View Full Version : LOI Stadium Illustrations

21/06/2017, 7:43 PM
I know I post some stuff in another thread, but it's buried deep and I couldn't see it there, in any case, this is about stadiums! Merge if you feel necessary of course.

So, I've been working on a bit of a side project, currently trying to illustrate every LOI ground, might do a couple of former grounds in the future. So far I've just about finished 10, I'll post them up here as I have new stuff to share for anyone interested!

https://img0.etsystatic.com/155/0/8546407/il_570xN.1202836508_hzpf.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/163/0/8546407/il_570xN.1206551324_ldsb.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/161/0/8546407/il_570xN.1193381640_pjqw.jpg

21/06/2017, 7:45 PM
https://img1.etsystatic.com/204/0/8546407/il_570xN.1269498607_qhve.jpg

https://img1.etsystatic.com/193/0/8546407/il_570xN.1255340425_b1mw.jpg

https://img1.etsystatic.com/177/0/8546407/il_570xN.1240570713_dlia.jpg

21/06/2017, 7:46 PM
https://img0.etsystatic.com/147/0/8546407/il_570xN.1204122012_dmd8.jpg

https://img1.etsystatic.com/150/0/8546407/il_570xN.1248734019_n5np.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/163/0/8546407/il_570xN.1193381004_4awc.jpg

21/06/2017, 8:02 PM
Some of those drawings look better than the real thing:cool:

21/06/2017, 8:41 PM
Aye an empty away section and there chould be tayto packets lying around. Turners Cross is surely much bigger too.. Good job though AC!

22/06/2017, 10:54 AM
Acornvilla that's a great job. Are you selling them?

22/06/2017, 10:59 AM
Ah here Kingdom, you can't just go around selling stadia when you don't own them.

Unless you're Bohs.

DannyInvincible
22/06/2017, 5:15 PM
They're brilliant, Acornvilla. I'd meant to say that my sister bought me the Paul McGrath USA '94 print (https://www.etsy.com/ie/listing/234635986/paul-mcgrath-usa-1994?ref=shop_home_active_4) you did (with orange background rather than grey) as a gift last Christmas.

The A3 size looks great framed, so thanks for that!

22/06/2017, 5:53 PM
They're brilliant, Acornvilla. I'd meant to say that my sister bought me the Paul McGrath USA '94 print (https://www.etsy.com/ie/listing/234635986/paul-mcgrath-usa-1994?ref=shop_home_active_4) you did (with orange background rather than grey) as a gift last Christmas.

The A3 size looks great framed, so thanks for that!

Cheers Danny, glad you're happy with it, send her my thanks! :)

Acornvilla that's a great job. Are you selling them?
Hi Kingdom, they are, here's a link to my print shop (https://www.etsy.com/ie/shop/BarryMastersonArt) if you'd like to have a trawl, I have about 200 prints up there or something ridiculous like that.

23/06/2017, 9:25 AM
Hi Kingdom, they are, here's a link to my print shop (https://www.etsy.com/ie/shop/BarryMastersonArt) if you'd like to have a trawl, I have about 200 prints up there or something ridiculous like that.

Heaven. Really great work. Do you take requests?

23/06/2017, 11:29 AM
Heaven. Really great work. Do you take requests?
I do indeed, you can drop me a DM here if you'd like to have a chat :)

26/06/2017, 7:30 PM
https://img1.etsystatic.com/202/0/8546407/il_570xN.1274528363_cnp8.jpg

Tolka ended up taking ages, but here it is ^^

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/06/2017, 9:14 PM
If only Tolka looked that good these days

Mark
27/06/2017, 1:43 PM
Cheers Danny, glad you're happy with it, send her my thanks! :)

Since when can we advertise businesses on Foot.ie?! Have the rules changed? - let me know at www.footballprogs.webs.com....... (lots of bargains, portion of profits to charity) !!

27/06/2017, 4:15 PM
That's a terrible sort of affair...advertising businesses on here? I'm away off to buy some t-shirts from this wonderful site (http://54crew.com/merchandise) in protest.

29/06/2017, 6:38 PM
That's a terrible sort of affair...advertising businesses on here? I'm away off to buy some t-shirts from this wonderful site (http://54crew.com/merchandise) in protest.
In related news, I gave Finn Park a go :)

https://img0.etsystatic.com/194/0/8546407/il_570xN.1229472906_d9q5.jpg

29/06/2017, 7:43 PM
The roof looks too blue. There's large patches of brown on it these days.

29/06/2017, 10:13 PM
The roof looks too blue. There's large patches of brown on it these days.
You just need to squint a little.

29/06/2017, 10:22 PM
On a serious note, one point I would make, is that the seats are too close to the clubhouse there and the terrace next to them is too long. The subs benches are in the same boat.

redobit
30/06/2017, 11:43 AM
Put a set of goals in Finn park image, it just looks like a farmyard otherwise.

thebronze14
01/07/2017, 1:17 PM
Getting my girlfriend to order the Harps one for my birthday;)

06/07/2017, 12:54 PM
Getting my girlfriend to order the Harps one for my birthday
Cheers!

I'm beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel, almost all of them attempted now.

https://img0.etsystatic.com/196/0/8546407/il_570xN.1230804990_6ymn.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/210/0/8546407/il_570xN.1233899018_prnv.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/184/0/8546407/il_570xN.1233920406_m1ne.jpg

Iorfa2MaccaJim
06/07/2017, 8:38 PM
The one of the R.S.C. is very nice. Well done Acorn Villa. Keep up the good work.

redarmyfaction
07/07/2017, 5:01 AM
What size are the stadium prints?

14/07/2017, 2:28 PM
What size are the stadium prints? I only do them A3, but I try and accommodate people if they need something else :)

The one of the R.S.C. is very nice. Well done Acorn Villa. Keep up the good work.

Thanks!

Some more attempts at some 1st division grounds, St. Colemans and the Bowl at UCD.

https://img0.etsystatic.com/217/0/8546407/il_fullxfull.1240808312_bbjw.jpg

https://img0.etsystatic.com/193/0/8546407/il_fullxfull.1240805624_qtse.jpg

14/07/2017, 2:49 PM
Any chance of some historic LOI grounds like Morton and Station Road? Maybe Harold's Cross Stadium (which will be bulldozed) or Milltown?

14/07/2017, 3:04 PM
Any chance of some historic LOI grounds like Morton and Station Road? Maybe Harold's Cross Stadium (which will be bulldozed) or Milltown?
Yeah, I'm hitting some serious stadium fatuige atm as you can imagine, so want to finish off the last couple 1st div grounds + Drogheda, and concentrate on something else then for a bit, but I do want to try some older stadiums too, possibly in a different style as a separate project :)

While I'm rambling here.. A couple of you might have spotted that I've provided illustrations for Bohs all season, and they'll probably use my Dalymount one as a centerfold at some stage if they haven't already. I did something similar for St. Pats at the start of the year

If any of you on here run the programs at your clubs or know who does and want to use some of my work, let me know, I'm happy to lend what I have to any LOI club, free of charge ofc ^^

it's not much but it might help ye fill some gaps at some stage during the rest of the season :)

15/07/2017, 3:46 PM
Acorn is it 2 for €40 A3?

Does this include requested ones??

15/07/2017, 5:52 PM
Acorn is it 2 for €40 A3?

Does this include requested ones??
I'll drop you a DM.

Mark
15/07/2017, 6:24 PM
Still lots of programmes for sale at www.footballprogs.webs.com!! (portion to charity)
How are those t-shirts selling nigel-harps1954 ??? !!!

16/07/2017, 4:31 PM
I've never actually been to United Park, and with all of them it was a bit of a challenge picking an angle let alone the drawing part, but this is what I came up with anyway!

https://img0.etsystatic.com/207/0/8546407/il_fullxfull.1243788452_6tg4.jpg

That's all of the PD grounds now, (I think?)

bluemovie
17/07/2017, 4:13 PM
These are fantastic. Well done. I'm not quite as good an artist but this is my drawing of Cabinteely's ground.

25/07/2017, 10:51 AM
These are fantastic. Well done. I'm not quite as good an artist but this is my drawing of Cabinteely's ground.

http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2578&stc=1
Can I use that one and say it's Cabo? :D

Here's my go at Ferrycarrig!

https://img1.etsystatic.com/213/0/8546407/il_570xN.1295407825_14s7.jpg

04/11/2017, 5:44 PM
Hey lads, looking for a bit of help if you could at all.

So, I've been doing another project that's going to be filled with drawings of LOI grounds. I'll pop a few at the end of the post that aren't quite finished yet, if anyone would like a look.

In any case, I'd like to try my hand at lansdowne as well as Dalymount when they were still being used for Ireland games.

Would anyone know a good resource for reference images, so I can get an idea of what they really looked like? That's all really, enjoy your weekend, unless you're from Cork or Dundalk, feck the pair of ye :P

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DK_tYaFXcAIxt9e.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DNoYVdXWkAAoL5Y.jpg

04/11/2017, 6:00 PM
Google street view?

04/11/2017, 9:57 PM
Google street view?
Does it have a time travel option? I wasn't aware that was a thing :D

GUFCghost
05/11/2017, 12:58 AM
These are fantastic!

05/11/2017, 11:34 AM
Does it have a time travel option? I wasn't aware that was a thing :D

I should have read that post better.

If this helps though...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-RYhsWr1iLkg/UDtMUZdGWOI/AAAAAAAAAAA/1F4VcYrP5dY/s1600/Lansdowne%2BRoad%2B3.jpg

From here: http://tims92.blogspot.ie/2011/03/republic-of-ireland-lansdowne-road.htm

seand
06/11/2017, 9:07 AM
Good work Acornvilla, I always enjoy seeing these images. One slight issue I have though is that the grounds are generally so underwhelming, particularly while empty, that it makes it hard to imbue the artwork with any real atmosphere. You've captured the pathos though! ;)

seand
06/11/2017, 9:12 AM
Hey lads, looking for a bit of help if you could at all.

So, I've been doing another project that's going to be filled with drawings of LOI grounds. I'll pop a few at the end of the post that aren't quite finished yet, if anyone would like a look.

In any case, I'd like to try my hand at lansdowne as well as Dalymount when they were still being used for Ireland games.

Would anyone know a good resource for reference images, so I can get an idea of what they really looked like? That's all really, enjoy your weekend, unless you're from Cork or Dundalk, feck the pair of ye :P

Here's a nice image of the East Stand at Lansdowne.
https://www.sportsfile.com/id/906299/
Trawling through sportsfile images will waste several glorious days of life, but there's plenty of good stuff there. Use the search function, include a random year and scroll down past the modern stuff

The brilliant recent Dalymount Park history book is an obvious source for Dalyer. They had them in Easons and the like

06/11/2017, 6:36 PM
There would be some great photos buried in the Dublin City Archive:

http://www.dublincity.ie/main-menu-services-recreation-culture-dublin-city-public-libraries-and-archive/heritage-and-history

08/11/2017, 9:02 AM
Cheers lads, I'll do some digging :)

05/12/2017, 10:21 PM
I actually thought I had shared some more progress on here, but sure, here's another few drawings for ye to judge mercilessly!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DORhIpoX4AIETSP.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DORhhBdW0AAPSbw.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DORjBX_WsAE191l.jpg

05/12/2017, 10:26 PM
Also, cheers for the advice re Lansdowne, I may as well share my attempt at itself, the aviva and Dalymount eons ago.

https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/23622353_1468605303260398_6137387846815922393_n.jp g?oh=68dca8224799741800f2d96a6b1e61bc&oe=5A95CF4D

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DOnQ1b5WAAA5Ab8.jpg

https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/23844547_1473737816080480_5295637012627864092_n.jp g?oh=e341968806c4d0525ebbee4d545851ba&oe=5AD29D49