View Full Version : Retired Players Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3]

21/10/2021, 4:19 PM
Yeah, he's been superb for us. Far ahead of Carr, Kelly or Finnan as the only other options of my time (so 88-present). Of course, you could put Dinny there and play Staunton, but I'd rather not :-)

I'd go so far as to say I think it's one of the few uncontestable places. The options he's given us going forward. Generally been excellent in defence, and a goal threat as well. Hasn't had the competition (Doc excluded) that others had.
Not going to argue any of that, but he's still playing!

21/10/2021, 4:21 PM
I'm sending him a message lads, times up Mossy.

27/11/2021, 9:06 AM
Good interview with Richie Sadlier in today's Irish Times
https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/richie-sadlier-stopping-drinking-made-my-life-a-lot-simpler-1.4733355

24/06/2022, 10:37 AM
Brian Barry-Murphy: The Making of a Manager: https://www.mancity.com/features/brian-barry-murphy-makings-of-a-manager/
Seems like a good guy, and has managed some good footballing sides

27/06/2022, 3:29 PM
Interesting. Sounds like a candidate for our MNT sometime soon. Rochdale's pitch & stadium look great.

30/05/2023, 8:27 AM
Great documentary on Kevin Moran on RTE last night, Codebreaker. Available on the RTE Player

30/05/2023, 9:43 AM
Really fantastic programme. RTÉ putting out a lot of very good Irish-focussed stuff lately; fair dues to them.

18/09/2023, 12:08 PM
John Aldridge qualifies for his bus pass today, happy birthday Aldo

third policeman
18/09/2023, 6:46 PM
John Aldridge qualifies for his bus pass today, happy birthday Aldo

You actually get it at 60 in the Liverpool City Region and bloody useful it is too. Free travel on buses and Merseyrail. Never actually seen him on the bus, but did bump into him in Sports Direct once. It was one of those occasions when you recognise someone, think they're somebody you know, greet them and then realise that they're actually a public figure. He said hello back, which was decent of him.

18/09/2023, 6:58 PM
I met him in Buskers in Temple Bar back when he was manager of Tranmere. Himself and Kevin Sheedy were there. I was absolutely langered and chewed the ear off him about Alan Mahon and how he was the next messiah of Irish football. He was actually really sound, even though i was probably the most annoying person he met that year. He was just "yeah, Ally is a good kid... yeah, he's sound..." - Sheedy was just laughing his ****** off. I thanked Sheedy for one of the greatest moments in Irish football and he just nodded. Eventually i took the hint and stumbled off into the night... good times for the three of us.

third policeman
18/09/2023, 7:32 PM
Alan Mahon, Sean Thornton, Kieron Brady, Owen Garvan and many more. Why do we produce so many prodigiously talented midfield players who turn out to be not very good, or fit or sober?

seanfhear
18/09/2023, 11:16 PM
Alan Mahon, Sean Thornton, Kieron Brady, Owen Garvan and many more. Why do we produce so many prodigiously talented midfield players who turn out to be not very good, or fit or sober?
It's a tough competitive world out there ~ ~ Tis hard to get all the ducks in a row.

Colbert Report
19/09/2023, 3:46 AM
I met John Aldridge at Turners Cross in March 2009, around the time we drew 1-1 with Bulgaria in a World Cup qualifier at Croke Park. Very nice guy.

Fixer82
19/09/2023, 12:00 PM
I met him in Orlando once and he was dog ignorant. I was just trying to do my job by following the policy and procedures of the FIFA World Cup and he couldn't handle it. Insulted my little blue jacket, had a go at my yellow baseball cap and called me a ****!n tw@t! Completely uncalled for stuff.
Rules are there for a reason!

seanfhear
19/09/2023, 12:07 PM
I met him in Orlando once and he was dog ignorant. I was just trying to do my job by following the policy and procedures of the FIFA World Cup and he couldn't handle it. Insulted my little blue jacket, had a go at my yellow baseball cap and called me a ****!n tw@t! Completely uncalled for stuff.
Apparently Big Jack didn't think a whole lot of you either ! ! !

Fixer82
19/09/2023, 1:41 PM
Apparently Big Jack didn't think a whole lot of you either ! ! !

Who?!!?

19/09/2023, 1:53 PM

you gave as good as you got, you jobsworth!

gastric
16/10/2023, 2:42 AM
Sorry for posting on this thread, but it was a shock to hear of the death of Gerry Ryan who was a player who had a good career, and seemed to flourish as he got older. Really starting to feel my age and RIP Gerry.

30/10/2023, 10:28 AM
Nigel Pearson has left Bristol City, Curtis Fleming has been appointed interim manager
https://www.bcfc.co.uk/city-men-news/nigel-pearson-leaves-bristol-city/

seanfhear
30/10/2023, 11:18 AM
Would Nigel Pearson be a contender for the Irish job ? !

Eminence Grise
30/10/2023, 2:39 PM
Would Curtis Fleming?

It's going to be like life-sized Guess Who for the dog days of Kenny's time. ;)

Is he unemployed? (Flick flick flick)
Irish (Flick flick)
Has he managed before? (Flick flick flick)
Unexpected choice? (Flick)
Got 'im! It's...

seanfhear
30/10/2023, 4:48 PM
Would Curtis Fleming?

It's going to be like life-sized Guess Who for the dog days of Kenny's time. ;)

Is he unemployed? (Flick flick flick)
Irish (Flick flick)
Has he managed before? (Flick flick flick)
Unexpected choice? (Flick)
Got 'im! It's...
So, Herr Flick can't be ruled out ! ! !

elatedscum
30/10/2023, 8:02 PM
So, Herr Flick can't be ruled out ! ! !

If we had 4-7m per year, Hansi Flick might be available. I wouldn't say no

10/11/2023, 5:49 PM
RIP Miah Dennehy, announced earlier today
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2023/11/10/miah-dennehy-first-man-to-score-hat-trick-in-fai-cup-final-dies-aged-73/

third policeman
10/11/2023, 7:29 PM
RIP Miah Dennehy, announced earlier today
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2023/11/10/miah-dennehy-first-man-to-score-hat-trick-in-fai-cup-final-dies-aged-73/

Played in the legendary ‘Shamrock Rovers’ v Brazil game. Often wondered what Miah was short for. Was supposed when Wiki came along to discover it was Jeremiah.

12/01/2024, 2:55 PM
Curtis Fleming appointed assistant head coach at Charlton
https://www.charltonafc.com/news/curtis-fleming-joins-assistant-head-coach

26/01/2024, 9:08 AM
Curtis Fleming appointed assistant head coach at Charlton
https://www.charltonafc.com/news/curtis-fleming-joins-assistant-head-coach
And now appointed interim head coach - https://www.charltonafc.com/news/curtis-fleming-and-jason-pearce-take-interim-charge
Former underage goalkeeper Stephen Henderson is goalkeeping coach at the Valley

28/01/2024, 12:37 PM
Charlie O'Leary at 100
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2024/01/27/ireland-kitman-charlie-oleary-at-100-youd-have-to-say-to-yourself-what-did-i-do-to-deserve-this/

20/09/2024, 11:37 AM
Good article with Brian Barry-Murphy in the athletic today
https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/5776122/2024/09/20/manchester-city-brian-barry-murphy-interview

Colbert Report
26/12/2024, 3:16 PM
Tony Cascarino is on the front page of wikipedia today as the featured article is Gillingham's 84-85 season.

07/02/2025, 8:25 PM
Former underage player Patrick Kohlmann in temporary charge of Werder Breman tonight, their manager was given a red card in their last game

20/04/2025, 11:28 AM
Don't really remember Shane O'Connor being at Liverpool, remember him playing for Keane at Ipswich alright
Very tough read in today's Independent
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/everything-was-second-to-betting-id-have-sold-my-own-kids-to-gamble-i-cared-about-nothing-but-gambling/a2107576437.html

Jd2793
20/04/2025, 10:39 PM
Don't really remember Shane O'Connor being at Liverpool, remember him playing for Keane at Ipswich alright
Very tough read in today's Independent
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/everything-was-second-to-betting-id-have-sold-my-own-kids-to-gamble-i-cared-about-nothing-but-gambling/a2107576437.html

shocking story. the final loi game he was involved in was against limerick for cobh. he gave away a penalty in the final 15 mins and never played for them again. same game was later investigated for match fixing.

24/04/2025, 10:13 AM
This is pretty cool, former international Jimmy Holmes' son has decorated his shed with framed jerseys and clippings from his dad's career, including Ireland jerseys

https://www.facebook.com/groups/472158930663238/permalink/1379150949964027

seanfhear
24/04/2025, 12:12 PM
This is pretty cool, former international Jimmy Holmes' son has decorated his shed with framed jerseys and clippings from his dad's career, including Ireland jerseys

https://www.facebook.com/groups/472158930663238/permalink/1379150949964027A fine player. A leg break seemed to affect his career quite a bit ( well I thought so ) Surprising the number of Irish full-backs that broke their leg down the years. I wonder ( statistically ) are full-backs more susceptible to leg-breaks for what-ever reason ? Especially, back in the day ?

Maybe quite a bit of running and having to put in a lot of tackles. I'd like to see some specific research on that ?

elatedscum
28/04/2025, 7:54 AM
https://www.vicarstreet.com/component/thelist/show/2080-three-wise-men-live-in-vicar-street-58-59-thomas-street-Dublin-8-on-28-Apr-2025.html?Itemid=2080

Anyone going to this tonight in Vicar Street? It’s raising funds for the irish professional footballers Benevolent Fund. Think it helps with players who have gotten dementia etc.

As an aside, I heard that one notable name agreed to do the event and then after it was announced, he asked for a significant appearance fee and then pulled out.

rebelmusic
28/04/2025, 11:33 AM
That same individual then wrote an article saying tha they put him on the lineup without ever asking him if he'd attend. Nice to be reminded how good it is that the country moved on from him

Razors left peg
28/04/2025, 4:15 PM
Anyone want to mention who the player is for those of us who arent mind readers? :D

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2025, 5:21 PM
Anyone want to mention who the player is for those of us who arent mind readers? :D

Tenner on Robbie where's my money Keane.

elatedscum
28/04/2025, 6:00 PM
Tenner on Robbie where's my money Keane.

Good guess, not a great guess...

elatedscum
28/04/2025, 6:16 PM
Really **** situation, because stuff for charity are never done on a contractual basis. You ask will someone appear and they say yes, it's all done in good faith.

I'd know people involved in the venue and the promotors, who agreed to do it for less than costs. Everyone pulling in the right direction for the good cause.

From that, I know the event was in the works for over a year, trying to get a date that worked for everyone - and that yer man had been on board from the start and he said he'd rather MC it than get anyone else in. Waits until it's announced and then says he's not gonna appear without getting X and Y.

Looking forward to a good night all the same and fair play to Quinner.

Razors left peg
28/04/2025, 6:48 PM
Really **** situation, because stuff for charity are never done on a contractual basis. You ask will someone appear and they say yes, it's all done in good faith.

I'd know people involved in the venue and the promotors, who agreed to do it for less than costs. Everyone pulling in the right direction for the good cause.

From that, I know the event was in the works for over a year, trying to get a date that worked for everyone - and that yer man had been on board from the start and he said he'd rather MC it than get anyone else in. Waits until it's announced and then says he's not gonna appear without getting X and Y.

Looking forward to a good night all the same and fair play to Quinner.

So who was it? If the player in question wrote about it saying that he was included without ever being asked, its not exactly a big secret

28/04/2025, 7:04 PM
I was gonna say Steven Ireland.

Olé Olé
28/04/2025, 7:08 PM
Maybe this is completely unrelated but it appears that the most obvious third wise men to Brady and Giles was announced previously: https://www.dublintown.ie/whats-on-events/three-wise-men-talking-proper-football/

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2025, 7:11 PM
Good guess, not a great guess...

Answer was here, no ?

29/04/2025, 7:10 AM
Well the event link posted says "Niall replaces Eamon Dunphy who will no longer be participating in the event." so...

Eirambler
01/05/2025, 1:08 PM
Mad that he was such a strong voice in Ireland for so long. And that people actually listened to him.