View Full Version : Vote - help the scots out!!
Scotland football fans are making a cheeky bid to name the new Wembley Way after one of their favourite sons.
The Tartan Army have hijacked an internet competition to find a title for the footbridge, by voting for the legendary Jim Baxter.
They believe his efforts in propelling Scotland to memorable victories over England at Wembley in 1963 and 1967 should be immortalised in stone as The Jim Baxter Approach.
The competition is being run by the London Development Agency.
The spiel states: "Have your say on what to call the bridge by stating what you think is the most significant name or event in Wembley Stadium's history."
Presumably the organisers are banking on Bobby Moore or Stanley Matthews getting the nod, but if support continues to grow for Baxter, they may be forced into a rethink.
Tartan Army spokesman Hamish Husband said: "Wembley means just as much to Scotland fans as it does to the English - so why shouldn't we have a little piece of it?"
http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9
Eire06
18/02/2005, 10:14 AM
We should follow suit and get it called the Roy Keane bridge :D :D :D
sylvo
18/02/2005, 10:30 AM
Maybe the Tartan Army should give them back their pitch, goal posts, cross bars, nets, seats and benchs for the new Wembley.
Personnally i'd like to see the street renamed Houghton Way or Stuttgart Avenue.
18/02/2005, 10:41 AM
Kevin Moran Close.
Mad Moose
18/02/2005, 10:50 AM
I submitted Lansdowne Road 1995. Its not likely to go anywhere but just a wee reminder of the shame of English soccer.
Brendan
martin_rules_ie
18/02/2005, 10:57 AM
We should follow suit and get it called the Roy Keane bridge
i like the sound of that... :D :D *waits for abuse from other posters* :p
18/02/2005, 11:04 AM
Rattin Road? :D
Have you noticed that there is a draw for an England Shirt for one "lucky" poster! That could be an entertaining reward for some Tartan Army actvist :D
martin_rules_ie
18/02/2005, 11:22 AM
...Be no point building it in Japan mind......no-one would know who the f*ck he was........ ;)
that was possibly the worst attempt at being funny that i have ever witnessed. i feel embarrased for you
lopez
18/02/2005, 11:44 AM
Maybe the Tartan Army should give them back their pitch, goal posts, cross bars, nets, seats and benchs for the new Wembley.
Personnally i'd like to see the street renamed Houghton Way or Stuttgart Avenue.How's about Michael Fagan Way? :D
Pat O' Banton
18/02/2005, 12:02 PM
The thread is not about what Irish people want to call it, but helping out the Scots.
Now, but as Jim Baxter was possibly the greatest ever Rangers player to grace a pitch, I can think of a few here who might prefer the Bobby Moore or Stanley Matthews Way to the Jim Baxter Approach...
Who ever would they be Connor? :eek: :p
Actually there's not alot of dislike shown towards Slim Jim from the Celtic fans of that era that I have spoken to. Indeed many would regard him as one of the best players they seen. His nights out with Pat Crerand were meant to be stuff of legend, sadly enough they took there toll in the end.
Now John Gregg bridge on the other hand.... :eek:
Breifne
18/02/2005, 2:30 PM
Time to fix another English poll. They're looking for a name for a bridge in Wembley Stadium, and what better name than the "Roy Keane Bridge"? Even if you don't like him vote for the craic!!
Bridge Name : Roy Keane Bridge
Reason : Greatest Modern Day Midfielder in English Football
Go to this link and Vote: http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9
18/02/2005, 2:34 PM
It got my vote!!!!!! ;)
Eire06
18/02/2005, 2:36 PM
That was my Idea... :D
in this Thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=22173) tryin to do it for the scots...
Already sent it out to loads of people.. See can we do it again like when we voted for song of the year...
18/02/2005, 2:38 PM
hope I win the England shirt. :D
Jim Smith
18/02/2005, 2:56 PM
The Jim Baxter Bridge campaign has been going on now for a couple of days. The funny thing is that Baxter is actually in the Wembley Hall of Fame.
18/02/2005, 3:09 PM
yawn those poll fixing irish guys are "hilarious" :confused:
18/02/2005, 3:55 PM
I rather think not........
Tough choice for you Davros - Jim Baxter or Roy Keane :D :D
The thread is not about what Irish people want to call it, but helping out the Scots.
Now, but as Jim Baxter was possibly the greatest ever Rangers player to grace a pitch, I can think of a few here who might prefer the Bobby Moore or Stanley Matthews Way to the Jim Baxter Approach...
By god Conor, thats us told off. I Had a lot respect for Jim Baxter, he spoke out about sectarianism and shocked a hell of a lot of people at the club he joined from Raith Rovers with his choice of drinking buddys as Pat pointed out.
If they win the poll with Jim Baxter then fair play to them.
sylvo
18/02/2005, 10:19 PM
hope I win the England shirt. :D
It would come in handy to use as a duster or as a mat by the front door. :D
18/02/2005, 10:40 PM
Fair call......but not really.....'Slim' Jim Baxter.......even if a rank 'Ger...... :rolleyes:
You really don't like his corkness do you?
Should have left that guy finish the job in Basle!!!!!! :D :D
18/02/2005, 10:47 PM
Come in handy if you're lobbying the GAA ;) .......or if :rolleyes: you wanted to pop along to Linfield
Though guess,you'd give it Sylvo's suggested treatment!
Not welcome at either place - big backlash up North at the Superprod muppets who follow England.
Wonder what would happen if you wore and England shirt and brought a Union Jack with Up Tyrone into Croke Park? :eek:
Can think of a few uses but certainly not wearing it. :D
Pat O' Banton
19/02/2005, 10:04 PM
You really don't like his corkness do you?
He actually quite likes Cork, now get him on the subject of Meath :eek:
lopez
20/02/2005, 12:34 PM
It would come in handy to use as a duster or as a mat by the front door. :DIt be usefull in my house when I run out of toilet paper. :D
shedite
21/02/2005, 2:05 PM
The latest in the rigged poll idea. The walkway to the new wembly is in need of a name
http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9
21/02/2005, 2:13 PM
The winner gets and England shirt! :eek: :D
21/02/2005, 2:18 PM
The winner gets and England shirt! :eek: :D
I know. I don't think I really want to win ;) :o :D
Eire06
21/02/2005, 2:23 PM
already posted here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=22173)
It was on today fm this morn as well theyre goin to try to drum up support for it on their Breakfast show....
don't they have enough thugs of their own they can name it after, without stealing one of ours :rolleyes:
Kowalski
22/02/2005, 9:41 PM
This has been doing the rounds on e-mail for anyone that has yet to see it.
Its worth doing for the craic just so it gets onto the shortlist.
A new footbridge is to be built in London to link the National Stadium to the town centre.
Now’s your chance to name the bridge! Simply visit the page above, read about what they’re doing and click on “the competition” link. Now you can name the bridge.
I’d suggest the name “Roy Keane Bridge” as Mr. Keane has contributed so much to English soccer and he’s great and he’s from Cork and all that sort of thing
(http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9)
(http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9)http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9
(http://www.lda.gov.uk/server.php?show=ConForm.9)
Am I right in thinking that the most sucessful online poll Irish vote was for Ronnie O'Brien for Time Man OF The Year?
22/02/2005, 10:31 PM
merged threads.
23/02/2005, 11:16 PM
It would be appropriate if one of the Man U or Chelski or Arsenal or Leeds or Liverpool loving bar stool potatoes was to win that England shirt for naming the Approach to Wembley. Prove once and for all what a West Brit :ball: he or she really is when it comes to football
However it would also be completely out of order to name it after somebody Irish. The person it is named after would have to have indelibly stamped their mark on the place. Jim Baxter was a good suggestion for that very reason
on 2 of his visits there in the 1960's he led Scotland to victories.
however they should really name after an English footballing hero legend type . Sir Alf Ramsey whom they treated shabbily at the end of his career.
Winning the World Cup with England as manager, which let's face it nobody else will ever manage to emulate.
28/02/2005, 3:26 PM
There's a piece in the Irish Times about us getting the Bridge named after Keane. All started over a sarcasstic post on here. :D
Eire06
28/02/2005, 3:55 PM
There's a piece in the Irish Times about us getting the Bridge named after Keane. All started over a sarcasstic post on here. :D
What sarcastic post??? :confused:
Deadly serious it is I tella ya...
lopez
28/02/2005, 10:28 PM
What sarcastic post??? :confused:
Deadly serious it is I tella ya...Conchita told me that it made The Scum. She even reckons they mentioned foot.ie getting people voting and that Keane was ahead. Time to vote for the Langer, I say. :cool:
onenilgameover
28/02/2005, 10:38 PM
Would never that langer...mines called 'Dunphy Drive' after the other langer....
Eire06
01/03/2005, 1:51 PM
In one of the papers today apparantly The Roy Keane Bridge is well ahead of the rest of the nominations and coming in after it is the Jim Baxter (Scots) and Scott Gibbs (Welsh rugby player) bridge..
With a lot of English people joining the Irish support for the Roy Keane bridge
English politicians and bidding to scrap the poll now and just name it after Bobby Moore (Spoil sports) :D
I always prefered the ''hand of god bridge'' meself.