View Full Version : LOI Fixtures May 26th +
They have won 1 cup in 4 seasons under caulfield, with the long held view that he was a major reason for holding them back.
Anyone with a long held view that Caulfield was holding us back isn't worth listening to to be honest. He's clearly been building a team, building a culture and learning as he goes, as well as being competitive the whole time. This season he's seeing the fruit of his hard work.
Assuming we win the league this year, the cup and a league in 4 seasons will have him already as one of our most successful managers ever, to add to his playing accolades.
Seasons like this don't come around often, sure people are getting over excited about it, but what harm. You've gotta enjoy it while it's happening, we only win the league every 12 years!
WoodquayBoy
28/05/2017, 9:25 PM
Is there anyone who thinks their team is going to get relegated?!
Me - I think we are doomed, not scoring enough, just 2 wins from 16 games (half the season). Not sure who will join us, but we will finish bottom
RathfarnhamHoop
30/05/2017, 9:49 PM
2nd time posting note to everyone else, don't edit posts on mobile, half the time it deletes it, or maybe I just have too big fingers.
No thread for tonight's match so I'll just post a few points about it here.
Rovers seemed to really click tonight. Hardly left second gear and won easily.
Bray looked very poor.
Bray should have taken the money for Dylan Connelly based off tonight. He was very poor and should have been sent off about 5 minutes in.
Ryan Connelly was very good, great to have him back.
Finn was class today, hardly put a foot wrong.
Clarke terrorised sullivan all night but that standard now I guess.
Linesmen didn't know the offside rule, gave at least 5/6 offsides that were clearly on.
Peter cherrie shouldn't have played tonight, obviously injured and that may have played a part in the two goals.
Overall a good night for rovers and a very poor one for Bray, their players just seemed to give up after the second goal.
sbgawa
30/05/2017, 10:01 PM
Agree with all that , thought Connelly was superb. Should have been more.
wonder88
30/05/2017, 10:06 PM
Looks like a decline in Bray's form, would fitness be a factor in this; some are part-time. They probably need to spend more in the break if they are to achieve Europe. Interesting observation regarding D Connolly. The other Connolly lacked a bit of pace for the type of role he played at Galway i think, but certainly talent there.
30/05/2017, 10:08 PM
Maybe Dylan Connolly wasn't arsed tonight? Maybe he's a bit fed up at Bray.
sbgawa
30/05/2017, 10:13 PM
O Connor came on for last 10 mins , unbelievably unlucky not to score after a lovely bit of skill hit the post, clarke was excellent again could have scored and set brando up for a shot cleared off the line. Bray showed very little, rumour of unpaid wages , might just have been banter.
RathfarnhamHoop
30/05/2017, 10:20 PM
Maybe Dylan Connolly wasn't arsed tonight? Maybe he's a bit fed up at Bray.
I don't know if he wasn't arsed just looked poor, hardly got a kick all game. Bar when he kicked Tomer off the ball 5 minutes in.
littlebray
30/05/2017, 11:00 PM
Bray, their players just seemed to give up after the second goal.
But how come so that the result wasn't about 9-0? It wasn't just down to Rovers inaccuracy, Bray defended well. A bad day at the office for attackers.
RathfarnhamHoop
30/05/2017, 11:20 PM
But how come so that the result wasn't about 9-0? It wasn't just down to Rovers inaccuracy, Bray defended well. A bad day at the office for attackers.
Rovers seemed to lose their edge after 2-0 too, flagged offside almost every attack which helped keep the score down, poor finishing. A number of reasons it wasn't more than two but I wouldnt have good defence as a main one, it wasn't awful but you got the feeling that a different lino or a better touch, pass, shot and rovers were going to score. Rovers never lost control of that game and bar mccabes free kick just before half time never looked like conceding.
Also as a side note Trevor Clarke takes a serious kicking. Nevermind all the ones not given he must be the most fouled player in the league so far by a mile, every game he wins 5/6 free kicks at least and there always 2/3 clear ones not given.
El-Pietro
30/05/2017, 11:31 PM
Rovers seemed to lose their edge after 2-0 too, flagged offside almost every attack which helped keep the score down, poor finishing. A number of reasons it wasn't more than two but I wouldnt have good defence as a main one, it wasn't awful but you got the feeling that a different lino or a better touch, pass, shot and rovers were going to score. Rovers never lost control of that game and bar mccabes free kick just before half time never looked like conceding.
Also as a side note Trevor Clarke takes a serious kicking. Nevermind all the ones not given he must be the most fouled player in the league so far by a mile, every game he wins 5/6 free kicks at least and there always 2/3 clear ones not given.
I'd put Sean Maguire ahead of Clarke on that. Your own team were at it on Friday night. How he hasn't had a serious injury yet I have no idea.
31/05/2017, 1:39 AM
Bray should have taken the money for Dylan Connelly based off tonight. He was very poor and should have been sent off about 5 minutes in.
Connolly didn't deserve a red at all. He had a little shove at Tomer and Tomer milked it for all it was worth. Which is fair enough considering the Bray players did the same to him and O'Connor in the first game.
Looks like a decline in Bray's form, would fitness be a factor in this; some are part-time. They probably need to spend more in the break if they are to achieve Europe. Interesting observation regarding D Connolly. The other Connolly lacked a bit of pace for the type of role he played at Galway i think, but certainly talent there.
Bray are all nominally full time as far as I know, bar maybe the fringe players. They shouldn't be lacking fitness but were very sluggish.
Your centre half literally passed the ball to Miele for his first goal. I think your defenders gave the ball to a Rovers player in the attacking third five or six times, which isn't defending well. We had lots of clear chances - probably twice as many as we've had in any game this year - but we're not a clinical side.
All in all, good performance from Rovers. The intensity has either been off or over the top (five red cards) too many times this season but got it right tonight and limited a dangerous Bray side to practically nothing.
On a side note, saw the McAllister red again last night and he looked unlucky. Think he tackled low, studs down and got the ball but was unfortunate that Maguire chickened out of the 50/50 and got hit. If Maguire had gone in full blooded then it would have been a well-contested 50/50. Ah well, live and learn.
RathfarnhamHoop
31/05/2017, 10:07 AM
Connolly didn't deserve a red at all. He had a little shove at Tomer and Tomer milked it for all it was worth. Which is fair enough considering the Bray players did the same to him and O'Connor in the first game.
He tried to shoulder Tomer and bounced right off him and fell to the ground when Tomer saw him coming and got his shoulder up to protect himself. Then after Tomer had given madden the ball he kicked him on the achilles. He's lucky that the ref and lino didn't see it or that's a red. May have been as small contact as you want but deliberately striking a player off the ball is a red, in my opinion obviously the ref doesn't share that view.
RathfarnhamHoop
31/05/2017, 10:10 AM
I'd put Sean Maguire ahead of Clarke on that. Your own team were at it on Friday night. How he hasn't had a serious injury yet I have no idea.
Oh I don't know, I'm sure maguire is fouled a lot but seems like every time clarke gets the ball hes either too fast for his marker or he gets fouled. Guess it's one way to defend against players to stop them making a fool of you
disgruntled
31/05/2017, 12:00 PM
Bray are all nominally full time as far as I know, bar maybe the fringe players. They shouldn't be lacking fitness but were very sluggish.
Your centre half literally passed the ball to Miele for his first goal. I think your defenders gave the ball to a Rovers player in the attacking third five or six times, which isn't defending well. We had lots of clear chances - probably twice as many as we've had in any game this year - but we're not a clinical side.
All in all, good performance from Rovers. The intensity has either been off or over the top (five red cards) too many times this season but got it right tonight and limited a dangerous Bray side to practically nothing.
On a side note, saw the McAllister red again last night and he looked unlucky. Think he tackled low, studs down and got the ball but was unfortunate that Maguire chickened out of the 50/50 and got hit. If Maguire had gone in full blooded then it would have been a well-contested 50/50. Ah well, live and learn.
I presume you're taking the p**s here or need to visit specsavers ?
Otherwise I suggest you view the tackle again.
Yes McAllister made contact with the ball but he also made contact with Maguire's shin who has a nasty gash to prove it.
It seems Bradley's master plan was to stop Maguire & you stop Cork.
If it moves kick it & if it doesn't move kick it anyway.
Rovers have some fine players who when they played football looked very good but Bradley's plan to kick the s***e out of everything stopped them from playing.
It seems he took Miele's pre match comments of "We battered them" to new heights.
Bradley is like Wenger at Arsenal. Fans of every other club want him to stay ;)
Bray Head
31/05/2017, 12:47 PM
Bray are not full time but 4 games in 12 games plus another one in three days is catching up. The break can't come soon enough.
vinnie
31/05/2017, 1:59 PM
Don't know what match you were looking at if you think Connolly didn't deserve to be sent off, he was filthy all night, I counted six fouls he committed after the yellow, so even if they weren't deemed individual bookings he should have gone for persistent fouling
31/05/2017, 3:29 PM
I presume you're taking the p**s here or need to visit specsavers ?
Otherwise I suggest you view the tackle again.
Yes McAllister made contact with the ball but he also made contact with Maguire's shin who has a nasty gash to prove it.
It seems Bradley's master plan was to stop Maguire & you stop Cork.
If it moves kick it & if it doesn't move kick it anyway.
Rovers have some fine players who when they played football looked very good but Bradley's plan to kick the s***e out of everything stopped them from playing.
It seems he took Miele's pre match comments of "We battered them" to new heights.
Bradley is like Wenger at Arsenal. Fans of every other club want him to stay ;)
I know he made contact - I said it in my post. As I said, Maguire pulled out of the 50/50 and that rarely ends well.
I think it's fairly ridiculous to say Rovers went out to kick people. It was a physical game but that's to be expected considering the mutual dislike between the players.
sbgawa
31/05/2017, 7:46 PM
Agreed it is ridiculous to say we set out to kick people . The hysterical reaction of the players to maguire getting a kick when he pulled out of the challenge was what got mcalister sent off. Clarke gets kicked around every match but just gets u and gets on with it. I think in fairness to caulfield it is good management to try to condition the refs to protect maguire by talking about the need to protect him . You cork boys are winning the league you don't have to be right on every tackle and every match analysts. Enjoy it .
Trainee
31/05/2017, 7:56 PM
Read this on Galway utd forum
"Rumours swirling around Facebook and Twitter that Bray have missed payments to some players in the last few weeks. Apparently they didn't even try last night against Rovers, could explain their dip in form over the last couple of weeks."
No smoke with out fire so Im sure we will hear more of this story over next few days/weeks.
RathfarnhamHoop
31/05/2017, 8:28 PM
Read this on Galway utd forum
"Rumours swirling around Facebook and Twitter that Bray have missed payments to some players in the last few weeks. Apparently they didn't even try last night against Rovers, could explain their dip in form over the last couple of weeks."
No smoke with out fire so Im sure we will hear more of this story over next few days/weeks.
Can i claim to be that smoke in relation to the didnt try bit? :D
In relation to the mcallister red ive only watched it now after avoiding soccer republic for obvious reasons to see why people are so upset about it and in fairness to mcallister 9/10 times thats not a red. You see 50 of them a game in sunday league and not even a free given. You're told as a kid you get hurt when you go into a challenge half hearted or pull out last minute and that's what maguire did. I'll be the first to say mcallister isnt the best at timing his tackles to say the least but that one wasn't late, high or malicious, he just followed through his kick maybe a bit too much and since maguire pulled out he was in the path of the follow through. It was probably a free and a yellow for the follow through but not a red. To put it in comparison he got red for kicking a player on his follow through after kicking a ball while Dylan Connelly got a yellow for walking up to a player and kicking them with the ball 30 meters away. Now if I'm giving one of them a yellow and one a red i know which one I'm giving what and its not the same as what the refs gave.
31/05/2017, 11:05 PM
Can i claim to be that smoke in relation to the didnt try bit? :D
In relation to the mcallister red ive only watched it now after avoiding soccer republic for obvious reasons to see why people are so upset about it and in fairness to mcallister 9/10 times thats not a red. You see 50 of them a game in sunday league and not even a free given. You're told as a kid you get hurt when you go into a challenge half hearted or pull out last minute and that's what maguire did. I'll be the first to say mcallister isnt the best at timing his tackles to say the least but that one wasn't late, high or malicious, he just followed through his kick maybe a bit too much and since maguire pulled out he was in the path of the follow through. It was probably a free and a yellow for the follow through but not a red. To put it in comparison he got red for kicking a player on his follow through after kicking a ball while Dylan Connelly got a yellow for walking up to a player and kicking them with the ball 30 meters away. Now if I'm giving one of them a yellow and one a red i know which one I'm giving what and its not the same as what the refs gave.
Thank god someone else out there agrees with me, I couldn't understand
all the uproar about the tackle having watched SR last night. I think the players reaction to the tackle made a bigger thing out of it than it was. Also never a straight red in the harps game. Barely a yellow ffs
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/06/2017, 7:43 AM
Yup fully agree. McAllister hard tackle alright but not a red. Don't think the ref was going to send him off at all till all the Cork players started making such a big deal about it.
bluewhitearmy
01/06/2017, 8:34 AM
Don't think was a red for Harps either tbh. The lads in the North don't have it any better than us cos that ref we had up there was truly awful.
01/06/2017, 8:50 AM
Don't think was a red for Harps either tbh. The lads in the North don't have it any better than us cos that ref we had up there was truly awful.
I actually thought the ref was very good up until the last ten minutes or so. At least a marked improvement on what we normally see in Finn Park.
bluewhitearmy
01/06/2017, 9:04 AM
I actually thought the ref was very good up until the last ten minutes or so. At least a marked improvement on what we normally see in Finn Park.
Ye must be getting even worse than usual LOI terrible refs then. Can see why ye wouldn't think he was bad considering it was ye he was letting off with the ridiculous time wasting and game killing antics though. Not a complaint about ye btw everyone knows what Harps are and it gets results but he never got a grip on the time wasting at all and some of the challenges he let go were mental considering the red he did give.
RathfarnhamHoop
01/06/2017, 10:39 AM
Thank god someone else out there agrees with me, I couldn't understand
all the uproar about the tackle having watched SR last night. I think the players reaction to the tackle made a bigger thing out of it than it was. Also never a straight red in the harps game. Barely a yellow ffs
The only problem with the tackle was maguire pulled out and because of that he was in the path of the follow through. As I said when you start playing as a kid and tackles begin to get hard the one thing a good coach will tell you is pull out and you get hurt and that's what happened. If I got sent off for that in one of my games I'd be raging nevermind in a close game at 1-1 it's actually disgraceful to give that red but typical of our refs to be bullied into it.
The wait goes on for a fair game against Cork this season. :P
01/06/2017, 11:24 AM
Ye must be getting even worse than usual LOI terrible refs then. Can see why ye wouldn't think he was bad considering it was ye he was letting off with the ridiculous time wasting and game killing antics though. Not a complaint about ye btw everyone knows what Harps are and it gets results but he never got a grip on the time wasting at all and some of the challenges he let go were mental considering the red he did give.
Eh, what? What tackles?
bluewhitearmy
01/06/2017, 11:34 AM
Eh, what? What tackles?
Nothing mental like but was plenty of little trips and pulls and pushes that were definite frees that he didn't bother with. My biggest problem was him doing absolutely nothing to combat the time wasting what made it hilarious was he then told us to hurry up over a throw at 3-1 down. How many times did one of your players go down "injured" in fairness?
I thought the ref last Friday started well but was increasingly poor in second half. Overall reasonably impressed with IFA refs- this is probably not so much because they are better, more because they have fewer pre conceptions so call things more as they see them.
disgruntled
01/06/2017, 5:30 PM
The only problem with the tackle was maguire pulled out and because of that he was in the path of the follow through. As I said when you start playing as a kid and tackles begin to get hard the one thing a good coach will tell you is pull out and you get hurt and that's what happened. If I got sent off for that in one of my games I'd be raging nevermind in a close game at 1-1 it's actually disgraceful to give that red but typical of our refs to be bullied into it.
The wait goes on for a fair game against Cork this season. :P
Yea you're right.
It was all Maguires fault ;)
If ye don't fancy the refs then why not bring your own like Dundalk.
O'Donnell has been reffing their games for a few seasons now without any complaints from them :good:
The truth is LOI referees are poor but they're poor for everyone.
ToberonaTornado
01/06/2017, 7:16 PM
Big game in the 1st division tonight.
Currently - Cabo 2 - 1 UCD
*Ninja edit
ToberonaTornado
01/06/2017, 8:34 PM
3-3
UCD come from 3-1 down.Cabo down to 10 men and about 8 mins to play.
01/06/2017, 8:35 PM
3-3 in Stradbrook. Donegal man Georgie Kelly is absolutely flying at UCD, two more goals for him tonight.
mcgonigle
01/06/2017, 9:24 PM
Yea you're right.
It was all Maguires fault ;)
If ye don't fancy the refs then why not bring your own like Dundalk.
O'Donnell has been reffing their games for a few seasons now without any complaints from them :good:
The truth is LOI referees are poor but they're poor for everyone.
Hard to believe anyone has the audacity to question the Cork saints. Maguire was clearly assaulted again and the players are well within their rights to surround and bollick the ref until they got the desired outcome.
Disappointingly O'Donnell won't be reffing tomorrow night as Kenny has realised that we haven't had a decision against Cork in 4 years. We have written to the FAI and requested a fair and impartial ref, so I believe Mr Tayto is being appointed
jinxy lilywhite
01/06/2017, 9:38 PM
Hard to believe anyone has the audacity to question the Cork saints. Maguire was clearly assaulted again and the players are well within their rights to surround and bollick the ref until they got the desired outcome.
Disappointingly O'Donnell won't be reffing tomorrow night as Kenny has realised that we haven't had a decision against Cork in 4 years. We have written to the FAI and requested a fair and impartial ref, so I believe Mr Tayto is being appointed
Tbh I was suprised the Gardai didn't intervene
sbgawa
01/06/2017, 10:27 PM
Cork are looking for an increase in mcalister ban to life without parole :)
02/06/2017, 2:33 AM
I'd have thought you have enough crisps at Oriel already or was that the old pitch?
Ezeikial
02/06/2017, 8:42 AM
I'd have thought you have enough crisps at Oriel already or was that the old pitch?
Longford getting relegated really messed us up
patrickccfc
02/06/2017, 9:31 AM
I'd say there won't be any crisps on sale in oriel tonight, might end up getting us a penalty
Pablo Escobar
02/06/2017, 2:03 PM
Cork are looking for an increase in mcalister ban to life without parole :)
I've heard very little from our end on the tackle. It looked a red to me and that's what was issued. That was it as far as I and most others were concerned. It seems to be Shamrock Rovers, Dundalk, Sligo, Harps and Longford fan(s) on this page alone that are talking it up.
sbgawa
02/06/2017, 2:41 PM
It was the hysterical reaction of your players that people are alluding too. Judging by their reaction it looked like he would never play again.
I give credit to caulfield or the players for the coordination to influence the ref...and I mean that genuinely , like it or not influencing the ref is part of the game now
RathfarnhamHoop
02/06/2017, 2:53 PM
I've heard very little from our end on the tackle. It looked a red to me and that's what was issued. That was it as far as I and most others were concerned. It seems to be Shamrock Rovers, Dundalk, Sligo, Harps and Longford fan(s) on this page alone that are talking it up.
Course Cork fans aren't saying anything but that it was a red who's going to complain about an opposition player being sent off in a tight game and admit that their own teams players overreacted.
I think the fact fans of other teams are siding with rovers on this says it all really considering I get the impression we're not the most liked club in the country.
El-Pietro
02/06/2017, 3:16 PM
I think Soccer Republic could have shown some other challenges from Rovers on the night which would maybe change some opinions on whether their approach was over the top including Shaws challenge on McNulty early in the game.
Ezeikial
02/06/2017, 3:35 PM
Hey Pablo, I didn't see it, but if fans of other clubs are largely siding with the Rovers side of the argument here.............
RathfarnhamHoop
02/06/2017, 4:19 PM
I think Soccer Republic could have shown some other challenges from Rovers on the night which would maybe change some opinions on whether their approach was over the top including Shaws challenge on McNulty early in the game.
Nobody's denying rovers were probably physical in the game, just saying the red wasn't a red.
El-Pietro
02/06/2017, 4:51 PM
Hey Pablo, I didn't see it, but if fans of other clubs are largely siding with the Rovers side of the argument here.............
And yet their own manager (who admittedly knows very little about football) says it was a red
I haven't seen a replay, but on the night it looked like a bad tackle as it happened, and looked like a red. Unsurprisingly the stadium was in uproar. It was also about the 10th time Seani had been taken out of it and poor tackles on other players too, with the ref very slow to penalise. I'm not surprised at all that the players freaked out. They saw what we saw in real time, and they were frustrated I'd imagine. I think the idea that it was a coordinated plan to intimidate the ref is nonsense, if that was it they'd have been doing it long before this tackle. It might not have been as bad as it looked in real time, but hindsight is 20/20.
I thought Rovers were very physical and dirty in the game. The redhead up front on particular. Definitely the most I've seen a team go flying in rashly this season. That said, they also looked like the most skilled footballers we played this year, apart from maybe Bray. They just lacked a structure and discipline.
RathfarnhamHoop
02/06/2017, 5:22 PM
And yet their own manager (who admittedly knows very little about football) says it was a red
You may not like Bradley but to say he knows nothing about football is just stupid. Of course he's not going to say it wasn't a red, he'd probably get a ban or fine if he did.
El-Pietro
02/06/2017, 5:45 PM
You may not like Bradley but to say he knows nothing about football is just stupid. Of course he's not going to say it wasn't a red, he'd probably get a ban or fine if he did.
On the contrary, I love Bradley, long may his reign last. Hiis mistakes and his comments after games show me that he is not learning from his mistakes and that he doesn't understand why his team isn't doing better. Its unfair to say he knows nothing about football. I mean I'm sure he understands the offside rule for example.