View Full Version : Admit it!
ken foree
28/02/2005, 4:45 PM
nice topic, have to say some of then big-boobied brit's stuff was, erm, tits in its re-imagining of abba at their danciest. the oops track in particular. disco as a whole gets some unfair stick too
28/02/2005, 7:16 PM
well im glad that this thread proves that us here at foot.ie are broad minded musically and that musical fascism hasnt reared its ugly head yet. good to see some mentions for toxic , la x , etc etc
though i dont see why loving prince should be a guilty pleasure !
01/03/2005, 3:17 PM
well im glad that this thread proves that us here at foot.ie are broad minded musically and that musical fascism hasnt reared its ugly head yet. good to see some mentions for toxic , la x , etc etc
though i dont see why loving prince should be a guilty pleasure !
I suppose it depends on what you mean by "loving prince" :D :D :D
Closed Account 2
04/03/2005, 3:35 AM
Finally thought of one. -November Rain by GunsnRoses.
Nothing wrong with that, great song!
04/03/2005, 9:50 AM
Nothing wrong with that, great song!
yeah ...but it's a bit poncy isn't it? It's the type of song poodle perm muppets like Bon Jovi wish they could've written.
and the video is just plain silly. Slash walks out of giant cathedral (note members of Kilkenny ponce rockers My Little Funhouse in the back row) and emerges outside a wooden chapel that's smaller than my toolshed which is on the edge of a cliff and has no road leading to it. :D Maybe they were trying to do a "twin peaks" or Willy Wonka but it just looks daft.
Also -Lots of people standing a round a grave at the end of the funeral -shot cuts to Axl kneeling down but now it's pitch dark while it'd been broad daylight a second ago. Ed Wood himself would've blushed at it. Spinal Tap would've given out about it but would've eventually been talked 'round.
GNR? I doubt they even noticed. :D
M@ttitude
08/03/2005, 1:07 PM
Right so I went to Westlife Why??
Why??
Because my girlfriend wanted to...you give a little you get a little
Ruairi
08/03/2005, 4:08 PM
Because my girlfriend wanted to...you give a little you get a little
translation : b!tchwhipped....
Well she says Im not...so there...
and watch it or I'll kick your ass all the way to the Aran Islands
Closed Account 2
10/03/2005, 1:11 AM
yeah ...but it's a bit poncy isn't it? It's the type of song poodle perm muppets like Bon Jovi wish they could've written.
and the video is just plain silly. Slash walks out of giant cathedral (note members of Kilkenny ponce rockers My Little Funhouse in the back row) and emerges outside a wooden chapel that's smaller than my toolshed which is on the edge of a cliff and has no road leading to it. :D Maybe they were trying to do a "twin peaks" or Willy Wonka but it just looks daft.
Also -Lots of people standing a round a grave at the end of the funeral -shot cuts to Axl kneeling down but now it's pitch dark while it'd been broad daylight a second ago. Ed Wood himself would've blushed at it. Spinal Tap would've given out about it but would've eventually been talked 'round.
GNR? I doubt they even noticed. :D
Not at all, sure the video is a bit over the top (but to be fair they had a massive budget to blow on it, and there werent the special effects there are for videos now) but there is nothing wrong with the song its pure quality, era defining stuff... and what about the guitar at the end ?!?!? Unbelievable, it was what the 80s* were made of...great stuff.
*even if it was a year or two later.
Partizan
10/03/2005, 12:24 PM
Alvin Stardust - I feel like Buddy Holly :D
ken foree
20/06/2005, 6:34 PM
confess your musical sins here! what albums or songs do you like that maybe you shouldn't??
'nearly lost you' by screaming trees -could there be a more formulaic and flannelized grungepop tune out there? lanegan's vocal cops all the other heavy hitters of the day but i have to say, those guitars get me every time!
'oops i did it again' by britney spears - nothing to do with her red skintight latex suit i swear -it's that abba-like vocal and production and it's embarrassing admitting i like something so f*cking sh*te!
'interstate love song' / 'big bang baby' by stone temple pilots - see s. trees above for the first tune; big bang baby is probably loathed by all their proper fans but that eyeliner-junkie glammetal is something i have a hideous attraction toward, blerrrghh
what are yours, let's have them
TheOwl
20/06/2005, 7:27 PM
It's naff, it's cheesy, the video is just....well bizarre! But "Total Eclipse of the Heart" by Bonnie Tyler is still one of the greatest pieces of pop perfection I have ever heard.
"Once upon a time I was falling in love, now I'm only falling apart, nothing I can do, a total eclipse of the heart!"
Come on!!!
ken foree
20/06/2005, 7:30 PM
It's naff, it's cheesy, the video is just....well bizarre! But "Total Eclipse of the Heart" by Bonnie Tyler is still one of the greatest pieces of pop perfection I have ever heard.
"Once upon a time I was falling in love, now I'm only falling apart, nothing I can do, a total eclipse of the heart!"
Come on!!!
oof, yea that's terrible The Owl you f*ckin cheeseball. ;) i think the beta band inverted that quote up there in one of their best songs on their first album so it can't have been all that bad!
liam88
20/06/2005, 7:30 PM
Britney-born to make ya happy.....or mabye that's just hormones :D
Abba-Mama mia
:D :D
ken foree
20/06/2005, 7:33 PM
Britney-born to make ya happy.....or mabye that's just hormones :D
Abba-Mama mia
:D :D
horrible. confess, confess!
20/06/2005, 7:37 PM
starting way back when........
60's - The Mamas and the Papas
70's - Donna Summer (bit of ABBA)
80's - Mel & Kim's 'Respectable' (and Bonnie tyler)
90's - Dee-Lite 'Groove is in the Heart'
00's - Anything by Girls aloud
20/06/2005, 7:38 PM
Evenesence - My Immortal.Sh*te band but i love the piano in this track
liam88
20/06/2005, 7:42 PM
horrible. confess, confess!
....thank you for the music, the song you're singing................... :D :D
hamish
20/06/2005, 7:53 PM
Kinda like Natalie Imbruglia's "Shiver" :o
20/06/2005, 8:14 PM
Out Of Touch, both versions and that song Dangerzone from Top Gun!! :o
redgav
20/06/2005, 9:04 PM
Every rose has its thorn,just like every Night has a dawn !!!
Adore the song ,best glam/soft metal balled ever ....so cheesy ,i shouldn't like it ...but its like poison ;)
Basically every Rap/Hip hop album I own.
Gwen Stefani songs.
JJ72
Hmm, thats about it.
20/06/2005, 10:23 PM
Out Of Touch, both versions and that song Dangerzone from Top Gun!! :o
Jaysus Superfrank,you could be posting on behalf of me with those choices,i was only listening to that Dangerzone song this morning.
20/06/2005, 10:49 PM
Eminem and D-12: Blue and yellow purple hills* :o
*The title is something like that anyway
21/06/2005, 9:29 AM
Err, Avril Lavigne!!
21/06/2005, 9:33 AM
something similar done here lads!
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=22179
ken foree
21/06/2005, 12:38 PM
something similar done here lads!
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=22179
thanks, that's almost as embarrassing as liking that music. could you please lock this one? sorree :o