View Full Version : D-Day for Longford
Well town fans
with 24 hours to go before the application deadline tommorrow midnight do you think the dinner dance in the park house hotel will be a cause of celebration or a case of drowning our sorrows?Considering we have been told absolutely nothing about whats wrong that is a very hard question!
I have this gut feeling its the latter:I hope im wrong but life has this funny habit of knocking you when your up!Considering what we have done for the profile of the eircom league in the past 5 years because of people like stephen kenny and alan matthews it would be a crying shame if that was to be tarnished by us not recieving an "A" licence.I guess it's a case of "say your prayers" tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :ball:
gheewhizz
17/02/2005, 5:21 PM
no need to worry!be happy instead!enjoy the dinner dance folks!
17/02/2005, 5:54 PM
No official news yet but club directors have confirmed all is hopefully in order now
17/02/2005, 6:05 PM
Considering what we have done for the profile of the eircom league in the past 5 years:
Ask a random fella in a random city "what we have done for the profile of the eircom league in the past 5 years" and they'll say "Didnt they lose to a team from Liechenstein? God the eircom league is crap."
17/02/2005, 6:09 PM
The profile of Longford was raised not the Eircom League really, maybe we raised it's profile in Longford and surrounding counties but not on national level. Us winning the cups whilst a huge achievement for us doesn't make people sit up and say wow the Eircom League is great. Great for us but it's misleading to say we raised the profile of the EL nationally or internationally through our successes, we will this year though :)
higgins
17/02/2005, 9:57 PM
I hope you get a License and you do better than last year in Europe but come Saturday morning you might have undone all your good work and people up and down the country may see Longford as the only club who dont have their house in order..
Even rovers got a license?
What are you lot playing at...
18/02/2005, 1:20 AM
One post would have been enough to express your concern mr higgins..tomorrow is only a day away as they say..
18/02/2005, 7:11 AM
well? any news? i know its 8.10 am, but if Town get this licence, by God am i going on the rip. Just cant beleive after all we've gone through, its come to this again.
trulan
18/02/2005, 7:29 AM
All down to accounting, why was this not done in the off season and spare everyone this cr#p :mad: but i am assured by someone in the know that all will be in order for the deadline :D
Terry Phelan
18/02/2005, 7:51 AM
Fingers crossed,but I'm sure everything will be fine,i hope :confused: ;)
Ronnie
18/02/2005, 8:15 AM
According to people in the club last night, we're there, its all done!
Ronnie
18/02/2005, 8:28 AM
Its on the club site, should be a great night tonight! Role on the fixtures....
town73
18/02/2005, 8:33 AM
Ronnie, that was bloody quick!!
Ronnie
18/02/2005, 8:41 AM
Like a lot of other people I've been clued to foot.ie and the town site for the last couple of days!
18/02/2005, 9:05 AM
Any time now it'll be official..trulan the accounts were done in time for the appeal, it was different documentation that had to be got together, bureaucratic wheels turn slowly.
was it the tax cert??????????????/
18/02/2005, 9:10 AM
Correct wws, it was.
for anyone interested in what gaining this document entails see here:
http://www.revenue.ie/services/foi/s16_2001/taxclr.pdf
Well done to all involved, made the night so much more enjoyable!!
sorbothegreek
19/02/2005, 1:17 PM
How did the party go? Was there a full turn out and was Ray any good? Couldn't make it myself.
(for make it see: afford to make it).
well twas a great night. Bout 130ish there, Alan Matthews arrived late delaying the meal, speeches made by Jim Hanley, Alan Matthews, Barry Ferguson and TD Peter Kelly (pure priceless).
Presentation made to Ita Murtagh wife of the late Matt Murtagh on behalf of the club.
Meal was lovely, music was lively, craic was mighty! :p
Ray was a gent, met him before at the corporate lunch. He made a small speech about Alan etc and running the club then there was questions and answers. The usual banter throughout. He danced the feet off himself and was still there when we left!! :)
19/02/2005, 3:13 PM
sound like it was a great night could not make it as i am london for the weekend on the lash with pauro 7! :p