View Full Version : Relegation Battle

PartySaint
06/06/2017, 11:16 AM
The title race is over, Congrats Cork.

Now we can focus on the really interesting stuff, just over half way through the season and 6 teams look like they'll be battling out until the end to avoid the drop

Looking over the past 5 seasons, on average 30 points would be enough to keep you out of the bottom 3, I think it'll be slightly higher this season as in the past few years some teams might have taken their foot off the gas when they new they wouldn't be caught by the bottom 2

I reckon Bohs on 20 points will be ok, 12 more points should see them safe

Of the rest, my gut feeling tells me Pats will go (unless when do some major business in July)

From what I've seen of the rest I think it'll be Galway and Drogs who go down with us.

Predictions?

El-Pietro
06/06/2017, 11:21 AM
I think it'll be higher than that again unless a couple of teams collapse. I wonder what the points total for say 10th has been over the past few seasons at the half way point.
Drogs are the worst team I've seen but they seem to have copped on a bit since their capitulation in Cork and sorted out their defence. Them aside I genuinely don't know who is going down, there doesn't look to be anything between the bottom 5. I think Bohs will be safe because they are just better than the rest and have only recently gotten Corcoran back.

06/06/2017, 11:25 AM
Clubs realise they are in a major battle and will feel they have to stretch the budgets further / not cut them when perhaps ideally whey would. Of course if you do lighten the budget and fall behind the resulting drop in interest may lead to a vicious circle. Backs to the wall situation in a lot of board rooms, never mind the dressing rooms!

The hope would be that the battle royal at the bottom will draw enough interest to keep the clubs on an even keel.

Interesting times on all fronts.

06/06/2017, 12:07 PM
Drogs are the worst team I've seen but they seem to have copped on a bit since their capitulation in Cork and sorted out their defence. Them aside I genuinely don't know who is going down, there doesn't look to be anything between the bottom 5. I think Bohs will be safe....

Can't say I agree with that, but going on what I've watched. I'd have Harps, Drogheda and Bohs as going down, unless they improve in the transfer window. Wins are vital for staying up, so factoring that in.

Drogheda are brutal, really poor. They picked up a draw against us a couple of weeks ago, although it was arguably our worst performance of the season, but I just can't see them getting many wins.
Bohs are leaking goals like no-one's business, only two clean sheets all season. Hard to win if the opposition always scores at least once.
Harps are just a poor side, but a couple of wins recently shows that they could have something to build on. Real problems with size of their squad though, not managing to fill the bench at times. I doubt the money is there to improve things.

I'm fairly sure Galway will be grand. We've played them three times this season, and they've been alright each time. Even losing to us last week, they look a better side than the others. They will win games.
As for Pats, I'd guess they'll spend a few quid and finish mid-table. They're bound to have some cash lying around, they always seem to.
Sligo is another team you'd imagine will spend a few quid over the summer. Lyttle is bound to have his eye on a few lads in the IL. Sligo played ok against us down there, didn't really look as bad as some of the other sides. Defense is an issue, but they're scoring well enough, which is more than can be said for some of the other sides around them.

Of course, back in my day there was usually a team who'd do the decent thing and go bust before the end of the season, sparing another team in the process. Not sure what the chances of that is this year, though I did hear a rumour about one club at the match last week. Will wait and see.

El-Pietro
06/06/2017, 12:37 PM
Can only go on what I've seen. Bohs were decent against us but couldn't score - Dinny is back and they might have the most detestable player in the league back soon which you would think shoudl result in more goals.
Harps I think could go down but they fight for everything, actually played well against us for 70 minutes but didn't have the legs, plustheir heads dropped when we scored our second.
We could have had 15 against Drogheda and thats not an exaggeration. We should have scored 5 alone after we voluntarily went down to 10 for 20 minutes. They just let us walk through time and time again. I haven't seen them seince but they have had some ok results since then. If they hjaveb't really miproved then I would worry for them.
Galway seem naive, and I could see them in trouble.
Pats I think have the quality to get out of there if they fancy it. But it seems like thy just don't care? Raising performances against the likes of Rovers but not really bothering the rest of the time? Sligo possibly to a lesser extent have the quality to get out of there, though there is the very real chance they could lose one or two players in the summer.
Only in the LOI* could you have 4 of the last 6 champions in a relegation battle.

*There is definitely a league somewhere where this has already happened. Probably France or somewhere.

By the way if you think Bohs could be dragged into it then you have to look at Limerick too, especially given the defending on Friday night, Bray and Rovers are probably safe at this point but its not impossible to think they could get dragged down into it.

A.D.K.
06/06/2017, 2:19 PM
i think pats will climb the table i cant believe they are down there- bohs are higher up the table than they should be they are quite poor and were really lucky to beat limerick and bray away and galway by the looks of it. Drogheda have a good defence but they dont look like scoring. Saw Galway against cork and they looked impressive...
Limerick are a good side and cant see them getting drawn into it...

NeverFeltBetter
06/06/2017, 4:04 PM
Definitely wouldn't be saying Limerick are safe just yet. On form so far we'll be fine, but really only a few wrong set of results from being in the mire.

Have seen Drogs and Bohs play this season. Bohs impressed me more I would say but they lacked a cutting edge in the final third. Drogheda more likely to be in the bottom 3. I'd say them, Pats and Galway would be my predictions.

Dalymountrower
06/06/2017, 5:03 PM
Bray may implode and get dragged into it as may Limerick.Rovers Derry and Dundalk will battle it out for 2nd to 4th.

What odds a West coast trio, or an East coast trio going down?
While everyone in the bottom six is capable of battling away to the end, I see it being Harps Drogs and one of Bohs Sligo and Galway who drop.

06/06/2017, 5:29 PM
Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers and Cork City for me. Can't see anyone else who will be troubled by them. Bray, of course, are unrelegatable, to completely make up a new word.

06/06/2017, 6:54 PM
Pats keep giving us hope, then disappointing again. (It's the hope that kills ya, not the despair). I still think we have the quality to stay up, but we need to work harder and be more consistent. Three wins all season is appalling stuff.

kksaints
06/06/2017, 7:29 PM
If it hadn't been for the Finn Harps match a few weeks ago I would have been fairly confident that we'll stay up. But that result and performance was so bad that its made me a lot less confident.

06/06/2017, 8:42 PM
I am not sure why people are thinking that Bray will collapse, no reason to think that they cant do the opposite and strengthen - they are just unfashionable, unrelegatable, and have goals in them with second highest after Cork. They do leak goals too but they are an attacking type side.
Harps are battled hardened at this but injuries to key players i thought would see them fall off but actually picked up a few results.
Bohs are ok and with Akinade due back they should be less goal shy.
If some think Limerick could be pulled in to a relegations scrap then Rovers have to be considered in that position too considering their near identical stats so I dont think so myself.
Sligo should have enough to both strengthen and the new manager getting them playing his way.
Pats just dont seem to have the stomach for it - Buckley is on borrowed time if he cant get a bit more fight out of his side as they have more quality than they are showing results wise - no world beaters but should be mid table. If they stick they are down as week in week out Buckley looks more downbeat as if he has tried everything in his locker.
Drogheda are poor but can eek out the odd result just not scoring but they are not any worse defensively with GA, if you take the hammering that Cork gave considering that Cork are that good then they defensively better than Rovers who yes were well beaten by Cork too but werent considered as hammered.
Galway are a little nieve but performances havent gotten results deserved, defensively are ok so if they can find some goals they could climb the table as a work in progress.
So to have a stab at it Drogheda due to limited resources and no firepower, Pats if the team dont start caring and Galway if they dont find their shooting boots to go too. It will go down to the last day and I dont think anyone will get cut loose.

I think GD is the best indicator at this stage of where teams are at when it is chopping and changing in league position every week with no consistancy of form or results bar Drogheda GD is all very tight to state the obvious.

sbgawa
06/06/2017, 10:14 PM
If rovers are in the scrap for the drop then a team only 5 points ahead of them must also be a risk......I think we both should be safe :)
Limericks new manager is a great boost for them , with his connections he is bound to be able to get in a few decent players from UK maybe on loan or guys being released that he would be aware of. I would expect them to push on and maybe now challenge for a euro spot, probably not as integrating players tends to take time, but they are Def staying up IMO . Drogs, galway and 1 of sligo pats and Harps. . My gut says Pats although they were good against us the other night so who knows really. Edge of seat stuff at end of season, and then next season 9th and 10th get relegated !! (Or some sort of play off maybe)

06/06/2017, 11:54 PM
Seems to be mainly wishful thinking that has people saying Rovers will be in danger of being sucked. People have been saying it since the start of the season and it makes even less sense now than it did then. The top six are all too good + have too many points to get sucked in.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/06/2017, 7:41 AM
I honestly couldn't call it at this stage. All 6 teams down there can be as equally good one week as they can be bad the next week. It's fascinating stuff where there's pretty much guaranteed to be at least one match between teams down there every weekend.

07/06/2017, 8:51 AM
Of the teams above, Cork (by a mile) and Dundalk were the best, with Derry after that. Bray have been poor both times I've seen them - just from the two games we played against them, I'm baffled that they are that high up the table. Against us and others, Rovers let a lead slip when they shouldn't have (and will do so again). The inexperience of their manager will cost them.

Of us and the teams below us, the main thing is the inconsistency. Every team seems to be really inconsistent and capable of beating or losing to everybody else.

Drogheda were the worst I've seen so far. Sligo were atrocious on the opening day, but seem to have righted themselves somewhat. Galway could be in trouble as they don't score enough. Pats seem to have a few players who don't care enough. Finn Harps need to stop conceding. Bohs maybe the best of what I've seen of the teams below us.

But really, it could be any of the bottom 6 or even 7. A run of 3 or 4 wins or losses could make or break the season, and I couldn't rule any team out when it comes to that happening. It's going to be fascinating, and I just hope we aren't involved.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/06/2017, 12:11 PM
While we were atrocious the first game of the season, Limerick put in the worst performance of a team against us in The Showgrounds. In a sadistic way I hope it stays as close as it is as it makes for great interest.

vinnie
07/06/2017, 2:06 PM
Doubt if Pats will be involved, Bucko will work his magic again and they'll be fine

El-Pietro
07/06/2017, 2:22 PM
17 games in and he hasn't worked any magic yet.They are involved, they might get out, but they are involved.

Ezeikial
07/06/2017, 2:47 PM
Seems to be mainly wishful thinking that has people saying Rovers will be in danger of being sucked.
Most Rovers fans don't really get that, or more to the point why that is the case.

Rovers are way more likely to get a euro spot than relegation

El-Pietro
07/06/2017, 3:08 PM
Two posts said Rovers could be dragged into the scrap. My post:

By the way if you think Bohs could be dragged into it then you have to look at Limerick too, especially given the defending on Friday night, Bray and Rovers are probably safe at this point but its not impossible to think they could get dragged down into it.
I wasn't seriously Rovers are going to fall into it, merely that Limerick aren't that far ahead of Bohs, and I was commenting that Bray and Limerick aren't super far ahead of Limerick but are probably too far ahead of the relegation zone to get dragged in unless the completely collapse.

In response to that Nesta99 posted:

If some think Limerick could be pulled in to a relegations scrap then Rovers have to be considered in that position too considering their near identical stats so I dont think so myself.
Sligo should have enough to both strengthen and the new manager getting them playing his way.
I don't mean to speak for nesta but this isn't a suggestion that Rovers are in the relegation battle either.

After that then all we have is a couple of Rovers fans trying to conduct a strawman saying other people are saying Rovers are going to be dragged into the relegation battle.

sbgawa
07/06/2017, 4:28 PM
and I wasn't seriously suggesting Dundalk would get dragged into it,
the clue is in the smiley face :)

SeanDrog
07/06/2017, 4:39 PM
and I wasn't seriously suggesting Dundalk would get dragged into it,
the clue is in the smiley face :)

You say smiley face but it did come across as a visual representation of an evil mastermind laugh ..... muhahahahahaha type thing. You need to be more careful with your ironic expressions 😉

SeanDrog
07/06/2017, 4:45 PM
Okie dokie so majority this far thing Drogs are for the drop and given how Luke warm and cold we blow I can understand the thought process . Obviously I hope we stay up and I still think we can. IMO we need to finally decide on our best starting 11 and bring consistency - our last three games saw no conceded goals so that's a start but we also stopped scoring - so now to sort that out.

legendz
07/06/2017, 6:30 PM
Taking Cobh as an example, there'll be some good games for people living in and around there to go see next season based on the current bottom 3. I'm often down around that part of East Cork a few times a year.

marty
07/06/2017, 9:30 PM
Well if your that close your only an hour from Waterford....just in case Cobh decide to spoil the party.

Galway and Harps with either Sligo/Frogs to join them.

sbgawa
07/06/2017, 10:48 PM
You say smiley face but it did come across as a visual representation of an evil mastermind laugh ..... muhahahahahaha type thing. You need to be more careful with your ironic expressions 😉

WI'll try harder ��

sbgawa
07/06/2017, 10:51 PM
Harps are just so dogged I think they will scrap their way out, ollie has them motivated

08/06/2017, 9:41 AM
Seems to be mainly wishful thinking that has people saying Rovers will be in danger of being sucked. People have been saying it since the start of the season and it makes even less sense now than it did then. The top six are all too good + have too many points to get sucked in.

As El P has kindly pointed out I was saying that if people think Limerick are in a relegation battle and as Rovers and Limerick have almost the same scores on the board that the logic would suggest both are in a relegation battle if one is thought to be currently. I dont think that is going to happen since i am repeating myself anyways.

Rovers collapsing and in a relegation battle and then being relegated would be fantastic entertainment! Is there a direct bus to Inchicore or Cabinteely for mypost, Placid Casusal might demurely join us fans of mere mortal clubs now and again then, and as for Charlie he'd be dragging Bradley off to his namesakes Darwin Awards. And before the Rovers obsessed line is rolled out just think of any of us recently smug Dundalk fans and how much Cork putting us in our place has been fun with the managers rants about penalties and Caulfields lack of respect yiz are loving it, be honest! Now multiply the last 3 years of Lilywhites thumbing our noses, well the phoenix club Shamrock Rovers of 2005 (or was it 2003 as i got a bit confused round that time on which tax years i was submitting) are better specialists at self adulation than cup speacialists these days.
- I am joking as the self anointed aristocracy probably happened before 1901 or 1899; either way it is a long enough time to enjoy and even obsess not only about my own club but the misfortunes of others for one reason or another. We all do it quietly and while some will rise above the muses of a fan of another potential usurper to the Rover elitists, some will not be able to remind us of our place.
Before reel to reel audio tapes were out of fashion, since JFK was shot, and Shels won their 3rd FAI Cup (4 since 1987, sure even Pats have won the cup too by now), Rovers have won 7 titles, Dundalk 7 (3 Cups since '87 ourselves) Shels 6 and Pats 6*. As so many rabid football fans in Ireland only seem to count titles after the Premier League in England was formed in 1992 and as they know stuff obviously, I think we should do the same for when the League of Ireland Premier Division formed in 1985.

[hide (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division#)]Club
Titles
Seasons

Dundalk (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dundalk_F.C.)
1987–88 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1987%E2%80%9388_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1990–91 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1990%E2%80%9391_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1994–95 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1994%E2%80%9395_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 2014 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2015 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2016 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division)

Shelbourne (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shelbourne_F.C.)
1991–92 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1991%E2%80%9392_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1999–2000 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1999%E2%80%932000_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Divisi on), 2001–02 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001%E2%80%9302_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 2003 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2003_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2004 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2004_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2006 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division)

Shamrock Rovers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shamrock_Rovers_F.C.)
1985–86 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1985%E2%80%9386_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1986–87 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1986%E2%80%9387_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1993–94 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1993%E2%80%9394_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 2010 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2011 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division)

St Patrick's Athletic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Patrick%27s_Athletic_F.C.)
1989–90 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1989%E2%80%9390_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1995–96 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1995%E2%80%9396_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1997–98 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1997%E2%80%9398_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division ), 1998–99 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1998-99_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division), 2013 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013_League_of_Ireland_Premier_Division)

Look at us we have a real football stadium and everyone elses is rubbish,
we have the largest support (briefly),
we are the model club,
no we didnt get bailed out by a new shareholder and sell up the members ownership, 'cause in reality we will never be allowed actually repay the loan by the lender who now controls the board and his long term thinking is sit tight, see out the loan term and make sure he gets 50% ownership of a club that could be worth a lot more than the initial 'loans' if quality youth players are being farmed nicely and sold to make more money for a guy who owns a vulture fund and has probably more than a few Hoops up the walls as he wrings them for money, an extra few quid that means families cant go to games but will he care..,nah as he has started the end of the 400 clubs direct say in the club and will have full private ownership in due course.
we have a set budget which is at least 4th smallest in the league, in fact it is probably around the same as Drogheda's and it is never ever increased!
look at our new state of the art youth development set up and our former Ireland internationals coaching,
players really only want to play for us and it isnt for the money,
Shamrock Rover's dealing with trouble fans... 'wasnt us!' it never our fault and people just blames us but We're Shamrock Rovers and we'll do what we want!!
And if anyone ever ever says anything about disliking anything about Shamrock Rovers they need to be sectioned, they are jealous, or obsessed!
Obsessed with football in general i am and ive picked my good guys and bad guys. Well it is all of the above including watching the struggles of some Rovers fans when they are not topping te heap being funny to watch too that really started piquing the interest in Shams. So I will admit that I have some obsession and would enjoy Rovers struggle for a bit longer than they expect - not forever as we have seen what happens when you hope they will do ye a favour by beating the langers....no good even then:rolleyes:.
Just outside the European slots annually is a good level for the top club in the country bit like the Liverpool example (cant say top clun on the Island as that would be Linfield then).
Well if Ezekiel is thinking that some Rovers fans just dont get it i hope i have hit on some of what he was aluding to. It felt quite good too with venting some of the frustration that no doubt Corkies were getting accustomed to and bottling it all up has made them the savage team they are this season (remember to say thank you for us driving that desire up so high that Cork are + are going to break many records and have a fine seasin in Europe too...you can thank us for Seanie at seasons end).
Am I too far off topic? I think everyone should join in and just bitch about Shamrock Rovers as they have just been a disappointment and i am forgetting to obsess enough with their mediocrity on the field and the lack of numbers to cause grief off it!!

On reflection after a tidy up of the post have a good moan about any club my choice due to my obsession was Shams. If Dundalk is picked remember the pitch has its own special thread and the away section in Oriel should remain as why would we want support for opposition teams in Oriel, it should stay as a deterrant to visiting support bothering to travel - suits us nicely now that we have a few quid and why fix whats not broken?

joey B
08/06/2017, 9:53 AM
I like Shamrock Rovers !!!😂😂

PartySaint
08/06/2017, 10:05 AM
That was a very odd rant Nesta. I'd like to point out Pats have 6 league titles in that time not 5

RathfarnhamHoop
08/06/2017, 10:39 AM
That is one of the most ridiculous rants I've ever seen.

sbgawa
08/06/2017, 11:46 AM
are we sure the clock time is right , that reads like a 2 a.m post after a few scoops ... LMAO

placid casual
08/06/2017, 12:21 PM
Wow.
I hope your self counselling works out for you nesta.

And by the way its 17 leagues and 24 cups.
Just another fan of a regional club, who enjoyed a brief moment in the sun and yet continued to look over their shoulder to see where the big bad Rovers were*. now instead of sunshine all they see is the rainclouds gathering. Don't forget your umbrella Larry.

* mid table mediocrity,probably.

08/06/2017, 12:40 PM
Posts like Nesta's are what will MAKE FOOT.IE GREAT AGAIN.

08/06/2017, 12:46 PM
Liven things up, train home after a long night indeed (at work) but response is pretty much as expected with laughs and the the posturing from PC. it must have struck some cord all to get a bite Placid, keep the nose well pointed up ;)

08/06/2017, 1:02 PM
I thoroughly enjoyed that rant, even if most of it was really difficult to read, and understand, in places.

As a result, I think we can all officially declare Shamrock Rovers part of the relegation battle.

jinxy lilywhite
08/06/2017, 1:09 PM
Liven things up, train home after a long night indeed (at work) but response is pretty much as expected with laughs and the the posturing from PC. it must have struck some cord all to get a bite Placid, keep the nose well pointed up ;)

Please Nesta get a loi column somewhere.

#greatness

sbgawa
08/06/2017, 1:24 PM
I thoroughly enjoyed that rant, even if most of it was really difficult to read, and understand, in places.

As a result, I think we can all officially declare Shamrock Rovers part of the relegation battle.

I'm predicting we finish top of that table.. will that count as a league win its been a while ? :)

vinnie
08/06/2017, 2:00 PM

Hope you didn't type all that blather on a Phone, it'd take feckin' weeks :D

08/06/2017, 2:13 PM

Fixed up a bit Nigel - i'm sure you got the general gist ;)

legendz
08/06/2017, 4:06 PM
Well if your that close your only an hour from Waterford....just in case Cobh decide to spoil the party.

Galway and Harps with either Sligo/Frogs to join them.I've bits of business in all Munster counties bar Tipperary. Ideally my trips to Déise will coincide with Premier Division visits of Cork, Dundalk, Shamrock, Derry or Limerick.

10/06/2017, 10:34 AM
It's going to be a mad second half of the season, teams pushing the boat out to avoid relegation (always works in the LOI).

Of the 6 teams down there, they'll all equally fancy their chances of staying up as well as fearing the drop.

Bohs - obviously being the highest placed at half way point they'll be feeling a bit more confident than the rest. They're not scoring alot of goals though so that will be a worry for them
Harps - 3 positive results leading up to the break beating Pats and Limerick before drawing with Sligo away. Scored the most goals of the bottom 6 so far but also conceeded the most which is a worry. If we lose O'Connor back to Dundalk it'll be a huge blow to us.
Drogs - everyone seems to have written them off but they're still picking up points. They've scored the least goals in the league but are still currently 4th from bottom.
Sligo - not losing as many games as everyone else and if they can turn some of those draws into wins they'll soon move up the table.
Pats - bound to be worried. In uncharted territory and it'll be a big test for Bucko and his players who won't have been in this situation many times in their career.
Galway - a real lack of goals. They've drawn half of their games this season. If they can get in a goalscorer they could move up the table as they've the best defensive record of the bottom 6.

If I was calling it now, I'd say Pats, Galway and Drogs with Harps only just staying up. Think Bohs and Sligo will be fine.

10/06/2017, 10:56 AM
On a side note. In Kevin Keegan fashion, I'd LOVE IT, if the 3 clubs who go down were 3 of the clubs who voted for a 10 team league.

placid casual
10/06/2017, 1:34 PM
Of the 6 teams supposedly in danger, my guess to drop would be drogs, Harps & pats.
From a purely selfish point of view, if it was boez,sligo & pats, well that would make me smile no end..

total hoofball
10/06/2017, 2:09 PM
I think I went with Harps, Drogs and Bohs for the drop at the start of the season but from what I'm seeing so far I'd be inclined to swap Bohs for Galway

Transfer window and a few quid thrown at signings will save Pats, Sligo and Bohs - none of those clubs can afford the risk to sink into the First Division

sbgawa
11/06/2017, 6:59 AM
Was talking to one of the stewards at the rovers pats game and I asked him who he'd like to see go down. I kind of expected him to say bohs and pats and suggested he'd have a lot less hassle in general if they went down but he said no the bigger the away support the more money the club gets. Money does really talk after all.

sbgawa
11/06/2017, 7:04 AM
Actually on that note we've brought 900 to the last two matches in dalymount so as we are officially part of the relegation battle now (thanks Nigel :) ) the bozos must be hoping we stay up. Two matches next season (I assume) in dalymount is worth about 40k for them.

JC_GUFC
11/06/2017, 10:32 AM
I think Drogs are worst team in the league and will go down. It's hardly a good sign that Pete Mahon feel out with Gareth McCaffrey.
Like most people I assumed Harps would definitely end up in the bottom 3, their run of defeats when they dropped to last seemed to suggest they were doomed but then they pulled out back to back wins before the break. Still think they won't have enough to stay up.
From the rest Pat's/Sligo/Galway/Bohs it really could be any. I was confident about our chances all season but 3 defeats on the trot have me worried, very worried. We just aren't scoring enough goals. Aside from that we look pretty decent though.

mcgonigle
13/06/2017, 1:13 PM
Pete Mahon feel out with Gareth McCaffrey.

Those workplace romances rarely end well!