Mark Timlin
Tommy McBride

Out:

Harry Doherty
Tommy McMonagle
Michael Funston
Simon McGlynn
Ciaran O'Connor

For me, we've got potentially a striker better than O'Connor, goalkeeper Burke similar to Doherty albeit more experienced at senior level, centre mid McBride to fill the bench replacing Funston, winger Timlin better than McGlynn.

All we missed out on was a centre half to replace McMonagle.

Sorry but what about JDoherty? He was there in the bench for you in one of the games.
Also if you consider that McMonagle left in mid-season you should also consider McMillen as an addition as he got his clearence after the first one departed!

03/08/2017, 11:17 AM
Jack Doherty never appeared for Harps. He was incorrectly listed as being on the bench away to Dundalk when it was actually Harry Doherty on there.

After all the hassle getting him cleared, I don't think Millien will end up playing much of a part at all.

sullanefc
03/08/2017, 11:33 AM
Jack Doherty never appeared for Harps. He was incorrectly listed as being on the bench away to Dundalk when it was actually Harry Doherty on there.

Uh oh. Points deduction on the way. :D

03/08/2017, 5:10 PM
Uh oh. Points deduction on the way. :D

He was only incorrectly listed by Dundalk media teamsheets. ;)

ger121
05/08/2017, 11:20 AM
Limerick - The new manager is a disaster and I just think he doesn't know the League
Sligo - Can't turn draws into wins & don't score a lot
Drogheda - No explanation needed

bluewhitearmy
05/08/2017, 11:52 AM
If we slip into bottom 3 we haven't a hope of getting out. Our only hope is others don't get the points to put us in there.

IsMiseSean
05/08/2017, 12:37 PM
Big win for Galway last night. A draw in the Sligo Pats game this evening and it'll be a decent weekend results wise for us.

Limerick are right in it now. Welcome to the party lads!!

Partizan
05/08/2017, 1:34 PM
"Entice Kildare, Kilkenny and Monaghan back"

Three clubs with maybe 500 fans between them, and not enough people to run them.

But we'll "entice them back" and that's problem solved?

Right so.

Glasshouse. stone. throw.

El-Pietro
05/08/2017, 1:45 PM
I didn't think Galway had wins in them and was worried that the bottom three would be wrapped up with a few weeks to go but that win last night opens it right up and Limerick have to start worrying now. Why did they let Williams go?

05/08/2017, 1:54 PM
Glasshouse. stone. throw.
What's your point, caller?

Fan of small club can't say that bringing in more small clubs isn't the solution to the league's problems?

JC_GUFC
06/08/2017, 8:00 AM
Brilliant win for Galway up at Harps on Friday.
I felt Harps were pretty poor defensively but they've still been able to spring a surprise result here and there and probably will do again.
Limerick need to find some form and fast. As well as losing they're actually getting badly beaten and all of sudden our GD is better than theirs which could prove crucial.
Sligo are now the side who can't win games... Two ok draws in their last 2 games but they've ended up losing ground on everyone apart from Drogheda and Limerick.
As for ourselves in the last 4 games we've beaten Limerick, Drogheda and Harps and given Cork a fright. Now we've games against mid/top half teams coming up... Rovers-Bohs-Derry... If we can carry our form and get 4-points or more from those games it should set us up well for the run-in.

Nugget
06/08/2017, 10:37 AM
If we loose away to harps on Friday we are going down & if Sligo loose at home to Pats on Saturday they are going down too. If we & Sligo win then we are both back in the pack & have fighting chance of staying up.

I know this is a petty point to be making, but the word is LOSE!

06/08/2017, 10:42 AM
Brilliant win for Galway up at Harps on Friday.
I felt Harps were pretty poor defensively but they've still been able to spring a surprise result here and there and probably will do again.
Limerick need to find some form and fast. As well as losing they're actually getting badly beaten and all of sudden our GD is better than theirs which could prove crucial.
Sligo are now the side who can't win games... Two ok draws in their last 2 games but they've ended up losing ground on everyone apart from Drogheda and Limerick.
As for ourselves in the last 4 games we've beaten Limerick, Drogheda and Harps and given Cork a fright. Now we've games against mid/top half teams coming up... Rovers-Bohs-Derry... If we can carry our form and get 4-points or more from those games it should set us up well for the run-in.

Harps were awful defensively on Friday, but partly due to some strange decision by Ollie to play four players out of position. Centre half at right back, right back in centre mid, left back at centre half and centre mid at left back. Crazy really. Total lack of balance. As I said already, easily our worst performance of the season.

Dalymountrower
06/08/2017, 11:30 AM
It was a great win for Galway alright.
Though can't really understand why Galway let one of their best players go, similarly Limerick let go their most experienced defender.?
I think Galway will get 3 points from their next 3 games and will be back in trouble.Limerick are in free fall. Those 2 and Drogs for the drop.

06/08/2017, 2:17 PM
Still think 3 down is crazy. Would like Galway and Sligo to both stay up as I think they have something to offer the top Division. Limerick too, if it comes to it. However, it's every man for himself in the bottom 6.

ayeboy
06/08/2017, 3:45 PM
Just hope Pats go down. Deserve to after voting for 3 to be relegated

JC_GUFC
06/08/2017, 5:08 PM
Though can't really understand why Galway let one of their best players go

Not ideal for sure. What's being said is it was for the long-term future of the club. Unfortunately that's the reality of our finances, he'd have left for free at the end of the season. Apparently he got a 2 1/2 year deal so I'm sure he was keen to make the move too.
In saying that we only have 1 clean sheet all season so it's not as if he was keeping things together for us. Our problems this season have been at the other end of the pitch. Since being pushed further forward Gavan Holohan has 5 goals in 3 games with others weighing in too.
I fancy our chances of staying up but it's going to go right down to the wire.

WoodquayBoy
07/08/2017, 12:08 AM
Though can't really understand why Galway let one of their best players go
What would you do if you were United - offered money to cover a third of your debt for a player who could leave for nothing in 3 months?
What you you do if you were Grace - offered a 52- week contract for 30 months that doubles your wages plus accommodation, as opposed to a 36- week contract that leaves you without a job at the end of October?
No brainer from both perspectives this side of the Shannon. Plus, as JC says, Grace was a mainstay in a defence that kept 1 clean sheet all season. Letting Grace go won't define our season, putting the ball in the net will.

Dalymountrower
07/08/2017, 8:09 AM
What would you do if you were United - offered money to cover a third of your debt for a player who could leave for nothing in 3 months?
What you you do if you were Grace - offered a 52- week contract for 30 months that doubles your wages plus accommodation, as opposed to a 36- week contract that leaves you without a job at the end of October?
No brainer from both perspectives this side of the Shannon. Plus, as JC says, Grace was a mainstay in a defence that kept 1 clean sheet all season. Letting Grace go won't define our season, putting the ball in the net will.
Just asking!.
Rovers bought LG for a third of your debt?
Must be a record LOI fee depending how your debt is calculated?

CorribsideSteve
07/08/2017, 10:01 AM
Must be a record LOI fee depending how your debt is calculated?

Have no idea of the ins and outs of our debt but things seem a good bit better than the Leeson days of '09/'10. Even if he went for 30 K (arbitrary figure), that's still a fair amount of debt that we had accrued.

El-Pietro
07/08/2017, 10:37 AM
You let a key player go when you are in the middle of a relegation battle with no time to bring in replacements. You may have paid off some debts for now, but what about the ones you accrue when relegated? If you stay up then fair play it will have worked out, but teams worry too much about getting a fee. You have to factor in the value of keeping the player and winning games.

WoodquayBoy
07/08/2017, 10:46 AM
We had him for 24 games and still found ourselves in the bottom 3 - people getting their knickers in a twist 'just because'. No point in keeping the player in the hope of staying up, and then becoming unsustainable/untenable. Better to address the debt and put your faith in the other 21 lads in the squad while also ensuring you'll have a club to support again next season

CorribsideSteve
07/08/2017, 11:00 AM
Those are fair points to make, but as good as he was in defence, out struggle with goals until recently has been our biggest weakness but Holohan is on fire at the moment, and Murray got a brace also the other evening. For sure it's a risk selling LG but if he was gonna go on a free anyway, it seems as if it was a tough decision to make but one that had to be taken (if it works out,as you say).

07/08/2017, 12:36 PM
Still think 3 down is crazy. Would like Galway and Sligo to both stay up as I think they have something to offer the top Division. Limerick too, if it comes to it. However, it's every man for himself in the bottom 6.

It's hard to decide who I'd like to stay up. For purposes of geography, I'd go for Harps, Sligo and Galway. But that would mean losing Pats, leaving only two Dublin clubs. It might sound strange to ask, but is that too little?

At this stage, Drogheda look to be gone, can't see them leaving bottom spot at this point. That leaves four points between 7th and 11th spot. Mad. Harps's game in hand is against Cork, so we can probably discount that. Limerick's is at home to Shamrock Rovers, difficult.
It's utterly fascinating to watch, but if I'd to put a bet on, I'd go Drogheda, Sligo and Limerick to drop down.

MattB11
07/08/2017, 4:33 PM
Sligo
Harps
Drogs

Ever the pessimist but our defence is shambolic at times and will probably be our downfall, reckon pat's and limerick have enough quality to stay out of it and think it will be tight between Galway and Sligo to avoid the last relegation place

CraftyToePoke
07/08/2017, 7:38 PM
Limerick have enough quality to stay out of it

The grass is always greener where the dogs are sh*tting syndrome there. Whatever bit of quality still adorns our eleven presently is looking at those making up the numbers around them with frustration.

01/09/2017, 9:31 PM
Complete lottery now who stays up and who goes down after tonight.
Pats back in it, Limerick in it, Harps, Sligo, Drogs and Galway all potentially going down.

Drogs definitely gone, after that it's anyones guess.

From Harps point of view, the Sligo game in a fortnights time is massive, win that and I think we're staying up. Lose and we have Rovers, Dundalk and Derry coming after.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/09/2017, 5:04 AM
Our next 2 games are away to Harps and Galway. If we only get 1 point from them we're gone.

JC_GUFC
03/09/2017, 7:59 AM
Same as our whole season on Friday, played very well in one half and left 2 points behind us. Still a draw not the worst result until we find out Harps have won.
On paper we have the easiest run-in but need to start winning games.
We have home games against Derry, Sligo, Pat's and Dundalk (last day of season) and away trips to Bray and Limerick.

I think we'll need 10 points to survive, that would bring us to 36 and with our GD we'll finish above anyone else who is level on points with us.

04/09/2017, 12:21 PM
I think it's only a matter of time before Drogheda are mathematically relegated.

The other 2 are a bit more up in the air but with 6 games left you'd almost be inclined to say Galway are going to find it near impossible to stay up. 10 points from the last 6 is a big ask, although 4 of those games are at home. If they don't beat Sligo I fully expect them to be relegated.

Sligo will be looking at their next 2 games as cup finals. They really can't afford to lose either.

Harps next game is huge, Sligo at home. Win that and we're 5 points clear with 5 games left. If we don't win that, it's hard to see where the points will come from in the next 3 games (Rovers away, Dundalk home and Derry away).

Pats will be smarting from the Dundalk spanking. After they hammered up in Inchicore I fully expected them to move comfortably to safety. They have a tough run in with Rovers, Bohs, Cork and Derry. The Limerick and Galway games will be massive and they'll be looking at getting something from the likes of Bohs.

Limerick are in free fall. Looked like world beaters first half against Harps, conceded against the run of play and missed pen. After that I never felt like Harps were in danger. Limerick fans must be worried about the teams mentality after that.

Can't call it yet but if Harps were to beat Sligo, I'd say the bottom 3 as it stands will go down. Sligo beat Harps and I'd fear for our safety. I think it's that big of a match.

04/09/2017, 12:22 PM
Do we see 36 points as the target to stay up??

IsMiseSean
04/09/2017, 12:41 PM
Do we see 36 points as the target to stay up??

I'd say 36 will stay up. 35 could sneak it too.

sbgawa
04/09/2017, 1:50 PM
If Harps beat Sligo next match.......... 33 points could stay up........
Sligo would have 5 match's left be on 28 points and are averaging less than a point a game....and have mostly away matches left with 1 win away all season (Bizarrely in Cork)
Galway are averaging less than a point a game and have just lost their CF...and appear to be an "unlucky" team

EnzoScifo10
04/09/2017, 3:31 PM
Could be very very tight. Ignore Limerick V Galway and Harps V Sligo and I reckon you have Pats 35, Lim and Sligo 34, Harps 33 and Galway 31. A point for Sligo will see them on 35 and Harps end on 34, a win for Harps sees them on 36 and Sligo on 34. Galway would need to beat Limerick away and would then stay up on goal difference and relegate Limerick and either Harps or Sligo. The way Limerick are playing I would be more confident beating Bray away than Drogs at home :confused: . So, 34 points will keep Galway safe, everyone else needs 35.

WoodquayBoy
29/09/2017, 9:06 PM
Commiserations to Drogheda - officially relegated tonight

ToberonaTornado
30/09/2017, 12:09 AM
Wonder if Mahon will stick around with Drogs next year?
Hear John Gill is leaving and is giving up coaching in LOI.

SeanDrog
30/09/2017, 9:09 AM
Commiserations to Drogheda - officially relegated tonight

Cheers

TBH I think we all felt relegated long before now - just official now. I'm looking forward to next season now.

IsMiseSean
30/09/2017, 9:34 AM
Cheers

TBH I think we all felt relegated long before now - just official now. I'm looking forward to next season now.

Any chance your lads could pull their finger out of their arse and take some points of Limerick, Harps & Sligo? :D

SeanDrog
30/09/2017, 9:53 AM
Any chance your lads could pull their finger out of their arse and take some points of Limerick, Harps & Sligo? :D

Ironically enough I wouldn't be surprised if we win a few now

30/09/2017, 10:03 AM
Cheers

Got that impression off the players last night too. At the final whistle it was just acceptance.

FWIW though, I thought Drogheda played alright in the second half last night. They've actually looked ok against us in two of the games this season.

Much chance of keeping that squad together? You'd fancy your chances at promotion if so.

30/09/2017, 10:25 PM
I know it doenst make a difference but I thought if Drogs won all of their remaining games they would be level with the next from bottom side or am I looking at the wrong league table?

WoodquayBoy
30/09/2017, 11:10 PM
They might, but they need to overtake 3 teams and that can't be done

01/10/2017, 6:55 PM
They might, but they need to overtake 3 teams and that can't be done

cheers for that was thinking of second from bottom but not of the other teams in the bottom of the table. makes sense now!

gspain01
02/10/2017, 9:19 AM
Looking back a month I see the perceived wisdom was 36 was needed to stay up and probably ok on 35. Even 33 was mentioned. I think there is a risk of going down on 38 now.

02/10/2017, 2:43 PM
I said it back three months ago that 38 or 40 would be needed to stay up. Still stand by that. It's going to be an intriguing run in.

wonder88
02/10/2017, 7:49 PM
If a team goes down after getting 38pts it will be a cruel outcome for them. There is no doubt that the 3 down has created excitement and tension but I think that you also need to reward progress. Galway for me have much better team playing more attractive soccer than last year, yet relegation could be the end product.

JC_GUFC
04/10/2017, 6:59 AM
Another huge weekend coming up... With the staggered games it makes things interesting.
Galway are first up at Bray, definitely one of those games that could go either way.
After that Harps host Dundalk at 5, it may not seem like an obvious chance for a result but with the cup replay on Tuesday Dundalk will likely make a few changes. Pat’s and Limerick also play at 5.
Probably fair to say the winner will end up being ok, that probably means it will be a draw!
Finally at 7:45 Sligo play Bohs. If Galway, Pat’s and Harps have all got results it puts huge pressure on them, on the other hand if all 3 have lost it’s a massive boost to Sligo, again like Bray v Galway it’s a very tight game that could go either way.

ToberonaTornado
04/10/2017, 5:12 PM
Wonder if Mahon will stick around with Drogs next year?
Hear John Gill is leaving and is giving up coaching in LOI.

Mahon staying at Drogs.Good interview this.

Drogheda United boss Pete Mahon believes club need to ‘get out of United Park’ to shed yo-yo club reputation
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1620766/drogheda-united-boss-pete-mahon-believes-club-need-to-get-out-of-united-park-to-shed-yo-yo-club-reputation/

jinxy lilywhite
05/10/2017, 2:57 PM
On the 3 down thing I think it's a great idea and should be introduced next season. Or maybe 8th v 3rd in a playoff.
It would benefit the 1st also and probably would reduce /eliminate the foreboding of relegation ...... Thoughts?

sbgawa
05/10/2017, 3:42 PM
On the 3 down thing I think it's a great idea and should be introduced next season. Or maybe 8th v 3rd in a playoff.
It would benefit the 1st also and probably would reduce /eliminate the foreboding of relegation ...... Thoughts?

Lets just assume for the sake of argument that Waterford where to stay up that would have 6 of this years 12 teams in the first division the year after next...
Turkeys and Christmas springs to mind...
I think 1 down and a playoff between 9th and the winners of a Div 1 2nd to 5th playoff will be the outcome.