View Full Version : TV Deal

Pages : 1 2 [3]

26/02/2005, 5:52 PM
He doesnt even add the 3 figures correctly but fair play for him even investigating the issue as the FAI press release and Delaney worded it in a very positive way and had people thinking it was the best thing ever.

No matter how it was worded, it is still majorly positive news. It's not the best thing ever, that's Davey Rogers left boot, but it's still incredible news no matter what way the money goes.

26/02/2005, 5:59 PM
Does anyone know now how the tv money for eL money compares for other leagues? Scottish premier league is now on 10-12m over 4-5 years???

I think cash should be distributed across the positions in the league. Everyone will benefit but best teams will benefit more which is only fair.

26/02/2005, 8:36 PM
I think this is great news for the league but it is very important that the monies are shared around the league. Giving a significant percentage of the money to the clubs being shown could mean that only a few clubs, probably those with the most money already would really benefit from this. On the other hand, it'd be great to see coverage that wasn't based on showing Dublin derbies with the odd Cork game thrown in. The numbers of games being covered will hopefully mean that affairs at both ends of the table will receive decent coverage. I also think it's time the clubs sat down together and decided that they should always co-operate with the TV companies where ever possible for the good of the league.

I'm not sure there'd be a lot of interest in average division 1 game but chosen carefully there's no reason even a live game wouldn't work. It's easy to rubbish clubs in the first division but in general they survive with virtually no coverage of any kind. This makes it hard to attract fans and sponsors and the whole thing is a vicious circle. I firmly believe that some of the country's better run clubs are in the first division and they deserve a helping hand. I reckon a club that keeps its house in order in the first division and lives within its means is at least as deserving as many premier clubs, especially given that certain premier clubs have been so spectacularly badly run. It'd be great for all clubs to receive a bit of coverage, even if it's only goals being shown. Better coverage for all and a decent share-out of the cash could provide a real boost to the game in this country- especially in the first division. Let's just hope the opportunity is fully seized, and that the teams can provide football that people want to watch.

26/02/2005, 11:11 PM
If it is circa €400k then i think it would be fair to give all 22 clubs €10,000 each and then give the rest to whatever .... the bigger clubs will benefit by having the opportunity to get sponsorship from the games, added attendance, etc. so it will filter abck that way. If we did have five years of that it would really sort out for the league as a whole.
I think rewarding the bigger clubs is shortsighted and these chances wont come around that often. I realise that it wont pan out this way ... but if you look at other leagues (Spain and Italy come to mind) where the money was unevenly divided and the problems it cause from the payments directly and then look at all that it could have been actually achieved, i think it is mad not dividing it evenly.
Tell that to all the club officals foaming at the mouth just waiting to get their hands on the money though. At least ... unlike the grant money, they wont have to account for this meal ticket so they can spend it as foolishly as they wish. Sure its practically on the fuppin' trees at this stage !! :eek: :rolleyes:

27/02/2005, 2:16 AM
Now all I have to do is somehow get an Irish Sky Card with Setanta on it over here in England

Reiteoir - it takes a good few weeks to get it corted, so you'd wanna be on the phone to Sky a.s.a.p, or you'll be too late for the first game.

higgins
27/02/2005, 7:20 AM
The deal as far as I understand is worth 300K ... So about 100K each from the 3 of them.

22 league clubs into 300K doesnt leave you with much. Do you really think this is an incredible deal money wise?? :eek: What will 13K do for your club this season. Its 13K you didnt have but it wont pay for much these days.

The best part of the deal for me is the fact we are going to be shown on the TV as that far outweighs the 300K on offer but we'll stick to the money for now.

I think crowds are effected when the game goes to TV. Its not really fair to go share it in 22 ways is it? Teams who are popular are the main reason the deal was done and they deserve a bigger slice. I dont want it all to go to premier clubs but it has to be weighted in some way. Anyway whatever they do just dont go down the road of final league positions for the money.

27/02/2005, 12:33 PM
Reiteoir - it takes a good few weeks to get it corted, so you'd wanna be on the phone to Sky a.s.a.p, or you'll be too late for the first game.

Not ot worry - I'll be travelling over for the Bohs - Rovers game anyway :D

27/02/2005, 12:42 PM
This may be a little bit cheeky what i'm about to ask - so slap me down if so :D

We already have a Sky Digital box (it's the parent's one) - and they already subscribe to the full package in the UK - so I cannot do the re-registering of the original card (as highlighted elsewhere in here).

I have read that you can have more than one card registered to a box.

If someone on here with a residential address in the Homeland would be willing to sort an account out for Sky (basic one with RTÉ, TG4 and Setanta) - and I was to send the money to pay for it over to you - would someone be able to get me a card?

Apparently you only need to order a card - you don't need a new box...

HarpoJoyce
27/02/2005, 1:27 PM
These new developments will finally reward clubs for the efforts they put in through the season. And T.V. companies are finally paying a fairer price for the product.

But the number of cameras in the ground ( or on a cherry-picker just outside it) must be appropiate. Two cameras on the half-way line ( one wide shot, one for closer intimate play) and one behind a goal. Should be a demanded basic requirement from the league. With such a commitment from the companies they may feel justified in a low-cost outside broadcast.

Also, I do remember Bord Gáis/eircom League fans criticising RTÉ for broadcasting a live game during the winter season. The fans agruement was that RTÉ was just using it as a filler during the quiet months. They didn't like the standard of play and preferred an edited ( heavily edited) magazine programme.

When asked why they were afraid of the 90 mins they didn't really have an answer.

I'm concerned that club fans may revert back to shallow agruements about the standard of play. For me, most countries show the local League on T.V. no matter what the standard. The fans may criticise it but they don't say don't broadcast it. In the past football followers here have criticised are national station for daring to show the League. Not very Proud Fans.

27/02/2005, 2:00 PM
I think crowds are effected when the game goes to TV. Its not really fair to go share it in 22 ways is it?

Why is it not fair ..... all 22 clubs are let play in the league, there is not precondition there !!

Teams who are popular are the main reason the deal was done and they deserve a bigger slice.

And how do you decide this ....... Limerick, Waterford, Dundalk, Shamrock Rover, all clubs with big colourful historys .... All clubs that at one stage or another drew in bigger than average crowd, teams that hyped the profile of the league. Who is to say than any other club out of the 22 couldn't become one of the "bigger clubs" sooner rather than later. The bigger clubs now aren't the coosen ones or have a devine right to be there, no one would cliam that.

I dont want it all to go to premier clubs but it has to be weighted in some way. Anyway whatever they do just dont go down the road of final league positions for the money.

Agreed ... that would be mad.

I think the league would be alot better off if there was a level playing field as regards this money .... as you said it aint much now anyway so there is no point in squabbling over it. Give an even slice and problem solved.

27/02/2005, 4:24 PM
As regards a TV deal involving all the channels in the jurisidiction I have one observation to make ; as we say on the Northside of Dublin " about bleedin' time!"

Now it is vitally important that the right matches are shown.
Bohs v Rovers is a good start, I would propose that one of the following series of fixtures also be included; Cork City V Shels , which is always entertaining;the Munster Derby between Blaaville and Roylangerberg
I would also think that one of the Derry V Harps derbies be shown
St.Pats V Shels are usually entertaining games and of our own matches UCD V Bray, which again are normally tightly faught games.
Drogs V Derry or Harps would probably work too. Now anybody else any suggestions and as you can see I have mentioned most of the teams in the Division already. As well as maximising the possible entertainment value for the fans watching on TV it would raise the profule of the el in a positive light.

harry crumb
27/02/2005, 6:06 PM
Well I think Drogheda is the best ground looks wise on Tv. The Drogs vs Shels match last year looked excellent on TV.

These definately should be covered
Cork vs Shels at the Cross
Finn Harps vs Derry
Bohs vs Shels (All of them)

27/02/2005, 6:47 PM
Obviously the best clubs should be shown but would be good if the tv companies could leave the pale a bit more often. If top clubs happen to be from dublin then fair enough but Cork City, Longford & drogs are likely to be in the top half of the league in 2005.

I'd still hope that tv games be played on saturdays or mondays otherwise going to have games like shels v ucd moved back 7 forth throughout the season.

Best games from first couple of months.

1. Bohs v Rovers
2. Rovers v Shels
3. Longford v Cork City, Drogs v St Pats
4. Waterford v Bohs, Derry v Shels
5. Bohs v Cork City, Shels v Pats, Harps v Derry
6. Cork City v Drogs

With Shels, City & Longford getting Setanta Cup coverage in few 2 months be good to show other teams where option.

27/02/2005, 6:53 PM
2. Rovers v Shels

Pats v Bohs is on the same night as that one and TG4 are covering that, so I doubt that'll be covered. They wont have games going head to head.

BohsFans
27/02/2005, 6:54 PM
Well I think Drogheda is the best ground looks wise on Tv. The Drogs vs Shels match last year looked excellent on TV.

More like the worst! United park is a kip and it does come across that way on tv.
Dalymount is the best for TV, best looking, best TV facilities and best as per broadcasters.

27/02/2005, 6:56 PM
I have to agree, Dalymount is the best looking of all the grounds on TV. United Park looks awful espically behind the goals. Tolka and The Cross would be so much better if the cameras were pointing towards the bigger stand rather than the smaller one. Oddly enough Richer looks well on the TV as the main camera focuses on the only decent part of it and the Brandywell and Flancare looks decent enough too.

27/02/2005, 6:59 PM
Pats v Bohs is on the same night as that one and TG4 are covering that, so I doubt that'll be covered. They wont have games going head to head.

I didn't know there was any other games announced yet.

Maybe not good sign that 2 dublin games shown from first 2 but not much options.

Oddly enough Richer looks well on the TV as the main camera focuses on the only decent part of it and the Brandywell and Flancare looks decent enough too.

Richmond looks good on tv but a kip. The cross much better "in person" than tv cos of location of camera.

27/02/2005, 7:02 PM
I didn't know there was any other games announced yet.

Maybe not good sign that 2 dublin games shown from first 2 but not much options.

Yeah, they're the only games announced that I know of, I agree I'd like to see some out of Dublin matches too, or at least a game involving a side not from Dublin fairly early on. I'd say Longford V Cork could well be the third game picked.

27/02/2005, 7:17 PM
Anyone know if there's a proviso that evey club be shown at least once, or is it just going to be the big teams getting shown? If there's too much imbalance, it could harm the clubs missing out. This sounds like something all clubs (certainly all Premier clubs) should be allowed to benefit from.

27/02/2005, 7:19 PM
I agree all teams should be shown but some grounds just aren't upto TV standards and would do more harm than good for the image of the league, so while all teams should be shown not all grounds should be shown imo.

27/02/2005, 7:24 PM
Agree with that alright, though if a ground is full, it looks better! (Thinking United Park here, or even Belfield if Bohs are in town! Finn Park is a dump but looked great v. Dundalk too)

Problem is, such an exclusion could be a vicious circle. If we get ignored (I know nobody really cares about us, but ignore that fact!), we're going to fall behind the big four Dublin teams in terms of exposure, and our crowds aren't going to increase, and we're not going to get money to improve our ground. This could help the big clubs break further away, which nobody wants.

I think games have to be announced two or three weeks in advance at least, to give both sets of fans time to try and make the game look as good as possible. For example, more time means more time to sort out away buses, get word around the locality, get new flags, etc.

27/02/2005, 7:52 PM
New rules say games have to be announced 2 weeks in advance. FAI going to have some sort of tv commissioner to make the decisions.

I think one criticism of RTE in the past is that when they did show non-pale team it was usually an away game for them.

Reality dictates that the "lesser" teams will really only be shown when playing the bigger teams.

Will be interesting to see how things happen. Hopefully soon we'll be sick of eL on tv ;)

27/02/2005, 8:52 PM
Well I would hope that every team gets shown either home or away at least once

ThatGuy
28/02/2005, 9:48 AM
So what is the story ? Will the €400,000 a year be divided evenly between clubs, first and premier ?? Thats the way it should be done anyway.
No it shouldn't. :confused:

harpskid
28/02/2005, 10:00 AM
€200,000 will be taken out straight away to pay those featured on the 'live' games, which leaves the €200,000 to be divided up as prize money at the end of the season

liambo
28/02/2005, 12:07 PM
the first 2 matches to be shown are bohs. v rovers and bohs v st.pats.
two in a row for bohs....not bad.... what did they do last year to warrant this? is this gonna be an all dublin set up and maybe us in the sticks just might get in the highlights at 2330 some night.
i'll juist wait to see the complete listings but it ain't lookin' bright!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

28/02/2005, 12:11 PM
No it shouldn't. :confused:

Jebus you're great .... how long did it take ya to compose that retort ?? :eek: ...... it is so hard to argue with it ...... i still dont know what part of your argument was the best ... the text or the smilie ..... the smilie is ahead by half a yard at the moment !! :eek:

Harpskid .... i know thats hoe it'll be done (or something similar) I was pointing out that the opportunity was there.

28/02/2005, 12:15 PM

Derek
28/02/2005, 12:33 PM
Where is the list of matches to be shown?

28/02/2005, 5:26 PM
They're the only matches announced so far. In fairness you can't argue with Bohs Rovers being shown and really Pats Bohs was only rivaled by Rovers Shels, another Dublin derby, in the what should be shown stakes on that date.

ShelsTim
28/02/2005, 5:50 PM
In fairness now, Cork v Kilkenny City is a much better option than Shels/Rovers, or at least that's what they'd have you believe down Leeside.

liambo
28/02/2005, 6:40 PM
They're the only matches announced so far. In fairness you can't argue with Bohs Rovers being shown and really Pats Bohs was only rivaled by Rovers Shels, another Dublin derby, in the what should be shown stakes on that date.

what about the newcomers to the league,finn harps v waterford
what about last years runners up cork v bray
what about last years cup winners longford v derry

forget about your dublin derbies for a while. ;) ;) ;)

Kerry Blue
28/02/2005, 6:43 PM
There was an article in The Star on Saturday about this money. This is how they reckoned the money will be devided. Firstly they are working with €400,000.

200,000 taken out for the clubs featured in live matches.
The remaining 200,000 shared out as follows:

Premier Division:
1st: 50,000
2nd: 25,000
3rd: 15,000
4th: 12,000
5th: 10,000
6th: 9,000
7th: 8,000
8th: 7,000
9th: 6,000
10th: 5,000
11th: 4,000
12th: 3,000

First Division:
1st: 20,000
2nd: 10,000
3rd: 6,000
4th: 4,000
5th: 3,000
6th: 2,500
7th: 2,000
8th: 1,500
9th: 1,000
10th: 500

That €500 for last place would be very handy. :rolleyes:

28/02/2005, 6:53 PM
Three threads merged. Am I the only one working around here?

28/02/2005, 9:42 PM
Premier Division:
1st: 50,000
2nd: 25,000
3rd: 15,000
4th: 12,000
5th: 10,000

First Division:
1st: 20,000

What a complete joke!

1st place in the 1st division is only beaten by top 2 in the Premier. Even allowing for some tv money vast majority of Premier teams will get less than top 2 in the 1st division.

Why should any team get even €500 for last of the 22 clubs.

Derek
28/02/2005, 10:08 PM
I know the crowds are small for most games Prem and 1st but maybe the prize money is to help the clubs in the first that don't get the bigger of the small crowds if you know what I mean.

01/03/2005, 8:11 AM
the press so far suggests its mostly going into prize money, rather than being evenly distributed.

why make a new thread?

Three threads merged. Am I the only one working around here?

no ;)

01/03/2005, 8:12 AM
I know the crowds are small for most games Prem and 1st but maybe the prize money is to help the clubs in the first that don't get the bigger of the small crowds if you know what I mean.

but they'll have to win the division to get it :confused:

01/03/2005, 8:13 AM
That €500 for last place would be very handy. :rolleyes:
dont worry, it'll get ye new numbers for the back of ye're jerseys

Kerry Blue
01/03/2005, 11:17 PM
dont worry, it'll get ye new numbers for the back of ye're jerseys
It might even buy a whole set! ;)

02/03/2005, 5:49 PM
What a complete joke!

1st place in the 1st division is only beaten by top 2 in the Premier. Even allowing for some tv money vast majority of Premier teams will get less than top 2 in the 1st division.

Sure they have to build a squad to compete in the Premier - anything else and you'd increase the yo-yo effect.

Why should any team get even €500 for last of the 22 clubs?
But sure they need the money most!

There's a 40-fold between top and bottom in the First and a 16-fold gap in the Premier - this former is even more than in the Premier (which starts at 12m and goes to 500k as far as I know - 12-fold) which I think is unhealty.