View Full Version : All not rosy at Wexford?
06/04/2017, 8:18 AM
Mods may remove this if it seems inappropriate.
Spotted on Wexford FC Facebook page this morning that two of the coaches have been let go, and don't really seem to know why. Also, allegations of racial abuse by a player that were covered up.
William Doyle and Eamonn Doyle were both volunteer coaches working for free at Wexford, and both were let go at the weekend, Eamonn on Sunday after William on Saturday as:
Yes it is true we are both gone. I got a call on Sunday to say that the players felt the club would be in a better position if I left as william was gone and that if I was kept on it would create a bad atmosphere as the players felt I would have held it against them for getting rid of William. Unfortunately you cant choose your family.
There's also a racial abuse allegation, which I won't post on here, but you can read for yourself on the thread of comments at:
https://www.facebook.com/WexfordFC/posts/1859543127667271
Seems all not well in Ferrycarraig Park. Any Wexford fans able to shed some light?
06/04/2017, 3:06 PM
Was reading that alright, get on very well with a few of the Wexford lads and some of them just want nothing to do with this new club. They claim the club is ran by a small click of people who don't want any new blood involved and that the fans are treated like dirt.....reminds me of someone else actually....
oldyouth
06/04/2017, 6:51 PM
Was reading that alright, get on very well with a few of the Wexford lads and some of them just want nothing to do with this new club. They claim the club is ran by a small click of people who don't want any new blood involved and that the fans are treated like dirt.....reminds me of someone else actually....
There are 2 sides to every story. Some people choose to blast their opinion all over social media and claim to represent 'the fans'. Many, like myself, choose support the club quietly, in our own way
06/04/2017, 11:09 PM
There are 2 sides to every story. Some people choose to blast their opinion all over social media and claim to represent 'the fans'. Many, like myself, choose support the club quietly, in our own way
To be fair there seems to be more than one or two with a range of issues. Seems to be a lack of communication and transparency, a problem that effects a lot of LOI clubs not just Wexford. Clubs really don't help themselves sometimes.
If LOI clubs could monetise people who love calling their own club a joke we'd be the top league in Europe.
EatYerGreens
07/04/2017, 3:51 PM
If LOI clubs could monetise people who love calling their own club a joke we'd be the top league in Europe.
It's not a joke. It's a FAAAAAAARRRCE !
(c) Maxi 2006.
08/04/2017, 6:58 AM
About 100 people at their game last night. A sad sight because from the stewards to the media officer to the people behind the bar it's an extremely friendly place to visit. Hope they get sorted
08/04/2017, 3:15 PM
it was so weird being in Wexford with no atmosphere from either side. it was a shockin away support for us. But like outspoken their board members were extremely friendly to us in the clubhouse and we were offered food. you wouldnt see that from our side unfortunately judging by the numerous complaints recently.
wonder88
08/04/2017, 10:49 PM
While that crowd figure is disappointing, you have to consider that Wexford are bottom of the table and winless so far this season. Also Davy Fitz and to a lesser extend Banty coming in must have taken the majority of sport media coverage so far this year. Good to see that they are treating away fans well. Gate money is below 1/3 and often less of total income, for most LoI clubs. Wexfords future will depend on how good they are at fundraising, Cabinteely seems to be good at this.
09/04/2017, 8:56 AM
Shows the risk of being a plaything for one eccentric surely? Not having a go at Wexford, Limerick hugely dependent on Pat O'Sullivan too. The location of the ground doesn't do them any favours either but from the outside (to me at least) they've pretty much been left with nothing but their good will now that the crooked one has bailed on them?
09/04/2017, 3:18 PM
Shows the risk of being a plaything for one eccentric surely? Not having a go at Wexford, Limerick hugely dependent on Pat O'Sullivan too. The location of the ground doesn't do them any favours either but from the outside (to me at least) they've pretty much been left with nothing but their good will now that the crooked one has bailed on them?
if you are on about the crooked one MW was at the game the other night. I believe he has being at all their home games..
Partizan
09/04/2017, 6:26 PM
if you are on about the crooked one MW was at the game the other night. I believe he has being at all their home games..
That man shouldn't be left near the place.
oldyouth
09/04/2017, 8:06 PM
That man shouldn't be left near the place.
Why is that?
09/04/2017, 11:39 PM
Don't understand the hate for him. If it wasn't for him there would has never been a LOI team in Wexford. Is he not still running the show unofficially down there? Wouldn't call Wexford Youths or whatever you want to call them his play thing tbh.
10/04/2017, 6:17 PM
Don't understand the hate for him. If it wasn't for him there would has never been a LOI team in Wexford. Is he not still running the show unofficially down there? Wouldn't call Wexford Youths or whatever you want to call them his play thing tbh.
in the clubhouse in Ferrycarrig theres pictures of being involved with the Youths heavily when they won All Ireland Youth titles in 1998 so i dont understand the hatred of him. At least hes not involved officially with them any more.
ForzaForth
10/04/2017, 6:20 PM
Not involved officially, but MW is still in charge. I'd say nothing happens without his agreement in Ferrycarrig.
10/04/2017, 7:47 PM
He might be eccentric, but 'crooked' 'club as a plaything' not having him near the place - all pretty harsh! There are many more 'crooked' involved in irish sports than MW. Isnt he a bankrupt property developer/builder who is at least trying to manage his debts? There are many who have just walked away completley whether their debts were club related or not, or the gravy running out on the gravy train, or their tax breaks from owning the basket cases that LoI has in abundance, or those that were deluded in thinking they could cash in somehow. Whatever about his political stuff he has left a legacy in Wexford for football, his preferences in club kits and the like are questionable but I dont think his efforts or motives in relation to Wexford FC can really be questioned. or maybe I am being totally naive?
oldyouth
10/04/2017, 8:52 PM
He might be eccentric, but 'crooked' 'club as a plaything' not having him near the place - all pretty harsh! There are many more 'crooked' involved in irish sports than MW. Isnt he a bankrupt property developer/builder who is at least trying to manage his debts? There are many who have just walked away completley whether their debts were club related or not, or the gravy running out on the gravy train, or their tax breaks from owning the basket cases that LoI has in abundance, or those that were deluded in thinking they could cash in somehow. Whatever about his political stuff he has left a legacy in Wexford for football, his preferences in club kits and the like are questionable but I dont think his efforts or motives in relation to Wexford FC can really be questioned. or maybe I am being totally naive?
Pretty much nail on the head there, though I'm not really a fan of his
11/04/2017, 2:24 AM
I'm no fan of crooked folk (we've had plenty of them screw us over at Rovers) but Wallace is alright. He's hardly the only LOI owner who has run out on a tax bill (and, again, I include us in that and don't condone it). Whatever money he's made he put into something great for Wexford football, which will have more of a long-term positive effect than most developers.
EatYerGreens
11/04/2017, 12:25 PM
I'm no fan of crooked folk (we've had plenty of them screw us over at Rovers) but Wallace is alright. He's hardly the only LOI owner who has run out on a tax bill (and, again, I include us in that and don't condone it). Whatever money he's made he put into something great for Wexford football, which will have more of a long-term positive effect than most developers.
I think Wallace went into LOI football with good and honest intentions, and still has them.
The same could not be said about so many other people over the years.
wonder88
11/04/2017, 10:24 PM
Wexford is more than just the league of Ireland team, they also have under age and a (fairly successful) women's team. I notice from their twitter that they have 2 kids soccer camps this Easter. While others have played a role, I think it is fair to say that the development of soccer in Wexford in recent years would not have happened without the input of M Wallace.
Would LoI fans prefer that he put his money into Sunderland?
12/04/2017, 3:30 AM
I think Wallace went into LOI football with good and honest intentions, and still has them.
The same could not be said about so many other people over the years.
Shall we make a list or would it cause too much grief!?
12/04/2017, 8:45 AM
Mick Wallace is far from a saint, but he's single-handed built up a fine little club out in Ferrycarraig Park. Questionable methods, questionable jersey choice, and a little Italian in his approach to it all, but that matters little when there's a senior club, a full academy, and a successful womens team all playing their football in a handy little stadium with one of the finest clubhouses in the country.
I don't think anyone can question what he's done for football there.
12/04/2017, 4:16 PM
Mick Wallace is far from a saint, but he's single-handed built up a fine little club out in Ferrycarraig Park. Questionable methods, questionable jersey choice, and a little Italian in his approach to it all, but that matters little when there's a senior club, a full academy, and a successful womens team all playing their football in a handy little stadium with one of the finest clubhouses in the country.
I don't think anyone can question what he's done for football there.
exactly. pity my club isnt like that at all especially the superb clubhouse that they have!
12/04/2017, 9:32 PM
exactly. pity my club isnt like that at all especially the superb clubhouse that they have!
Nothing wrong with the clubhouse we have tbf
oldyouth
13/04/2017, 7:14 AM
Nothing wrong with the clubhouse we have tbf
I have to say Longford have a very nice clubhouse, has the feel of a long established club
13/04/2017, 4:54 PM
I have to say Longford have a very nice clubhouse, has the feel of a long established club
There ya go Martinho
13/04/2017, 5:00 PM
The volunteers working in there do a great job and over the years the bits and pieces of memorabilia that have been put in have added to it. If you could get a pint as well it'd be perfect but I understand the money wasn't there to do the things they were told they had to do to get a licence. All in all there's a lot more justifiable targets for criticism.
13/04/2017, 9:47 PM
The volunteers working in there do a great job and over the years the bits and pieces of memorabilia that have been put in have added to it. If you could get a pint as well it'd be perfect but I understand the money wasn't there to do the things they were told they had to do to get a licence. All in all there's a lot more justifiable targets for criticism.
Was just thinking the other day, how costly would it be for us to just serve bottles like they do in Wexford? Would you still require a full bar license for that? Selling bottles at 5 euro a pop soon racks up a few pound.
13/04/2017, 9:52 PM
Was just thinking the other day, how costly would it be for us to just serve bottles like they do in Wexford? Would you still require a full bar license for that? Selling bottles at 5 euro a pop soon racks up a few pound.
You need a licence to sell alcohol. End.
5 euro a bottle is madness!
13/04/2017, 10:11 PM
Nobody in Longford would pay €5 a bottle and as Nigel says a full "on licence" would be required. I expect selling bottles only is cheaper operationally but it's getting to that point that's costly.
13/04/2017, 10:39 PM
You need a licence to sell alcohol. End.
5 euro a bottle is madness!
Alright calma calma fella was just asking, thanks for the answer. Jaysus ye must be stingey enough up in donegal
13/04/2017, 11:05 PM
Stingy enough surely. Sure it's €3.90 a pint in my local...you'd not be catching me spending a fiver on a bottle.
13/04/2017, 11:12 PM
Club licence/ members bar licence can do, so a 'full trading' bar licence isnt required. It is a damn good bit cheaper. Run a tight ship and the annual trip to the district court to renew the licence would be a formality as Gardaí wont object to the renewal. It is the back bone of many GAA clubs finances and any other club should benefit if they can.
ToberonaTornado
13/04/2017, 11:29 PM
The Lilywhite bar at OP & the receipts from it kept Dundalk FC afloat for more years than we'll ever want to know! There is not a person in the town/maybe country who has never been to a function of some sort in the bar up there.
Team aside - the bar is the heartbeat of the club and a cash cow to boot.
Fair prices in it also,no 6 euro bottles ;)
14/04/2017, 6:56 AM
The Lilywhite bar at OP & the receipts from it kept Dundalk FC afloat for more years than we'll ever want to know! There is not a person in the town/maybe country who has never been to a function of some sort in the bar up there.
Team aside - the bar is the heartbeat of the club and a cash cow to boot.
Fair prices in it also,no 6 euro bottles ;)
Problem with CCS is it's too far outside town so with small crowds most people are driving which means no drinking.
14/04/2017, 9:58 AM
Problem with CCS is it's too far outside town so with small crowds most people are driving which means no drinking.
If you only got 20 people in buying a few drinks you'd still make a few quid off cans or bottles.
14/04/2017, 11:44 AM
If you only got 20 people in buying a few drinks you'd still make a few quid off cans or bottles.
True but whether we'd make enough to justify the cost of the license I don't know. You'd have to have Sky out there for the evening games and that's another massive cost but it might encourage people out to the ground early as opposed to coming in late or not coming at all.
14/04/2017, 1:35 PM
True but whether we'd make enough to justify the cost of the license I don't know. You'd have to have Sky out there for the evening games and that's another massive cost but it might encourage people out to the ground early as opposed to coming in late or not coming at all.
Just get a box instead.
I can't see how it wouldn't make money. Compare it to IL clubs, who almost all have bars.
Away fans would be all over it too. Handier than heading into town like we usually do.
14/04/2017, 7:23 PM
While it wouldnt make a club, do it right and with private functions, matcch nights, venue for fundraisers they can generate a profit. Panel of volunteers to assist with staffing reduces costs. As a members type bar entry can be restricted easily if need be to away fans.
total hoofball
15/04/2017, 3:32 PM
Mods may remove this if it seems inappropriate.
Spotted on Wexford FC Facebook page this morning that two of the coaches have been let go, and don't really seem to know why. Also, allegations of racial abuse by a player that were covered up.
William Doyle and Eamonn Doyle were both volunteer coaches working for free at Wexford, and both were let go at the weekend, Eamonn on Sunday after William on Saturday as:
There's also a racial abuse allegation, which I won't post on here, but you can read for yourself on the thread of comments at:
https://www.facebook.com/WexfordFC/posts/1859543127667271
Seems all not well in Ferrycarraig Park. Any Wexford fans able to shed some light?
Mark Slater was banned for 5 games - unsure why this wasn't made public by both the FAI and the club until reported below on 12th April - his ban commenced immediately the following week against Cabinteely back on 10th Match
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/853222/wexford-fc-midfielder-mark-slater-serves-five-game-ban-for-breaching-fai-rule-dealing-with-racismdiscrimination/