/07/2017, 5:54 PM
To say their shambolic is an understatement

LK37oldskool
22/07/2017, 6:27 PM
This is embarrassing. Limerick FC disgraceful.

22/07/2017, 7:08 PM
Introduction of O'Flynn and Kenny seems to have lifted it.

LK37oldskool
22/07/2017, 8:31 PM
Calling David O Connor a footballer is an abomination.

22/07/2017, 8:35 PM
It looks like McDonald might at long last be the axe that has needed to swing through this club for years.

I just hope the board give him their full backing.

Not for the first time, our media officer made a holy show of himself tonight.

LK37oldskool
22/07/2017, 8:41 PM
Hopefully he puts the axe into a few heads.

Mastershake87
22/07/2017, 9:36 PM
Calling David O Connor a footballer is an abomination.

He's clearly been played out of position. Instead you should be having a go at the manager and the club for not securing someone who can play in the position.

22/07/2017, 9:36 PM
Not for the first time, our media officer made a holy show of himself tonight.
What was this about?

On the game itself, first half was woeful stuff.

We showed a bit of energy and spirit in the second half though, Kenny in particular had a lot of energy about him. We still didn't have an idea how to break them down though.

22/07/2017, 10:07 PM
Or what ? You'll send the boys round to their houses is it ? Sleep with the fishes job.

Stand by the tunnel as they come out shaking your fist angrily and shouting ye better f*ckin win right

I did, I did a lot, I roared when others went silent, I roared and called them what they are as you and others were silent happy with that were you? Ill be in Derry next week giving my all for my club

Is Cameron better then what we had? no
Looks like its Robbie or whitehead to partner Crowe from here on in. Robbie didn't even have his socks on taking his place on the bench.
Making the same mistake all the time (subbing tosi and then bringing on a right winger to cross a ball for the smaller O'Flynn)
Kenny getting MOTM for ten mins running shows how **** the team were for the other 80.

Ballistinianlad
22/07/2017, 10:14 PM
Frustrating night at the office. I hope the fella calling Clarke useless had a good look tonight. 2-3 brilliant saves.

What did the media officer do?

CraftyToePoke
22/07/2017, 10:16 PM
I did, I did a lot, I roared when others went silent, I roared and called them what they are as you and others were silent happy with that were you?

I was delighted with it, got it on my phone even. It needed doing and up you stepped by God and fair play to you.

Castlepook
22/07/2017, 11:37 PM
Shocking stuff again tonight, McDonald and the "board" need to come clean on the finance or lack of, to bolster the squad. Again no leadership or steel in the squad ... just basically hard to watch. Cobh will relish our cup game going on this performance ... expect them to come at us as if lives depend on it.

Ballistinianlad
23/07/2017, 3:09 AM
Player private messaged a fan on Facebook abusing him tonight. Think fans have a right to be negative lately to be fair.

fieldofmarkets
23/07/2017, 5:24 AM
Club sacked a manager 7 games into the season, waited at least as long to replace him.....and went with this guy!

Castlepook
23/07/2017, 7:43 AM
The sooner the mystery investor takes full control and shafts the board the better. If anyone has a scintilla of evidence why any of them should be allowed stay, stick it on the back of a stamp. Mediocrity regarding every aspect of the running of the club has run its course .. Time for an honest appraisal before it becomes an autopsy .. the club is on life support and the natives are restless.

23/07/2017, 9:06 AM
Player private messaged a fan on Facebook abusing him tonight. Think fans have a right to be negative lately to be fair.

Granted it is stupid and I don't know the whole story but if the fan abused the player and got it back then they have to be willing to take it if they dish it out. Players shouldn't be doing it but they are human at the end of the day and if one of us was abused we would probably react also.

A few people have said MacDonald can't be judged until he has his own team in place and I think that's true. The guy has had some very high profile jobs and now has an assistant manager who also comes with good pedigree. They need time.

On the signings issue, if they aren't signing players then they need to say why rather than just doing nothing.

LK37oldskool
23/07/2017, 9:30 AM
He's clearly been played out of position. Instead you should be having a go at the manager and the club for not securing someone who can play in the position.
Even when he has been played in position he's cack. He should never have been signed. But when we have a legit left back I'm scratching my head why O Connor starts ahead of him.

bluewhitearmy
23/07/2017, 9:38 AM
Granted it is stupid and I don't know the whole story but if the fan abused the player and got it back then they have to be willing to take it if they dish it out. Players shouldn't be doing it but they are human at the end of the day and if one of us was abused we would probably react also.

A few people have said MacDonald can't be judged until he has his own team in place and I think that's true. The guy has had some very high profile jobs and now has an assistant manager who also comes with good pedigree. They need time.

On the signings issue, if they aren't signing players then they need to say why rather than just doing nothing.

Unless it was personal over the top abuse then the player should keep his mouth shut tbh its not a case of oh if you can give it you can take it at all if its just a fan venting about a poor performance etc but if it crossed a line into something personal its fair game for the player to fire back.

Do ye know the fan or is it just up on Facebook somewhere?

bluewhitearmy
23/07/2017, 9:43 AM
Oh and the clubs own media man setting it up so that an ex manager who has himself and people connected to him been attacking the club on social media for years to be a guest on local radio for the game is beyond ridiculous. Some people wanna get their heads out of their holes and start acting some bit professional about their jobs at the club.

23/07/2017, 9:47 AM
But when we have a legit left back I'm scratching my head why O Connor starts ahead of him.
Who is our legit left back?

LK37oldskool
23/07/2017, 9:55 AM
Shane Tracy played most of his Limerick career in that position. Certainly a better choice than DOC.

23/07/2017, 11:18 AM
Shane Tracy played most of his Limerick career in that position. Certainly a better choice than DOC.

He'd get torn apart in the premier division. Better attacking-wise, but certainly not an improvement defensively.

But really, we just need a new player in for that position. We don't have anybody who can even fill in there.

bluewhitearmy
23/07/2017, 11:34 AM
He'd get torn apart in the premier division. Better attacking-wise, but certainly not an improvement defensively.

But really, we just need a new player in for that position. We don't have anybody who can even fill in there.

No worse defensively either though and as you say better attack wise so the better option for me the current fella is barely a footballer.

Ballistinianlad
23/07/2017, 11:40 AM
The fan had written on the limerick Facebook page that fans nearly deserve a refund due to the performances lately. Nothing abusive. He received a pm from the player. Calling him a moron and braindead. I seen them with my own eyes. Really not acceptable in my opionon. Fans have travelled all over the country this year at great expense to witness some pathetic performances, Galway away. Sligo away to name two. They have a right to be frustrated.

AlanOB
23/07/2017, 12:40 PM
Analysis of last night's game below:

Limerick 0-0 Sligo Rovers: Structurally-sound Sligo withstand Kenny cameo (https://tacticstruck2.com/2017/07/23/limerick-0-0-sligo-rovers-structurally-sound-sligo-withstand-kenny-cameo/)https://tacticstruck2.files.wordpress.com/2017/07/limsli.jpg?w=433

AlanOB
23/07/2017, 12:44 PM
And you can listen back to Limerick Soccer Live's real-time take on same here: http://mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live/showreel/limerick-fc-0-0-sligo-rovers-jul-22-pd/ (https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fmixlr.com%2Flimerick-soccer-live%2Fshowreel%2Flimerick-fc-0-0-sligo-rovers-jul-22-pd%2F&h=ATNZhwTdT4BDK2xngSfgaRp3O5AA2KfAwjRBHQYblTsa2PZm JTz05IlgDZDqQGG9mbRU2Wzl0VxYI928AhhMabdXOImXHqXAvA 4A__x9nbmdbToJ4t9ZHiTy8lAniYPx0Xq4ZBRILw)

NeverFeltBetter
23/07/2017, 1:07 PM
Good stuff Alan.

Disapointing last night, little consistency from half to half, ten minute spell to ten minute spell. Almost seems like the squad is sleepwalking to a 7th/8th place spot, hoping those below don't pick it up.

AlanOB
23/07/2017, 1:28 PM
Sleepwalking seems an apt word to use, yes.

Lims4ever
23/07/2017, 1:49 PM
First half absolutely woeful , can understand why Robbie Williams was dropped has been struggling and to me should be much fitter than he is but when he's on his game our best defender for sure , winger and a centre half as full backs how in the **** has it come to this , think david o Connor is decent but he's not a full back and neither is dean Clarke, though crowe was good last night Cameron jury still out better but did not show much for the level he was playing at , I know it was only a friendly but kenny was good after coming on against Charlton so surely he should have been given a start very impressive after coming on yet again Coughlan gets a start and fails to impress same old faults he's running out of chances at this stage , I will judge mc donald when he has the chance to bring in some of his own players we seem to be working on a shoe string when it comes to bringing in players , though Sligo played well the big fellow up front was impressive wherever they got him from with the way we played first half we were blessed to come away with a point, I will take a 7th or 8th place finish at this stage just not to get dragged into the dog fight is the main thing

23/07/2017, 1:56 PM
And you can listen back to Limerick Soccer Live's real-time take on same here: http://mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live/showreel/limerick-fc-0-0-sligo-rovers-jul-22-pd/ (https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fmixlr.com%2Flimerick-soccer-live%2Fshowreel%2Flimerick-fc-0-0-sligo-rovers-jul-22-pd%2F&h=ATNZhwTdT4BDK2xngSfgaRp3O5AA2KfAwjRBHQYblTsa2PZm JTz05IlgDZDqQGG9mbRU2Wzl0VxYI928AhhMabdXOImXHqXAvA 4A__x9nbmdbToJ4t9ZHiTy8lAniYPx0Xq4ZBRILw)

Listened for the first time last night. To be totally honest I went to 95FM first (wanted to hear Taylor) but it wouldn't seem to start on my phone. I was very impressed though, I'll definitely be back when I can't get to games going forward.

Sounds like there was more drama off the pitch than on it, one of those nights!

CraftyToePoke
23/07/2017, 2:30 PM
Sligo played well the big fellow up front was impressive wherever they got him

Igiehon, came from the Evo Stick Northern Premier in England, level 7 or 8 not sure which on the pyramid there, semi pro level most likely anyhow. Some spot going on last night.

23/07/2017, 2:34 PM
Circus season starts earlier every year :D

I'm backing McDonald.

Good times ahead. :good:

AlanOB
23/07/2017, 3:59 PM
Listened for the first time last night. To be totally honest I went to 95FM first (wanted to hear Taylor) but it wouldn't seem to start on my phone. I was very impressed though, I'll definitely be back when I can't get to games going forward.

Thanks for that; always very encouraging to get such positive feedback.

And Igiehon is from Level 8's Scarborough Athletic, as mentioned in the analysis above, and on last night's live broadcast. And, yes, he is some spot; a testament to Sligo's ongoing across-the-water scouting efforts.

LK37oldskool
23/07/2017, 6:43 PM
Enjoyable read again Allan. Wondering what you think of Cameron? Surely Kenny has to start ahead of him next week. Real wingers are a scarce commodity. I still think Tracey and Kelly should start as our full backs. Their both better defensively and can cross a ball with some degree of accuracy. Tosi will score more if he gets the supply which as you have pointed out is strange to see him continually substituted when wide players are brought on.
Are you covering the Derry match next week?

AlanOB
23/07/2017, 8:40 PM
From what I have read on Henry, he's not an out-an-out winger; it seems he prefers to play on the left, and cut in on his stronger right peg, in the vein of an inside-forward. That might put his deeply underwhelming performance last night in a bit of context -- certainly Stephen would have been far more effective up against Regan Donelon, who was cut apart by Turner in February.

The Derry game is a difficult one due to Maginn's facilities, or lack thereof. I will be onto the club, however, to see what they can do for me. Transport is also a concern; mainly for financial reasons, to put it honestly and bluntly. I'll let you know as soon as I do.